The Top 10 Sights of Namibia

Travel to Namibia completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions of Namibia! What are the highlights and attractions you can't miss when vacationing in Namibia?

Namibia is the ideal country for Africa beginners. Completely safe, the impressive steppes of Namibia can be explored with your own car. The winding paths lead through green valleys, impressive gorges, petrified forests, the foothills of the Kalahari and the largest dunes in the world.

Advertisement

Etosha National Park

Zebras in Etosha National Park, the country's largest and most famous national park in the northwestern region of Kunen, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Etosha National Park is the most famous national park in Namibia. It offers a protected habitat for hundreds of different animal species, which guarantee unforgettable safari experiences. Around the gigantic Etosha salt pan live over 100 different species of mammals and reptiles as well as about 350 species of birds.

All of Africa's "Big Five" are represented in Etosha National Park except for the buffalo. On guided tours and at illuminated waterholes of Etosha National Park you can also discover the nocturnal inhabitants of the African steppe.

Article: Etosha National Park
Photo gallery: Etosha National Park

Fish River Canyon

View into the Fish River Canyon in the south of Namibia - with a length of 160km and up to 27km width it is the second largest canyon in the world - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The spectacular Fish River Canyon lies on the river of the same name and is the largest gorge in Africa. Worldwide, it is only surpassed by the Grand Canyon in the USA. It is located in the Ai-Ais-Richtersveld Transfontier Park on the border with South Africa and can be hiked through on guided tours. Numerous viewpoints along its rims offer breathtaking views into the over 500m deep Fish River Canyon.

Article: Fish River Canyon
Photo gallery: Fish River Canyon

Namib-Naukluft National Park

The landscape in the Namib-Naukluft National Park is extremely diverse and impresses the visitor again and again, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Namib Naukluft National Park covers about two thirds of the area of Austria and impresses not only with its exotic wildlife. The Namib, the oldest desert in the world, is also home to the highest sand dunes in the world. The so-called Sossusvlei is located very close to the tourist center Sesriem and also the imposing Sesriem Canyon is easily accessible right next to the park entrance.

Article: Namib-Naukluft National Park
Photo gallery: Namib-Naukluft National Park

Advertisement

Twyfelfontein

One of the more than 2,500 rock paintings at Twyfelfontein - mostly depicting hunting scenes with people using bows and arrows to hunt, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The historic site of Twyfelfontein has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The reason for this are the numerous rock drawings at the "source of doubt". The approximately 2,500 images of symbols, animals and people date back to the Stone Age and are among the oldest rock drawings in Africa.

Nearby, the bizarre "Burnt Mountain" and the basalt "Organ Pipes", which look like man-made, are two more testimonies of times long past, but not created by humans.

Article: Twyfelfontein
Photo gallery: Twyfelfontein

Petrified forest

Witnesses of a bygone era in the petrified forest in Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The petrified forest of Namibia is also very close to the petroglyphs of Twyfelfontein. Almost unique in the world, this impressive relic from the dinosaur age can be found near Khorixas in northwestern Namibia. The giant trees in the petrified forest are up to 30m long and up to 300 million years old, but still look as if they had just fallen over. With the gigantic Welwitschia mirabilis, a living fossil can also still be found among the petrified trees.

Article: Petrified forest at Twfelfontein

Skeleton Coast

Like rotten teeth, the remains of the wrecked ships rise from the sands of the Skeleton Coast in Namibia - © Valdecasas / Shutterstock
© Valdecasas / Shutterstock

The uninviting-sounding Skeleton Coast actually gets its name from the numerous skeletons that are slowly swallowed up by the sand between the sea and the desert. The lonely landscape and its hidden wildlife can be explored by four-wheel drive vehicle or on fly-in safaris by helicopter.

Article: Skeleton Coast
Photo gallery: Skeleton Coast

Kolmanskop

In the ghost town of Kolmanskop in southern Namibia, magnificent mansions were once built on the German model, here the mine manager's house - © Reinhard Tiburzy / Shutterstock
© Reinhard Tiburzy / Shutterstock

In the south of Namibia lies probably one of the most extraordinary sights in the world. The settlement of Kolmanskop was built at a diamond mine that brought great wealth to its inhabitants. Since the mine dried up and the settlement was abandoned, nature is reclaiming its buildings - from the magnificent villa to the hospital.

Advertisement

Article: Kolmanskop
Photo gallery: Kolmanskop

Walvis Bay

A seal colony in Walvis Bay, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Especially hobby ornithologists are right in the idyllic Walvis Bay. In winter, hundreds of thousands of migratory birds gather here after their long journey from Europe. Dolphins and seals can also be seen here. By the way, the approach to the dreamlike bay is one of the most beautiful coastal roads in Namibia.

Article: Walvis Bay

Castle Duwisib on the Maltahöhe

The whimsical Duwisib Castle is located in the south of Namibia and is probably the most unusual sight in the entire country - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

As a medieval castle, Duwisib Castle seems somewhat out of place in the African steppe. Perhaps that is why it is one of the most visited sights in Namibia and is now considered a national monument. Built by a German colonial master, it now serves as a museum that tells the tragic story of its owners and is considered the possible origin of the mysterious desert horses of the Namib.

Article: Castle Duwisib on the Maltahöhe
Photo gallery: Castle Duwisib on the Maltahöhe

Plateau Mountains and Finger Cliff in Ugab Valley

In addition to the blocky plateau mountains, the prehistoric Ugab Valley in northern Namibia is also home to the famous Finger Cliff - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Between Khorixas and Otujo, the stone plateau mountains grow out of the flat and sparsely vegetated Damaraland like huge building blocks. The most striking among them is the 35-meter-high Vingerklip, which protrudes from the rectangular terraced mountains like a raised index finger.

Article: Plateau Mountains and Finger Cliff in Ugab Valley

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Namibia

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Namibia reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Namibia! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Namibia auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Namibia ist das ideale Land für Afrika-Einsteiger. Völlig ungefährlich können die eindrucksvollen Steppen Namibias mit dem eigenen Auto erkundet werden. Die verschlungenen Pfade führen durch grüne Täler, eindrucksvolle Schluchten, versteinerte Wälder, die Ausläufer der Kalahari und die größten Dünen der Welt.

Etosha Nationalpark

Zebras im Etosha-Nationalpark, dem größten und berühmtesten Nationalpark des Landes im Nordwesten von Namibia in der Region Kunen, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Etosha Nationalpark ist der berühmteste Nationalpark von Namibia. Er bietet hunderten verschiedenen Tierarten einen geschützten Lebensraum, die unvergessliche Safari-Erlebnisse garantieren. Auf geführten Touren und an beleuchteten Wasserlöchern des Etosha Nationalparks lassen sich auch die nachtaktiven Bewohner der afrikanischen Steppe entdecken.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Fish River Canyon

Blick in den Fish River Canyon im Süden Namibias - mit einer Länge von 160km und bis zu 27km Breite ist er der zweitgrößte Canyon der Welt - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der spektakuläre Fish River Canyon liegt am gleichnamigen Fluss und ist die größte Schlucht Afrikas. Weltweit wird er nur noch vom Grand Canyon in den USA übertroffen. Er befindet sich im Ai-Ais-Richtersveld Transfontier Park an der Grenze zu Südafrika und kann im Zuge von geführten Touren durchwandert werden. Zahlreiche Aussichtspunkte entlang seiner Ränder bieten atemberaubende Ausblicke in den über 500m tiefen Fish River Canyon.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Namib-Naukluft-Nationalpark

Die Landschaft im Namib-Naukluft-Nationalpark ist extrem vielseitig und beeindruckt den Besucher immer wieder aufs Neue, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Namib Naukluft Nationalpark umfasst etwa zwei Drittel der Fläche von Österreich und beeindruckt nicht nur mit seiner exotischen Tierwelt. In der Namib, der ältesten Wüste der Welt, sind auch die höchsten Sanddünen der Welt zu finden. Das so genannte Sossusvlei liegt ganz in der Nähe des Touristenzentrums Sesriem und auch der imposante Sesriem Canyon ist direkt neben dem Parkeingang problemlos erreichbar.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Twyfelfontein

