The top 10 sights of Rome, Italy

Travel to Rome completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Rome! What are the highlights and attractions you can not miss on vacation in Rome?

The Eternal City of Rome is always worth a visit with its magnificent monuments from antiquity, magnificent squares and fascinating museums. Together with pasta and pizza, ice cream and espresso, Italy's capital is the perfect destination for La dolce vita!

Advertisement

Vatican Museums

View of the Vatican Museums complex from the observation deck of St. Peter's Basilica, Rome, Vatican - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

The Vatican Museums in Rome are among the most important art collections in the world. For centuries, popes gathered treasures from all over the world, which are displayed in the rooms of the Vatican Palaces decorated with fantastic ceiling and wall paintings. U

numerous highlights include the Sistine Chapel with Michelangelo's "Creation of Adam", the bronze statue of Heracles and the majestic Gallery of Maps.

Article: Vatican Museums in Rome

St. Peter's Basilica

St. Peter's Basilica in the Roman city-state of Vatican City at dusk - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Also in Vatican City is St. Peter's Basilica, the most famous basilica in Christendom and the birthplace of the papacy. The first church of St. Peter in the world impresses with its huge dimensions and richly decorated interior. Climbing up to the dome provides a spectacular view over Rome.

Article: St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican
Photo gallery: St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican

Colosseum

The Colosseum in Rome is the largest enclosed structure of Roman antiquity and a masterpiece of engineering by the ancient Romans, Italy - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

The Colosseum in Rome is the largest structure of Roman antiquity and for centuries was the scene of spectacular animal fights, gladiator fights, theater performances, circus shows and sporting competitions. Visitors today can still see the enormous dimensions of this monumental amphitheater and parts of the ingenious stage technology beneath the arena.

Article: Colosseum in Rome
Photo gallery: Colosseum in Rome

Advertisement

Roman Forum

Monumental walls, columns as tall as houses and impressive triumphal arches bear witness to the former splendor of the Roman Forum in Rome, Italy - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Also numerous celebrities from ancient times can be found at the Roman Forum. The former main square of Ancient Rome was at that time the center of power of the Roman Empire and is still the most important archaeological site of Rome. The remains of the temples, meeting houses and churches are all UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Article: Roman Forum in Rome
Photo gallery: Roman Forum in Rome

Trevi Fountain (Fontana die Trevi)

The massive Trevi Fountain is one of the most famous fountains in the world; at least since its role in the movie "La Dolce Vita" it has been one of the most important sights of Rome, Italy - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

The enormous Trevi Fountain with its incredibly detailed figure decoration is the largest fountain in Rome and is also one of the most famous fountains in the world. At the latest since its leading role in the film "La Dolce Vita", it is one of Rome's most successful tourist magnets - all hell breaks loose here day and night!

Article: Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi) in Rome

Spanish stairs

The Spanish Steps at night, in the foreground the fountain Fontana della Barcaccia, in the background the church Trinità dei Monti, Rome, Italy - © Taras Vyshnya / Shutterstock
© Taras Vyshnya / Shutterstock

Likewise, Rome vacationers are never alone at the Spanish Steps. The monumental staircase leads from Piazza dei Spagna to the National Church Trinità dei Monti and is considered a landmark of Rome. With its 138 steps, it is one of the most famous outdoor staircases in the world and is considered one of the most beautiful staircases of the late Baroque.

Article: Spanish Steps in Rome
Photo gallery: Spanish Steps in Rome

Trastevere district

View of the church of Santa Maria in Trastevere, it is the oldest church of St. Mary in Rome and one of the first where public worship was allowed to be celebrated, Italy - © grafalex / Shutterstock
© grafalex / Shutterstock

The Trastevere district above the Tiber has hardly any sensational ancient treasures to offer, but attracts Rome vacationers with narrow alleys, romantic squares and excellent Italian restaurants. The oldest church of St. Mary in Rome and the church of Santa Cecilia with the miraculous body of an early Christian martyr are particularly worth seeing here.

