Melrose Abbey in Scotland, Great Britain

The impressive 12th century ruins of the famous Melrose Abbey in Scotland are among Britain's most important examples of medieval monastic architecture.

In 1136, the then Scottish King David Lyon gave the order to build Scotland's first Cistercian monastery in Melrose. Ten years later, the east wing of Melrose Abbey was completed, and the rest of the monastery's additions followed in the typical Gothic cross shape over the next half century. Today, its ruins are among our top 10 sights of Britain and our top 10 monasteries in the world.

Advertisement

Melrose Abbey was destroyed several times by English troops, but was always rebuilt. It was not until after the damage in 1544 that the monastery was fully restored and soon all the monks had left. Around 1590 Dan Jo Watson, the last monk of Melrose Abbey, died. Until a new church was built in 1810, for exactly 200 years, Melrose Abbey was the parish church of Melrose.

Meaning of Melrose Abbey

Today, the majestic Melrose Abbey is probably one of the most famous ruins in Scotland, Great Britain - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

Melrose Abbbey was for a time one of the richest monasteries in Scotland, thanks to numerous endowments and the flourishing trade in wool and animal skins with northern Europe. The monastery was also famous for its agricultural success; it is said that under Abbot Waltheof the monastery's granaries fed 4,000 people during the great famine of 1148. A fragment of the tomb of the canonised abbot can still be seen today.

Melrose Abbey has also been the burial place of several Scottish kings, nobles and other notables, including Alexander II of Scotland and the fabled heart of Robert the Bruce, which was supposed to have been buried in the Holy Land. A stone coffin in the south chancel is said to contain the philosopher Michael Scott, who was said to have magical powers. Some suspect that there are magical writings in his grave...

Visit to Melrose Abbey

The imposing ruins of Melrose Abbey in Scotland, founded in 1136, date from the 15th century, Great Britain - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flew / franks-travelbox

Today, the majestic Melrose Abbey is probably one of the most famous ruins in Scotland and still impresses with its imposing stone wall remains, which give an idea of the former size of the monastery. The entire site can be explored with an audio guide or on a guided tour.

Artful round arches, turrets and windows have survived the centuries and still show the fantastic façade decorations of yesteryear. Some fragments date back to the penultimate reconstruction in 1385.

Among the numerous plant tendrils, music-making angels and figures of saints, the present motto of the city of Melrose can also be found: "Be halde to ye hende" - "Think of your end". Less monastic motifs can also be discovered in the filigree figures, including dragons, demons, goblins and the famous Melrose pig playing the bagpipes.

Finds from the monastery grounds that recreate everyday life at Melrose Abbey are on display, from cooking pots to bedpans in the 16th century Commendator's House.

Advertisement

Further links:

Opening hours and prices of Melrose Abbey in Scotland

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Melrose Abbey in Schottland, Großbritannien

Die eindrucksvollen Ruinen des Melrose Abbey in Schottland zählen zu Großbritanniens bedeutendsten Beispielen mittelalterlicher Klosterarchitektur - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Die eindrucksvollen Ruinen des bekannten Melrose Abbey in Schottland aus dem 12. Jahrhundert zählen zu Großbritanniens bedeutendsten Beispielen mittelalterlicher Klosterarchitektur.

Im Jahr 1136 gab der damalige schottische König David Lyon den Befehl, in Melrose das erste Zisterzienser-Kloster Schottlands zu errichten. Zehn Jahr später war der Ostflügel des Melrose Abbey fertiggestellt, die übrigen Anbauten des Klosters folgten in der für die Gotik typischen Form eines Kreuzes im nächsten halben Jahrhundert.

Das Melrose Abbey wurde von englischen Truppen mehrmals zerstört, jedoch immer wieder aufgebaut. Erst nach dem Schaden im Jahr 1544 wurde das Kloster nicht mehr vollständig restauriert und bald waren auch alle Mönche ausgezogen. Um 1590 verstarb Dan Jo Watson, der letzte Mönch von Melrose Abbey. Bis 1810 eine neue Kirche errichtet wurde, genau 200 Jahre lang, war Melrose Abbey die Pfarrkirche von Melrose.

Das majestätische Melrose Abbey zählt heute wohl zu den berühmtesten Ruinen Schottlands, Großbritannien - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Bedeutung von Melrose Abbey

Melrose Abbbey zählte dank zahlreicher Stiftungen und dem florierenden Handel von Wolle und Tierhäuten mit Nordeuropa eine Zeit lang zu den reichsten Klöstern Schottlands. Auch für seinen landwirtschaftlichen Erfolg war das Kloster berühmt, angeblich ernährten die Kornkammern des Klosters unter Abt Waltheof 4.000 Menschen während der großen Hungersnot im Jahr 1148. Ein Fragment der Grabstätte des heilig gesprochenen Abtes ist heute noch zu sehen.

In Melrose Abbey wurden außerdem einige schottische Könige, Adelige und andere bedeutende Persönlichkeiten begraben, darunter auch Alexander II von Schottland und das sagenumwobene Herz von Robert the Bruce, welches eigentlich im Heiligen Land bestattet werden hätte sollen. In einem steinernen Sarg im südliche Altarraum soll angeblich der Philosoph Michael Scott bestattet worden sein, dem Zauberkräfte nachgesagt wurden. Manche vermuten magische Schriften in seinem Grab…

Besuch des Melrose Abbey

Die imposanten Ruinen des 1136 gegründeten Melrose Abbey in Schottland stammen aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, Großbritannien - © flog / franks-travelbox
© flog / franks-travelbox

Heute zählt das majestätische Melrose Abbey wohl zu den berühmtesten Ruinen Schottlands und beeindruckt noch immer durch seine imposanten steinernen Mauerreste, die die einstige Größe des Klosters erahnen lassen. Das gesamte Areal kann mit einem Audio-Guide oder im Zuge einer Führung erkundet werden.

Kunstvolle Rundbögen, Türmchen und Fenster haben die Jahrhunderte überdauert und zeigen noch die fantastischen Fassadenverzierungen von damals. Einige Fragmente gehen bis auf den vorletzten Wiederaufbau im Jahr 1385 zurück. Zwischen den zahlreichen Pflanzenranken, musizierenden Engeln und Heiligenfiguren ist auch das heutige Motto der Stadt Melrose zu finden: „Be halde to ye hende” – „Denke an dein Ende”. Auch weniger klösterliche Motive sind in den filigranen Figuren zu entdecken, darunter Drachen, Dämonen, Kobolde und das berühmte Melrose-Schwein, das Dudelsack spielt.

Fundstücke vom Klosterareal, die den Alltag im Melrose Abbey nachvollziehen lassen, sind vom Kochtopf bis zur Bettpfanne im Commendator’s House aus dem 16. Jahrhundert ausgestellt.

Weiterführende Links:

Öffnungszeiten und Preise des Melrose Abbey in Schottland (englisch)