The Top 10 Sights of Nice, France

In enchanting Nice, where the Russian tsar's family and British winter refugees met as early as the 18th century, it is not only the rich and beautiful who enjoy Mediterranean flair, French cuisine and high-end shopping today.

Vieux Nice, the "old Nice", is one of the most important sights of Nice, along with the spectacular Nôtre Dame and the diverse museum landscape. The gorgeous city centre of Nice is one of our top 10 sights of France.

Advertisement

Winding alleys, pastel-coloured houses, high-end shops and boutiques and spacious squares with cosy cafés and restaurants make a stroll through Nice's old town a very special discovery tour.

Since most of the houses are five storeys high, there is always enough shade, so that even in midsummer it is not oppressively hot in the charming alleyways.

Tip: A city map is hardly necessary in Nice, you will automatically pass the most important sights of Nice. Just let yourself drift and look up from time to time so as not to miss the wonderful pastel colours of the old town houses.

Colline du Château and Port of Nice

Before venturing into the maze of alleys in the old town, don't miss a visit to the picturesque port of Nice, France - © Andre Nantel / Shutterstock
© Andre Nantel / Shutterstock

It is easy to get lost among the high façades of Nice's old town, so a visit to the "Colline du Château" is recommended beforehand. The magnificent view provides a first overview of Vieux Nice. Before you venture into the maze of alleys in the old town, don't miss a visit to the picturesque port of Nice.

Article: Colline du Château in Nice
Photo gallery: Colline du Château in Nice

Place Garibaldi

A statue of Guiseppe Garibaldi is enthroned at Place Garibaldi in Nice in front of the imposing façade of the Saint-Sépulcre Chapel, France - © muharremz / Shutterstock
© muharremz / Shutterstock

Sightseeing in Nice - here we go! Place Garibaldi in the north of the old town is not only one of the most beautiful squares in Nice, but also the ideal starting point for discovering Vieux Nice.

The square was laid out at the end of the 18th century and at that time marked the entrance to the city from the road to Turin. In 1870 it was named after the Italian guerrilla fighter Guiseppe Garibaldi, who was born in Nice. His statue adorns the centre of the square. Behind it, the façade of the Saint-Sépulcre Chapel impresses with a neoclassical-baroque style mix.

MAMAC and Théâtre National de Nice

On the Promenade des Arts, the National Theatre of Nice, which opened in December 1989, France - © Lucian Milasan / Shutterstock
© Lucian Milasan / Shutterstock

Right next to Place Garibaldi on the Promenade des Arts is the Musée d'Art Moderne et d'Art Contemporain (MAMAC), Nice's museum of modern and contemporary art. It is one of our top 10 museums in Nice.

Advertisement

Opened in June 1990, the museum presents art from the 1960s to the present day with around 400 works. Behind the smart Carrera marble façade are works by Yves Klein, Christo, Niki de Saint Phalle, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Kenneth Noland and Frank Stella.

On the other side of the Promenade des Arts is the National Theatre of Nice, which was opened in December 1989 and has two auditoriums, one for 900 and the other for 300 spectators.

Place Rosetti and Cathédral Sainte-Réparate

The ornate Cathédral Sainte-Réparate on Place Rosetti in Nice, France, was consecrated in 1699 and the distinctive freestanding bell tower added in 1750 - © Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock
© Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock

Almost unexpectedly, the narrow streets suddenly widen out to Place Rosetti, which is a tourist attraction mainly because of the pretty Cathédral Sainte-Réparate. The cathedral was consecrated in 1699 after 49 years of construction and the striking, free-standing bell tower was added in 1750.

Wall frescoes, stained glass windows and ten pretty chapels can be seen inside. In 1906, the cathedral was declared a "monument historique". Numerous cafés, some of which have placed their tables right next to the cathedral, invite you to take a break from sightseeing and observe the lively activity in the square.

Tip: In Nice, be sure to try a traditional "socca". These flatbreads, up to one metre in diameter, are reminiscent of Italian pizzas, but are made of chickpea flour and have developed from a poor man's food into a regional speciality.