Eines der über 2.500 Felsbilder in Twyfelfontein - es sind überwiegend Jagdszenen dargestellt, in denen Menschen mit Pfeil und Bogen auf Jagd gehen, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die historische Stätte von Twyfelfontein wurde von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt. Grund sind die zahlreichen Felszeichnungen an der „Zweifelquelle“. Die rund 2.500 Abbildungen von Symbolen, Tieren und Menschen stammen aus der Steinzeit und gehören zu den ältesten Felszeichnungen Afrikas.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Skelett-Küste

Wie verfaulte Zähne ragen die Überreste der verunglückten Schiffe aus dem Sand der Skelettküste in Namibia - © Valdecasas / Shutterstock
© Valdecasas / Shutterstock

Die wenig einladend klingende Skelett-Küste hat ihren Namen tatsächlich von den zahlreichen Gerippen, die zwischen Meer und Wüste langsam vom Sand verschluckt werden. Die einsame Landschaft und ihre verborgene Tierwelt kann per Allradfahrzeug oder auf Fly-in-Safaris mit dem Hubschrauber erkundet werden.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Kolmanskop

In der Geisterstadt Kolmanskop im südlichen Namibia wurden einst prächtige Herrenhäuser nach deutschem Vorbild errichtet, hier das Haus des Minenverwalters - © Reinhard Tiburzy / Shutterstock
© Reinhard Tiburzy / Shutterstock

Im Süden Namibias liegt wohl eine der außergewöhnlichsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Welt. Die Siedlung Kolmanskop wurde an einer Diamantenmine errichtet, die ihren Bewohnern großen Reichtum bescherten. Seit die Mine versiegt ist und die Siedlung verlassen wurde, holt sich die Natur ihre Gebäude wieder zurück – von der prächtigen Villa bis zum Krankenhaus.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Walvis Bay

Eine Robbenkolonie in Walvis Bay, Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Vor allem Hobby-Ornithologen sind in der idyllischen Walvis Bay richtig. Im Winter finden sich hier hunderttausende Zugvögel nach ihrer langen Reise aus Europa ein. Auch Delfine und Robben gibt es hier zu bewundern. Die Anfahrt in die traumhafte Bucht zählt übrigens zu den schönsten Küstenstraßen Namibias.

Zum Artikel …

Versteinerter Wald

Zeitzeugen einer vergangenen Epoche im versteinerten Wald in Namibia - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Weltweit nahezu einzigartig ist bei Khorixas im Nordwesten von Namibia ein beeindruckendes Relikt aus der Dinosaurierzeit. Die Baumriesen im versteinerten Wald sind bis zu 30m lang und bis zu 300 Millionen Jahre alt! Mit der gigantischen Welwitschie ist unter den versteinerten Bäumen auch noch ein lebendes Fossil zu finden.

Zum Artikel …

Schloss Duwisib auf der Maltahöhe

Das skurrile Schloss Duwisib liegt im Süden von Namibia und ist wohl die ungewöhnlichste Sehenswürdigkeit des ganzen Landes - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Schloss Duwisib wirkt als mittelalterliche Burg in der afrikanischen Steppe etwas deplatziert. Vielleicht gerade deshalb zählt es zu den meistbesuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten Namibias und gilt mittlerweile als Nationaldenkmal. Von einem deutschen Kolonialherren errichtet erzählt es heute als Museum die tragische Geschichte seiner Besitzer und wird als möglicher Ursprung der mysteriösen Wüstenpferde der Namib gehandelt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Plateauberge und Fingerklippe im Ugab-Tal

Neben den blockförmigen Plateau-Bergen ist im prähistorischen Ugab-Tal im Norden von Namibia auch die berühmte Fingerklippe zu finden - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Zwischen Khorixas und Otujo wachsen die steinernen Plateauberge wie gewaltige Bauklötze aus dem flachen und spärlich bewachsenen Damaraland. Am markantesten unter ihnen ist die rund 35 Meter hohe „Vingerklip“, die einem erhobenen Zeigefinger gleich aus den rechteckigen Terrassenbergen hervorsticht.

Zum Artikel …