The Top 10 Sights of Dubrovnik

The old town of Dubrovnik is one of the most beautiful places in the Mediterranean. Amidst the historic city walls, one beautiful building follows the next and numerous beaches invite you to take a swim.

The city of Dubrovnik is located on the Adriatic Sea in the very south of Croatia. The old town of Dubrovnik was built from the 7th century onwards and is one of the most beautiful cities in the entire Mediterranean region. Since 1979, the historic old town of Dubrovnik has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We have also put Dubrovnik on our list of the 10 most beautiful cities in Croatia.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Old Town of Dubrovnik

Photo Gallery: 20 Top Shots of Dubrovnik

World Cultural Heritage Dubrovnik - "Athens of Croatia

The city of 50,000 inhabitants has always had a remarkable density of artists, natural scientists, philosophers, poets and scholars. After the Croatian War of Independence in 1991, Dubrovnik increasingly developed into a tourist centre and popular holiday destination for high society.

The damage done to the historic buildings during the war has largely been repaired, and the culture that has grown over the centuries is still celebrated today with various music and theatre festivals. The historic city walls, the picturesque harbour, medieval churches and interesting museums combine with Renaissance and Baroque architecture to form an ensemble worth seeing. This is how Dubrovnik got the nickname "Athens of Croatia".

What is the best way to get to Dubrovnik?

The old harbor in Dubrovnik is still in use and so fishing boats and sailing yachts can be seen coming and going, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Dubrovnik has its own airport in Cilipi and can be easily reached by plane. A motorway leads from Zagreb to the "Pearl of the Adriatic". Dubrovnik is also a popular yacht harbour where ships up to 3m draft can moor. Smaller ships can drop anchor in the bay of Gornja Bocina.

Sights of Dubrovnik

View over the roofs of Dubrovnik from the city walls, in the foreground the dome of the baroque church Sveti Vlaho, behind it the cathedral of Dubrovnik, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The buildings and squares in Dubrovnik were built over many centuries and have Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque features. The charming little town is a veritable open-air museum, because in the evening, when the tourists have left, it becomes surprisingly quiet in Dubrovnik's winding alleyways.

Dubrovnik City Wall

The two-storey Bokar fortress is often called the most beautiful bulwark of the Dubrovnik city walls; its core task was the defense of the main gate, the bridge and the moat, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Dubrovnik's historic city walls have defended the Croatian coastal city since the 7th century, and with complete success - Dubrovnik has not been invaded once in its entire history. Another reason why the picturesque old town of Dubrovnik is still so well preserved today and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The 2-kilometre-long and up to 25-metre-high city wall can be walked along in its entirety. An ideal tour around the historic centre of Dubrovnik! Within the time-honoured walls, gates, fortresses and towers, including the oldest defence tower in Europe, tell of past battles and guarantee wonderful panoramic views of the city!

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodation in Dubrovnik

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Article: City walls of Dubrovnik
Photo gallery: City walls of Dubrovnik

Old Port of Dubrovnik

Panoramic view of Dubrovnik, well seen is the old port, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The port facilities of Dubrovnik were fortified just as well as the city centre. The Old Port on the Adriatic Sea is bursting with defensive fortifications from the 14th and 15th centuries.

The secluded pier invites you to take a walk in front of the unique flair of the old town, especially at sunset. Bars, restaurants, bobbing fishing boats and elegant sailing yachts offer the typical relaxed and cosy backdrop of a small Croatian harbour town.

Article: Old port of Dubrovnik
Photo gallery: Old Port of Dubrovnik

Rector's Palace

The Rector's Palace in Dubrovnik once served as the seat of government and now houses the Museum of Cultural History, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The southern end of the Old Port is marked by the Rector's Palace. This once housed the government of the Republic of Ragusa and is an impressive example of old town architecture. The Rector's Palace owes its mix of Renaissance, Gothic, Baroque and Rococo styles to numerous restoration works.

The interior of the Rector's Palace is also worth seeing. Its historically valuable walls now house the Dubrovnik Museum of Cultural History.

Article: Rector's Palace in Dubrovnik
Photo gallery: Rector's Palace in Dubrovnik

Dubrovnik Cathedral

The monumental Dubrovnik Cathedral perched on Poljana Marina Držića, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Right next to the Rector' s Palace sits the magnificent Dubrovnik Cathedral. The original construction of the cathedral allegedly goes back to a generous donation by the English King Richard the Lionheart, who was able to save himself on the island of Lokrum after a shipwreck in the 13th century, thus showing his gratitude to Dubrovnik.

Advertisement

The monumental church is dedicated to the Assumption of Mary and houses the most valuable church treasure in the Adriatic. The precious paintings, including an altarpiece by the famous Venetian painter Titian, and the gem-studded relics, which date back to the 11th century, are of unimaginable value. Among other things, the hand, foot and skull of St. Blasius, the patron saint of Dubrovnik, rest here.

Article: Dubrovnik Cathedral
Photo gallery: Dubrovnik Cathedral

Sveti Vlaho Church

The Baroque church of Sveti Vlaho with its wide staircase in Dubrovnik, was built in the 18th century after a fire on the remains of an earlier church, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The patron saint of the city naturally also has his own church in Dubrovnik. The Church of St. Blasius is located one alley behind the Old Port and north of the cathedral. Needless to say, the Venetian-Baroque church is one of the largest churches in the city. Above the entrance portal and over the main altar, a statue of the patron saint looks down on visitors.

The baroque Sveti Vlaho church is the centre of the festivities in honour of St. Blasius every year on 3 February. The processions and parades, centred on Dubrovnik's patron saint, all start and end in front of the simple main portal with its sweeping flight of steps.

Article: Church of Sveti Vlaho (St. Blasius) in Dubrovnik
Photo gallery: Baroque Church of Sveti Vlaho in Dubrovnik

Sponza Palace

Sponza Palace dates back to the 16th century and is one of the few structures that survived the 1667 earthquake in Dubrovnik, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

If you continue along the road, you will reach the Sponza Palace, which can also be reached from the Old Port via the East Gate. It is one of the most beautiful buildings in the old town of Dubrovnik and once served as a customs office. Today it houses the municipal archives with documents that are up to a thousand years old.

In front of the Sponza Palace sits the old bell tower that used to call for the Ragusa Republic Council meeting and ring the alarm in case of fire or other danger.

Advertisement

One of the few buildings in historic Dubrovnik to survive the devastating earthquake of 1667, the richly decorated palace still impresses with its architecture typical of the time. Also worth seeing is the charming inner courtyard, which is accessible with free admission.

Article: Sponza Palace in Dubrovnik

Stradun

The Stradun, the 300-metre pedestrian street between the Ploče Gate and the Pile Gate is fondly referred to as the main street of Dubrovnik's Old Town, Croatia - © emperorcosar / Shutterstock
© emperorcosar / Shutterstock

At the corner between St. Blasius Church and Sponza Palace, Stradun stretches westwards. The 300-metre-long pedestrian zone between the Ploče Gate to the east and the Pile Gate to the west is fondly referred to as the main street of Dubrovnik's Old Town. It was laid out in the 11th century and was secured by two drawbridges at that time.

The promenade is the widest and most beautiful street in Dubrovnik and worth a visit, especially in the evening. In addition to the numerous shops and restaurants, the 31m high Onofrio Fountain on Stradun is worth seeing. It was built in 1444 and named after the architect of the Dubrovnik aqueduct.

Lovrijenac Fortress

From the Lovrijenac Fortress there is a fantastic view over the red roofs of Dubrovnik and the deep blue Adriatic Sea, Croatia - © Ihor Pasternak / Shutterstock
© Ihor Pasternak / Shutterstock

West of Dubrovnik's old town, the Lovrijenac Fortress, from which the Pile Gate in the west was defended, is enthroned. From its 37-metre-high rock, there is a fantastic view over the red sea of Dubrovnik's roofs and the deep blue Adriatic Sea. In front of the magnificent backdrop, summer festivals are now held with Shakespeare as the focus.

The fortress dates back to the 14th century and is still considered a symbol of freedom today, because - thanks also to the monumental city wall - Dubrovnik never fell into enemy hands. The inscription above the entrance gate proclaims: "Non bene pro toto libertas venditur auro" - "Freedom is not sold for all the gold in the world!