Place Masséna

Place Masséna with the picturesque Fontaine du Soleil in the middle is probably the most beautiful square in the old town of Nice, France - © anshar / Shutterstock
© anshar / Shutterstock

Via Rue de la Préfecture, the path leads from Place Rosetti via Place du Palais de Justice to the Promenade du Paillon and on to the magnificent Place Masséna, probably the most beautiful square in Nice.

Lined with red Italian-style buildings and planted with palm and pine trees, the square is a popular meeting place for locals and visitors alike. The picturesque "Fontaine du Soleil" is enthroned in the centre, its 7m high statue of Apollo surrounded by Mars, Venus, Mercury and Saturn from Roman mythology.

Since the connection to the tramway banished traffic, Place Masséna has regained its typical Mediterranean flair. In summer, open-air concerts, traditional events and festivals take place here.

Avenue Jean Médecin - Shopping 7 days a week

Avenue Jean Médecin, Nice's most famous shopping street, begins at Place Masséna. In addition to large shopping centres and fashion chains such as Galeries Lafayette, H&M or Zara, you can also find unusual boutiques here, such as the African Akwaba.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodation in Nice

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

In the summer season, the shops are also open on Sundays, so there's nothing to stop you from shopping for souvenirs or mementos for yourself.

Basilica Nôtre Dame de Nice

The Notre Dame in the centre of Nice, France, looks like a centuries-old basilica, but actually dates from the 19th century - © Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock
© Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock

When you're on Avenue Jean-Médecin, head straight for the impressive Basilica of Nôtre Dame de Nice. It looks like a centuries-old church, but was actually built in the 19th century and is one of our top 10 most beautiful churches in France.

The mighty place of worship is just as impressive as its famous counterpart, the Nôtre Dame in Paris. The 30-metre-high towers, the magnificent window rosette and the majestic interior of the Basilica of Nice are also impressive.

Article: Basilica Nôtre Dame de Nice

Saint Nicolas Cathedral

The Russian Orthodox Cathedral of Saint Nicolas is one of the most visited and most photographed buildings in Nice, France - © Yury24 / Shutterstock
© Yury24 / Shutterstock

A little further west from the Basilica Nôtre Dame, on Avenue Nicolas II, is the Cathedral of Saint Nicolas. It is one of Nice's most visited and most photographed buildings and is also one of our 10 most beautiful churches in France.

It is the largest Russian Orthodox church outside Russia and can be seen from afar with its colourful onion domes. Lovely details on the façade and in the interior make the Saint-Nicolas Cathedral unusually different and interesting.

Article: Saint-Nicolas Cathedral in Nice
Photo gallery: Saint-Nicolas Cathedral in Nice

Advertisement

Promenade des Anglais and Nice Beach

The "Promenade of the English" in the old town of Nice owes its name to the English visitors of the 18th century, France - © Alexander Tihonov / Shutterstock
© Alexander Tihonov / Shutterstock

Back in the old town, the route leads from Place Masséna along Avenue du Verdon through the park with the Théâtre de Verdure to the Promenade des Anglais.

The magnificent waterfront promenade is one of Nice's unofficial landmarks. Lined with inviting eateries and luxurious hotels, the promenade runs along Nice's 7km sandy beach together with the Quai des Ètats-Unis all the way to Castle Hill.

The "Promenade of the English" owes its name to the English visitors. As early as the 18th century, they appreciated this dreamlike piece of the Côte d'Azur for its constant Mediterranean climate.

The English were also the ones who pushed for the construction of the shore road back then. Today, people still meet here under palm trees to enjoy the fantastic panorama and relax.

Tourists gather on the Promenade des Anglais in Nice to enjoy the panorama and unwind, France - © FloridaStock / Shutterstock
© FloridaStock / Shutterstock

The main sights on the Promenade des Anglais include the Nice Opera House, the Marché aux Fleurs (flower market), the Parc Phoenix with the Museum of Asian Art and the Hotel Negresco.

Tip: The harbour and the Promenade des Anglais have the highest density of eating places, from expensive gourmet restaurants to grilled sardines from a stall. If you are looking for the nightlife of Nice, this is also the place to be.

Nice Opera

The Nice Opera has already hosted great personalities such as King Victor Emmanuel II, Napoleon Bonaparte or Russia's Tsar Alexander II, France - © Veniamin Kraskov / Shutterstock
© Veniamin Kraskov / Shutterstock

Home to the Ballet Nice Méditerrannée and the Nice Philharmonic Orchestra, the Nice Opera House offers not only operas but also ballet performances and classical concerts.

Great personalities such as King Victor Emmanuel II, Napoleon Bonaparte, Russia's Tsar Alexander II and the Bavarian Duke Ludwig II have already been guests here. When Napoleon visited the opera, the orchestra was conducted by Johann Strauss himself.

Advertisement

The current appearance of the opera house dates from 1885, when the opera house had to be almost completely rebuilt after a major fire.

Parc Pheonix and Museum of Asian Art

The botanical garden Parc Phoenix in Nice invites with its diverse flora and fauna to relaxed moments of enjoyment in the midst of tropical nature, France - © bellena / Shutterstock
© bellena / Shutterstock

The Parc Phoenix of Nice houses over 2000 different plant species on an area of around 7 hectares and presents some of them in their natural environment. Since 1998, the botanical theme park has also housed the Museum of Asian Art, whose impressive building was designed by the Japanese architect Kenzō Tange.

Article: Parc Phoenix in Nice

Shopping in Nice's Old Town

The lovely old town between the castle hill, the "Colline du Château", and the river Le Paillon is often described as the largest open-air shopping area on the Côte d'Azur. Stalls selling handmade soaps, fine textiles or artistic paintings by regional artists can be found on every corner, and local traders offer fresh fruit and vegetables, exotic spices, delicious pasta and colourful flowers at various markets.

PICTURES: The top 10 sights in the old town of Nice

Photo gallery: The top 10 sights in the old town of Nice

Further links:

Official website of the MAMAC
Official website of the Théâtre National de Nice
Official website of the Nice Opera
Official website of the Musée des Arts Asiatiques

Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Nizza, Frankreich

Im bezaubernden Nizza, wo sich schon im 18. Jahrhundert die russische Zarenfamilie und britische Winterflüchtlinge trafen, genießen heute nicht nur die Schönen und Reichen mediterranes Flair, französische Küche und Shopping auf hohem Niveau.

Vieux Nice, das „alte Nizza“, zählt neben der spektakulären Nôtre Dame und der vielfältigen Museenlandschaft zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten von Nizza. Das traumhafte Stadtzentrum von Nizza zählt zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Frankreich.

Anzeige

Verwinkelte Gassen, pastellfarbene Wohnhäuser, hochwertige Shops und Boutiquen und großzügige Plätze mit gemütlichen Cafés und Restaurants machen einen Spaziergang durch Nizzas Altstadt zu einer Entdeckungstour der besonderen Art.

Da die Häuser zum größten Teil fünfstöckig sind, ist immer ausreichend Schatten vorhanden, sodass es auch im Hochsommer in den charmanten Gässchen nicht drückend heiß wird.

Tipp: Ein Stadtplan ist in Nizza kaum nötig, an den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten von Nizza kommt man automatisch vorbei. Lasst euch einfach treiben und hebt hin und wieder den Blick, um die herrlichen Pastellfarben der Altstadt-Häuser nicht zu verpassen.

Colline du Château und Hafen von Nizza

Bevor man in das Gassengewirr der Altstadt vorstößt, sollte man sich auch einen Besuch des malerischen Hafens von Nizza nicht entgehen lassen, Frankreich - © Andre Nantel / Shutterstock
© Andre Nantel / Shutterstock

Zwischen den hohen Fassaden von Nizzas Altstadt verliert man schnell die Orientierung und so empfiehlt sich zuvor ein Besuch des Burgbergs „Colline du Château. Der herrliche Ausblick liefert einen ersten Überblick über Vieux Nice. Bevor ihr euch in das Gassengewirr der Altstadt wagt, solltet ihr euch auch einen Besuch des malerischen Hafens von Nizza nicht entgehen lassen.

