Punda district in Willemstad, Curaçao

In the Punda district of Willemstad, not only are the historic buildings and colourful facades of the houses a crowd puller, Punda is also the first shopping address in Willemstad.

The Punda ("point") district southeast of the Sint-Annabaai is the oldest part of Curaçao's capital Willemstad and was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Punda district in Willemstad

Historical Punda

In Punda, the Dutch began to build their town in 1634 after the conquest of Curacao from the Spanish. Their first official act was to build a fort to protect the entrance to the harbour - the Fort Amsterdam was in the process of being built. Today, the historic fortress houses the governor's residence, as well as government and administrative buildings, and is the ideal starting point for a sightseeing tour of Punda.

Fort Amsterdam is the oldest, largest and most important fort of Curaçao and the most powerful fortress of the ABC islands - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Leaving Fort Amsterdam through the west entrance leads directly to Plaza Piar, which is adorned with a statue of the Venezuelan freedom fighter Manuel Corel Piar.

Not to be overlooked is the tower-like Val Plaza Hotel, which is already on the grounds of the Waterforts lies. This historic fortification wall was reinforced after the British conquest and today houses cosy restaurants and nice boutiques right by the sea in the so-called "Waterfort Arches".

Wilhemina-Plein

After a few metres along the Waterfort, you reach the Wilhelmina-Plein, a park-like green square, the largest in Punda. Directly on Wilhelmina-Plein is the Stadhuis, Willemstad's town hall. The Parliament of Curaçao meets in this neoclassical building from 1859 with its opulent steps and the golden coat of arms of the House of Orange.

The end of the Wilhelmina-Plein is a smart yellow church. The so-called "Emanu-El" is the seat of a reform group of Sephardic Jews that split off from the Mikvé congregation ("congregation of hope") in 1864.

The neat "Emanu-El" on Wilhelmina-Plein in Willemstad is the headquarters of a Reform group of Sephardic Jews, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Speaking of the Mikvé community: Their synagogue is located in Hanchi di Snoa at the northern end of the Gomezplein pedestrian zone. The foundation stone of the Mikve Israel-Emanuel synagogue was laid in 1730, making it the oldest synagogue in the Western Hemisphere. Its picturesque courtyard can be entered through a heavy wooden portal. For a fee, the interior of the synagogue, with its elegant mahogany pews and mighty chandeliers, can be visited.

Shopping in Punda

Via Columbusstraat, behind the synagogue, you reach the Wilhelmina drawbridge, which leads to the smart residential buildings of the Scharloo district. In front of it is the central market hall of Punda, where you can buy just about anything from fish, fruit and vegetables to cosmetics, woodoo items, souvenirs and clothes.

Advertisement

If you want to buy fruit and vegetables, however, you are better off at the "Floating Market". This is just a few metres along the banks of the Waaigat towards Sint Annabaai. Numerous boats have positioned themselves along the shore of the harbour basin and set up their colourful stalls on the street with an incredible selection of healthy delicacies.

Incredible selection of fresh fruits and vegetables at the Floating Market in the Punda district of Willemstad, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

The way back towards Fort Amsterdam is not recommended along the Sint Annabaai, but one block earlier via the Herenstraat. This pedestrian zone is lined with numerous magnificent houses, which often still bear the year of their construction (often in the Jewish calendar) on their façades. At the end of Herenstraat you come to Breedestraat.

On the right hand side rises probably the most famous and beautiful building in all of Willemstad. The ochre-yellow and splendidly decorated Penha building is one of the most impressive examples of Dutch colonial architecture. Today it houses the exquisite Penha perfumery, which is also worth a visit.

The ornate Penha building in the Punda district is one of the most impressive examples of Dutch colonial architecture, Willemstad, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

On one side, the famous swinging Queen Emma Bridge leads over the Sint Annabaai into the Otrabanda district, while on the other side it is worth taking a walk along Breedestraat, which is also lined with buildings worth seeing and leads up to Wilhelmina-Plein.

Further links:

Official website of the Punda district in Willemstad (English)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Stadtteil Punda in Willemstad, Curaçao

Das Stadtviertel Punda ist der älteste Teil von Curaçaos Hauptstadt Willemstad und wurde im Jahr 1997 von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Im Stadtviertel Punda von Willemstad sind nicht nur die historischen Bauten und bunten Fassaden der Häuser ein Publikumsmagnet, Punda ist auch die erste Shopping-Adresse in Willemstad.

Das Stadtviertel Punda („Punkt“) südöstlich von der Sint-Annabaai ist der älteste Teil von Curaçaos Hauptstadt Willemstad und wurde im Jahr 1997 von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt.

BILDER: Stadtteil Punda in Willemstad

Historisches Punda

In Punda begannen die Holländer im 1634 nach der Eroberung Curacaos von den Spaniern mit der Errichtung ihrer Stadt. Ihre erste Amtshandlung war der Bau einer Festung zum Schutz der Hafeneinfahrt – das Fort Amsterdam war am Entstehen. Die historische Festung beherbergt heute den Sitz des Gouverneurs, sowie Regierungs- und Verwaltungsgebäude und ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für eine Sightseeing-Tour durch Punda.

Fort Amsterdam ist das älteste, größte und bedeutendste Fort von Curaçao und die mächtigste Festung der ABC-Inseln - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Wer das Fort Amsterdam durch den Westeingang verlässt, gelangt direkt auf den Plaza Piar, den eine Statue des venezolanischen Freiheitskämpfers Manuel Corel Piar ziert.

Nicht zu übersehen ist das turmartige Val Plaza-Hotel, welches bereits auf dem Gelände des Waterforts liegt. Diese historische Befestigungsmauer wurde nach der Eroberung durch die Briten verstärkt und beherbergt heute in den so genannten „Waterfort Arches“ gemütliche Restaurants und nette Boutiquen direkt am Meer.

Wilhemina-Plein

Am Waterfort entlang gelangt man nach wenigen Metern auf den Wilhelmina-Plein, ein parkähnlich begrünter Platz, der größte von Punda. Direkt am Wilhelmina-Plein thront das Stadhuis, das Rathaus von Willemstad. In diesem klassizistischen Gebäude aus dem Jahr 1859 mit den opulenten Freitreppen und dem goldenen Wappen des Hauses Oranien tagt das Parlament von Curaçao.

Den Abschluss des Wilhelmina-Pleins bildet eine schmucke gelbe Kirche. Die so genannte „Emanu-El“ ist der Sitz einer Reformgruppe sephardischer Juden, die sich im Jahr 1864 von der Mikvé-Gemeinde („Gemeinde der Hoffnung“) abgespalten hat.

Die schmucke „Emanu-El“ am Wilhelmina-Plein in Willemstad ist der Sitz einer Reformgruppe sephardischer Juden, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Apropos Mikvé-Gemeinde: Ihre Synagoge befindet sich in der Hanchi di Snoa am nördlichen Ende der Fußgängerzone Gomezplein. Die Grundsteinlegung der Synagoge Mikve Israel-Emanuel erfolgte im Jahr 1730, sie ist damit die älteste Synagoge der westlichen Hemisphäre. Ihr malerischer Innenhof kann durch ein schweres Holzportal betreten werden. Gegen Gebühr kann das Innere der Synagoge mit ihren eleganten Mahagoniholz-Bänken und den mächtigen Lustern besichtigt werden.

Shoppen in Punda

Über die Columbusstraat gelangt man hinter der Synagoge zur Wilhelmina-Zugbrücke, die zu den schmucken Wohnhäusern des Stadtteils Scharloo führt. Davor liegt die zentrale Markthalle von Punda, in der man von Fisch, Obst und Gemüse über Kosmetika und Woodoo-Artikel bis zu Souvenirs und Kleidung so ziemlich alles kaufen kann.

Wer Obst und Gemüse erstehen möchte, ist allerdings am „Floating Market“ besser aufgehoben. Dieser liegt nur wenige Meter am Ufer des Waaigat entlang in Richtung Sint Annabaai. Zahlreiche Schiffe haben sich hier am Ufer des Hafenbeckens entlang postiert und auf der Straße ihre farbenfrohen Stände mit unglaublicher Auswahl an gesunden Köstlichkeiten aufgebaut.

Unglaubliche Auswahl an frischem Obst und Gemüse am Floating Market im Stadtteil Punda in Willemstad, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Der Weg zurück Richtung Fort Amsterdam empfiehlt sich nicht entlang der Sint Annabaai, sondern einen Häuserblock zuvor über die Herenstraat. Diese Fußgängerzone wird von zahlreichen prächtigen Häusern gesäumt, die oft noch die Jahreszahl ihrer Erbauung (oftmals in jüdischer Zeitrechnung) auf den Fassaden tragen. Am Ende der Herenstraat stößt man auf die Breedestraat.

Rechter Hand erhebt sich das wohl berühmteste und schönste Gebäude von ganz Willemstad. Das ockergelbe und prunkvoll verzierte Penha-Gebäude zählt zu den eindrucksvollsten Beispielen niederländischer Kolonialarchitektur. Es beherbergt heute die exquisite Parfümerie Penha, die ebenfalls einen Besuch wert ist.

Das prunkvoll verzierte Penha-Gebäude im Stadtteil Punda zählt zu den eindrucksvollsten Beispielen niederländischer Kolonialarchitektur, Willemstad, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Auf der einen Seite führt die berühmte schwenkbare Queen-Emma-Bridge über die Sint Annabaai in den Stadtteil Otrabanda, auf der anderen Seite lohnt sich ein Spaziergang über die Breedestraat, die ebenfalls von sehenswerten Gebäuden gesäumt wird und bis zum Wilhelmina-Plein führt.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website vom Stadtteil Punda in Willemstad (englisch)