The Top 10 Sights of Split, Croatia

The old town of Split, the cultural centre of Croatia, has architectural legacies around every corner. One of its greatest treasures is Diocletian's Palace, which has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The Croatian city of Split, as the central sea and ferry port head and heart of Dalmatia, can be described as a history book carved in stone. The cultural metropolis on the Croatian coast attracts visitors with a multitude of historical sights as well as a wide range of museums, galleries and theatres. We have named Split one of our 10 most beautiful cities in Croatia.

Advertisement

Diocletian's Palace - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Together with the historical center of Split, Diocletian's Palace has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1979, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The famous Diocletian's Palace forms the centre of Split's old town and is one of our top 10 sights of Croatia. It was the seed from which Split was born, the city developed within its walls 1,700 years ago. Together with the historical centre of Split, Diocletian's Palace has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1979.

PICTURES: Diocletian's Palace in Split

Photo gallery: Diocletian's Palace in Split

Origin of Diocletian's Palace

View across the sea to the south side of Diocletian's Palace in Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Diocletian's Palace was built in the record time from 295 to 305 as a retirement residence for the Roman Emperor Diocletian. The palace is a skilful mixture of luxury villa and military camp with thick walls, a transverse and a longitudinal street and four imposing corner towers.

The strategic location in the centre of the Roman Empire was not chosen by chance. Up to 9,000 people once lived in Diocletian's palace, with the king's chambers to the south and the camps for servants and soldiers to the north.

Over the centuries, Diocletian's Palace was altered by a wide variety of peoples. However, the Byzantines, Venetians and finally the Austrians had enough respect for the time-honoured walls not to damage them too much. That is why Diocletian's Palace is still extremely well preserved today.

With an area of 40,000 square metres, the palace today occupies almost half of the entire old town of Split. A walk through Diocletian's Palace takes you through porticoes and past numerous Venetian and Romanesque buildings worth seeing.

Sveti Duje Cathedral

The impressive Sveti Duje Cathedral dominates the old town of Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In the midst of Diocletian's Palace, the impressive Sveti Duje Cathedral towers unmistakably above the rooftops of Split's old town. Split's cathedral was built in 313 immediately after the death of the Roman emperor Diocletian on a circular floor plan and originally functioned as a mausoleum for the recently deceased ruler.

Advertisement

Until the 6th century, the ancient building housed the final resting place of Diocletian and his wife Priske. Afterwards, the mausoleum was converted into a church, the pagan symbols and also the emperor's sarcophagus were removed. The cathedral was dedicated to Saint Domnius (Sveti Duje), a martyr and the first bishop of Salona, whom Emperor Diocletian himself had murdered in 304.

The year in which the cathedral was built, 313 AD, was also the historic year in which Christians were granted freedom of worship, which is why Sveti Duje Cathedral is considered the oldest cathedral in the world. Even the construction of St. Peter's Bas ilica in Rome, which is considered the birthplace of the papacy, was started two years after it.

PICTURES: Sveti Duje Cathedral in Split

Photo gallery: Sveti Duje Cathedral in Split

Visit to the Sveti Duje Cathedral

On entering the cathedral, it is worth taking a look at the ornate church door, one of the few well-preserved wooden doors from that period. In 1214, the local master Andrija Buvina carved 28 richly decorated scenes from the life of Christ into the dark chestnut wood.

Magnificent interior of the Sveti Duje Cathedral

The roof of Sveti Duje Cathedral is supported by 24 marble columns with richly decorated capitals, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

When you step over the threshold, you are overwhelmed by the magnificent interior. Even the pews are hand-carved and date back to the 13th century. The roof of the cathedral is supported by 24 marble columns with richly decorated capitals.

The elaborately decorated pulpit by Master Mavro from the mid-13th century is made of green and black porphyry, a precious volcanic stone that was probably stolen from the ritually destroyed sarcophagus of the emperor. Numerous fantastic oil paintings and reliefs depict scenes from the life of Saint Domnius and the Virgin Mary.

The baroque main altar dates from the early 15th century and is one of the most beautiful in the country. The two stone altars to the right and left of the main altar in the form of magnificently decorated sarcophagi are dedicated to St Domnius and St Anastius. The latter was a simple labourer who also died as a martyr on Diocletian's behalf.