Artikel: Colline du Château in Nizza
Fotogalerie: Colline du Château in Nizza

Place Garibaldi

Eine Statue von Guiseppe Garibaldi thront am Place Garibaldi in Nizza vor der imposanten Fassade der Saint-Sépulcre-Kapelle, Frankreich - © muharremz / Shutterstock
© muharremz / Shutterstock

Sightseeing in Nizza – es geht los! Der Place Garibaldi im Norden der Altstadt ist nicht nur einer der schönsten Plätze von Nizza, sondern auch der ideale Ausgangspunkt für die Entdeckung von Vieux Nice.

Der Platz wurde Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts angelegt und markierte damals von der Straße nach Turin den Eingang zur Stadt. 1870 erhielt er den Namen des italienischen Guerilla-Kämpfers Guiseppe Garibaldi, der in Nizza geboren wurde. Seine Statue ziert die Mitte des Platzes. Dahinter imponiert die Fassade der Saint-Sépulcre-Kapelle mit einem neoklassizistisch-barocken Stilmix.

MAMAC und Théâtre National de Nice

An der Promenade des Arts thront das Nationaltheater von Nizza, welches im Dezember 1989 eröffnet wurde, Frankreich - © Lucian Milasan / Shutterstock
© Lucian Milasan / Shutterstock

Gleich neben dem Place Garibaldi an der Promenade des Arts liegt das Musée d’Art Moderne et d’Art Contemporain (MAMAC), das Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst von Nizza. Es gehört zu unseren Top 10 Museen von Nizza.

Anzeige
Anzeige

Empfehlenswerte Unterkünfte in Nizza

HOTELS | PENSIONEN | FERIENWOHNUNGEN | VILLEN | CHALETS

Unterkünfte anzeigen


 

Das im Juni 1990 eröffnete Museum stellt anhand von rund 400 Werken die Kunst der 1960er-Jahre bis heute dar. Hinter der schmucken Fassade aus Carrera-Marmor verbergen sich Arbeiten von Yves Klein, Christo, Niki de Saint Phalle, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Kenneth Noland oder Frank Stella.

Auf der anderen Seite der Promenade des Arts thront das Nationaltheater von Nizza, welches im Dezember 1989 eröffnet wurde und in zwei Sälen Platz für 900 bzw. 300 Zuschauer bietet.

Place Rosetti und Cathédral Sainte-Réparate

Die schmucke Cathédral Sainte-Réparate am Place Rosetti in Nizza, Frankreich, wurde 1699 geweiht und 1750 um den markanten, freistehenden Glockenturm ergänzt - © Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock
© Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock

Nahezu unvermutet weiten sich die engen Gassen plötzlich zum Place Rosetti, der vor allem wegen der schmucken Cathédral Sainte-Réparate einen Anziehungspunkt für Touristen darstellt. Die Kathedrale wurde 1699 nach 49jähriger Bauzeit geweiht und 1750 um den markanten, freistehenden Glockenturm ergänzt.

Wandfresken, Buntglasfenster und zehn hübsche Kapellen sind im Inneren zu besichtigen. 1906 wurde die Kathedrale zu einem „monument historique“ erklärt. Zahlreiche Cafés, die ihre Tische zum Teil direkt neben der Kathedrale platziert haben, laden ein, vom Sightseeing zu pausieren und das lebhafte Treiben auf dem Platz zu beobachten.

Tipp: In Nizza unbedingt eine traditionelle „Socca“ probieren. Diese Fladen mit bis zu einem Meter Durchmesser erinnern an italienische Pizzen, bestehen jedoch aus Kichererbsenmehl und haben sich vom Arme-Leute-Essen zu einer regionalen Spezialität entwickelt.

Place Masséna

Der Place Masséna mit dem malerischen Fontaine du Soleil in der Mitte ist der wohl schönste Platz in der Altstadt von Nizza, Frankreich - © anshar / Shutterstock
© anshar / Shutterstock

Über die Rue de la Préfecture führt der Weg vom Place Rosetti über den Place du Palais de Justice bis zur Promenade du Paillon und weiter zum herrlichen Place Masséna, dem wohl schönsten Platz von Nizza.

Gesäumt von roten Gebäuden im italienischen Stil und mit Palmen und Pinien begrünt ist der Platz ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Einheimische und Besucher. In der Mitte thront der malerische „Fontaine du Soleil“, dessen 7m hohe Apollo-Statue von Mars, Venus, Merkur und Saturn aus der römischen Mythologie umgeben ist.

Seit durch die Anbindung an die Straßenbahn der Verkehr verbannt wurde, hat der Place Masséna sein typisch mediterranes Flair wieder erhalten. Im Sommer finden hier Freiluftkonzerte, traditionelle Veranstaltungen und Festivals statt.

Avenue Jean Médecin – Shopping an 7 Tagen die Woche

Am Place Masséna beginnt mit der Avenue Jean Médecin die berühmteste Einkaufsmeile von Nizza. Neben großen Einkaufshäusern und Modeketten wie den Galeries Lafayette, H&M oder Zara sind hier auch ausgefallen Boutiquen, wie zum Beispiel das afrikanische Akwaba, zu finden.

Anzeige

In der Sommersaison haben die Shops auch am Sonntag geöffnet, dem uneingeschränktem Shopping-Vergnügen von Erinnerungen für sich selbst oder Souvenirs zum Verschenken steht also nichts im Wege.

Basilika Nôtre Dame de Nice

Die Notre Dame im Zentrum von Nizza, Frankreich, wirkt wie eine jahrhundertealte Basilika, stammt tatsächlich jedoch aus dem 19. Jahrhundert - © Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock
© Kiev.Victor / Shutterstock

Wenn ihr auf der Avenue Jean-Médecin unterwegs seid solltet ihr gleich den Weg zur eindrucksvollen Basilika Nôtre Dame de Nice auf euch nehmen. Sie wirkt wie eine jahrhundertalte Kirche, wurde tatsächlich jedoch erst im 19. Jahrhundert erbaut und zählt zu unseren 10 schönsten Kirchen Frankreichs.

Das mächtige Gotteshaus ist ebenso eindrucksvoll wie ihr berühmtes Pendant, die Nôtre Dame in Paris. Auch bei der Basilika von Nizza beeindrucken  die 30 Meter hohen Türme, die prächtige Fensterrosette und der majestätische Innenraum.

Artikel: Basilika Nôtre Dame de Nice

Kathedrale Saint-Nicolas

Die russisch-orthodoxe Kathedrale Saint Nicolas ist eines der meistbesuchten und meistfotografierten Bauwerke von Nizza, Frankreich - © Yury24 / Shutterstock
© Yury24 / Shutterstock

Von der Basilika Nôtre Dame noch etwas weiter westlich in der Avenue Nicolas II liegt die Kathedrale Saint Nicolas. Sie ist eines von Nizzas meistbesuchten und meistfotografierten Bauwerken und zählt ebenfalls zu unseren 10 schönsten Kirchen Frankreichs.

Sie ist die größte russisch-orthodoxe Kirche außerhalb Russlands und schon von weitem durch ihre bunten Zwiebeltürme sichtbar. Liebevolle Details an der Fassade und im Innenraum machen die Kathedrale Saint-Nicolas ungewöhnlich anders und interessant.

Artikel: Kathedrale Saint-Nicolas in Nizza
Fotogalerie: Kathedrale Saint-Nicolas in Nizza

Anzeige

Promenade des Anglais und Strand von Nizza

Die „Promenade der Engländer“ in der Altstadt von Nizza hat ihren Namen den englischen Besuchern des 18. Jahrhunderts zu verdanken, Frankreich - © Alexander Tihonov / Shutterstock
© Alexander Tihonov / Shutterstock

Wieder zurück in der Altstadt führt vom Place Masséna der weitere Weg über die Avenue du Verdon durch den Park mit dem Théâtre de Verdure zur Promenade des Anglais.

Die herrliche Uferstraße ist eines der inoffiziellen Wahrzeichen von Nizza. Gesäumt von einladenden Lokalen und luxuriösen Hotels führt die Promenade gemeinsam mit dem Quai des Ètats-Unis bis zum Burgberg am 7km langen Sandstrand von Nizza entlang.

Die „Promenade der Engländer“ hat ihren Namen den englischen Besuchern zu verdanken. Diese wussten das traumhafte Stückchen der Côte d’Azur bereits im 18. Jahrhundert wegen seines beständigen mediterranen Klimas zu schätzen.

Die Engländer waren es auch, die damals den Bau der Uferstraße forcierten. Heute trifft man sich hier nach wie vor unter Palmen, um das fantastische Panorama zu genießen und die Seele baumeln zu lassen.

Touristen treffen sich an der Promenade des Anglais in Nizza, um das Panorama zu genießen und die Seele baumeln zu lassen, Frankreich - © FloridaStock / Shutterstock
© FloridaStock / Shutterstock

Zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten an der Promenade des Anglais zählen die Oper von Nizza, der Marché aux Fleurs (Blumenmarkt), der Parc Phoenix mit dem Museum für asiatische Kunst und das Hotel Negresco.

Tipp: Am Hafen und an der Promenade des Anglais findet man die höchste Dichte an Essgelegenheiten, vom teuren Feinschmeckerlokal bis zu gegrillten Sardinen vom Stand. Wer das Nachtleben Nizzas sucht, ist hier ebenfalls richtig.

Oper von Nizza

In der Oper von Nizza waren bereits große Persönlichkeiten wie König Victor Emmanuel II., Napoleon Bonaparte oder Russlands Zar Alexander II. zu Gast, Frankreich - © Veniamin Kraskov / Shutterstock
© Veniamin Kraskov / Shutterstock

Als Heimat des Ballet Nice Méditerrannée und der Philharmoniker von Nizza bietet das Opernhaus von Nizza nicht nur Opern, sondern auch Ballettvorstellungen und klassische Konzerte.

Große Persönlichkeiten wie König Victor Emmanuel II., Napoleon Bonaparte, Russlands Zar Alexander II. und der Bayrische Herzog Ludwig II waren hier bereits zu Gast. Als Napoleon die Oper besuchte, wurde das Orchester von Johann Strauß höchstpersönlich dirigiert.

Anzeige

Das heutige Erscheinungsbild des Opernhauses stammt aus dem Jahr 1885, als die Oper nach einem Großbrand fast komplett wieder aufgebaut werden musste.

Parc Pheonix und Museum für asiatische Kunst

Der botanische Garten Parc Phoenix in Nizza lädt mit vielfältiger Flora und Fauna zu entspannten Genussmomenten inmitten tropischer Natur ein, Frankreich - © bellena / Shutterstock
© bellena / Shutterstock

Der Parc Phoenix von Nizza beherbergt auf einer Fläche von rund 7 Hektar über 2000 verschiedene Pflanzenarten und stellt diese teils in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung dar. Seit 1998 beherbergt der botanische Erlebnispark außerdem das Museum für asiatische Kunst, dessen eindrucksvolles Gebäude vom japanischen Architekten Kenzō Tange entworfen wurde.

Artikel: Parc Phoenix in Nizza

Shoppen in Nizzas Altstadt

Die liebliche Altstadt zwischen dem Burgberg, dem „Colline du Château“, und dem Fluss Le Paillon wird oft als größte Freiluftverkaufsfläche an der Côte d’Azur bezeichnet. An jeder Ecke finden sich Stände mit handgemachten Seifen, feinen Textilien oder kunstvollen Gemälden regionaler Künstler und einheimische Händler bieten an diversen Märkten frisches Obst und Gemüse, exotische Gewürze, leckere Pasta und bunte Blumen feil.

BILDER: Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Altstadt von Nizza

Fotogalerie: Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Altstadt von Nizza

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des MAMAC
Offizielle Website des Théâtre National de Nice
Offizielle Website der Oper von Nizza
Offizielle Website des Musée des Arts Asiatiques

Anzeige



Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: