Holidays in Korcula - travel tips and places of interest

Wine and olives, sensational finds from the Stone Age and a capital also known as Little Dubrovnik - a holiday on Korcula plays all the pieces and is guaranteed not to get boring, even repeatedly!

Korcula has been a popular holiday island in Croatia since the early 20th century. The mild climate of Korcula first attracted mainly health tourists who hoped to find relief from their respiratory and skin diseases from sea air and mud baths. This approach is still practised at the Kalos spa centre in Vela Luka.

Advertisement

What initially developed as health tourism thanks to rich healing mud deposits soon became a destination for hiking holidays and seaside holidays in Croatia. Korcula experienced its biggest tourism boom after the Second World War with the construction of modern hotels and campsites. The sixth largest island in the Adriatic is the most densely populated of all Croatian islands and has well earned its reputation as a Mediterranean holiday island.

Perfect sailing conditions in the south, picturesque bathing beaches with comfortable hotels in the east and west, plenty of unspoilt nature for hiking and cycling tours and numerous offshore islands for discovery excursions offer everything your heart desires for a holiday in Croatia.

PICTURES: Holiday on Korcula

Photo gallery: Korcula Island

How to get to the island of Korcula?

Korcula is the southernmost island of central Dalmatia and juts into the Adriatic Sea directly in front of the Peljesac peninsula in an almost perfect east-west orientation. It is only 1270 metres from the Croatian mainland and surrounded by around 50 mini-islands. The elongated island is almost 50 kilometres long, but only 8 kilometres wide.

Split and Drvenik have a ferry port to Korcula, which can be easily reached via the motorway. Vela Luka in the west is served by Split, Korcula in the east by Drvenik. In addition, there is a short ferry connection to Domnice (south of Korcula) from Orebic on the Peljesac peninsula.

From East to West - Sights on Korcula

The impressive city wall with its massive defence towers shapes the character of the old town of Korcula, Croatia - © Ajan Alen / Shutterstock
© Ajan Alen / Shutterstock

In addition to the beautiful landscape and untouched nature, the green island of Korcula also has some highlights to offer in terms of art and culture. The traditional sword dance Kumpanija, the oldest ceramics in south-eastern Europe and the oldest written document in Croatia bear witness to the long history that Korcula has to tell.

Lumbarda - Korcula's most beautiful beach

In the spacious harbour of Lumbarda on Korcula, sleek yachts and sailing boats anchor alongside fishing boats and rowing boats, Croatia - © Phant / Shutterstock
© Phant / Shutterstock

Holidaymakers make a pilgrimage to Lumbarda mainly because of its beautiful sandy beach, another top Korcula sight that attracts visitors from all parts of the islands. However, not only bathers but also gourmets will feel at home here, as numerous konobas serve Mediterranean specialities at their best in Lumbarda.

Advertisement

Korcula - main town of the island

Picturesque Korcula, in the very east of the island of the same name, offers Croatia holidaymakers a dreamy holiday atmosphere - © lukaszimilena / Shutterstock
© lukaszimilena / Shutterstock

The eponymous main town of Korcula is often referred to as Little Dubrovnik because of its impressive town walls, richly decorated houses and picturesque location on a small peninsula. Its long tradition of art and culture is still upheld today. The alleged birthplace of the Venetian merchant and explorer Marco Polo can also be visited here.

Smokvica - vineyards and winegrowers

The tranquil Smokvica in the centre of the island of Korcula is all about enjoyment and cosiness, Croatia - © Cortyn / Shutterstock
© Cortyn / Shutterstock

Also worth a day trip is the wine-growing village of Smokvica, halfway between Korcula's coastal towns of Korcula and Vela Luka. The peaceful village amidst vineyards and olive groves is all about enjoyment and cosiness and attracts Croatian holidaymakers with regional cuisine and the delicious Posip wine.

Blato - pure nature on Korcula

In a sea of red-tiled roofs, the proud Church of All Saints Svih Svetih, Korcula Island, Croatia, sits enthroned on the picturesque main square of Blato - © Berni / Shutterstock
© Berni / Shutterstock

In the interior of the island, the picturesque town of Blato, surrounded by an idyllic landscape of vineyards and olive groves, invites you to make a stopover. Its Dalmatian houses, some of which are impressive, are grouped amid green forests around a proud parish church, an ethno-museum and the pilgrimage site of Blessed Marija Petkovic. There are numerous nice pebble beaches within a radius of 10 kilometres.

Vela Luka - Classic holiday destination

With its 182 kilometres of coastline, the island of Korcula offers romantic bays with idyllic beaches, Croatia - © Photoanto / Shutterstock
© Photoanto / Shutterstock

On the western tip of Korcula lies Vela Luka, the largest town on the island and the second tourist centre of Korcula. Like the main town, it is bustling with shops and cafés and has a classic holiday atmosphere that leaves nothing to be desired. The oldest pottery finds in south-eastern Europe were also discovered in a cave nearby.