Brdo Srg (Sergius Mountain)

The "Dubrovnik Cable Car" transports up to 30 people at a time up Sergius Hill - the most comfortable way to climb, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The picturesque old town from above can be seen from Sergius Hill. The magnificent panorama from Dubrovnik's local mountain is simply not to be missed! The houses within the city walls are grouped like toys against the royal blue background of the sea.

Advertisement

The ascent to Brdo Srg is not even strenuous: the comfortable cable car ride takes about three minutes. Alternatively, the viewpoint can be reached by car or by a one-and-a-half-hour hike from the old town.

Besides the unforgettable view, the war museum on Brdo Srd is also worth seeing. Located in a ruined fortress, it tells the story of the Yugoslav war in the early 1990s.

Article: Brdo Srg (Sergius Mountain) in Dubrovnik
Photo gallery: Brdo Srg (Sergius Mountain) in Dubrovnik

Lokrum Island

On the rocky beaches of the island of Lokrum off the coast of Croatia, nudists also feel at home - © Kert / Shutterstock
© Kert / Shutterstock

From Sergius Hill, it is not only the Old Town island that stands out - diagonally to the left is another one: the island of Lokrum. It is said that Richard the Lionheart was particularly pleased to see it in the 13th century. He was stranded here after his ship sank.

The Habsburgs also felt at home here. Archduke Maximilian Ferdinand, later King of Mexico, liked it so much on Lokrum that he bought the entire island without further ado.

Those who beach themselves on the island of Lokrum today will find a small green paradise. Rocky bathing beaches lie at the edge of dense pine forests, hiking trails scented with magnolias lead through palm and olive groves, and historical sights are hidden under laurel trees and cypresses, such as the Benedictine monastery with restaurant, the Archduke's Botanical Garden or the star-shaped Fort Royal.

Article: Lokrum Island

Advertisement

PICTURES: The Top 10 Sights of Dubrovnik

Photo gallery: The top 10 sights of Dubrovnik

Dubrovnik age records

Within the city walls of Dubrovnik lies a worthwhile mix of historical buildings from all periods of the city's history, Croatia - © Jan Schuler / Fotolia
© Jan Schuler / Fotolia

Within the city walls of Dubrovnik lies a mix of historical buildings from all periods of the city's history that is well worth seeing. The oldest pharmacy in Europe dates back to 1317. It can still be visited today in the Franciscan monastery. Dubrovnik's theatre is also one of the oldest in Europe and is still used for performances.

The hospitals on the offshore island of Lopud and in the suburb of Ploče date back to the 14th century. Back then, from 1377, travellers had to spend 40 days in quarantine there for the first time in Europe, so that they did not bring the plague into the city.

Last but not least is the world's oldest arboretum in Dubrovnik, which was established in 1492 and contains trees from all over the world.

Beaches in Dubrovnik

If you've had enough of architecture and culture, take the time to enjoy a relaxing day by the sea on Dubrovnik's picturesque beaches! The rich and beautiful meet to sunbathe and sip cocktails on Bonje beach, while young families are recommended to visit the fine-sand Lapad beach with its playground and snack bars.

Buza beach is located directly on the city walls of Dubrovnik and is ideal for business people who want to enjoy a quick dip in the cool water or a cup of coffee by the sea after work.

Dubrovnik's Copacabana is blessed with lots of sun and numerous sports opportunities. However, one area of the beach is only accessible to guests of the Hotel Babin Kuk.

On the beach Sv. Jakov, the local population of Dubrovnik can be found. Sun loungers and parasols can be used for a fee, the fantastic view of the old town is free. If you are lucky, you will be taken on a small tour of the bay in a private boat.

Tip for bathing holidaymakers in Croatia: More information about Croatia's most beautiful beaches here!

Further links:

Official website of Dubrovnik
Save with the Dubrovnik Card


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Dubrovnik

Die Altstadt von Dubrovnik zählt zu den schönsten Plätzen des Mittelmeerraums. Inmitten der historischen Stadtmauer reiht sich ein schmuckes Gebäude an das andere und zahlreiche Strände laden zum Baden ein.

