The Top 10 Sights of Zagreb, Croatia

Travel to Zagreb without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Zagreb! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in Zagreb? 

People on holiday in Croatia often turn their backs on the inland capital in favour of Croatia's beautiful islands and beaches. Croatia's largest city by no means deserves this ignorance, for Zagreb, with its dynamic mix of imperial and Balkan past, has magnificent monuments, interesting museums and idyllic green spaces to offer.

Advertisement

Ban Jelačić Square in Zagreb

Croatia holidaymakers will find magnificent monuments, nice cafés and a variety of shopping opportunities on Trg Ban Jelačić, Zagreb's main square - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Themagnificent Trg Ban Jelačić is the ideal starting point for a sightseeing tour of Zagreb and also gives an immediate taste of the impressive architecture that Croatia's capital has to offer. Connecting Zagreb's Upper and Lower Towns, Ban Jelačić Square comes alive day and night with tourists, street musicians, vendors and shopping locals.

Article: Ban Jelačić Square in Zagreb
Photo gallery: Ban Jelačić Square in Zagreb

Lotrščak Tower in Zagreb

The impressive Lotrščak Tower in the Upper Town of Zagreb was once a watchtower, bell tower and cannon tower, Croatia - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Another popular meeting point and orientation aid in Zagreb is the Lotrščak Tower, from which the view falls over almost the whole of Zagreb. The cogwheel railway, which comfortably takes holidaymakers from the lower town to the upper town, ends directly at this well-preserved relic of the old city wall. Incidentally, the Lotrščak Tower is home to the cannon that announces the time every day at 12 noon.

Article: Lotrščak Tower in Zagreb

Zagreb Cathedral

The Cathedral of Zagreb, visible from afar, is one of the most famous churches in Croatia - © TTstudio / Shutterstock
© TTstudio / Shutterstock

The nationally famous Zagreb Cathedral is almost 1000 years old and can be seen from afar with its over 100m high towers. The neo-Gothic Church of the Ascension is considered a national treasure and, with the four golden angels and the Marian column on the forecourt, a well-known postcard motif of Zagreb. In its massive interior, the High Baroque furnishings, the treasury and the organ are worth seeing.

Article: Zagreb Cathedral

St Mark's Church in Zagreb

With its distinctive heraldic roof, Zagreb's pretty St Mark's Church is considered a landmark of the Upper Town, Croatia - © TTstudio / Shutterstock
© TTstudio / Shutterstock

Zagreb's second famous place of worship is the picturesque St Mark's Church. Its distinctive heraldic roof makes it the landmark of the upper town. In addition to the ornately decorated south portal, the oldest coat of arms of Zagreb on the north-west façade is also worth seeing.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodation in Zagreb

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Article: St Mark's Church in Zagreb

Art Pavilion in Zagreb

The magnificent Art Pavilion in Zagreb is the oldest art museum in Croatia - © iascic / Shutterstock
© iascic / Shutterstock

The Art Pavilion in Zagreb is the only art museum in the city that was built as such and at the same time the oldest art museum in Croatia. Behind its architecturally outstanding façade lies contemporary art on a grand scale - the spacious halls were designed specifically for the presentation of large-scale works of art.

Article: Art Pavilion in Zagreb

Mimara Museum in Zagreb

With over 3,700 works of art by international masters, the Mimara Museum in Zagreb is one of the most valuable private collections in the world, Croatia - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

The Mimara Museum is also a worthwhile address for art lovers in Zagreb. The private collection in a magnificent 19th century building is one of the most valuable in the world. Among the almost 4,000 works are renowned artists from all over the world, including Manet, Renoir, Rembrandt, Rubens, Van Dyck or Goya.

Article: Mimara Museum in Zagreb

Museum of Broken Relations in Zagreb

The objects on display at the Zagreb Museum of Broken Relationships represent the diverse stories of past love, Croatia - © gary yim / Shutterstock
© gary yim / Shutterstock

A museum of a different kind is the Museum of Broken Relationships. It was named the most innovative museum in Europe and houses relics from all over Europe that tell stories of past love and passion. Among the most bizarre exhibits are the "ex-axe" and the "crazy divorce garden gnome".

Article: Museum of Broken Relations in Zagreb

Maksimir Park and Zoo in Zagreb

Maksimir Park in Zagreb, Croatia, is the oldest and largest park in southern Europe - © ibreakstock / Shutterstock
© ibreakstock / Shutterstock

Theoldest and largest park in the whole of southern Europe has already been voted the most beautiful park in Europe and promises idyllic relaxation on over 300 hectares of greenery with gardens, forests and lakes. Lovingly laid-out walkways lead to pavilions, fountains and sculptures, to which Maksimir Park owes its status as a cultural monument.

Advertisement

Article: Maksimir Park and Zoo in Zagreb
Photo gallery: Maksimir Park and Zoo in Zagreb

Botanical Garden in Zagreb

The Botanical Garden of Zagreb impresses its visitors with a variety of native and exotic plants, Croatia - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Free admission to an oasis of tranquillity is also promised by the Zagreb Botanical Garden from April to October. It is maintained by the city's Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and houses a fascinating wealth of native and exotic plants in ponds and flowerbeds.

Article: Botanical Garden in Zagreb

National Theatre in Zagreb

The impressive National Theatre on Tito Square is Zagreb's most magnificent stage and one of the most important sights in Croatia's capital - © Phant / Shutterstock
© Phant / Shutterstock

The baroque National Theatre of Zagreb is one of the city's most outstanding buildings due to its architectural beauty. It is located on Tito Square and was founded in 1840 as part of a cross-state concept to promote culture in Croatia. Today it impresses with great acting and its masterfully decorated interior.

Article: National Theatre in Zagreb

PICTURES: 15 Top Shots from Zagreb

Photo gallery: 15 top shots of Zagreb


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Zagreb, Kroatien

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Zagreb reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Zagreb! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Zagreb auf keinen Fall versäumen? 

Wer Urlaub in Kroatien macht, kehrt der Hauptstadt im Landesinneren des Öfteren zugunsten der herrlichen Inseln und Strände Kroatiens den Rücken zu. Diese Ignoranz hat Kroatiens größte Stadt keineswegs verdient, denn Zagreb hat mit seinem dynamischen Mix der k.u.k. und Balkan-Vergangenheit prächtige Baudenkmäler, interessante Museen und idyllische Grünflächen zu bieten.

Ban-Jelačić-Platz in Zagreb

Kroatien Urlauber finden am Trg Ban Jelačić, dem Hauptplatz von Zagreb, prachtvolle Baudenkmäler, nette Cafés und vielfältige Shopping-Möglichkeiten - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Der prächtige Trg Ban Jelačić ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für eine Sightseeing-Tour durch Zagreb und gibt auch gleich einen Vorgeschmack auf die beeindruckende Architektur, die Kroatiens Hauptstadt zu bieten hat. Als Verbindung zwischen Zagrebs Ober- und Unterstadt beleben Touristen, Straßenmusikanten, Verkäufer und Einheimische auf Shopping-Tour den Ban Jelačić Platz Tag und Nacht.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Lotrščak Turm in Zagreb

Der eindrucksvolle Lotrščak Turm in der Oberstadt von Zagreb war einst Wachturm, Glockenturm und Kanonenturm, Kroatien - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Ebenfalls beliebter Treffpunkt und Orientierungshelfer in Zagreb ist der Lotrščak Turm, von dem aus der Blick über nahezu ganz Zagreb fällt. Die Zahnradbahn, die Urlauber von der Unterstadt bequem in die Oberstadt bringt, endet direkt an diesem guterhaltenen Relikt der alten Stadtmauer. Im Lotrščak Turm steht übrigens die Kanone, die täglich um 12 Uhr Mittag die Uhrzeit verkündet.

Zum Artikel …

Kathedrale von Zagreb

Die weithin sichtbare Kathedrale von Zagreb zählt zu den berühmtesten Kirchen von Kroatien - © TTstudio / Shutterstock
© TTstudio / Shutterstock

Die landesweit berühmte Kathedrale von Zagreb ist nahezu 1000 Jahre alt und mit ihren über 100m hohen Türmen schon von weitem sichtbar. Die neugotische Himmelfahrts-Kirche gilt als nationales Kulturgut und mit den vier goldenen Engeln und der Mariensäule auf dem Vorplatz als bekanntes Postkarten-Motiv von Zagreb. In ihrem gewaltigen Innenraum sind die hochbarocke Ausstattung, die Schatzkammer und die Orgel sehenswert.

Zum Artikel …

Markuskirche in Zagreb

Die hübsche Markuskirche von Zagreb gilt mit ihrem unverkennbaren Wappendach als Wahrzeichen der Oberstadt, Kroatien - © TTstudio / Shutterstock
© TTstudio / Shutterstock

Das zweite berühmte Gotteshaus Zagrebs ist die pittoreske Markuskirche. Ihr unverwechselbares Wappendach macht sie zum Wahrzeichen der Oberstadt. Neben dem kunstvoll geschmückten Südportal ist auch das älteste Wappen von Zagreb an der Nordwestfassade sehenswert.

Zum Artikel …

Kunstpavillon in Zagreb

Der prachtvolle Kunstpavillon in Zagreb ist das älteste Kunstmuseum in Kroatien - © iascic / Shutterstock
© iascic / Shutterstock

Der Kunstpavillon in Zagreb ist das einzige Kunstmuseum der Stadt, welches als solches erbaut wurde und gleichzeitig das älteste Kunstmuseum Kroatiens. Hinter seiner architektonisch herausragenden Fassade verbirgt sich zeitgenössische Kunst im großen Stil– die weitläufigen Hallen wurden nämlich eigens zur Präsentation großflächiger Kunstwerke konzipiert.

Zum Artikel …

Mimara Museum in Zagreb

Mit über 3.700 Kunstwerken internationaler Meister zählt das Mimara-Museum in Zagreb zu den wertvollsten Privatsammlungen der Welt, Kroatien - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Auch das Mimara-Museum ist eine lohnende Adresse für Kunstliebhaber in Zagreb. Die Privatsammlung in einem prächtigen Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert zählt zu den wertvollsten der Welt. Unter den knapp 4.000 Werken sind namhafte Künstler aus der ganzen Welt zu finden, darunter Manet, Renoir, Rembrandt, Rubens, Van Dyck oder Goya.

Zum Artikel …

Museum der zerbrochenen Beziehungen in Zagreb

Die ausgestellten Objekte im Zagreber Museum der zerbrochenen Beziehungen stellen die vielfältigen Geschichten vergangener Liebe dar, Kroatien - © gary yim / Shutterstock
© gary yim / Shutterstock

Ein Museum der etwas anderen Art ist das Museum der zerbrochenen Beziehungen. Es wurde zum innovativsten Museum Europas gekürt und beherbergt Relikte aus ganz Europa, die Geschichten von vergangener Liebe und Leidenschaft erzählen. Zu den skurrilsten Exponaten zählen unter anderem die „Ex-Axt“ und der „verrückte Scheidungs-Gartenzwerg“.

Zum Artikel …

Maksimir Park und Zoo in Zagreb

Der Maksimir Park in Zagreb, Kroatien, ist der älteste und größte Park Südeuropas - © ibreakstock / Shutterstock
© ibreakstock / Shutterstock

Der älteste und größte Park in ganz Südeuropa wurde bereits zum schönsten Park Europas gewählt und verspricht mit Gärten, Wäldern und Seen idyllische Erholung auf über 300 Hektar Grün. Liebevoll angelegte Spazierwege führen zu Pavillons, Springbrunnen und Skulpturen, denen der Maksimir-Park seinen Status als Kulturdenkmal zu verdanken hat.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Botanischer Garten in Zagreb

Der Botanische Garten von Zagreb beeindruckt seine Besucher bei freiem Eintritt mit einer Vielfalt an heimischen und exotischen Pflanzen, Kroatien - © xbrchx / Shutterstock
© xbrchx / Shutterstock

Freien Eintritt in eine Oase der Ruhe verspricht von April bis Oktober auch der Botanische Garten von Zagreb. Er wird von der städtischen Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften und Mathematik gepflegt und beherbergt mit Teichen und Beeten eine faszinierende Fülle an heimischen und exotischen Pflanzen.

Zum Artikel …

Nationaltheater in Zagreb

Das eindrucksvolle Nationaltheater am Tito-Platz ist Zagrebs prächtigste Bühne und zählt zu den bedeutendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Hauptstadt Kroatiens - © Phant / Shutterstock
© Phant / Shutterstock

Das barocke Nationaltheater von Zagreb zählt aufgrund seiner architektonischen Schönheit zu den herausragenden Bauten der Stadt. Es befindet sich am Tito-Platz und wurde 1840 als Teil eines staatsübergreifenden Konzepts zur Kulturförderung in Kroatien gegründet. Heute beeindruckt es durch große Schauspielkunst und sein meisterhaft geschmücktes Interieur.

Zum Artikel …