The 10 most beautiful forts in Oman

The mighty fortresses in Oman convey an impressive picture of the fortified desert cities of yesteryear and show how splendidly the Omani rulers once resided.

Over the centuries, the hotly contested cities in Oman were fortified with mighty castles by the reigning rulers. After peace reigned again, the sultans converted many of the impressive fortresses into comfortable residential castles. Thick walls and wind towers provided a pleasant climate and if danger should threaten again, a few soldiers and cannons would be quickly procured.

Advertisement

The sand-coloured legacies of Oman's martial past have been lavishly restored today and most of them can also be visited from the inside.

Hisn Tamah Fortress, Bahla

The massive Hisn Tamah in Bahla is one of the most beautiful and impressive historical fortifications in Oman - © Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock

Hisn Tamah Fortress in Bahla is the only fortress in Oman to be listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Situated at the foot of Jebel Akhdar, the impressive mud-brick fort has been completely renovated using only traditional methods. Thus, the imposing bulwark with its massive dimensions also preserves the architectural heritage in Oman.

Article: Fortress Hisn Tamah in Bahla
Photo gallery: Hisn Tamah Fortress in Bahla


Jabrin Castle

Facade of Jabrin Castle, Oman - © FRASHO, franks-travelbox
© FRASHO, franks-travelbox

The 17th century Jabrin Palace is considered one of the most beautiful and picturesque buildings in Oman. After being lavishly renovated in 1984, the impressive palace offers a revealing insight into life at the courts of Oman at that time. The masterfully painted wooden ceilings, the ornate stucco decorations and the Moorish arches deserve special attention.

Article: Jabrin Castle
Photo gallery: Jabrin Castle


Nakhl Fortress

The impressive fortress of Nakhl was rebuilt several times and presents itself today with six impressive defence towers, a 30m high wall and a massive gate, Oman - © Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock

The magnificent fortress of Nakhl is enthroned on an impressive rock in the "date palm" village of the same name. The traditionally furnished rooms tell of everyday life in Oman in past centuries. Carved wooden doors and ceiling paintings lend the imposing fortress an artistic atmosphere.

Article: Fortress Nakhl

Advertisement

Bait Na'aman

The awe-inspiring Bait Na'aman in northern Oman is not actually a fortress, but an extremely cosily furnished residential tower that now functions as a museum - © Rudolf Tepfenhart/Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart/Shutterstock

The Bait Na'aman is located 5km from Barka and is actually a residential tower with an extremely fortified impression. Built at the end of the 17th century, the residential fort was equipped with 6 cannons, but never had to defend itself against attackers. Today it has been extensively renovated and is one of the finest testimonies to how the Omani rulers resided in the 18th century.

Article: Bait Na'aman


Fort Nizwa

The impressive fortress of Nizwa in northern Oman is one of the most visited sights in Oman - © JPRichard / Shutterstock
© JPRichard / Shutterstock

Most Oman holidaymakers come to Nizwa to visit the mighty fort with its respect-inspiring walls. The gigantic round tower of the Nizwa Fort is particularly impressive. With a diameter of 44m and a height of 28m, it is the largest tower in Oman.

Article: Fort Nizwa
Photo gallery: Fort Nizwa


Qalaat al-Qesra Fortress, Rustaq

The fortress of Rustaq is one of the largest and oldest bulwarks in Oman - © Styve Reineck / Shutterstock
© Styve Reineck / Shutterstock

After Rustaq was Oman's seat of power before Muscat, the now quiet town was given a massive fort in the 17th century to ensure the safety of its inhabitants. The 3m-thick walls have withstood many a bombardment and today house a collection of restored weapons.

Article: Qalaat al-Qesra Fortress in Rustaq


Mirani and Jalali Fortresses, Muscat

The once tower-shaped Mirani Fortress was built in the 16th century and now towers over the west of Muscat Bay, Oman - © Philip Lange / Shutterstock
© Philip Lange / Shutterstock

The two forts Mirani and Jalali were once part of the city walls of Muscat. The two forts were built by the Portuguese in the 16th century and still tower over the Gulf of Oman at the port of Muscat. Only Jalali Fort can be visited; it houses a museum of Omani culture and history.

Article: Old Town of Muscat

Advertisement

Fortress al Hazm

The mighty fortress in the small oasis of Al-Hazm is perfectly renovated and one of the finest examples of an Omani fortification, Oman - © ChameleonsEye / Shutterstock
© ChameleonsEye / Shutterstock

The fortress in the picturesque oasis of al Hazm is probably the youngest fortification in Oman, it was only completed in 1708. Its builder, Sultan bin Saif II, probably wanted to outdo all other fortresses, because al Hazm is probably the most magnificent example of Omani fortress architecture.

The fort could be perfectly defended and withstand sieges for a particularly long time due to numerous tricks. Besides the sophisticated architecture, the many carved wooden doors of the al Hazm fortress are also impressive.

Article: Fortress al Hazm


Al Mintarib Fortress, Wahiba Sands

The courtyard of Al Mintarib Fortress on the edge of the Wahiba Sands desert, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Located in the north-east of Oman, the oasis of Al Mintarib and its spectacular fortress act as the gateway to the Ramlat al Wahiba desert. It is one of the oldest forts in Oman and, due to its secluded location, is usually little visited. Omani holidaymakers can cool off in its majestic rooms before heading into the sweltering heat of Wahiba Sands.

Article: Al Mintarib Fortress
Photo gallery: Al Mintarib Fortress


Khasab Fortress, Musandam

View over the fortress of Alkmazrh and the mosque of the city of Khasab on the Omani exclave of Musandam - © Joaoleitao CC BY-SA3.0/W
© Joaoleitao CC BY-SA3.0/W

Like the Mirani and Jalali forts in Muscat, the first fortress of Khasab in Musandam's capital was most likely built by the Portuguese. Today's castle in the north of the old city was built by Omanis and houses a museum of craftsmanship and archaeology in addition to furnished residential towers.

Article: Khasab Fortress

Advertisement

PICTURES: The 10 most beautiful forts in Oman

Photo gallery: The 10 most beautiful forts in Oman


Recommended accommodations: Oman

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Die 10 schönsten Festungen im Oman

Die mächtigen Festungen im Oman vermitteln ein eindrucksvolles Bild der wehrhaften Wüstenstädte von damals und zeigen, wie prunkvoll einst die omanischen Herrscher residierten.

Die heiß umkämpften Städte im Oman wurden im Lauf der Jahrhunderte von den amtierenden Herrschern mit mächtigen Burgen befestigt. Nachdem wieder Frieden herrschte, bauten die Sultane viele der eindrucksvollen Festungen zu bequemen Wohnschlössern aus. Dicke Mauern und Windtürme sorgten für ein angenehmes Klima und falls doch wieder Gefahr drohen sollte, wären ein paar Soldaten und Kanonen schnell beschafft.

Die sandfarbenen Vermächtnisse von Omans kriegerischer Vergangenheit sind heute aufwändig restauriert und dürfen zum Großteil auch von innen besichtigt werden.

Festung Hisn Tamah, Bahla

Die gewaltige Hisn Tamah in Bahla ist eine der schönsten und eindrucksvollsten historischen Festungsanlagen des Oman - © Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock

Die Festung Hisn Tamah in Bahla zählt als einzige aller Festungen im Oman zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Am Fuß des Jebel Akhdar gelegen wurde das eindrucksvolle Fort aus Lehmziegeln vollständig renoviert und zwar ausschließlich mit traditionellen Methoden. Somit bewahrt das imposante Bollwerk mit seinen gewaltigen Ausmaßen auch das architektonische Erbe im Oman.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …


Schloss Jabrin

Fassade des Schloss Jabrin, Oman - © FRASHO, franks-travelbox
© FRASHO, franks-travelbox

Der Palast Jabrin aus dem 17. Jahrhundert gilt als eines der schönsten und malerischsten Gebäude im Oman. Nachdem das eindrucksvolle Schloss 1984 aufwendig renoviert wurde bietet es einen aufschlussreichen Einblick in das damalige Leben an den Höfen im Oman. Besondere Beachtung verdienen die meisterhaft bemalten Holzdecken, die kunstvollen Stuckverzierungen und die maurischen Bögen.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …


Festung Nakhl

Die eindrucksvolle Festung von Nakhl wurde mehrmals umgebaut und präsentiert sich heute mit sechs eindrucksvollen Wehrtürmen, einer 30m hohen Mauer und einem massiven Tor, Oman - © Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart / Shutterstock

Die prächtige Festung Nakhl thront in der gleichnamigen Ortschaft „Dattelpalmen“ auf einem eindrucksvollen Felsen. Die traditionell eingerichteten Räume erzählen vom omanischen Alltag der vergangenen Jahrhunderte. Geschnitzte Holztüren und Deckenmalereien verleihen der imposanten Festung eine künstlerische Atmosphäre.

Zum Artikel …


Bait Na’aman

Der Respekt einflößende Bait Na'aman im Norden des Oman ist eigentlich keine Festung, sondern ein äußerst behaglich eingerichteter Wohnturm, der heute als Museum fungiert - © Rudolf Tepfenhart/Shutterstock
© Rudolf Tepfenhart/Shutterstock

Das Bait Na’aman liegt 5km von Barka entfernt und ist eigentlich ein Wohnturm mit äußerst wehrhaftem Eindruck. Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts errichtet wurde das Wohnfort mit 6 Kanonen ausgestattet, musste sich jedoch nie gegen Angreifer verteidigen. Heute ist es umfassend renoviert und eines der schönsten Zeugnisse, wie die omanischen Herrscher im 18. Jahrhundert residierten.

Zum Artikel …


Fort Nizwa

Die beeindruckende Festung von Nizwa im nördlichen Oman zählt zu den meistbesuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten des Oman - © JPRichard / Shutterstock
© JPRichard / Shutterstock

Die meisten Oman-Urlauber kommen nach Nizwa, um das mächtige Fort mit seinen Respekt einflößenden Mauern zu besichtigen. Besonders beeindruckend ist der gigantische Rundturm des Nizwa-Forts. Mit einem Durchmesser von 44m und einer Höhe von 28m ist er der größte Turm des Oman.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …


Festung Qalaat al-Qesra, Rustaq

Die Festung von Rustaq zählt zu den größten und ältesten Bollwerken im Oman - © Styve Reineck / Shutterstock
© Styve Reineck / Shutterstock

Nachdem Rustaq vor Muscat Omans Herrschersitz war, erhielt der heute ruhige Ort im 17. Jahrhundert ein gewaltiges Fort, um die Sicherheit seiner Bewohner zu gewährleisten. Die 3m dicken Mauern hielten bereits so manchem Beschuss stand und beherbergen heute eine Sammlung an restaurierten Waffen.

Zum Artikel …


Festungen Mirani und Jalali, Muscat

Die einst turmförmige Festung Mirani wurde im 16. Jahrhundert errichtet und thront heute im Westen der Bucht von Muscat, Oman - © Philip Lange / Shutterstock
© Philip Lange / Shutterstock

Die beiden Forts Mirani und Jalali waren einst Teil der Stadtmauer von Muscat. Die beiden Festungen wurden im 16. Jahrhundert von den Portugiesen errichtet und thronen heute noch am Hafen von Muscat über dem Golf von Oman. Besichtigt werden kann nur das Fort Jalali, es beherbergt ein Museum für omanische Kultur und Geschichte.

Zum Artikel Fort Mirani …
Zum Artikel Fort Jalali …


Festung al Hazm

Die mächtige Festung in der kleinen Oase Al-Hazm ist perfekt renoviert und eines der schönsten Beispiele einer omanischen Befestigungsanlage, Oman - © ChameleonsEye / Shutterstock
© ChameleonsEye / Shutterstock

Die Festung in der malerischen Oase al Hazm ist vermutlich die jüngste Befestigungsanlage des Oman, sie wurde erst 1708 fertiggestellt. Wahrscheinlich wollte ihr Erbauer Sultan bin Saif II. alle anderen Festungen übertrumpfen, denn in al Hazm steht wohl das prachtvollste Beispiel der omanischen Festungsbaukunst. Das Fort konnte perfekt verteidigt werden und aufgrund zahlreicher Tricks Belagerungen besonders lange verkraften. Neben der ausgeklügelten Architektur beeindrucken auch die vielen geschnitzten Holztüren der al Hazm-Festung.

Zum Artikel …


Festung Al Mintarib, Wahiba Sands

Der Innenhof der Festung Al Mintarib am Rande der Wüste Wahiba Sands, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Im Nordosten des Oman gelegen fungiert die Oase Al Mintarib und ihre spektakuläre Festung als Eingangstor zur Wüste Ramlat al Wahiba. Sie zählt zu den ältesten Festungen im Oman und ist aufgrund ihrer abgeschiedenen Lage meist wenig besucht. In ihren majestätischen Räumen können sich Oman-Urlauber noch einmal abkühlen, bevor es in die Gluthitze von Wahiba Sands geht.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …


Festung von Khasab, Musandam

Blick über die Festung Alkmazrh und die Moschee der Stadt Khasab auf der omanischen Exklave Musandam - © Joaoleitao CC BY-SA3.0/W
© Joaoleitao CC BY-SA3.0/W

Ebenso wie die Forts Mirani und Jalali in Muscat wurde höchstwahrscheinlich auch die erste Festung von Khasab in der Hauptstadt Musandams von den Portugiesen erbaut. Die heutige Burg im Norden der Altstadt wurde von Omanis errichtet und beherbergt neben möblierten Wohntürmen ein Museum für Handwerkskunst und Archäologie.

Zum Artikel …

BILDER: Die 10 schönsten Festungen im Oman