Egmont National Park, New Zealand

Egmont National Park is located in New Zealand on the west coast of the North Island. It is dominated by the beautifully symmetrical Taranaki volcano, whose relatively easy ascent is also the main attraction of the national park.

Egmont National Park is located in New Zealand on the west coast of the North Island and is one of our top 10 places to visit in New Zealand. The absolute ruler of Egmont National Park is Mount Taranaki, a dormant volcano whose summit reaches a height of 2,518 metres.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Mount Egmont National Park

Photo gallery: Egmont National Park

Egmont National Park was established in 1900, making it the second oldest national park in New Zealand after Tongariro National Park. It was actually named after Mount Taranaki, which was named Mount Egmont by the explorer Captain Cook.

Covering an area of 33,500 hectares, Mount Egmont National Park includes Taranaki and two older volcanoes, Kaitake and Pouaki. However, these are both extinct. The boundaries of the national park around the Taranaki appear as if drawn with a compass; from the air, you can see the dark green patch of dense rainforest on the light green farmland in the surrounding area, as well as the snow-white dot of the Taranaki peak in the middle.

Directions to Egmont National Park

In 1881, an exact six-mile (just under 10km) radius around Mount Taranaki was declared a forest reserve, New Zealand - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The National Park can be reached via three roads. Either via the scenic Manaia Road to Dawson Falls at 900 metres, via the Egmont Road to North Egmont or via the Pembroke Road to the Stratford Plateau, which serves as a car park for the Taranaki ski area and offers absolutely breathtaking panoramic views.

Hiking in Egmont National Park

The hiking trails in Egmont National Park in New Zealand can be explored in the course of one-hour walks or mountain tours lasting several days - © patjo / Shutterstock
© patjo / Shutterstock

The most popular activities in the national park are, of course, trekking and hiking. The best place to find out about all the options is in North Egmont at the visitor centre. Most of the hiking trails start there. Depending on your time and mood, you can choose from over 300km of marked trails, from one-hour walks to fern-covered waterfalls to five-day mountain tours.

Hikes through the national park at lower altitudes first lead through lush rainforest, whose growth is favoured by the warm coastal climate and frequent rainfall. Amidst the dense vegetation, gushing waterfalls, idyllic river courses and magnificent viewpoints appear again and again. The further up you go, the more alpine the vegetation becomes.

Fairytale forests in Egmont National Park

A short walk through dense forest leads to Dawson Falls, located at about 900 meters in Mount Egmont National Park, New Zealand - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Goblin Forest in the middle of the mountain flanks is particularly worth seeing with its gnarled and mossy trees. In the midst of this enchanting fairytale forest, you expect to scare up an elf from behind a stone at any moment.

Advertisement

Special features of the flora of Mount Egmont National Park are the absence of beech trees in the rainforest and the Ahukawakawa Swamp, located at over 900 metres. This has a large number of endemic plants that have adapted to the acidic soil and low temperatures.

Tip: Be sure to bring rain gear, Mount Egmont National Park is one of the rainiest regions in New Zealand! Since the warm air that rises above the sea and moves inland is stopped at Taranaki and rains down, there is up to 7 metres of rainfall a year in the village of North Egmont!

Summit assault of the Taranaki

Mount Taranaki in New Zealand is perfect for mountaineering, skiing, trekking, hiking or just as a unique postcard motif - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The biggest tourist attraction in Mount Egmont National Park is of course the majestic mountain itself. To climb Taranaki, you don't need any mountaineering experience, at least in summer between December and April , but you should be prepared for any weather changes and at least have mountain hiking experience.

With average physical fitness, the way to the summit and back can be covered within a day. Mount Egmont National Park is one of the few places on earth where you can combine climbing a two-and-a-half-thousand-metre peak or skiing downhill with a visit to the beach in one day. It is only a 30-minute drive from the national park to the New Zealand coast.

Related links:

Official site of Mount Egmont National Park

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Egmont Nationalpark, Neuseeland

Panorama im Mount Egmont Nationalpark mit dem wunderschön symmetrischen Vulkan Taranaki im Hintergrund, Neuseeland - © Christopher / Fotolia
© Christopher / Fotolia

Der Egmont Nationalpark befindet sich in Neuseeland an der Westküste der Nordinsel. Dominiert wird er vom wunderschön symmetrischen Vulkan Taranaki, dessen relative einfache Besteigung auch die Hauptattraktion des Nationalparks darstellt.

Der Egmont Nationalpark befindet sich in Neuseeland an der Westküste der Nordinsel. Uneingeschränkter Herrscher des Egmont Nationalparks ist der Mount Taranaki, ein schlafender Vulkan, dessen Gipfel eine Höhe von 2.518 Metern erreicht.

BILDER: Mount Egmont Nationalpark

 

Der Egmont Nationalpark wurde im Jahr 1900 gegründet und ist damit nach dem Tongariro-Nationalpark der zweitälteste Nationalpark Neuseelands. Er wurde eigentlich nach dem Mount Taranaki benannt, dem Captain Cook den Namen Mount Egmont gab.

Auf seiner Fläche von gut 33.500 Hektar umfasst der Mount Egmont Nationalpark neben dem Taranaki noch zwei ältere Vulkane, den Kaitake und den Pouaki, die jedoch beide erloschen sind. Die Grenzen des Nationalparks um den Taranaki wirken wie mit dem Zirkel gezogen, von der Luft aus sieht man den dunkelgrünen Fleck des dichten Regenwaldes auf der hellgrünen Farmwiesenfläche in der Umgebung sowie den schneeweißen Punkt des Taranaki-Gipfels in der Mitte.

Im Jahr 1881 wurde ein exakter Umkreis von sechs Meilen (knapp 10km) um den Mount Taranaki zum Waldschutzgebiet erklärt, Neuseeland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Unterwegs im Egmont Nationalpark

Der Nationalpark kann über drei Straßen erreicht werden. Entweder über die landschaftliche äußerst attraktive Manaia Road bis zu den auf 900 Metern gelgegenen Dawson Falls, über die Egmont Road bis North Egmont oder über die Pembroke Road bis zum Stratford Plateau, welches als Parkplatz für das Skigebiet am Taranaki fungiert und absolut atemberaubende Panoramablicke bietet.

Die beliebtesten Aktivitäten im Nationalpark sind natürlich Trekking und Wandern. Über alle Optionen kann man sich am besten in North Egmont im Besucherzentrum informieren. Von dort starten auch die meisten Wanderwege. Je nach Zeit und Laune kann man aus über 300km an markierten Pfaden zwischen einstündigen Spaziergängen zu farnüberwucherten Wasserfällen und fünftägigen Bergtouren wählen.

Die Wanderwege im Egmont Nationalpark in Neuseeland können im Zuge von einstündigen Spaziergängen oder mehrtägigen Bergtouren erforscht werden - © patjo / Shutterstock
© patjo / Shutterstock

Wanderungen durch den Nationalpark führen in den niederen Lagen zuerst durch üppigen Regenwald, dessen Wachstum durch das warme Küstenklima und die häufigen Niederschläge begünstigt wird. Inmitten der dichten Vegetation tauchen immer wieder rauschende Wasserfälle, idyllische Flussläufe und grandiose Aussichtspunkte auf. Je weiter man nach oben kommt, desto alpiner wird die Vegetation.

Besonderheiten der Flora des Mount Egmont Nationalparks sind, dass im Regenwald keine Buchen vorkommen, sowie der auf über 900 Metern gelegene Ahukawakawa-Sumpf, der eine Vielzahl an endemische Pflanzen aufweist, die sich an den sauren Boden und die niedrigen Temperaturen gewöhnt haben. Auch der Goblin Forest („Wald der Kobolde”) in der Mitte der Bergflanken ist mit seinen knorrigen und bemoosten Bäumen sehenswert. Inmitten dieses zauberhaften Märchenwaldes rechnet man jeden Augenblick damit, hinter einem Stein eine Elfe aufzuscheuchen.

Ein kurzer Fußweg durch dichten Wald führt zu den auf rund 900 Metern gelegenen Dawson Falls im Mount Egmont Nationalpark, Neuseeland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Tipp: Unbedingt Regenschutz mitnehmen, der Mount Egmont Nationalpark zählt zu den niederschlagsreichsten Regionen Neuseelands! Da am Taranaki die warme Luft, die über dem Meer aufsteigt und ins Landesinnere zieht, aufgehalten wird und abregnet, gibt es in der Ortschaft North Egmont bis zu 7 Metern Niederschlag im Jahr!

Gipfelsturm des Taranaki

Die größte Touristenattraktion im Mount Egmont Nationalpark ist natürlich der majestätische Berg selbst. Um den Taranaki zu besteigen, braucht man zumindest im Sommer zwischen Dezember und April keinerlei Bergsteigererfahrung, sollte jedoch für etwaige Wetterumschwünge gerüstet sein und zumindest Bergwandererfahrung haben.

Der Mount Taranaki in Neuseeland eignet sich perfekt zum Bergsteigen, Skifahren, Trekken, Wandern oder einfach nur als einmaliges Postkartenmotiv - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Mit durchschnittlicher körperlicher Fitness kann der Weg zum Gipfel und wieder zurück innerhalb eines Tages zurückgelegt werden. Somit ist der Mount Egmont Nationalpark einer der wenigen Flecken auf der Erde, an denen sich die Besteigung eines Zweieinhalbtausenders bzw. eine Ski-Abfahrt mit einem Besuch am Strand innerhalb eines Tages verbinden lässt. Denn vom Nationalpark zur Küste Neuseelands sind es nur 30 Autominuten.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Seite des Mount Egmont Nationalparks (englisch)