The most beautiful beaches of Korcula

The golden yellow Vela Przina can undoubtedly be called the most beautiful sandy beach of Korcula, Croatia - © Ajan Alen / Shutterstock
© Ajan Alen / Shutterstock

The 182km long coast of Korcula is known for its many hidden bays, which can often only be reached by boat or via hidden paths. The south coast is characterised by steep cliffs that rise up to 30 metres from the sea. Sheltered from the bora, but constantly battered by the south wind, the bays to the south are mainly anchored by sailing boats.

Tip: If you are looking for a sheltered place to swim on the south coast, Vela Luka on the west end of Korcula is the best place.

The most beautiful beach in Korcula is the beautiful sandy beach of Vela Przina near Lumbarda. It has already been voted one of the 20 most beautiful beaches in Europe by "The Guardian" and is also on our list of the 10 most beautiful beaches in Croatia.

But also in the north of Blato, near Korcula in the east and around the holiday settlement of Vela Luka in the west, there are dreamlike bays from which taxi boats start to the untouched islands off the coast of Korcula.

Related links:

Advertisement

Info page about the island of Korcula
Ferry schedule for your journey to Korcula from Split or Drvenik
Ferry schedule for the journey to Korcula from Orebic on Peljesac

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Urlaub auf Korcula – Reise-Tipps und Sehenswertes

Wein und Oliven, Sensationsfunde aus der Steinzeit und eine Hauptstadt, die auch als Klein-Dubrovnik bekannt ist – ein Urlaub auf Korcula spielt alle Stücke und wird auch zum wiederholten Male garantiert nicht langweilig!

Korcula gilt seit dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert als beliebte Ferieninsel für Urlaub in Kroatien. Das milde Klima von Korcula zog zuerst vor allem Gesundheitstouristen an, die sich von Meeresluft und Schlammbädern Linderung ihrer Atemwegs- und Hauterkrankungen erhofften. Im Kurzentrum Kalos in Vela Luka wird dieser Zugang immer noch gelebt.

Anzeige

Was sich zu Anfang dank reicher Heilschlammvorkommen als Gesundheitstourismus entwickelte, wurde bald zu einer Destination für Wanderferien und Badeurlaub in Kroatien. Den größten Tourismus-Boom erlebte Korcula nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg mit der Errichtung moderner Hotels und Campingplätze. Die sechstgrößte Insel der Adria ist von allen kroatischen Inseln am dichtesten besiedelt und hat ihren Ruf als mediterrane Urlaubsinsel redlich verdient.

Perfekte Segelbedingungen im Süden, malerische Badestrände mit komfortablen Hotels im Osten und Westen, viel unberührte Natur für Wanderungen und Radtouren und zahlreiche vorgelagerte Inseln für Entdeckungsausflüge bieten für den Urlaub in Kroatien alles, was das Herz begehrt.

BILDER: Urlaub auf Korcula

Fotogalerie: Insel Korcula

Wie kommt man auf die Insel Korcula?

Korcula ist die südlichste Insel Mitteldalmatiens und ragt direkt vor der Halbinsel Peljesac in nahezu perfekter Ost-West-Ausrichtung in die Adria. Sie ist nur 1270 Meter vom kroatischen Festland entfernt und von rund 50 Mini-Inseln umgeben. Die langgestreckte Insel ist fast 50 Kilometer lang, aber nur 8 Kilometer breit.

Split und Drvenik verfügen über einen Fährhafen nach Korcula, der bequem über die Autobahn zu erreichen ist. Vela Luka im Westen wird von Split, Korcula im Osten von Drvenik aus angefahren. Zusätzlich gibt es eine kurze Fährverbindung nach Domnice (südlich von Korcula) von Orebic auf der Halbinsel Peljesac.

Von Ost nach West – Sehenswürdigkeiten auf Korcula

Die eindrucksvollen Stadtmauer prägt mit ihren wuchtigen Wehrtürmen den Charakter der Altstadt von Korcula, Kroatien - © Ajan Alen / Shutterstock
© Ajan Alen / Shutterstock

Neben der herrlichen Landschaft und der unberührten Natur hat die grüne Insel Korcula auch bei Kunst und Kultur einige Highlights zu bieten. Der traditionelle Schwerttanz Kumpanija, die ältesten Keramiken Südost-Europas und das älteste Schriftstück Kroatiens zeugen von der langen Geschichte, die Korcula zu erzählen weiß.

Lumbarda – Korculas schönster Strand

Im weitläufigen Hafen von Lumbarda auf Korcula ankern neben Fischkuttern und Ruderbooten auch schnittige Yachten und Segelschiffe, Kroatien - © Phant / Shutterstock
© Phant / Shutterstock

Nach Lumbarda pilgern Urlauber vor allem wegen seines herrlichen Sandstrandes, eine weitere Top-Sehenswürdigkeiten von Korcula, die Besucher aus allen Teilen der Inseln anzieht. Doch nicht nur Badegäste, sondern auch Feinschmecker werden sich hier wohl fühlen, denn zahlreiche Konobas servieren in Lumbarda mediterrane Spezialitäten vom Feinsten.

Anzeige

Korcula – Hauptort der Insel

Das malerische Korcula ganz im Osten der gleichnamigen Insel bietet Kroatien-Urlaubern eine traumhafte Urlaubsatmosphäre - © lukaszimilena / Shutterstock
© lukaszimilena / Shutterstock

Der gleichnamige Hauptort von Korcula wird aufgrund seiner eindrucksvollen Stadtmauer, seiner reich verzierten Häuser und seiner malerischen Lage auf einer kleinen Halbinsel oft auch als Klein-Dubrovnik bezeichnet. Seine lange Tradition aus Kunst und Kultur wird bis heute hochgehalten. Das angebliche Geburtshaus des venezianischen Kaufmanns und Entdeckers Marco Polo ist hier ebenso zu besichtigen.

Smokvica – Weingärten und Winzer

Das geruhsame Smokvica in der Mitte der Insel Korcula steht ganz im Zeichen von Genuss und Gemütlichkeit, Kroatien - © Cortyn / Shutterstock
© Cortyn / Shutterstock

Ebenfalls einen Tagesausflug wert ist das Winzerdorf Smokvica auf halbem Weg zwischen Korculas Küstenstädten Korcula und Vela Luka. Die geruhsame Ortschaft inmitten Weingärten und Olivenhainen steht ganz im Zeichen von Genuss und Gemütlichkeit und lockt Kroatien-Urlauber mit regionaler Küche und dem köstlichen Posip-Wein.

Blato – Natur pur auf Korcula

In einem Meer aus roten Ziegeldächern thront auf dem malerischen Hauptplatz von Blato die stolze Allerheiligen-Kirche Svih Svetih, Insel Korcula, Kroatien - © Berni / Shutterstock
© Berni / Shutterstock

Im Inselinneren lädt das malerische Blato inmitten idyllischer Landschaft aus Weingärten und Olivenhainen zu einem Zwischenstopp ein. Seine teils eindrucksvollen dalmatinischen Häuser gruppieren sich inmitten grüner Wälder um eine stolze Pfarrkirche, ein Ethno-Museum und die Pilgerstätte der Seligen Marija Petkovic. Im Umkreis von 10 Kilometern sind zahlreiche nette Kiesstrände zu finden.

Vela Luka – Klassisches Ferienziel

Auf ihrer Küstenlänge von 182 Kilometern bietet die Insel Korcula romantische Buchten mit idyllischen Stränden, Kroatien - © Photoanto / Shutterstock
© Photoanto / Shutterstock

An der Westspitze von Korcula liegt mit Vela Luka die größte Stadt der Insel und das zweite touristische Zentrum von Korcula. Ähnlich wie im Hauptort herrscht hier zwischen Shops und Cafés reges Treiben und eine klassische Urlaubsatmosphäre, die nichts zu wünschen übrig lässt. In einer Höhle in der Nähe wurden außerdem die ältesten Keramikfunde Südost-Europas entdeckt.

Die schönsten Strände von Korcula

Der goldgelbe Vela Przina kann ohne Zweifel als schönster Sandstrand von Korcula bezeichnet werden, Kroatien - © Ajan Alen / Shutterstock
© Ajan Alen / Shutterstock

Die 182km lange Küste von Korcula ist für ihre vielen versteckten Buchten bekannt, die oft nur mit dem Boot oder über verborgene Pfade zu erreichen sind. Die Südküste ist von steilen Felsen geprägt, die bis zu 30 Meter hoch aus dem Meer ragen. Von der Bora geschützt, dafür vom ständigen Südwind heimgesucht, ankern in den südlich gelegenen Buchten vor allem Segelboote.

Tipp: Wer an der Südküste ein windgeschütztes Plätzchen zum Baden sucht, ist in Vela Luka am Westende von Korcula am besten aufgehoben.

Als schönster Strand von Korcula gilt der herrliche Sandstrand Vela Przina bei Lumbarda. Er wurde von „The Guardian“ bereits unter die 20 schönsten Strände Europas gewählt und steht ebenso auf unserer Liste der 10 schönsten Strände Kroatiens.

Aber auch im Norden von Blato, bei Korcula im Osten und rund um die Feriensiedlung Vela Luka im Westen sind traumhafte Buchten zu finden, von denen Taxiboote zu den unberührten Inseln vor der Küste von Korcula starten.

Weiterführende Links:

Anzeige

Infoseite über die Insel Korcula
Fährenplan für die Anreise nach Korcula von Split oder Drvenik
Fährenplan für die Anreise nach Korcula von Orebic auf Peljesac


Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: