Wadi bani Khalid Oasis, Oman

The Wadi bani Khalid is the most famous oasis in Oman and has water all year round in the middle of the mountain desert of Al Hajar. Nothing stands in the way of a swim under palm trees here.

The Wadi bani Khalid in the Al Hajar Mountains in northern Oman is the best-known wadi in the Sharqiyah region, is one of the most 10 Most beautiful wadis in Oman and one of our top 10 sights in Oman. In the midst of an inhospitable mountain desert, crystal-clear water on palm-studded shores delights every green-loving eye all year round.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Wadi bani Khalid

Photo gallery: Wadi bani Khalid

Journey to Wadi bani Khalid

The idyllic valley lies about 300km from Muscat and just under 200km from Sur. Approaching on the winding asphalt ribbon from the Omani capital, one can hardly imagine life in this stone desert at the sight of the lonely valleys and treeless mountains.

But far from it! Suddenly, out of nowhere, more and more palm trees appear, finally grouping together to form a veritable forest!

Green oasis in a dust-dry environment

Several springs, including Ain Hamouda, Ain al Sarooj and Ain Dawwa, in Wadi Bani Khalid provide water for the otherwise dust-dry surroundings, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Several springs, including Ain Hamouda, Ain al Sarooj and Ain Dawwa, provide water in the Wadi Bani Khalid for the otherwise dust-dry surroundings and create green patches of vegetation between the grey-brown rock of Al Hajar.

Four times a year, the dry wadi turns into a raging river, whose fords then often cannot even be crossed with an off-road vehicle. From a car park, a narrow concrete path leads to the source of the oasis.

Tip: Especially on weekends and national holidays, you should visit the Wadi bani Khalid as early as possible to get a parking space.

Bathing and relaxing in Wadi Bani Khalid

After about a quarter of an hour's walk from the parking lot, the heart of the Wadi bani Khalid comes into view - a huge, turquoise-blue pond whose banks are lined with palm trees in an almost Caribbean manner, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

After about a quarter of an hour's walk, the heart of the wadi comes into view - a huge, turquoise-blue pond whose banks are lined with palm trees in an almost Caribbean manner. Behind it, several natural rock pools invite you to take a dip. After the heat of the day, the crystal-clear water brings welcome cooling.

After a refreshing swim, it is best to take in the spectacular scenery in the shade of the palm trees. After the pond, there is now also a small restaurant with sanitary facilities.

Advertisement

On the right edge of the oasis, a path leads even further up into the mountains, where it becomes even more paradisiacal. After a few hundred metres, a waterfall splashes into a crystal-clear pool here.

Tip: Despite the presence of water and palm trees, it is usually unspeakably hot in the Wadi bani Khalid. Therefore, never set off without headgear, sufficient drinking water and sun protection!

Besides the many welcome ponds and vegetation, the caves of the Wadi bani Khalid are also interesting. The Kahf Maqal is one of the Sultan's underground chambers, but is unfortunately difficult for tourists to reach.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Oase Wadi bani Khalid, Oman

Im  Wadi bani Khalid, der bekanntesten Oase im Oman mitten in der Gebirgswüste des Al Hajar kann man das ganze Jahr über wunderbar entspannen - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Wadi bani Khalid ist die bekannteste Oase im Oman und führt mitten in der Gebirgswüste des Al Hajar das ganze Jahr über Wasser. Einem Bad unter Palmen steht hier nichts im Wege.

Das Wadi bani Khalid im Al Hajar Gebirge im nördlichen Oman ist das bestbekannte Wadi der Sharqiyah-Region und zählt zu den 10 schönsten Wadis Omans. Inmitten einer unwirtlichen Gebirgswüste erfreut kristallklares Wasser an palmenbestandenen Ufern das ganze Jahr über jedes nach Grün lechzende Auge.

BILDER: Wadi bani Khalid

Unterwegs ins Wadi bani Khalid

Das idyllische Tal liegt etwa 300km von Muskat und knapp 200km von Sur entfernt. Nähert man sich auf dem verschlungenen Asphaltband von der omanischen Hauptstadt aus, kann man sich beim Anblick der einsamen Täler und baumlosen Berge kaum vorstellen, dass es in dieser Steinwüste Leben gibt.

Doch weit gefehlt! Plötzlich tauchen wie aus dem Nichts immer mehr Palmen auf, die sich schließlich zu einem regelreichten Wald gruppieren!

Mehrere Quellen, unter anderem Ain Hamouda, Ain al Sarooj und Ain Dawwa, sorgen im Wadi Bani Khalid für die Wasserversorgung der sonst staubtrockenen Umgebung, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Mehrere Quellen, unter anderem Ain Hamouda, Ain al Sarooj und Ain Dawwa, sorgen im Wadi Bani Khalid für die Wasserversorgung der sonst staubtrockenen Umgebung und schaffen grüne Flecken Vegetation zwischen dem graubraunen Gestein des Al Hajar. Viermal im Jahr verwandelt sich das trockene Wadi in einen reißenden Fluss, dessen Furten dann oft nicht einmal mit dem Geländewagen überquert werden können. Von einem Parkplatz aus führt ein schmaler betonierter Weg zur Quelle der Oase.

Tipp: Vor allem an Wochenenden und nationalen Feiertagen sollte man das Wadi bani Khalid möglichst früh aufsuchen, um noch einen Parkplatz zu ergattern.

Baden und Relaxen im Wadi Bani Khalid

Nach etwa einer Viertelstunde Fußmarsch kommt das Herz des Wadi in Sicht – ein riesiger, türkisblauer Teich, dessen Ufer in fast karibischer Manier von Palmen gesäumt werden. Dahinter laden mehrere natürliche Felsen-Pools zum Baden ein. Nach der Hitze des Tages bringt das kristallklare Wasser willkommene Abkühlung.

Nach etwa einer Viertelstunde Fußmarsch vom Parkplatz kommt das Herz des Wadi bani Khalid in Sicht – ein riesiger, türkisblauer Teich, dessen Ufer in fast karibischer Manier von Palmen gesäumt werden, Oman - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Nach einem erfrischenden Planschausflug lässt man die spektakuläre Landschaft am besten im Schatten der Palmen auf sich wirken. Nach dem Teich gibt es mittlerweile auch ein kleines Restaurant mit Sanitäranlagen.

Am rechten Rand der Oase führt ein Pfad noch weiter hinauf ins Gebirge, wo es sogar noch paradiesischer wird. Nach ein paar hundert Metern plätschert hier ein Wasserfall in ein glasklares Becken.

Tipp: Trotz der Anwesenheit von Wasser und Palmen ist es im Wadi bani Khalid meist unsagbar heiß. Daher auf keinen Fall ohne Kopfbedeckung, sowie ausreichend Trinkwasser und Sonnenschutz aufbrechen!

Neben den vielen willkommenen Teichen und der Vegetation sind auch die Höhlen des Wadi bani Khalid interessant. Die Kahf Maqal gehört zu den unterirdischen Kammern des Sultans, ist jedoch leider für Touristen nur schwer zu erreichen.

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >  


 

Anzeige