Sveti Duje Cathedral Bell Tower

Night view of the impressive bell tower of the famous Sveti Duje Cathedral in the old town of Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The 57m high bell tower is just opposite the entrance to the cathedral. The tower was built by unknown builders in the 13th century and is one of the best preserved on the entire Adriatic coast.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodation in Split

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

The bell tower of Split Cathedral was completed over a period of 300 years and therefore contained both Romanesque and Gothic elements. However, during its restoration, the Romanesque sculptures were removed. Some pieces of it are also on display in the Split Museum. The original diversity and liveliness of the bell tower was unfortunately somewhat lost as a result.

PICTURES: Bell tower of the Sveti Duji Cathedral in Split

Photo gallery: Bell tower of Sveti Duje Cathedral in Split

Climbing the bell tower

View through the semi-transparent bell tower of Split to the port, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The slender, semi-transparent bell tower can be climbed over 200 steps for a small fee. But beware: if you get a slight fear of heights, you should refrain from climbing it, because during the ascent from the stairs you can see permanently into the dizzying depths.

View from the bell tower of Sveti Duje Cathedral to the harbor promenade, Mount Marjan on the right, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Once at the top, you are rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of the architectural treasures inside Diocletian's Palace, over the roofs of the old town and the sea, and of Mount Marjan.

Cathedral Treasury

The treasury on the first floor of the sacristy contains valuable relics of St Domnius, a Romanesque image of Mother Mary from the 13th century, valuable mass vestments and goldsmith's work and a 7th century Gospel, the oldest in Split.

City gates of Diocletian's Palace

The facade of the gold gate of Diocletian's Palace in the north is richly decorated, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The almost 20-metre-high tower-fortified walls can still be easily seen today with their imposing city gates. Diocletian's Palace can be entered through a sea gate in the south and three land gates in the north, east and west. The four gates all bear metal names: Porta Aurea - Gold Gate, Porta Argentea - Silver Gate, Porta Ferrea - Iron Gate and Porta Aenea - Copper Gate.

Porta Aurea - Gold Gate

The Golden Gate in the north is the most beautifully designed of all, as it used to serve as the main entrance to the palace. The road from Salona to Split ended here. The octagonal towers that once flanked it have disappeared, but they are still reasonably well preserved at the iron gate to the west.

Advertisement

Porta Argentea - Silver Gate

At the Silver Gate in the east, there is daily market noise when not only fish, but also fruit, vegetables, schnapps and souvenirs are offered for sale at the fish market. Just opposite the Silver Gate stands the 17th century church of Sveti Dominik.

Porta Aenea - Copper Gate

The rather plain copper gate in the south leads to the Riva, Split's picturesque harbour promenade.

Podrumi - Palace Cellar

In Diocletian's Palace it goes deep down, into the podrumi, literally "cellars", some of which are huge, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Just as high up, the Diocletian's Palace goes deep down, into the podrumi, literally translated as "cellars". These corridors, some of which are surprisingly high, lead past numerous souvenir stands at the copper gate under the palace today. The Podrumi are the best way to understand its enormous dimensions.

PICTURES: Cellar vaults in Diocletian's Palace in Split

Photo gallery: Cellar vaults in Diocletian's Palace in Split

Peristyle - colonnaded courtyard

In front of the magnificent backdrop of the impressive portico Peristyle, the emperor used to receive his state guests, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

At the peristyle, formerly the entrance to the imperial living quarters, the underground passages come to light again. The Sveti Duje Cathedral and three temples to the west of the palace, of which only the Temple of Jupiter (John's baptistery) remains today, could also be reached via the podrumi.

The emperor used to receive his state guests in front of the magnificent backdrop of this impressive colonnaded courtyard. Today, the peristyle houses several cafés and is used for concerts and other cultural events.

Also remarkable is the granite sphinx that can be seen at the peristyle. It originates from the site of Pharaoh Thutmosis III in the Valley of the Kings in Egypt and is an incredible 3,500 years old. Originally there were four sphinxes to guard the emperor's final resting place. One is in the city museum, one has completely disappeared and the fourth is located - albeit without a head - in front of the Temple of Jupiter.

Advertisement

Temple of Jupiter

The crypt under the Temple of Jupiter in Split, Croatia, houses the tombs of the 8th and 11th century archbishops Ivan II and Lawrence - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Somewhat off the beaten track in Split's old town lies a relatively inconspicuous temple that was once dedicated to the Roman father of the gods. Like the imperial palace, the Temple of Jupiter was built at the end of the third century under the then Roman Emperor Diocletian.