Die Stadt Dubrovnik liegt an der Adria ganz im Süden von Kroatien. Die Altstadt von Dubrovnik entstand ab dem 7. Jahrhundert und zählt zu den schönsten Städten im gesamten Mittelmeerraum. Seit 1979 zählt die historische Altstadt von Dubrovnik zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Wir haben Dubrovnik ebenfalls auf unsere Liste der 10 schönsten Städte Kroatiens gesetzt.

Anzeige

BILDER: Altstadt von Dubrovnik

Fotogalerie: 20 Top Shots von Dubrovnik

Weltkulturerbe Dubrovnik – „Athen Kroatiens“

Die 50.000-Einwohner-Stadt wies schon immer eine bemerkenswerte Dichte an Künstlern, Naturwissenschaftlern, Philosophen, Poeten und Gelehrten auf. Nach dem kroatischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg 1991 entwickelte sich Dubrovnik zunehmend zum Touristenzentrum und beliebtem Urlaubsdomizil der High Society.

Die Schäden, die die historischen Bauten im Krieg davongetragen haben, sind heute großteils behoben und mit diversen Musik- und Theaterfestivals wird die über Jahrhunderte gewachsene Kultur heute noch gefeiert. Die historische Stadtmauer, der malerische Hafen, mittelalterliche Kirchen und interessante Museen formen mit der Renaissance- und Barockarchitektur ein sehenswertes Ensemble. So erhielt Dubrovnik den Beinamen „Athen Kroatiens“.

Wie kommt man am besten nach Dubrovnik?

Der alte Hafen in Dubrovnik ist noch immer in Verwendung und so können Fischerboote und Segeljachten beim Ein- und Auslaufen beobachtet werden, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Dubrovnik verfügt über einen eigenen Flughafen in Cilipi und kann bequem mit dem Flugzeug angeflogen werden. Von Zagreb aus führt eine Autobahn bis zur „Perle der Adria“. Dubrovnik ist außerdem ein beliebter Yachthafen, an dem Schiffe bis zu 3m Tiefgang anlegen können. Kleine Schiffe können in der Bucht Gornja Bocina den Anker werfen.

Sehenswürdigkeiten von Dubrovnik

Blick über die Dächer von Dubrovnik von der Stadtmauer, im Vordergrund die Kuppel der Barockkirche Sveti Vlaho, dahinter die Kathedrale von Dubrovnik, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Gebäude und Plätze in Dubrovnik entstanden über viele Jahrhunderte und weisen Merkmale aus Gotik, Renaissance und Barock auf. Das charmante Städtchen ist ein wahrhaftiges Freilichtmuseum, denn abends, wenn die Touristen abgezogen sind, wird es in den verwinkelten Gässchen Dubrovniks erstaunlich ruhig.

Stadtmauer von Dubrovnik

Die zweistöckige Bokar-Festung wird oft als schönstes Bollwerk der Stadtmauer von Dubrovnik bezeichnet; Kernaufgabe war die Verteidigung des Haupttores, der Brücke und des Grabens, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die historische Stadtmauer von Dubrovnik verteidigt die kroatische Küstenstadt seit dem 7. Jahrhundert und das mit vollem Erfolg – Dubrovnik wurde im Lauf seiner gesamten Geschichte kein einziges Mal eingenommen. Ein weiterer Grund, aus dem die malerische Altstadt von Dubrovnik bis heute so gut erhalten ist und zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe zählt.

Die 2 Kilometer lange und bis zu 25 Meter hohe Stadtmauer kann zur Gänze begangen werden. Ein idealer Rundgang um das historische Zentrum von Dubrovnik! In den altehrwürdigen Mauern erzählen Tore, Festungen und Türme, darunter der älteste Wehrturm Europas, von vergangenen Schlachten und garantieren wunderbare Panoramablicke über die Stadt!

Anzeige
Anzeige

Empfehlenswerte Unterkünfte in Dubrovnik

HOTELS | PENSIONEN | FERIENWOHNUNGEN | VILLEN | CHALETS

Unterkünfte anzeigen


 

Artikel: Stadtmauern von Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Stadtmauern von Dubrovnik

Alter Hafen von Dubrovnik

Panoramablick auf Dubrovnik, gut zu sehen ist der alte Hafen, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Ebenso gut wie der Stadtkern wurden damals die Hafenanlagen von Dubrovnik befestigt. Der Alte Hafen an der Adria strotzt nur so vor Verteidigungsanlagen aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert.

