The Top 10 Sights of Great Britain

Travel to Great Britain without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions of Great Britain! Which highlights and attractions are not to be missed when on holiday in Great Britain?

Great Britain delights its visitors with a spectacular mix of imposing architecture, cosmopolitan metropolises, world culture and fantastic scenery. The capital London entices with international flair and a pinch of royalty, wild Scotland with ancient fortifications, sweeping hills and quiet lochs, and with the fascinating cult site of Stonehenge, magic is not neglected either.

Advertisement

London

Thousands of coloured sparks rain down from Big Ben, the famous almost 100-metre-high tower at the Houses of Parliament in London on New Year's Eve, Great Britain - © Bikeworldtravel / Shutterstock
© Bikeworldtravel / Shutterstock

The undisputed number 1 of the UK's top 10 sights is its diverse capital city. London is one of the most famous and most visited cities in the world. Art and culture, music and museums, shopping and sport, stars and starlets - it's guaranteed not to be boring on holiday in the British metropolis!

London's places of interest ...

Stonehenge

The famous monoliths of Stonehenge are one of Britain's most famous monuments and a symbol of mystery and ancient power - © jovannig / Fotolia
© jovannig / Fotolia

The mystical Stonehenge is one of Britain's most famous cult sites from the Stone Age. The enormous megaliths are known throughout the world as a symbol of mystery and ancient power. How and for what purpose the stones weighing tons were erected near Salisbury around 5,000 years ago still puzzles scientists today.

Article: Stonehenge

Highlands

Peaceful scenery in the dreamlike landscape of the Highlands in the north of Scotland, Great Britain - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

Those in search of unspoilt nature have found it in the north of Great Britain. The Scottish Highlands are one of the most sparsely populated areas in Europe. The green hills hide secluded bays, sleepy little towns and melancholy lochs, on whose shores impressive ruins tell of times gone by.

Article: Scottish Highlands (Highlands)
Photo gallery: Scottish Highlands (Highlands)

Loch Ness

View over the ruins of Urquhart Castle, once the largest fortress in Scotland, to Loch Ness - © imacture / Fotolia
© imacture / Fotolia

Probably the most famous loch in the Scottish Highlands is Loch Ness. Its mysterious monster "Nessi" made Scotland's second largest loch one of the country's most visited destinations. Loch Ness is also worth visiting for its breathtaking scenery and the ruins of Urquhart Castle which was once the largest fortress in Scotland.

Advertisement

Article: Loch Ness

Hadrian's Wall

Hadrian's Wall runs between the present-day border of Scotland and England in the north of Great Britain and was once the largest fortification of the Roman Empire - © Jule_Berlin / Shutterstock
© Jule_Berlin / Shutterstock

The impressive Hadrian's Wall between England and Scotland dates back to the 2nd century AD. At that time, it was built by the Roman Emperor Hadrian to keep the wild tribes of the north at bay. Today, UNESCO has declared it a World Heritage Site and its numerous forts are visited by walkers and cyclists.

Article: Hadrian's Wall

Inverary Castle

The impressive Inveraray Castle in Scotland, 95km north of Glasgow, is still the seat of the Dukes of Argyll, Great Britain - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

The majestic Inverary Castle on Scotland's longest loch seems to have come out of a storybook. In fact, a real Scottish duke still lives here and has opened up his magnificent home with the highest hall in Scotland and a fearsome collection of weapons for viewing.

Article: Inverary Castle

Giant's Causeway

At the Giant's Causeway, some 40,000 absolutely uniformly shaped basalt columns extend into the sea over a length of 5km along the coast of Northern Ireland, Great Britain - © Joe Gough / Fotolia
© Joe Gough / Fotolia

At the Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland, nature presents itself as a humorous master builder. At the "Giant's causeway", symmetrically shaped stone pillars join together to form a 5km-long bridge. The basalt columns, up to 12m high, were formed completely naturally by volcanic activity and are a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Article: Giant's Causeway

Cardiff Castle

Cardiff Castle in Wales was built over thousands of years and is a mix of Roman fort, Norman castle and Victorian castle, United Kingdom - © Lotharingia / Fotolia
© Lotharingia / Fotolia

In the middle of the skyscrapers and shopping malls of the lively capital of Wales, Cardiff Castle is enthroned like a castle from the Middle Ages. As a Roman military camp, Norman castle and finally neo-Gothic castle, Cardiff Castle has already had many faces. With its magnificent halls, the Regimental Museum and the idyllic landscape garden, the castle is today Cardiff's most important attraction.

Advertisement

Article: Cardiff Castle

Melrose Abbey

The impressive ruins of Melrose Abbey in Scotland are among Britain's most important examples of medieval monastic architecture - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

Although only ruins remain, the splendour of the imposing Melrose Abbey is still visible today. Scotland's first and, in the meantime, richest Cistercian monastery is today one of Britain's most important medieval monastic buildings. The entire grounds of Melrose Abbey can be explored with an audio guide or on a guided tour.

Article: Melrose Abbey

Balmoral Castle

Balmoral Castle in the middle of a magnificent English landscape garden was chosen by the Queen as her summer residence, Great Britain - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

Balmoral Castle is a true Victorian castle, having been built for Queen Victoria in the mid-19th century. Today, the Queen of England still has her summer residence here. From April to July, non-invited guests are allowed to visit the castle, including the castle gardens. The extensive grounds of Balmoral Castle are also criss-crossed by well-maintained footpaths.

Article: Balmoral Castle


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Großbritannien

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Großbritannien reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Großbritannien! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Großbritannien auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Großbritannien begeistert seine Besucher mit einem spektakulären Mix aus imposanter Architektur, kosmopolitischen Metropolen, Weltkultur und fantastischer Landschaft. Die Hauptstadt London lockt mit internationalem Flair und einer Prise Königlichkeit, das wilde Schottland mit uralten Befestigungsanlagen, weitläufigen Hügeln und stillen Lochs und mit der faszinierenden Kultstätte Stonehenge kommt auch die Magie nicht zu kurz.

London

Vom Big Ben, dem berühmten knapp 100 Meter hohen Turm an den Houses of Parliament in London regnen zu Silvester tausende farbige Funken, Großbritannien - © Bikeworldtravel / Shutterstock
© Bikeworldtravel / Shutterstock

Die unumstrittene Nummer 1 der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Großbritannien ist seine facettenreiche Hauptstadt. London zählt weltweit zu den bekanntesten und meistbesuchten Städten. Kunst und Kultur, Musik und Museen, Shopping und Sport, Stars und Sternchen – in der britischen Metropole wird es im Urlaub garantiert nicht langweilig!

Zu Londons Sehenswürdigkeiten …

Stonehenge

Die berühmten Monolithen von Stonehenge sind eines von Großbritanniens berühmtesten Denkmälern und ein Symbol für Mysterien und uralte Macht - © jovannig / Fotolia
© jovannig / Fotolia

Das mystische Stonehenge zählt zu Großbritanniens berühmtesten Kultstätten aus der Steinzeit. Die gewaltigen Megalithen sind als Symbol für Mysterien und uralte Macht auf der ganzen Welt bekannt. Wie und zu welchem Zweck die tonnenschweren Steine nahe Salisbury vor rund 5.000 Jahren errichtet wurden gibt den Wissenschaftlern bis heute Rätsel auf.

Zum Artikel …

Highlands

Friedliche Szenerie in der traumhaften Landschaft der Highlands im Norden Schottlands, Großbritannien - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Wer auf der Suche nach unberührter Natur ist, hat sie im Norden Großbritanniens gefunden. Das schottische Hochland ist eines der am dünnsten besiedelten Gebiete Europas. In den grünen Hügeln verbergen sich einsame Buchten, verschlafene Städtchen und melancholische Lochs, an deren Ufern eindrucksvolle Ruinen von vergangenen Zeiten erzählen.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Loch Ness

Blick über die Ruinen des Urquhart Castle, einst die größte Festung Schottlands, auf den See Loch Ness - © imacture / Fotolia
© imacture / Fotolia

Das wohl bekannteste Loch der schottischen Highlands ist Loch Ness. Sein mysteriöses Ungeheuer „Nessi“ machte den zweitgrößten See Schottlands zu einem der meistbesuchten Reiseziele des Landes. Loch Ness ist auch wegen seiner atemberaubenden Landschaft und den Ruinen von Urquhart Castle sehenswert, welches einst die größte Festung Schottlands war.

Zum Artikel …

Hadrianswall

Der Hadrianswall verläuft zwischen der heutigen Grenze von Schottland und England im Norden Großbritanniens und war einst die größte Befestigungsanlage des Römischen Reiches - © Jule_Berlin / Shutterstock
© Jule_Berlin / Shutterstock

Der eindrucksvolle Hadrianswall zwischen England und Schottland stammt aus dem 2. Jahrhundert nach Christus. Damals wurde er vom römischen Kaiser Hadrian errichtet, um die wilden Stämme des Nordens im Zaum zu halten. Heute hat ihn die UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt und seine zahlreichen Festungen werden von Wanderern und Radfahrern besucht.

Zum Artikel …

Inverary Castle

Das eindrucksvolle Inveraray Castle in Schottland, 95km nördlich von Glasgow, ist bis heute Sitz der Dukes of Argyll, Großbritannien - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Das majestätische Inverary Castle am längsten Loch Schottlands scheint einem Märchenbuch entsprungen zu sein. Tatsächlich lebt hier noch ein echter schottischer Duke, der sein prächtiges Heim mit dem höchsten Saal Schottlands und einer furchteinflößenden Waffensammlung zur Besichtigung freigegeben hat.

Zum Artikel …

Giant’s Causeway

Am Giant’s Causeway erstrecken sich auf einer Länge von 5km an die 40.000 absolut gleichmäßig geformte Basaltsäulen an der Küste Nordirlands bis ins Meer hinein, Großbritannien - © Joe Gough / Fotolia
© Joe Gough / Fotolia

Am Giant’s Causeway in Nordirland präsentiert sich die Natur als humorvoller Baumeister. Am „Damm des Riesen“ fügen sich symmetrisch geformte Steinpfeiler zu einer 5km langen Brücke zusammen. Die bis zu 12m hohen Basaltsäulen entstanden völlig natürlich durch vulkanische Aktivität und zählen zum UNESCO Welterbe.

Zum Artikel …

Cardiff Castle

Das Cardiff Castle in Wales wurde über Jahrtausende erbaut und ist ein Mix aus römischem Kastell, normannischer Burg und viktorianischem Schloss, Großbritannien - © Lotharingia / Fotolia
© Lotharingia / Fotolia

Mitten zwischen den Hochhäusern und Shopping Malls der lebhaften Hauptstadt von Wales thront mit dem Cardiff Castle ein Schloss wie aus dem Mittelalter. Als römisches Militärlager, normannische Burg und schließlich neugotisches Schloss hatte Cardiff Castle schon viele Gesichter. Mit seinen prachtvollen Sälen, dem Regimentsmuseum und dem idyllischen Landschaftsgarten ist das Schloss heute die wichtigste Sehenswürdigkeit von Cardiff.

Zum Artikel …

Melrose Abbey

Die eindrucksvollen Ruinen des Melrose Abbey in Schottland zählen zu Großbritanniens bedeutendsten Beispielen mittelalterlicher Klosterarchitektur - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Obwohl nur noch Ruinen übrig geblieben sind, ist der Glanz des imposanten Melrose Abbey heute noch sichtbar. Das erste und zwischenzeitlich auch reichste Zisterzienser Kloster Schottlands zählt heute zu Großbritanniens bedeutendsten mittelalterlichen Klosterbauten. Mittels Audio Guide oder im Zuge einer Führung kann das gesamte Areal von Melrose Abbey erkundet werden.

Zum Artikel …

Balmoral Castle

Das Balmoral Castle inmitten eines prachtvollen englischen Landschaftsgartens wurde von der Queen zu ihrem Sommersitz auserkoren, Großbritannien - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Das Balmoral Castle ist ein echtes viktorianisches Schloss, denn es wurde im mittleren 19. Jahrhundert für Königin Viktoria errichtet. Noch heute hat die Queen von England hier ihren Sommersitz. Von April bis Juli dürfen nicht geladene Gäste das Schloss inklusive Schlossgarten besichtigen. Auch die weitläufigen Ländereien von Balmoral Castle werden von gut gepflegten Wanderwegen durchzogen.

Zum Artikel …