The Temple of Jupiter is located at the end of the narrow alley Kraj Sveti Ivana west of the peristyle of Diocletian's Palace and only about 100 metres from Sveti Duje Cathedral. Away from the big tourist crowds and since the temple is usually closed, it is usually wonderfully quiet in its surroundings. The temple can be entered on request at the cathedral. Here you can also buy combined tickets for the temple and the cathedral bell tower.

PICTURES: Temple of Jupiter in Split

Photo gallery: Temple of Jupiter in Split

Origin of the Temple of Jupiter in Split

The construction of the Temple of Jupiter took place from 295 to 305 as one of the three temples of Diocletian's palace, but has not been completed to this day. Legend has it that the emperor found the construction work on the temple too noisy after he had moved into his palace. Only the foundations of the other two temples, dedicated to the goddesses Venus and Cybele, have been found opposite the temple of Jupiter.

As early as the sixth century, some 200 years after the liberation of Christianity, the Temple of Jupiter was rededicated as a baptistery. The crypt under the temple is dedicated to St. Thomas and houses the tombs of the archbishops Ivan II and Lawrence from the 8th and 11th centuries.

Visit to the Temple of Jupiter in Split

Guarding the entrance to Split's Temple of Jupiter is a sphinx brought from Egypt at the behest of Diocletian, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Guarding the entrance to the baptistery, also similar to the cathedral, is a headless sphinx made of black granite . It was brought from Egypt at the behest of Diocletian and is a fabulous 3,500 years old.

Simple interior of the baptistery

The carefully crafted coffered vault in the Temple of Jupiter in Split, Croatia, has been preserved almost in its original state to this day - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The interior of the Temple of Jupiter consists of a single room whose carefully crafted coffered vault is a splendid example of early Renaissance art and is still almost original.

Advertisement

A bronze statue of John the Baptist, sculpted by Ivan Meštrović, a famous Croatian sculptor, faces the visitor from the back wall.

Baptismal font with historically valuable depiction of the king

The relief panels in the Temple of Jupiter in Split, Croatia, show what is believed to be the oldest image of a European king on a stone sculpture - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In front of it is the baptismal font made of some marble relief panels that were attached to an altar in Split Cathedral in the 11th century. On it, among other things, is a depiction of the Croatian king Zvonimir, supposedly the oldest image of a European king on a stone sculpture.

Statue of Gregory of Nin (Grgur Ninski)

The famous statue of the Bishop of Nin in Split; stroking or kissing his toes is said to bring good luck, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The famous statue of the Bishop of Nin is located in the north of the old town opposite the Gold Gate outside the walls of Diocletian's Palace and has strikingly brightly polished toes. No wonder - kissing or stroking his monumental feet is said to bring good luck.

The 8-metre-high statue was created in 1929 by the Croatian artist Ivan Meštrović, who was also known and active beyond the country's borders. Other works by the master can be admired in the Meštrović Gallery. The same statue, on a smaller scale but with an equally shiny toe, can also be found in the pretty salt town of Nin near Zadar.

To the west of Diocletian's Palace is the medieval extension of the city. The Illyrian, Roman, Venetian and Croatian history of Split can be traced in the Museum of Archaeological Monuments of Croatia with 3,000 exhibits.

Split harbour promenade

View from the bell tower of Sveti Duje Cathedral to the harbor promenade, Mount Marjan on the right, Split, Croatia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Riva, Split's beautiful harbour promenade, also deserves special attention as the city's landmark. The wide, palm-lined promenade offers magnificent views of the harbour and Split's bay, where fishing boats, luxury yachts and sailing ships cavort on its azure waters.

From the harbour, ferries take you to every island in Dalmatia. Numerous cafés vie for guests here and on nice days it is very difficult to get a free seat at all.

Mountain Marjan

If you've had enough of Split's historic architectural monuments and often noisy and crowded alleys, take a walk up Marjan Mountain. The mountain, which sits enthroned on Split's peninsula to the west of the old town, is home to an idyllic park and is known as the city's green oasis. Numerous hiking trails lead to the top of Marjan, from where a dreamlike panorama of Split spreads out.

Nightlife in Split

After sunset, the golden-lit buildings in Split's old town exude a very special atmosphere. Street artists use the narrow streets of the UNESCO World Heritage Site as a stage and the numerous restaurants, clubs and bars ensure a good mood with Croatian specialities and live music. Tasting wines in a dignified atmosphere at Zinfandel, dining on romantic fish at the harbour or dancing the night away from ghetto to gaga - everything is possible at night in Split.

Tip: Even in summer, a night in Split pays off. When the heat of the day has gone, sightseeing away from the mass tourism is a good idea. Because most Croatian holidaymakers can be found in the summer months on one of our 10 most beautiful islands in Croatia or on the 10 most beautiful beaches in Croatia....

PICTURES: Old town of Split by night

Photo gallery: Old Town of Split by night

 

History of Split

Split was founded around 500 BC by the Illyrians, who were displaced by the Greeks less than 200 years later. After the Greeks came the Romans, who built Split's first port, and under Emperor Diocletian the large-scale expansion of the city began.

Under Venetian rule in the 15th century, the political and economic decline of the flourishing port city began. It was not until the end of the 18th century that the Habsburgs made Split a seaside metropolis again and built magnificent residential buildings and administrative buildings between promenades and avenues. A stroll through the old town still reveals many of these imposing architectural monuments.

PICTURES: Old Town of Split

Photo gallery: Split Old Town

Further links:

Split tourism website

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Split, Kroatien

Die Altstadt von Split, dem kulturellen Zentrum Kroatiens, hält an allen Ecken und Enden architektonische Vermächtnisse bereit. Zu ihren größten Schätzen zählt der Diokletianspalast, der von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt wurde.

Die kroatische Stadt Split, als zentraler See- und Fährhafen Kopf und Herz Dalmatiens, kann als ein in Stein gemeißeltes Geschichtsbuch bezeichnet werden. Die kulturelle Metropole an der kroatischen Küste lockt mit einer Vielzahl an historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten sowie einer breiten Palette an Museen, Galerien und Theater. Wir haben Split zu einer unserer 10 schönsten Städte Kroatiens ernannt.

Anzeige

Diokletianspalast – UNESCO Weltkulturerbe

Gemeinsam mit dem historischen Zentrum von Split zählt der Diokletianspalast seit 1979 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der berühmte Diokletianspalast bildet das Zentrum der Altstadt von Split und zählt zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Kroatien. Er war der Same, aus dem Split entstanden ist, die Stadt entwickelte sich vor 1.700 Jahren innerhalb seiner Mauern. Gemeinsam mit dem historischen Zentrum von Split zählt der Diokletianspalast seit 1979 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

BILDER: Diokletianspalast in Split

Fotogalerie: Diokletianspalast in Split

Entstehung des Diokletianspalastes

Blick über das Meer auf die Südseite des Diokletianspalastes in Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Diokletianspalast wurde in der Rekordzeit von 295 bis 305 als Alterswohnsitz für den römischen Kaiser Diokletian errichtet. Der Palast ist eine gekonnte Mischung aus Luxus-Villa und Militärlager mit dicken Mauern, einer Quer- und einer Längsstraße und vier imposanten Ecktürmen.

Die strategische Lage im Zentrum des römischen Reiches wurde dabei nicht zufällig gewählt. Bis zu 9.000 Menschen wohnten einst im Diokletianspalast, im Süden lagen die Gemächer des Königs, im Norden die Lager der Diener und Soldaten.

Im Lauf der Jahrhunderte wurde der Diokletianspalast von den verschiedensten Völkern verändert. Die Byzantiner, Venezier und schließlich die Österreicher hatten jedoch genug Respekt vor dem altehrwürdigen Gemäuer, um es nicht zu sehr zu beschädigen. Daher ist der Diokletianspalast bis heute noch extrem gut erhalten.

Mit einer Fläche von 40.000 Quadratmetern nimmt der Palast heute nahezu die Hälfte der gesamten Altstadt von Split ein. Bei einem Spaziergang durch den Diokletianspalast kommt man durch Säulengänge und an zahlreichen sehenswerten venezianischen und romanischen Bauten vorbei.

Kathedrale Sveti Duje

Die eindrucksvolle Kathedrale Sveti Duje dominiert die der Spliter Altstadt, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Inmitten des Diokletianspalastes thront unübersehbar die eindrucksvolle Kathedrale Sveti Duje über den Dächern der Spliter Altstadt. Die Kathedrale von Split wurde im Jahr 313 unmittelbar nach dem Tod des römischen Kaisers Diokletian auf einem kreisrunden Grundriss errichtet und fungierte ursprünglich als Mausoleum für den jüngst verstorbenen Herrscher.