Der lauschige Pier lädt vor allem bei Sonnenuntergang zu Spaziergängen vor dem einmaligen Flair der Altstadt ein. Bars, Restaurants, dümpelnde Fischerboote und elegante Segelyachten bieten die typische entspannt-gemütliche Kulisse eines kroatischen Hafenstädtchens.

Artikel: Alter Hafen von Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Alter Hafen von Dubrovnik

Rektorenpalast

Der Rektorenpalast in Dubrovnik fungierte einst als Regierungssitz und beherbergt heute das kulturhistorische Museum, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das südliche Ende des Alten Hafens wird vom Rektorenpalast markiert. Dieser beherbergte einst die Regierung der Republik Ragusa und stellt ein eindrucksvolles Beispiel der Altstadt-Architektur dar. Zahlreichen Restaurierungsarbeiten verdankt der Rektorenpalast seinen Stil-Mix aus Renaissance, Gotik, Barock und Rokoko.

Auch das Innere des Rektorenpalastes ist sehenswert. Seine historisch wertvollen Mauern beherbergen heute das kulturhistorische Museum von Dubrovnik.

Artikel: Rektorenpalast in Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Rektorenpalast in Dubrovnik

Kathedrale von Dubrovnik

Die monumentale Kathedrale von Dubrovnik thront auf dem Poljana Marina Držića, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Gleich neben dem Rektorenpalast thront die prächtige Kathedrale von Dubrovnik. Die ursprüngliche Errichtung der Kathedrale geht angeblich auf eine großzügige Spende des englischen Königs Richard Löwenherz zurück, der sich im 13. Jahrhundert nach Schiffbruch auf die Insel Lokrum retten konnte und Dubrovnik damit seine Dankbarkeit zeigte.

Anzeige

Das monumentale Gotteshaus ist der Maria Himmelfahrt geweiht und beherbergt den wertvollsten Kirchenschatz der Adria. Die kostbaren Gemälde, darunter ein Altarbild des berühmten venezianischen Malers Tizian, und die edelsteinbesetzten Reliquien, die bis auf das 11. Jahrhundert zurückgehen, sind von unvorstellbarem Wert. Unter anderem ruhen hier Hand, Fuß und Schädel des Hl. Blasius, des Schutzpatrons von Dubrovnik.

Artikel: Kathedrale von Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Kathedrale von Dubrovnik

Kirche Sveti Vlaho

Die Barockkirche Sveti Vlaho mit ihrer breiten Freitreppe in Dubrovnik, wurde im 18. Jh. nach einem Brand auf den Resten einer früheren Kirche erbaut, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Schutzpatron der Stadt hat natürlich auch eine eigene Kirche in Dubrovnik. Die Kirche des Hl. Blasius liegt eine Gasse hinter dem Alten Hafen und nördlich der Kathedrale. Selbstredend zählt das venezianisch-barocke Gotteshaus zu den größten Kirchen der Stadt. Über dem Eingangsportal und über dem Hauptaltar blickt eine Statue des Schutzheiligen auf die Besucher herab.

Die barocke Sveti-Vlaho-Kirche ist jedes Jahr am 3. Februar Zentrum der Festivitäten zu Ehren des Hl. Blasius. Die Prozessionen und Umzüge, in deren Mittelpunkt Dubrovniks Schutzpatron steht, starten und enden alle vor dem schlichten Hauptportal mit der ausladenden Freitreppe.

Artikel: Kirche Sveti Vlaho (Blasiuskirche) in Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Barockkirche Sveti Vlaho in Dubrovnik

Sponza Palast

Der Sponza-Palast stammt aus dem 16. Jahrhundert und ist eines der wenigen Bauwerke, die das Erdbeben von 1667 in Dubrovnik überstanden haben, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Folgt man der Straße weiter erreicht man den Sponza-Palast, der auch vom Alten Hafen aus über das Osttor zu erreichen ist. Er zählt zu den schönsten Gebäuden in der Altstadt von Dubrovnik und diente einst als Zollamt. Heute beherbergt er das städtische Archiv mit Dokumenten, die bis zu tausend Jahre alt sind.

Vor dem Sponza-Palast thront der alte Glockenturm, der zur Ratsversammlung der Republik Ragusa rief und bei Feuer oder anderen Gefahren Alarm läutete.

Anzeige

Als eines der wenigen Gebäude des historischen Dubrovnik überstand der reichverzierte Palast das verheerende Erdbeben von 1667. Er beeindruckt somit bis heute mit seiner für die damalige Zeit typischen Architektur. Ebenfalls sehenswert ist der charmante Innenhof, der bei freiem Eintritt zugänglich ist.

Artikel: Sponza-Palast in Dubrovnik

Stradun

Die Stradun, die 300 Meter lange Fußgängerzone zwischen dem Ploče-Tor und dem Pile-Tor wird gern als Hauptstraße von Dubrovniks Altstadt bezeichnet, Kroatien - © emperorcosar / Shutterstock
© emperorcosar / Shutterstock

An der Ecke zwischen Blasius-Kirche und Sponza-Palast erstreckt sich die Stradun in Richtung Westen. Die 300 Meter lange Fußgängerzone zwischen dem Ploče-Tor im Osten und dem Pile-Tor im Westen wird gern als Hauptstraße von Dubrovniks Altstadt bezeichnet. Sie wurde im 11. Jahrhundert angelegt und war damals durch zwei Zugbrücken gesichert.

Die Flaniermeile ist die breiteste und schönste Straße von Dubrovnik und vor allem abends einen Besuch wert. Neben den zahlreichen Shops und Lokalen ist an der Stradun der 31m hohe Onofrio-Brunnen sehenswert. Er wurde 1444 errichtet und nach dem Architekten des Dubrovniker Aquädukts benannt.

Festung Lovrijenac

Von der Festung Lovrijenac tut sich ein fantastischer Ausblick über das rote Dächermeer von Dubrovnik und die tiefblaue Adria auf, Kroatien - © Ihor Pasternak / Shutterstock
© Ihor Pasternak / Shutterstock

Westlich der Altstadt von Dubrovnik thront die Festung Lovrijenac, von der aus das Pile-Tor im Westen verteidigt wurde. Von ihrem 37 Meter hohen Felsen tut sich ein fantastischer Ausblick über das rote Dächermeer von Dubrovnik und die tiefblaue Adria auf. Vor der großartigen Kulisse werden heute Sommerfestspiele mit Shakespeare als Schwerpunkt veranstaltet.

Die Festung stammt aus dem 14. Jahrhundert und gilt bis heute als Symbol der Freiheit, denn – auch der monumentalen Stadtmauer sei Dank – Dubrovnik gelangte nie in feindliche Hände. Die Inschrift über dem Eingangstor verkündet: „Non bene pro toto libertas venditur auro“ – „Die Freiheit wird nicht für alles Gold der Welt verkauft!“.

Brdo Srg (Sergiusberg)

Die „Dubrovnik Cable Car“ transportiert bis zu 30 Personen gleichzeitig auf den Sergiusberg - die bequemste Art des Aufstiegs, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die malerische Altstadt von oben gibt es vom Sergiusberg aus zu sehen. Das prachtvolle Panorama vom Hausberg Dubrovniks darf einfach nicht versäumt werden! Wie Spielzeuge gruppieren sich die Häuser innerhalb der Stadtmauern vor dem königsblauen Hintergrund des Meeres.

Anzeige

Der Aufstieg auf den Brdo Srg gestaltet sich nicht mal anstrengend: Rund drei Minuten dauert die bequeme Fahrt mit der Seilbahn. Alternativ ist der Aussichtspunkt mit dem Auto oder über eine eineinhalbstündige Wanderung von der Altstadt aus zu erreichen.

Neben dem unvergesslichen Ausblick ist auch das Kriegsmuseum auf dem Brdo Srd sehenswert. In einer Festungsruine gelegen erzählt es die Geschichte des Jugoslawien-Krieges Anfang der 1990er-Jahre.

Artikel: Brdo Srg (Sergiusberg) in Dubrovnik
Fotogalerie: Brdo Srg (Sergiusberg) in Dubrovnik

Insel Lokrum

An den felsigen Badestränden der Insel Lokrum vor der Küste Kroatiens fühlen sich auch FKK-Anhänger wohl - © Kert / Shutterstock
© Kert / Shutterstock

Vom Sergiusberg fällt nicht nur die Altstadt-Insel auf – schräg links daneben befindet sich eine weitere: die Insel Lokrum. Angeblich freute sich im 13. Jahrhundert Richard Löwenherz besonders, sie zu sehen. Er strandete hier nämlich nachdem sein Schiff gesunken war.

Auch die Habsburger fühlten sich hier wohl. Erzherzog Maximilian Ferdinand, dem späteren König von Mexiko, gefiel es auf Lokrum so gut, dass er kurzerhand das gesamte Eiland kaufte.

Wer heute auf der Insel Lokrum strandet findet ein kleines grünes Paradies vor. Am Rande von dichten Kiefernwäldern liegen felsige Badestrände, durch Palmen- und Olivenhaine führen von Magnolien duftende Wanderwege und unter Lorbeerbäumen und Zypressen verbergen sich historische Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie zum Beispiel das Benediktiner-Kloster mit Restaurant, der Botanische Garten des Erzherzogs oder das sternförmige Fort Royal.

Artikel: Insel Lokrum

Anzeige

BILDER: Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Dubrovnik

Fotogalerie: Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Dubrovnik

Altersrekorde Dubrovniks

Innerhalb der Stadtmauern von Dubrovnik liegt ein sehenswerter Mix aus historischen Bauwerken aller Perioden der Stadtgeschichte, Kroatien - © Jan Schuler / Fotolia
© Jan Schuler / Fotolia

Innerhalb der Stadtmauern von Dubrovnik liegt ein sehenswerter Mix aus historischen Bauwerken aller Perioden der Stadtgeschichte. Die älteste Apotheke Europas geht auf das Jahr 1317 zurück. Sie kann heute noch im Franziskanerkloster besucht werden. Auch das Theater von Dubrovnik zählt zu den ältesten Europas, welches immer noch für Vorführungen genutzt wird.

Die Lazarette, die sich auf der vorgelagerten Insel Lopud und in der Vorstadt Ploče befinden, stammen noch aus dem 14. Jahrhundert. Damals ab 1377 mussten Reisende dort erstmalig in Europa 40 Tage in Quarantäne verbringen, damit sie die Pest nicht in die Stadt einschleppten.

Zu guter Letzt liegt auch das weltweit älteste Arboretum in Dubrovnik, welches im Jahr 1492 angelegt wurde und Bäume aus aller Welt beinhaltet.

Strände in Dubrovnik

Wer von Architektur und Kultur genug hat, sollte sich die Zeit nehmen und an Dubrovniks malerischen Stränden einen entspannten Tag am Meer einlegen! Die Schönen und Reichen treffen sich zum Sonnenbaden und Cocktail schlürfen am Strand Bonje, für junge Familien ist der feinsandige Strand Lapad mit Spielplatz und Snackbars zu empfehlen.

Der Strand Buza liegt direkt an der Stadtmauer von Dubrovnik und ist ideal für Business-Leute, die nach der Arbeit rasch einen Sprung ins kühle Nass oder eine Tasse Kaffee am Meer genießen möchten.

Die Copacabana Dubrovniks ist mit viel Sonne und zahlreichen Sportmöglichkeiten gesegnet. Ein Bereich des Strandes ist allerdings nur für Gäste des Hotels Babin Kuk zugänglich.

Am Strand Sv. Jakov ist die einheimische Bevölkerung Dubrovniks anzutreffen. Liegestühle und Sonnenschirme können gegen Gebühr benutzt werden, der fantastische Blick auf die Altstadt ist gratis. Mit etwas Glück wird man in einem Privatboot auf eine kleine Tour durch die Bucht mitgenommen.

Tipp für Bade-Urlauber in Kroatien: Mehr Info zu Kroatiens schönsten Stränden gibt’s hier!

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website von Dubrovnik
Sparen mit der Dubrovnik Card



Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: