The Top 10 Sights of Argentina

Travel to Argentina completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions of Argentina! What are the highlights and attractions you can't miss when vacationing in Argentina?

Argentina stretches across the South American continent to Cape Horn, the starting point of many an Antarctic expedition. This fascinating country of contrasts is home to the highest and lowest points of South America, boasts metropolises bursting with culture and history, and its vast plains, the pampas, make you forget time and civilization.

Advertisement

Iguaçu Waterfalls

The Iguaçu Falls on the border between Brazil and Argentina are the widest in the world at 2,700 meters - © Eduardo Rivero / Fotolia
© Eduardo Rivero / Fotolia

The Iguaçu Falls live up to their name "Great Water". With an extension of 3 kilometers, they form the widest waterfall in the world. More than 250 individual waterfalls plunge up to 700 meters into the depths on the border with Brazil. The national park around the thundering masses of water has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Article: Iguaçu Falls
Photo gallery: Iguaçu Waterfalls

Ruta de los Siete Lagos (7 Lakes Route)

The Ruta de Los Siete Lagos in southern Argentina connects some of Argentina's most beautiful natural sights - © kovgabor / Shutterstock
© kovgabor / Shutterstock

Nature lovers can't miss Argentina's famous 7 Lakes Route! The magnificent panoramic road in the south of the country connects some of the most beautiful places in Argentina. Apart from tranquil lakes, it also features snow-capped volcanoes, pristine virgin forests and the breathtaking Lanín and Nahuel Huapi National Parks.

The latter is home to the popular vacation destination of San Carlos de Bariloche. The pretty resort is called "The Switzerland of Argentina" thanks to mountains, lakes and chocolate.

Articles: 7 Lakes Route
Photo gallery: 7 Lakes Route

Rosario

The massive flag monument Monumento a la Bandera on the banks of the Paraná River is one of the most famous and visited sights in Rosario, Argentina - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

Rosario is the third largest city in Argentina after the capital Buenos Aires and Cordoba and is still considered a real insider tip. Long less well known than its two big sisters, the metropolis on the idyllic banks of the Rio Paraná has just as much to offer in terms of sights, culture and nightlife.

Article: Top 10 places to visit in Rosario
Photo gallery: Rosario

Advertisement

Colonial city of Salta

The four-story bell tower of the Basilica of San Francisco in Salta, Argentina, is the tallest in all of South America - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

Salta is also competing for the title of Argentina's most beautiful city. Thanks to its picturesque old town, the pastel-colored colonial city in the northwest of the country is nicknamed "La Linda", "the Beautiful", and is also known as the "City of Eternal Spring" due to its mild climate.

Do you need more reasons to visit Salta? One more: The Tren a las Nubes also starts here. The "train to the clouds" ascends to a gigantic 4188 meters above sea level.

Article: The top 10 sights of Salta
Photo Gallery: 10 Top Shots Colonial City of Salta

Missionary Station San Ignacio Míní

Ruins of the missionary station San Ignacio Míní from the period of Spanish colonial rule, Argentina - © diegorayaces / Shutterstock
© diegorayaces / Shutterstock

It is not for nothing that the province of Misiones in northeastern Argentina has its name. At the time of Spanish colonization, there were 30 missionary stations here, which were intended to convert the "savages" of South America to the Christian faith. San Ignacio Míní is the best preserved to this day and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Its bright red walls in the middle of the jungle still bear witness to the masterful architecture of the Jesuits.

Article: Missionary Station San Ignacio Míní

Ischigualasto Nature Park and Talampaya National Park

The rock formation "The Submarine" in the Ischigualasto National Park in Argent - © Marc Venema / Shutterstock
© Marc Venema / Shutterstock

The desert-like regions of Ischigualasto and Talampaya have been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site and are a paradise for paleontologists and geologists. Some of the bizarrely shaped rock layers are an incredible 200 million years old and have already revealed some of the world's most important fossil finds. Fossil flora, footprints and bones even older than the dinosaurs are among the highlights no longer hidden.

Article: Ischigualasto Nature Park
Photo gallery: Ischigualasto Nature Park
Article: Talampaya National Park
Photo gallery: Talampaya National Park

Los Glaciares National Park

Laguna de Los Tres in front of spectacular Mount Fitz Roy in Los Glaciares National Park in Argentina - © Pichugin Dmitry / Shutterstock
© Pichugin Dmitry / Shutterstock

Geological wonders can also be discovered in Los Glaciares National Park, but for the most part under a meter-thick layer of ice. The mighty glaciers in southern Argentina are part of the Patagonian Ice Field, which is the largest ice field in the world outside Greenland and Antarctica. The peaks, lakes and nearly 50 glaciers attract with wild beauty and spectacular climbing routes in the second largest and most visited national park in Argentina.

Advertisement

Article: Los Glaciares National Park
Photo gallery: Los Glaciares National Park

Mar del Plata

Mar del Plata is the most important summer party and beach resort in Argentina - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

From the Eternal Ice to a beach vacation in Argentina, this is also possible! Best in Mar del Plata, the most popular summer party and bathing resort of the country. At the 20km long Atlantic sandy beach the temperatures are between 15 and 25°C from December to March.

If the sea is too cool at around 20°C, you can head for the Aquasol water park with the largest wave pools in South America - or supplement your vacation budget in Argentina's largest casino.

Article: Mar del Plata
Photo gallery: Mar del Plata

Valdes Peninsula

One of the most beautiful and unspoiled natural paradises in the world, the Valdes Peninsula in Patagonia, Argentina - © pablo h. caridad / Fotolia
© pablo h. caridad / Fotolia

The Valdes Peninsula has been protected for almost 100 years and is a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site. With its salt lakes, the almost bare peninsula is a natural paradise for millions of animals, many of which are endangered species. Above all, sea lions, penguins, walruses, elephant seals and fur seals cavort in the surf, in which the fountain of a rare southern kappa or orca appears now and then.

Article: Valdes Peninsula
Photo gallery: Valdes Peninsula

Quebrada de Humahuaca

The 150 km long mountain gorge Quebrada de Humahuaca is located in the province of Jujuy in the northwest of Argentina - © NICOLAS LARENTO / Fotolia
© NICOLAS LARENTO / Fotolia

The Quebrada de Humahuaca is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site, but not because of its wildlife. The 150km long gorge in northwestern Argentina was already inhabited 10,000 years ago and impresses with its steep walls that shimmer in all colors of the rainbow. The highlight is at the "mountain of 7 colors", which actually has yellow, turquoise, white, red, blue, orange and purple shades.

Advertisement

Article: Quebrada de Humahuaca


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Argentinien

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Argentinien reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Argentinien! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Argentinien auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Argentinien erstreckt sich über den südamerikanischen Kontinent bis zum Kap Horn, Startpunkt so mancher Antarktis-Expedition. Das faszinierende Land der Gegensätze beherbergt den höchsten und tiefsten Punkt Südamerikas, nennt vor Kultur und Geschichte strotzende Metropolen sein eigen und lässt auf seinen weitläufigen Ebenen, den Pampas, Zeit und Zivilisation vergessen.

Iguaçu Wasserfälle

Die Iguaçu Wasserfälle an der Grenze zwischen Brasilien und Argentinien sind mit 2.700 Metern die breitesten der Welt - © Eduardo Rivero / Fotolia
© Eduardo Rivero / Fotolia

Die Iguaçu Wasserfälle machen ihrem Namen „Großes Wasser“ alle Ehre. Sie bilden mit 3 Kilometern Ausdehnung den breitesten Wasserfall der Welt. Mehr als 250 einzelne Wasserfälle stürzen an der Grenze zu Brasilien bis zu 700 Meter in die Tiefe. Der Nationalpark rund um die tosenden Wassermassen wurde von der UNESCO zum Weltnaturerbe erklärt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Ruta de los Siete Lagos (7-Seen-Route)

Die Ruta de Los Siete Lagos im Süden von Argentinien verbindet einige der schönsten Natur-Sehenswürdigkeiten Argentiniens miteinander - © kovgabor / Shutterstock
© kovgabor / Shutterstock

Naturliebhaber kommen an Argentiniens berühmter 7-Seen-Route nicht vorbei! Die herrliche Panoramastraße im Süden des Landes verbindet einige der schönsten Plätze Argentiniens miteinander. Abgesehen von stillen Seen sind hier auch verschneite Vulkane, unberührte Urwälder und die atemberaubenden Nationalparks Lanín und Nahuel Huapi. In letzterem befindet sich das beliebte Urlaubsziel San Carlos de Bariloche. Der schmucke Ferienort wird dank Bergen, Seen und Schokolade „Die Schweiz Argentiniens“ genannt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Rosario

Das gewaltige Fahnendenkmal Monumento a la Bandera am Ufer des Paraná zählt zu den bekanntesten und meistbesuchen Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rosario, Argentinien - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

Rosario ist nach der Hauptstadt Buenos Aires und Cordoba die drittgrößte Stadt Argentiniens und gilt noch als echter Geheimtipp. Lange nicht so bekannt wie ihre beiden großen Schwestern hat die Metropole an den idyllischen Ufern des Rio Paraná in puncto Sehenswürdigkeiten, Kultur und Nachtleben ebenso einiges zu bieten.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Kolonialstadt Salta

Der vierstöckige Glockenturm der Basilika San Francisco in Salta, Argentinien, ist der höchste in ganz Südamerika - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

Auch Salta ringt mit im Kampf um den Titel der schönsten Stadt Argentiniens. Die pastellfarbene Kolonialstadt im Nordwesten des Landes trägt dank ihrer pittoresken Altstadt den Beinamen „La Linda“, „die Schöne“, und wird aufgrund des milden Klimas auch „Stadt des ewigen Frühlings“ genannt. Braucht es noch mehr Gründe, um Salta zu besuchen? Einer noch: Hier startet auch der Tren a las Nubes. Der „Zug in die Wolken“ fährt auf gigantische 4188 Meter Seehöhe hinauf.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Missionarsstation San Ignacio Míní

Ruinen der Missionarsstation San Ignacio Míní aus der Zeit der spanischen Kolonialherrschaft, Argentinien - © diegorayaces / Shutterstock
© diegorayaces / Shutterstock

Nicht umsonst hat die Provinz Misiones im Nordosten Argentiniens ihren Namen. Hier standen zu Zeiten der spanischen Kolonisation 30 Missionarsstationen, die die „Wilden“ Südamerikas zum christlichen Glauben bekehren sollten. San Ignacio Míní ist die bis heute am besten erhaltene und zählt zum UNESCO Welterbe. Ihre leuchtend roten Mauern mitten im Dschungel zeugen bis heute von der meisterhaften Baukunst der Jesuiten.

Zum Artikel …

Naturpark Ischigualasto und Nationalpark Talampaya

Die Gesteinsformation "Das U-Boot" im Ischigualasto-Nationalpark in Argentien - © Marc Venema / Shutterstock
© Marc Venema / Shutterstock

Die wüstenhaften Regionen Ischigualasto und Talampaya wurden von der UNESCO zum Weltnaturerbe ernannt und stellen ein Paradies für Paläontologen und Geologen dar. Manche der bizarr geformten Gesteinsschichten sind unglaubliche 200 Millionen Jahre alt und gaben bereits einige der weltweit bedeutendsten fossilen Funde preis. Fossile Flora, Fußspuren und Knochen noch älter als die Dinosaurier zählen zu den nicht mehr länger verborgenen Highlights.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Nationalpark Los Glaciares

Die Laguna de Los Tres vor dem spektakulären Mount Fitz Roy im Los Glaciares Nationalpark in Argentinien - © Pichugin Dmitry / Shutterstock
© Pichugin Dmitry / Shutterstock

Geologische Wunder gibt es auch im Nationalpark Los Glaciares zu entdecken, allerdings zum Großteil unter einer meterdicken Eisschicht. Die mächtigen Gletscher im Süden Argentiniens gehören zum patagonischen Eisfeld, welches außerhalb Grönlands und der Antarktis das größte Eisfeld der Welt ist. Die Gipfel, Seen und knapp 50 Gletscher locken mit wilder Schönheit und spektakulären Kletterrouten in den zweitgrößten und meistbesuchten Nationalpark Argentiniens.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Mar del Plata

Mar del Plata ist der bedeutendste Sommerparty- und Badeort Argentiniens  - © Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock
© Anibal Trejo / Shutterstock

Vom Ewigen Eis zum Bade-Urlaub in Argentinien, auch das ist möglich! Am besten in Mar del Plata, dem beliebtesten Sommerparty- und Badeort des Landes. Am 20km langen Atlantik-Sandstrand liegen die Temperaturen von Dezember bis März zwischen 15 und 25°C. Wem das Meer mit rund 20°C zu kühl ist, kann in den Aquasol Wasserpark mit dem größten Wellenpools Südamerikas ausweichen – oder im größten Casino Argentiniens sein Urlaubsbudget aufbessern.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Halbinsel Valdes

Eines der schönsten und unberührtesten Naturparadiese der Welt, die Halbinsel Valdes in Patagonien, Argentinien - © pablo h. caridad / Fotolia
© pablo h. caridad / Fotolia

Die Halbinsel Valdes steht seit fast 100 Jahren unter Naturschutz und zählt zum UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe. Die fast kahle Halbinsel ist mit ihren Salzseen ein Naturparadies für Millionen Tiere, von denen viele zu den bedrohten Arten gehören. Vor allem Seelöwen, Pinguine, Walrosse, Seeelefanten und Seebären tummeln sich in der Brandung, in der hin und wieder die Fontäne eines seltenen Südkapers oder Orcas auftaucht.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Quebrada de Humahuaca

Die 150 km lange Gebirgsschlucht Quebrada de Humahuaca liegt in der Provinz Jujuy im Nordwesten von Argentinien  - © NICOLAS LARENTO / Fotolia
© NICOLAS LARENTO / Fotolia

Auch die Quebrada de Humahuaca zählt zum UNESCO Welterbe, allerdings nicht aufgrund ihrer Tierwelt. Die 150km lange Schlucht im Nordwesten Argentiniens war bereits vor 10.000 Jahren besiedelt und beeindruckt durch ihre steilen Wände, die in allen Farben des Regenbogens schimmern. Der Höhepunkt befindet sich am „Berg der 7 Farben“, der tatsächlich gelbe, türkise, weiße, rote, blaue, orange und lila Schattierungen aufweist.

Zum Artikel …