Article: Trastevere district in Rome

Advertisement

Church of Santa Maria Maggiore

The richly decorated chancel and the highly venerated image of Our Lady in the Cappella Paolina in the magnificent Church of St. Mary in Rome, Italy - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

It is no coincidence that the magnificent Santa Maria Maggiore Church is considered to be the most magnificent place of worship in Rome, and with its precious decorations it even outshines the famous St. Peter 's Basilica. Mosaics, frescoes and vast amounts of gold make the interior of Rome's largest church of St. Mary shine unearthly.

Article: Church of Santa Maria Maggiore in Rome

San Clemente Church

The church of San Clemente is divided into a lower and upper church and is a remarkable sight, Rome, Italy - © francovolpato / Fotolia
© francovolpato / Fotolia

The rather inconspicuous church of San Clemente has a surprise in store under the ornate marble floor in the richly decorated chancel: Hidden in the lower church are centuries-old frescoes that once adorned a sanctuary of the cult of Mithras.

Article: Church of San Clemente in Rome

Catacombs of San Callisto

Before the liberation of Christianity, Christians in Rome were buried secretly in the vast catacombs of San Callisto, Italy - © GerardM,CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© GerardM,CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

The mystical catacombs of San Callisto just outside Rome were once built as the first still-secret burial place of the early Christians and were also used for holy masses. More than a million Christians, including some 100 martyrs and 16 popes, are buried in the once richly decorated burial niches.

Article: Catacombs of San Callisto in Rome

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rom

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Rom reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rom! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Rom auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Die Ewige Stadt Rom ist mit ihren prächtigen Baudenkmälern aus der Antike, prunkvollen Plätzen und faszinierenden Museen immer eine Reise wert. Gemeinsam mit Pasta und Pizza, Eis und Espresso ist Italiens Hauptstadt die perfekte Destination für La dolce vita!

Vatikanische Museen

Blick von der Aussichtsplattform des Petersdoms auf den Gebäudekomplex der Vatikanischen Museen, Rom, Vatikan - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Die Vatikanischen Museen in Rom gehören zu den bedeutendsten Kunstsammlungen der Welt. Über Jahrhunderte trugen die Päpste Schätze aus aller Welt zusammen, die in den mit fantastischen Decken- und Wandmalereien geschmückten Räumen der Vatikanischen Paläste ausgestellt sind. Unter den unzähligen Highlights befinden sich die Sixtinische Kapelle mit Michelangelos „Erschaffung Adams“, die Bronzestatue des Herakles und die majestätische Galerie der Landkarten.

Zum Artikel …

Petersdom

Der Petersdom im römischen Stadtstaat Vatikan in der Abenddämmerung - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Ebenfalls in Vatikanstadt liegt der Petersdom, berühmteste Basilika der Christenheit und Geburtsstätte des Papsttums. Die erste Peterskirche der Welt beeindruckt durch ihre gewaltigen Ausmaße und ihren reich verzierten Innenraum. Ein Aufstieg in die Kuppel ermöglicht einen spektakulären Blick über Rom.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Kolosseum

Das Kolosseum in Rom ist das größte geschlossene Bauwerk der römischen Antike und ein Meisterstück der Ingenieurskunst der alten Römer, Italien - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Das Kolosseum in Rom ist das größte Bauwerk der römischen Antike und war jahrhundertelang Schauplatz spektakulärer Tierhetzen, Gladiatorenkämpfe, Theateraufführungen, Zirkusdarbietungen und sportlicher Wettkämpfe. Besucher sehen heute noch die gewaltigen Ausmaße dieses monumentalen Amphitheaters und Teile der genialen Bühnentechnik unter der Arena.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Forum Romanum

Monumentale Mauern, haushohe Säulen und eindrucksvolle Triumphbögen zeugen von der einstigen Pracht des Forum Romanum in Rom, Italien - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Ebenfalls zahlreiche Berühmtheiten aus der Antike sind im Forum Romanum zu finden. Der ehemalige Hauptplatz des Alten Rom war damals Zentrum der Macht des Römischen Reiches und stellt bis heute die wichtigste archäologische Stätte von Rom dar. Die Überreste der Tempel, Versammlungshäuser und Kirchen zählen allesamt zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Trevi-Brunnen (Fontana die Trevi)

Der gewaltige Trevi-Brunnen ist einer der berühmtesten Brunnen weltweit; spätestens seit seiner Rolle im Film „La Dolce Vita“ zählt er zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Roms, Italien - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Der gewaltige Trevi-Brunnen ist mit seinem unglaublich detaillierten Figurenschmuck der größte Brunnen Roms und zählt auch weltweit zu den berühmtesten Brunnen. Spätestens seit seiner tragenden Rolle im Film „La Dolce Vita“ zählt er zu den erfolgreichsten Touristenmagneten Roms – Tag und Nacht ist hier die Hölle los!

Zum Artikel …

Spanische Treppe

Die Spanische Treppe bei Nacht, im Vordergrund der Brunnen Fontana della Barcaccia, im Hintergrund die Kirche Trinità dei Monti, Rom, Italien - © Taras Vyshnya / Shutterstock
© Taras Vyshnya / Shutterstock

Ebenfalls nie alleine sind Rom-Urlauber an der Spanischen Treppe. Die Monumentalstiege führt von der Piazza die Spagna zur Nationalkirche Trinità dei Monti und gilt als Wahrzeichen Roms. Mit ihren 138 Stufen zählt sie zu den bekanntesten Freitreppen der Welt und gilt als eine der schönsten Treppen des Spätbarock.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Trastevere

Blick auf die Kirche Santa Maria in Trastevere, sie ist die älteste Marienkirche Roms und eine der ersten, in der öffentlich Gottesdienste gefeiert werden durften, Italien - © grafalex / Shutterstock
© grafalex / Shutterstock

Das Stadtviertel Trastevere über dem Tiber hat kaum sensationelle antike Schätze zu bieten, sondern lockt im Rom-Urlaub mit schmalen Gässchen, romantischen Plätzen und ausgezeichneten italienischen Restaurants. Sehenswert ist hier vor allem die älteste Marienkirche Roms und die Kirche Santa Cecilia mit dem wundersamen Leichnam einer frühchristlichen Märtyrerin.

Zum Artikel …

Kirche Santa Maria Maggiore

Der reich verzierte Altarraum und das hochverehrte Gnadenbild der Madonna in der Cappella Paolina in der prunkvollen Marienkirche Santa Maria Maggiore in Rom, Italien  - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Nicht von ungefähr gilt die prächtige Santa Maria Maggiore Kirche als prunkvollstes Gotteshaus Roms und stellt mit ihren kostbaren Verzierungen sogar noch den berühmten Petersdom in den Schatten. Mosaike, Fresken und Unmengen von Gold lassen den Innenraum der größten Marienkirche Roms überirdisch erstrahlen.

Zum Artikel …

Kirche San Clemente

Die Kirche San Clemente ist in eine Unter- und Oberkirche geteilt und eine bemerkenswerte Sehenswürdigkeit, Rom, Italien  - © francovolpato / Fotolia
© francovolpato / Fotolia

Die von außen eher unscheinbare Kirche San Clemente hält unter dem kunstvollen Marmorfußboden im reich geschmückten Altarraum eine Überraschung bereit: In der Unterkirche sind jahrhundertealte Fresken verborgen, die einst ein Heiligtum des Mithras-Kultes zierten.

Zum Artikel …

Katakomben von San Callisto

Vor der Befreiung des Christentums wurden die Christen in Rom heimlich in den riesigen Katakomben von San Callisto bestattet, Italien - © GerardM,CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© GerardM,CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

Die mystischen Katakomben von San Callisto etwas außerhalb von Rom wurden einst als erste noch heimliche Begräbnisstätte der frühen Christen errichtet und auch für heilige Messen genutzt. In den einst reich verzierten Grabnischen sind über eine Million Christen, darunter rund 100 Märtyrer und 16 Päpste, bestattet.

Zum Artikel …

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >  


 

Anzeige