Anzeige
Anzeige

Empfehlenswerte Unterkünfte in Split

HOTELS | PENSIONEN | FERIENWOHNUNGEN | VILLEN | CHALETS

Unterkünfte anzeigen


 

Bis ins 6. Jahrhundert beherbergte das uralte Gebäude die letzte Ruhestätte Diokletians und seiner Ehefrau Priske. Danach wurde das Mausoleum in eine Kirche umgewandelt, die heidnischen Symbole und auch der Sarkophag des Kaisers wurden entfernt. Die Kathedrale wurde dem Heiligen Domnius (Sveti Duje) geweiht, einem Märtyrer und erstem Bischof von Salona, den Kaiser Diokletian selbst im Jahr 304 ermorden ließ.

Das Erbauungsjahr der Kathedrale, 313 nach Christus, war auch jenes geschichtsträchtige Jahr, in dem den Christen die freie Religionsausübung zugesprochen wurde, daher gilt die Kathedrale Sveti Duje als älteste Kathedrale der Welt. Selbst der Bau des Petersdoms in Rom, der als Geburtsstätte des Papsttums gilt, wurde zwei Jahre nach ihr begonnen.

BILDER: Kathedrale Sveti Duje in Split

Fotogalerie: Kathedrale Sveti Duje in Split

Besuch der Kathedrale von Sveti Duje

Beim Eintritt durch die Kathedrale lohnt es sich einen Blick auf die kunstvolle Kirchentür zu werfen, eines der wenigen gut erhaltenen Holztore aus jener Zeit. Im Jahr 1214 schnitzte der einheimische Meister Andrija Buvina 28 reich geschmückte Szenen aus dem Leben Christi in das dunkle Kastanienholz.

Prächtiges Interieur der Sveti Duje Kathedrale

Das Dach der Kathedrale Sveti Duje wird von 24 marmornen Säulen mit reichlich geschmückten Kapitellen getragen, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Tritt man über die Schwelle, wird man von dem prunkvollen Innenraum geradezu überwältigt. Sogar die Kirchenbänke sind noch von Hand geschnitzt und stammen aus dem 13. Jahrhundert. Das Dach der Kathedrale wir von 24 marmornen Säulen mit reichlich geschmückten Kapitellen getragen.

Die aufwändig verzierte Kanzel von Meister Mavro aus dem mittleren 13. Jahrhundert besteht aus grünem und schwarzem Porphyr, einem kostbaren Vulkangestein, das wahrscheinlich vom rituell zerstörten Sarkophag des Kaisers entwendet wurde. Zahlreiche fantastische Ölgemälde und Reliefs zeigen Szenen aus dem Leben des Heiligen Domnius und der Jungfrau Maria.

Der barocke Hauptaltar stammt aus dem frühen 15. Jahrhundert und zählt zu den schönsten des Landes. Die beiden steinernen Altäre rechts und links des Hauptaltars in Form von prachtvoll verzierten Sarkophagen sind dem Heiligen Domnius und dem Heiligen Anastius gewidmet. Letzterer war ein einfacher Arbeiter, der im Auftrag Diokletians ebenfalls als Märtyrer starb.

Glockenturm der Kathedrale Sveti Duje

Nächtlicher Blick auf den eindrucksvollen Glockenturm der berühmten Kathedrale Sveti Duje in der Altstadt von Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der 57m hohe Glockenturm liegt genau gegenüber dem Eingang der Kathedrale. Der Turm stammt von unbekannten Erbauern aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und zählt zu den besterhaltenen der gesamten Adria-Küste.

Anzeige

Der Glockenturm der Kathedrale von Split wurde über einen Zeitraum von 300 Jahren fertiggestellt und enthielt daher sowohl romanische, als auch gotische Elemente. Bei seiner Restaurierung wurden die romanischen Skulpturen allerdings entfernt. Einige Stücke davon sind auch im Museum von Split ausgestellt. Die ursprüngliche Vielfalt und Lebendigkeit des Glockenturms ging dadurch leider etwas verloren.

BILDER: Glockenturm der Kathedrale Sveti Duji in Split

Fotogalerie: Glockenturm der Kathedrale Sveti Duje in Split

Aufstieg auf den Glockenturm

Blick durch den halbtransparenten Glockenturm von Split auf den Hafen, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der schlanke, halb transparente Glockenturm kann gegen eine kleine Gebühr über 200 Stufen bestiegen werden Aber Achtung: wer leicht Höhenangst bekommt, sollte von einer Besteigung Abstand nehmen, man sieht während des Aufstieges von der Treppe nämlich permanent in die schwindelerregende Tiefe.

Blick vom Glockenturm der Kathedrale Sveti Duje zur Hafenpromenade, rechts der Berg Marjan, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Oben angekommen wird man mit einem fantastischen Rundumblick über die architektonischen Schätze im Inneren des Diokletianspalastes, über die Dächer der Altstadt und das Meer sowie auf den Berg Marjan belohnt.

Schatzkammer der Kathedrale

Die Schatzkammer im ersten Stock der Sakristei beinhaltet wertvolle Reliquien des Heiligen Domnius, ein romanisches Bildnis der Mutter Maria aus dem 13. Jahrhundert, wertvolle Messegewänder und Goldschmiedearbeiten und ein Evangelium aus dem 7. Jahrhundert, das älteste von Split.

Stadttore des Diokletianspalastes

Die Fassade des Goldtores des Diokletianspalastes im Norden ist reich verziert, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die knapp 20 Meter hohen turmbewehrten Mauern sind mit ihren imposanten Stadttoren heute noch gut auszumachen. Der Diokletianspalast kann durch ein Seetor im Süden und drei Landtore im Norden, Osten und Westen betreten werden. Die vier Toren tragen alle metallene Namen: Porta Aurea – Goldtor, Porta Argentea – Silbertor, Porta Ferrea – Eisentor und Porta Aenea – Kupfertor.

Porta Aurea – Goldtor

Das Goldtor im Norden ist am schönsten von allen gestaltet, da es früher als Haupteingang zum Palast diente. Hier endete die Straße von Salona nach Split. Die achteckigen Türme, die es einst flankierten, sind zwar verschwunden, beim Eisentor im Westen sind sie jedoch noch halbwegs gut erhalten.

Anzeige

Porta Argentea – Silbertor

Am Silbertor im Osten herrscht täglich Marktlärm, wenn am Fischmarkt nicht nur Fisch, sondern auch Obst, Gemüse, Schnaps und Souvenirs feilgeboten werden. Gleich gegenüber dem Silbertor steht die Kirche Sveti Dominik aus dem 17. Jahrhundert.

Porta Aenea – Kupfertor

Durch das eher schlicht gehaltene Kupfertor im Süden gelangt man auf die Riva, die malerische Hafenpromenade von Split.

Podrumi – Palastkeller

Im Diokletianspalast geht es tief hinunter, in die Podrumi, wörtlich übersetzt „Keller“, die teilweise riesig sind, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Ebenso wie hoch hinaus geht es im Diokletianspalast tief hinunter, in die Podrumi, wörtlich übersetzt „Keller“. Diese teilweise überraschend hohen Gänge führen am Kupfertor unter den Palast heute an zahlreichen Souvenirständen vorbei. In den Podrumi können seine gewaltigen Ausmaße am besten nachvollzogen werden.

BILDER: Kellergewölbe im Diokletianspalast in Split

Fotogalerie: Kellergewölbe im Diokletianspalast in Split

Peristyl – Säulenhof

Vor der herrlichen Kulisse des beeindruckenden Säulenhofs Peristyl empfing der Kaiser früher seine Staatsgäste, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Beim Peristyl, früher der Zugang zu den kaiserlichen Wohnräumen, kommen die unterirdischen Gänge wieder ans Tageslicht. Auch die Kathedrale Sveti Duje und drei Tempel im Westen des Palastes, von denen heute nur noch der Jupiter-Tempel (die Taufkapelle des Johannes) erhalten ist, konnten über die Podrumi erreicht werden.

Vor der herrlichen Kulisse dieses beeindruckenden Säulenhofs empfing der Kaiser früher seine Staatsgäste. Heute beherbergt das Peristyl einige Cafés und wird für Konzerte und andere kulturelle Veranstaltungen verwendet.

Ebenfalls bemerkenswert ist die Sphinx aus Granit, die am Peristyl zu sehen ist. Sie stammt original von der Stätte des Pharaos Thutmosis III. aus dem Tal der Könige in Ägypten und ist unglaubliche 3.500 Jahre alt. Ursprünglich waren es vier Sphingen an der Zahl, die die letzte Ruhe des Kaisers bewachen sollten. Eine befindet sich im Stadtmuseum, eine ist ganz verschwunden und die vierte befindet sich – allerdings ohne Kopf – vor dem Jupitertempel.

Anzeige

Jupitertempel

Die Krypta unter dem Jupitertempel von Split, Kroatien, beherbergt die Gräber der Erzbischöfe Ivan II. und Lawrence aus dem 8. und 11. Jahrhundert - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Etwas abseits liegt in der Spliter Altstadt ein relativ unscheinbarer Tempel, der einst dem römischen Göttervater gewidmet war. Wie auch der kaiserliche Palast wurde der Jupitertempel Ende des dritten Jahrhunderts unter dem damaligen römischen Kaiser Diokletian errichtet.

Der Jupitertempel befindet sich am Ende der schmalen Gasse Kraj Sveti Ivana westlich des Peristyls vom Diokletianspalast und nur rund 100 Meter von der Kathedrale Sveti Duje entfernt. Abseits der großen Touristenströme und da der Tempel meist geschlossen ist, ist es in seiner Umgebung meistens wunderbar ruhig. Auf Anfrage in der Kathedrale kann der Tempel betreten werden. Hier gibt es auch Kombitickets für den Tempel und den Glockenturm der Kathedrale zu erwerben.

BILDER: Jupitertempel in Split

Fotogalerie: Jupitertempel in Split

Entstehung des Jupitertempels in Split

Der Bau des Jupitertempels erfolgte von 295 bis 305 als einer der drei Tempel des Diokletianspalastes, wurde jedoch bis heute nicht vervollständigt. Der Legende nach waren dem Kaiser die Bauarbeiten an dem Tempel dann doch zu laut, nachdem er in seinen Palast eingezogen war. Von den anderen beiden Tempeln, die den Göttinnen Venus und Cybele gewidmet waren, wurden gegenüber dem Jupitertempel nur mehr die Fundamente gefunden.

Bereits im sechsten Jahrhundert, rund 200 Jahre nach der Befreiung des Christentums, wurde der Jupitertempel zu einer Taufkapelle umgewidmet. Die Krypta unter dem Tempel ist dem Heiligen Thomas geweiht und beherbergt die Gräber der Erzbischöfe Ivan II. und Lawrence aus dem 8. und 11. Jahrhundert.

Besuch des Jupitertempels in Split

Den Eingang zum Jupitertempel von Split bewacht eine Sphinx, die auf Geheiß von Diokletian aus Ägypten geholt wurde, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Den Eingang zur Taufkapelle bewacht, ebenfalls ähnlich wie bei der Kathedrale, eine kopflose Sphinx aus schwarzem Granit. Sie wurde auf Geheiß von Diokletian aus Ägypten geholt und ist sagenhafte 3.500 Jahre alt.

Schlichtes Interieur der Taufkapelle

Das sorgfältig gearbeitetes Kassettengewölbe im Jupitertempel von Split, Kroatien, ist bis heute nahezu original erhalten - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Innere des Jupitertempels besteht aus einem einzelnen Raum, dessen sorgfältig gearbeitetes Kassettengewölbe ein prachtvolles Beispiel der frühen Renaissance-Kunst darstellt und bis heute nahezu original erhalten ist.

Anzeige

Von der Rückwand blickt dem Besucher eine Bronzestatue von Johannes dem Täufer entgegen, geschaffen von Ivan Meštrović, einem berühmten kroatischen Bildhauer.

Taufbecken mit historisch wertvoller Königs-Darstellung

Die Relieftafeln im Jupitertempel in Split, Kroatien, zeigen die angeblich älteste Abbildung eines europäischen Königs auf einer Steinskulptur - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Davor befindet sich das Taufbecken aus einigen marmornen Relieftafeln, die im 11. Jahrhundert an einem Altar in der Kathedrale von Split angebracht waren. Darauf ist unter anderem eine Darstellung des kroatischen Königs Zvonimir zu sehen, die angeblich älteste Abbildung eines europäischen Königs auf einer Steinskulptur.

Statue des Gregor von Nin (Grgur Ninski)

Die berühmte Statue des Bischofs von Nin in Split; das Streicheln oder Küssen seiner Zehen soll Glück bringen, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die berühmte Statue des Bischofs von Nin befindet sich im Norden der Altstadt gegenüber dem Goldtor außerhalb der Mauern des Diokletianspalastes und hat auffallend blankpolierte Zehen. Kein Wunder – seine monumentalen Füße zu küssen oder zu streicheln soll angeblich Glück bringen.

Geschaffen wurde die gut 8 Meter hohe Statue im Jahr 1929 vom kroatischen Künstler Ivan Meštrović, der auch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannt und aktiv war. Andere Werke des Meisters können in der Galerie Meštrović bestaunt werden. Dieselbe Statue, zwar in kleinerem Ausmaß aber mit ebenso glänzender Zehe, ist auch im schmucken Salzstädtchen Nin bei Zadar zu finden.

Im Westen des Diokletianspalastes schließt sich die mittelalterliche Stadterweiterung an. Die illyrische, römisch, venezianische und kroatische Geschichte von Split kann im Museum für Archäologische Denkmäler Kroatiens mit 3.000 Ausstellungsstücken nachvollzogen werden.

Hafenpromenade von Split

Blick vom Glockenturm der Kathedrale Sveti Duje zur Hafenpromenade, rechts der Berg Marjan, Split, Kroatien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Riva, die wunderschöne Hafenpromenade von Split, hat als Wahrzeichen der Stadt ebenfalls besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdient. Die breite, von Palmen gesäumte Flaniermeile bietet herrliche Ausblicke auf den Hafen und die Buch von Split, auf deren azurblauer Wasseroberfläche sich Fischerboote, Luxusyachten und Segelschiffe tummeln.

Vom Hafen gelangt man mit Fähren auf jede Insel Dalmatiens. Zahlreiche Cafés buhlen hier um die Gäste und an schönen Tagen ist es sehr schwierig, überhaupt einen freien Platz zu ergattern.

Berg Marjan

Wer von den historischen Bau-Denkmälern und den oft lauten und überfüllten Gassen Splits genug hat, sollte einen Spaziergang auf den Berg Marjan unternehmen. Der Berg, der westlich der Altstadt auf der Halbinsel von Split thront, beherbergt einen idyllischen Park und wird als grüne Oase der Stadt bezeichnet. Zahlreiche Wanderwege führen auf den Gipfel des Marjan, von dem aus sich ein traumhaftes Panorama über Split ausbreitet.

Nachtleben in Split

Nach Sonnenuntergang verströmen die golden beleuchteten Bauten in der Altstadt von Split eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Straßenkünstler nutzen die engen Gassen des UNESCO-Welterbes als Bühne und die zahlreichen Restaurants, Clubs und Bars sorgen mit kroatischen Spezialitäten und Live-Musik für gute Laune. Gediegen im Zinfandel Weine verkosten, romantisch Fisch am Hafen speisen oder von Ghetto bis Gaga die Nacht durchtanzen – bei Nacht ist in Split alles möglich.

Tipp: Auch im Sommer zahlt sich eine Nacht in Split aus. Wenn die Hitze des Tages verflogen ist, bietet sich Sightseeing abseits des Massentourismus an. Denn die meisten Kroatien-Urlauber sind in den Sommer-Monaten auf einer unserer 10 schönsten Inseln Kroatiens  oder an den 10 schönsten Stränden Kroatiens zu finden….

BILDER: Altstadt von Split bei Nacht

Fotogalerie: Altstadt von Split bei Nacht

 

Geschichte von Split

Split wurde bereits um etwa 500 vor Christus von den Illyrern gegründet, die jedoch nicht einmal 200 Jahre später von den Griechen verdrängt wurden. Nach den Griechen kamen die Römer, die den ersten Hafen Splits bauten und unter Kaiser Diokletian entstand der großräumige Ausbau der Stadt.

Unter venezianischer Herrschaft im 15. Jahrhundert begann der politische und wirtschaftliche Niedergang der blühenden Hafenstadt. Erst Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts machten die Habsburger Split wieder zu eine Seemetropole und errichteten zwischen Promenaden und Alleen prächtige Wohnhäuser und Verwaltungsgebäude. Bei einem Spaziergang durch die Altstadt stößt man noch auf eine Vielzahl dieser imposanten Baudenkmäler.

BILDER: Altstadt von Split

Fotogalerie: Altstadt von Split

Weiterführende Links:

Tourismus-Website von Split



Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: