The Top 10 Sights of Italy

Travel to Italy completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Italy! What are the highlights and attractions you can't miss when vacationing in Italy?

Bella Italia! When you hear these words on vacation in Italy, you immediately think of the cypresses of Tuscany, the fabulous Amalfi Coast, gondolas in Venice, pompous churches and the impressive sights from Roman antiquity.

Advertisement

Bella Italia is wine and song, pizza and pasta, beaches and the Alps, soccer and Ferrari, in short - always worth a trip.

Colosseum in Rome

The Colosseum in Rome is the largest enclosed structure of Roman antiquity and a masterpiece of engineering by the ancient Romans, Italy - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

The massive Colosseum in Rome is the largest structure of the ancient world. The massive arena was once commissioned by Emperor Vespasian and for years was the scene of cruel gladiator fights and animal hunts, as well as spectacular re-enacted battles. To this day, the sophisticated architecture and ingenious stagecraft of the monumental amphitheater astonishes every visitor.

Article: Colosseum in Rome
Photo gallery: Colosseum in Rome

St. Mark's Square in Venice

St Mark's Square in Venice by night, Italy - © gary718 / Shutterstock
© gary718 / Shutterstock

The most important sights of the lagoon city of Venice are grouped around the picturesque St. Mark's Square, including the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Church with the Campanile, the highest tower in the city. At carnival time, St. Mark's Square disappears under the blaze of color of numerous masks exuberantly celebrating the famous Venice Carnival celebration.

Article: St. Mark's Square in Venice
Photo gallery: St. Mark's Square in Venice

Amalfi Coast

Spectacular view on the Amalfi Coast, Italy - © DeVIce / Fotolia
© DeVIce / Fotolia

The gorgeous Amalfi Coast in southwestern Italy is one of the most beautiful coastal roads in Europe and has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Like pearls on a string, one picturesque village follows the next, some of them built steeply into the rocks - spectacular views of the Mediterranean guaranteed!

Article: Amalfi Coast
Photo gallery: Amalfi Coast

Advertisement

St. Peter's Basilica in the Vatican

St. Peter's Basilica in the Roman city-state of Vatican City at dusk - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

St. Peter's Basilica in Rome is the most famous church in Christianity, as it was built at the behest of the first bishop of Rome, Apostle Peter, and is considered the birthplace of the papacy. Meanwhile, the magnificently decorated place of worship is the largest church in the world. The free ascent to the massive dome offers a magnificent view over the Eternal City.

Article: St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican
Photo gallery: St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican

Milan Cathedral in Milan

Milan Cathedral is the third largest church in the world in terms of area, after St. Peter's Basilica in Rome and the Spanish Cathedral of Seville, Italy - © MasterLu / Fotolia
© MasterLu / Fotolia

Milan Cathedral is the city's landmark and one of our 10 most beautiful churches in Europe. Its elaborately decorated facade of light marble houses a priceless relic in an altar room of immense proportions: a nail from the cross of Jesus. The 20m-high stained glass windows, through which sunlight bathes Milan Cathedral in soft light, are among the largest in the world.

Article: Milan Cathedral
Photo gallery: Milan Cathedral

Vatican Museums in the Vatican

The fantastic wall and ceiling paintings in the Vatican Museums are a sight in themselves, Rome, Vatican - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Not only art lovers will be thrilled by the exhibitions of the Vatican Museums in Rome. The rooms, adorned with magnificent murals, hide overwhelming art treasures brought to Rome by popes from all over the world over almost two millennia. Highlights include the Sistine Chapel with its famous painting of the Creation of Adam, the Head of Zeus, the bronze statue of Heracles and the Gallery of Maps.

Article: Vatican Museums in Rome

Lake Garda

The picture-perfect Lake Garda lies in the middle of the Alps south of Trento and is the largest lake in Italy - © fotomika / Shutterstock
© fotomika / Shutterstock

The wonderful combination of alpine terrain and lake makes Lake Garda in northern Italy so popular. The mild climate does the rest to attract numerous tourists to its enchanting villages and cozy beach resorts every year. However, Italy's largest and cleanest lake not only invites to a swimming vacation - also hikers, mountain bikers, climbers, sailors and surfers enjoy this wonderful spot.

To the article: Lake Garda
To the photo gallery: Lake Garda

Advertisement

Fenestrelle Fortress in Piedmont

View of Fenestrelle mountain fortress in Piedmont from Asietta ridge road , Italy - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

With an incredible area of 1.3 million square meters, Fenestrelle Fortress in northern Italy is the largest mountain fortress in Europe. Its completion took a massive 120 years until the middle of the 18th century. All parts of the monumental bulwark can be visited via a covered staircase with almost 4,000 steps - if you want to see everything, by the way, this takes 7 to 8 hours and requires good physical condition!

Article: Fenestrelle Fortress

Resia Pass

The Reschen Pass has an altitude of 1504m; in 1950 the Reschen Lake was dammed up, flooding the village of Graun and parts of the village of Reschen, South Tyrol, Italy - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Reschen Pass is located on the border between Italy and Austria and is actually a mountain pass like many others. Even the reservoir is nothing special - if it weren't for the bell tower that juts out of the middle of Lake Reschen and lends the picturesque landscape a unique photo motif of the flooded village.

Article: Reschen Pass between Austria and Italy

Roman city of Aquileia

In the former commercial metropolis of Aquileia in northern Italy, streets, squares and house foundations from the Roman era have been unearthed - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Aquileia was an important trading city in Roman times and one of the first major cities in Italy. After the liberation of Christianity in 333, the Roman city was one of the centers for the spread of the young faith. Today Aquileia is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and impresses its visitors with well-preserved ruins, including magnificent mosaics in the basilica.

Article: Aquileia
Photo gallery: Aquileia

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Italien

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Italien reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Italien! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Italien auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Kolosseum in Rom

Das Kolosseum in Rom ist das größte geschlossene Bauwerk der römischen Antike und ein Meisterstück der Ingenieurskunst der alten Römer, Italien - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Das gewaltige Kolosseum in Rom ist das größte Bauwerk der Antike. Die gewaltige Arena wurde einst von Kaiser Vespasian in Auftrag gegeben und war jahrelang Schauplatz grausamer Gladiatorenkämpfe und Tierhetzen sowie spektakulärer nachgestellter Schlachten. Bis heute versetzt die ausgeklügelte Architektur und geniale Bühnentechnik des monumentalen Amphitheaters jeden Besucher in Staunen.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Markusplatz in Venedig

Der Markusplatz in Venedig bei Nacht, Italien - © gary718 / Shutterstock
© gary718 / Shutterstock

Um den malerischen Markusplatz gruppieren sich die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Lagunenstadt Venedig, darunter der Dogenpalast und die Markuskirche mit dem Campanile, dem höchsten Turm der Stadt. Zur Faschingszeit verschwindet der Markusplatz unter der Farbenpracht zahlreicher Masken, die ausgelassen den berühmten Karneval von Venedig feiern.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Amalfiküste

Spektakulärer Ausblick an der Amalfiküste, Italien - © DeVIce / Fotolia
© DeVIce / Fotolia

Die traumhafte Amalfiküste im Südwesten von Italien ist eine der schönsten Küstenstraßen Europas und wurde von der UNESCO zum Weltnaturerbe ernannt. Wie Perlen an einer Schnur reiht sich eine malerische Ortschaft an die andere, die zum Teil steil in die Felsen gebaut wurden – spektakuläre Ausblicke aufs Mittelmeer garantiert!

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Petersdom im Vatikan

Der Petersdom im römischen Stadtstaat Vatikan in der Abenddämmerung - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Der Petersdom in Rom ist die berühmteste Kirche des Christentums, denn sie wurde auf Geheiß des ersten Bischofs Roms, Apostel Petrus, errichtet und gilt als Geburtsstätte des Papsttums. Mittlerweile ist das prachtvoll verzierte Gotteshaus die größte Kirche der Welt. Der kostenfreie Aufstieg auf die gewaltige Kuppel bietet einen grandiosen Blick über die Ewige Stadt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Mailänder Dom in Mailand

Der Mailänder Dom ist flächenmäßig nach dem Petersdom in Rom und der spanischen Kathedrale von Sevilla die drittgrößte Kirche der Welt, Italien - © MasterLu / Fotolia
© MasterLu / Fotolia

Der Mailänder Dom ist das Wahrzeichen der Stadt und zählt zu den schönsten Kirchen Europas. Seine aufwändig verzierte Fassade aus hellem Marmor beherbergt in einem Altarraum mit gewaltigen Ausmaßen eine unbezahlbare Reliquie: Einen Nagel vom Kreuz Jesu. Die 20m hohen Buntglasfenster, durch die das Sonnenlicht den Mailänder Dom in sanftes Licht taucht, gehören zu den größten der Welt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Vatikanische Museen im Vatikan

Die fantastischen Wand- und Deckenmalereien in den Vatikanischen Museen sind eine Sehenswürdigkeit für sich, Rom, Vatikan - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Nicht nur Kunstliebhaber werden von den Ausstellungen der Vatikanischen Museen in Rom begeistert sein. In den mit prächtigen Wandmalereien geschmückten Räumlichkeiten verbergen sich überwältigende Kunstschätze, die über fast zwei Jahrtausende hinweg von den Päpsten aus aller Welt nach Rom gebracht wurden. Zu den Highlights zählen die Sixtinische Kapelle mit dem berühmten Bild der Erschaffung Adams, der Kopf des Zeus, die Bronzestatue des Herakles und die Galerie der Landkarten.

Zum Artikel …

Festung Fenestrelle in Piemont

Blick auf die Gebirgsfestung Fenestrelle im Piemont von der Asietta Kammstraße , Italien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Mit einer unglaublichen Fläche von 1,3 Millionen Quadratmeter ist die Festung Fenestrelle im Norden Italiens die größte Gebirgsfestung Europas. Ihre Fertigstellung dauerte über gewaltige 120 Jahre bis Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Über eine überdachte Treppe mit knapp 4.000 Stufen können alle Teile des monumentalen Bollwerks besichtigt werden – wenn man alles sehen möchte, dauert dies übrigens 7 bis 8 Stunden und erfordert gute Kondition!

Zum Artikel …

Reschenpass

Der Reschenpass hat eine Seehöhe 1504m; 1950 wurde der Reschensee aufgestaut, dabei wurden das Dorf Graun und Teile vom Ort Reschen überflutet, Südtirol, Italien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Reschenpass liegt an der Grenze zwischen Italien und Österreich und ist eigentlich ein Gebirgspass wie viele andere. Auch der Stausee ist nichts Besonderes – wäre da nicht der Glockenturm, der mitten aus dem Reschensee ragt und der malerischen Landschaft ein einmaliges Fotomotiv der gefluteten Ortschaft verleiht.

Zum Artikel …

Römerstadt Aquileia

In der einstigen Handelsmetropole Aquileia im Norden Italiens wurden Straßen, Plätze und Häuserfundamente aus der Römerzeit zutage gefördert - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Aquileia war zur Zeit der Römer eine wichtige Handelsstadt und eine der ersten großen Städte Italiens. Nach der Befreiung des Christentums im Jahr 333 war die Römerstadt eines der Zentren zur Verbreitung der jungen Glaubensrichtung. Heute zählt Aquileia zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO und beeindruckt seine Besucher mit gut erhaltenen Ruinen, darunter prächtige Mosaike in der Basilika.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Schloss Miramare bei Triest

Das schmucke Schloss Miramare nördlich von Triest bietet seinen Besuchern mit prunkvollem Original-Interieur Einblicke in die Zeit der Habsburger, Italien - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Das schneeweiße Schloss Miramare an der oberen Adria wurde einst vom österreichischen Erzherzog Maximilian errichtet und lockt heute mit prunkvollen Räumlichkeiten und einem großzügig angelegten Schlossgarten. Sein Inneres beherbergt ein staatliches Museum, in dem die original wiederhergestellte Möblierung der Habsburger zu sehen ist – so wie vor 100 Jahren.

Zum Artikel …