The Top 10 Sights of Russia

Travel to Russia without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Russia! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in Russia?

Russia, the largest country on earth, is also a breathtaking land of contrasts. In Russia you can find both absolute silence and solitude in the vast taiga, as well as the thriving life and magnificent buildings in the Russian cities.

Advertisement

St Basil's Cathedral in Moscow

St. Basil's Cathedral with its colourful façade and onion domes is a fantastic, internationally known postcard motif, Moscow, Russia - © irbis2007 / Fotolia
© irbis2007 / Fotolia

Everyone has probably seen the colourful onion domes of St. Basil's Cathedral in Moscow at some point in their lives. The colourful church next to the famous History Museum on Red Square is a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with the Kremlin, Russia's seat of government. Even the French Emperor Napoleon was so impressed by the "Christian mosque" that he wanted to take it with him to Paris.

Article: Basil's Cathedral in Moscow
Photo gallery: Basil's Cathedral in Moscow

Christ the Saviour Church in Moscow

Christ the Saviour Cathedral in Moscow is the main cathedral of the Russian Orthodox Church and the world's highest Orthodox house of worship, Russia - © Anton Gvozdikov / Fotolia
© Anton Gvozdikov / Fotolia

The Church of Christ the Saviour on the banks of the Moskva is the tallest Orthodox cathedral in the world. 12kg of gold leaf adorn the church's 5 massive domes, symbolising Jesus Christ and the 4 evangelists. The almost 80m high interior is decorated with ornate paintings and frescoes that lead the faithful to the 30m high main altar.

Article: Christ the Saviour Church in Moscow
Photo gallery: Christ the Saviour Church in Moscow

Lake Baikal

Lake Baikal, with a depth of 1,642m and an age of 25 million years, is the deepest and oldest lake and the largest freshwater reservoir in the world, Russia - © Mikhail Markovskiy / Fotolia
© Mikhail Markovskiy / Fotolia

Lake Baikal can be seen as a symbol of Russia's endless vastness - it is the deepest and oldest lake in the world and is home to the world's largest supply of fresh water. With its breathtaking surroundings, Lake Baikal is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. From November to May it is completely frozen over and offers a picture full of ice-cold, bizarre beauty.

Article: Lake Baikal
Photo gallery: Lake Baikal

Hermitage in St. Petersburg

The Hermitage in the Russian city of St. Petersburg is one of the largest and most important art museums in the world; it contains over 60,000 exhibits in 350 halls - © Irina Burakova / Shutterstock
© Irina Burakova / Shutterstock

It was Catherine the Great who once collected her art treasures here - today the magnificent Hermitage with its priceless exhibits is one of the most important art museums in the world. In its royal rooms, where the Russian tsars once lived, around ten times as many exhibits can be admired as in the famous Louvre in Paris.

Advertisement

Article: Hermitage in St. Petersburg
Photo gallery: Hermitage in St. Petersburg

Catherine Palace in Pushkin

The stunning Catherine Palace in the former Tsar's residence Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo), Russia - © Vitas / Fotolia
© Vitas / Fotolia

Not only Catherine the Great, but numerous other empresses and emperors before and after her were responsible for the creation of the majestic Catherine Palace in Pushkin. It is located about 25km south of St. Petersburg and impresses its visitors with its idyllic gardens and the stunning Amber Room.

Article: Catherine Palace in Pushkin
Photo gallery: Catherine Palace in Pushkin

Trans-Siberian Railway

The Trans-Siberian Railway is the longest continuous railway line in the world, Russia - © struteanu / Fotolia
© struteanu / Fotolia

Absolute solitude and a hint of the grandeur of Russia are offered by a journey on the Trans-Siberian Railway. The longest railway line in the world stretches over more than 9,000 kilometres from Moscow to Vladivostok. Along its 80 stations, it brings its passengers closer to the wildly romantic Russian taiga between 89 cities.

Article: Trans-Siberian Railway

St. Sophia Cathedral in Novgorod

St. Sophia Cathedral in Novgorod is the oldest church building in Russia still in use, Russia - © filosof - Fotolia
© filosof - Fotolia

After the cathedral of the same name in the Ukrainian capital Kiev, St. Sophia's Cathedral in Novgorod is the second oldest Russian Orthodox church in the world and, together with the entire Old Town, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Under its 38m-high dome, it houses a library with 5,000 volumes and the world-famous Bronze Door of Płock.

Article: St. Sophia Cathedral in Novgorod

Kljutschewskoi Nature Park in Kamchatka

The Kljutschewskoi and Kamen volcanoes on the Kamchatka Peninsula in Russia - © Alex Ishchenko / Fotolia
© Alex Ishchenko / Fotolia

The landscape of Kamchatka at the easternmost tip of Russia consists of a wild symbiosis of fire and ice. Glaciers and volcanoes lie close together here, forming the most volcanically active region in the world. In the Kljutschewskoi Nature Park, named after the largest volcano in Europe and Asia and declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the mighty power of the earth's interior can be experienced up close.

Advertisement

Article: Kljutschewskoi National Park in Kamchatka
Photo gallery: Kljutschewskoi National Park in Kamchatka

Church of the Resurrection in Kolomenskoye

The Church of the Resurrection in Kolomenskoye is the oldest preserved building in southeast Moscow, Russia - © slava / Fotolia
© slava / Fotolia

The Church of the Resurrection is the oldest preserved building in Kolomenskoye in the south-east of Moscow. It was built in honour of the birth of the Tsar who later became known as Ivan the Terrible. Even at first glance, its unusual architecture is striking, dominated by a 62m high lime-white tower.

Article: Resurrection Church in Kolomenskoye

Sochi

Sochi on the Black Sea has gained worldwide fame as the venue for the 2014 Winter Olympics, Russia - © Mikhail Kolesnikov / Shutterstock
© Mikhail Kolesnikov / Shutterstock

Since the 2014 Winter Olympics, the spa and bathing resort on the Black Sea has become world-famous. And it is indeed a seaside resort, because even if you wouldn't expect it from a Russian city, Sochi lies in the same climate zone as Nice in France. The longest city in Asia attracts visitors with palm beaches, buildings worth seeing and the largest aquarium in Russia.

Article: Sochi
Photo gallery: Sochi


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Russland

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Russland reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Russland! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Russland auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Russland, das größte Land der Erde, ist auch ein atemberaubendes Land der Gegensätze. In Russland findet man sowohl absolute Stille und Einsamkeit in der weitläufigen Taiga, als auch das blühende Leben und prachtvolle Bauten in den russischen Großstädten.

Basilius Kathedrale in Moskau

Die Basilius-Kathedrale mit ihre farbenprächtigen Fassade und den bunten Zwiebeltürmen stellt ein fantastisches, international bekanntes Postkartenmotiv dar, Moskau, Russland - © irbis2007 / Fotolia
© irbis2007 / Fotolia

Die bunten Zwiebeltürme der Basilius-Kathedrale in Moskau hat wohl jeder in seinem Leben schon einmal gesehen. Die farbenfrohe Kirche neben dem berühmten Historischen Museum am Roten Platz zählt gemeinsam mit dem Kreml, Russlands Regierungssitz, zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Selbst den französischen Kaiser Napoleon hat die „christliche Moschee“ derart beeindruckt, dass er sie kurzerhand mit nach Paris nehmen wollte.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Christ-Erlöser-Kirche in Moskau

Die Christ-Erlöser-Kathedrale in Moskau ist die Hauptkathedrale der Russischen-Orthodoxen Kirche und das weltweit höchste orthodoxe Gotteshaus, Russland - © Anton Gvozdikov / Fotolia
© Anton Gvozdikov / Fotolia

Die Christ-Erlöser-Kirche am Ufer der Moskwa ist die höchste orthodoxe Kathedrale der Welt. 12kg Blattgold zieren die 5 gewaltigen Kuppeln der Kirche, die Jesus Christus und die 4 Evangelisten symbolisieren. Der knapp 80m hohe Innenraum ist mit kunstvollen Gemälden und Fresken geschmückt, die die Gläubigen zum 30m hohen Hauptaltar leiten.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Baikalsee

Der Baikalsee ist mit einer Tiefe von 1.642m und einem Alter von 25 Millionen Jahrender tiefste und älteste See, sowie das größte Süßwasser-Reservoir der Welt, Russland - © Mikhail Markovskiy / Fotolia
© Mikhail Markovskiy / Fotolia

Der Baikalsee kann als Symbol für Russlands endlose weiten angesehen werden – er ist der tiefste und älteste See der Welt und beherbergt den weltgrößten Vorrat an Süßwasser. Der Baikalsee zählt mit seiner atemberaubenden Umgebung zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Von November bis Mai ist er völlig zugefroren und bietet ein Bild voll eiskalter, bizarrer Schönheit.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Eremitage in St. Petersburg

Die Eremitage in der russischen Stadt St. Petersburg zählt zu den größten und wichtigsten Kunstmuseen der Welt; Sie umfasst über 60.000 Ausstellungsstücke in 350 Sälen - © Irina Burakova / Shutterstock
© Irina Burakova / Shutterstock

Katharina die Große war es einst, die hier ihre Kunstschätze sammelte – heute zählt die prächtige Eremitage mit ihren unbezahlbaren Exponaten zu den bedeutendsten Kunstmuseen der Welt. In ihren königlichen Räumlichkeiten, in denen einst die russischen Zaren wohnten, sind rund zehnmal so viele Ausstellungsstücke zu bewundern wie im berühmten Louvre in Paris.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Katharinenpalast in Puschkin

Der überwältigende Katharinenpalast in der ehemaligen Zarenresidenz Puschkin (Zarskoje Selo), Russland - © Vitas / Fotolia
© Vitas / Fotolia

Nicht nur Katharina die Große, sondern zahlreiche weitere Kaiserinnen und Kaiser vor und nach ihr waren für die Entstehung des majestätischen Katharinenpalastes in Puschkin verantwortlich. Er liegt rund 25km südlich von St. Petersburg und beeindruckt seine Besucher mit seiner idyllischen Gartenanlage und dem überwältigenden Bernsteinzimmer.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Transsibirische Eisenbahn

Die Transsibirische Eisenbahn ist die längste durchgehende Eisenbahnstrecke der Welt, Russland - © struteanu / Fotolia
© struteanu / Fotolia

Absolute Einsamkeit und den Hauch einer Ahnung von der Größe Russlands bietet eine Fahrt mit der Transibirischen Eisenbahn. Die längste Eisenbahnstrecke der Welt erstreckt sich über mehr als 9.000 Kilometer von Moskau nach Wladiwostock. Entlang ihrer 80 Stationen bringt sie ihren Passagieren zwischen 89 Städten die wildromantische russische Taiga näher.

Zum Artikel …

Sophien-Kathedrale in Nowgorod

Die Sophien-Kathedrale in Nowgorod ist das älteste Kirchengebäude in Russland, das noch genutzt wird, Russland - © filosof - Fotolia
© filosof – Fotolia

Nach der gleichnamigen Kathedrale in der ukrainischen Hauptstadt Kiew ist die Sophien-Kathedrale in Nowgorod die zweitälteste russisch-orthodoxe Kirche der Welt und zählt gemeinsam mit der gesamten Altstadt zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Unter ihrer 38m hohen Kuppel beherbergt sie eine Bibliothek mit 5.000 Bänden und die weltberühmte Bronze-Tür von Płock.

Zum Artikel …

Naturpark Kljutschewskoi in Kamtschatka

Die Vulkane Kljutschewskoi und Kamen auf der Halbinsel Kamtschatka in Russland - © Alex Ishchenko / Fotolia
© Alex Ishchenko / Fotolia

Die Landschaft von Kamtschatka am östlichsten Zipfel Russlands besteht aus einer wilden Symbiose aus Feuer und Eis. Gletscher und Vulkane liegen hier dicht an dicht und formen die vulkanisch aktivste Region der Welt. Im Naturpark Kljutschewskoi, benannt nach dem größten Vulkan Europas und Asiens und von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt, kann die gewaltige Kraft des Erdinneren aus nächster Nähe erlebt werden.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Auferstehungskirche in Kolomenskoje

Die Auferstehungskirche in Kolomenskoje ist das älteste erhaltene Bauwerk im Südosten Moskaus, Russland - © slava / Fotolia
© slava / Fotolia

Die Auferstehungskirche ist das älteste erhaltene Bauwerk von Kolomenskoje im Südosten von Moskau. Sie wurde zu Ehren der Geburt jenes Zaren errichtet, der später als Iwan der Schreckliche bekannt wurde. Schon auf den ersten Blick fällt ihre ungewöhnliche Architektur auf, die von einem 62m hohen kalkweißen Turm dominiert wird.

Zum Artikel …

Sotschi

Sotschi am Schwarzen Meer hat als Austragungsort der Olympischen Winterspiele im Jahr 2014 weltweite Berühmtheit erlangt, Russland - © Mikhail Kolesnikov / Shutterstock
© Mikhail Kolesnikov / Shutterstock

Seit den Olympischen Winterspielen 2014 ist der Kur- und Badeort am Schwarzen Meer weltberühmt. Und ein Badeort ist es tatsächlich, denn auch wenn man dies von einer russischen Stadt nicht vermuten würde, Sotschi liegt in der selben Klimazone wie Nizza in Frankreich. Die längste Stadt Asiens lockt mit Palmenstränden, sehenswerten Bauwerken und dem größten Aquarium Russlands.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …