The Top 10 Sights of Greece

Travel to Greece without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Greece! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in Greece?

Greece looks back on a millennia-old culture whose silent witnesses greet visitors at every corner of the country. Both on the mainland and on the numerous holiday islands, ancient buildings are among the top sights of Greece, along with the picturesque coastline. Fantastic temple complexes go hand in hand with picturesque bays, dreamy sandy beaches and traditional Greek cuisine.

Advertisement

Acropolis and Acropolis Museum in Athens

The ascent on the south side (South Slope) to the entrance of the Acropolis already reveals the first ruins, Athens, Greece - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

There is not only one Acropolis, and yet it is usually the one in Athens that is mentioned when talking about "the Acropolis". The impressive temple complex in the middle of Greece's capital is the most famous castle hill in the world, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and an absolute must for every Athens holidaymaker. The neighbouring Acropolis Museum tells the story of the Acropolis and presents original finds, including the masterfully crafted temple frieze of the Parthenon.

Article: Acropolis in Athens
Photo gallery: Acropolis in Athens

Smugglers Bay on Zakynthos

View of Smugglers Bay on Zakynthos with a prominent shipwreck on the small beach surrounded by 200m high cliffs and turquoise blue sea, Greece - © Mirko Wilhelm / Fotolia
© Mirko Wilhelm / Fotolia

Pictured a million times on postcards of Zakynthos, Smuggler's Bay is one of the most famous holiday motifs in Greece. Navagio Bay can only be reached by boat and is as picturesque in nature as the travel brochures promise. The nearby Blue Grottoes with their beautiful water reflections and crystal-clear sea are also worth a detour.

Article: Smugglers' Bay on Zakynthos
Photo gallery: Smuggler's Cove on Zakynthos

Samaria Gorge in Crete

If you are on vacation in Crete, Greece, you can't miss the famous Samaria Gorge - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The spectacular Samaria Gorge in the southwest of Crete is one of the longest gorges in Europe. An easily accessible but physically demanding hiking trail leads between impressive cliffs from the centre of the island to the Libyan Sea. The "Grand Canyon of Europe" is well visited in the high season; in the summer months, up to 4,000 tourists visit the Samaria Gorge every day.

Article: Samaria Gorge on Crete
Photo gallery: Samaria Gorge on Crete

National Archaeological Museum of Crete

The Archaeological Museum in Crete's capital Heraklion is one of the most important museums in Greece and Europe - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Archaeological Museum in the island's capital Heraklion is one of the most important museums in Europe and primarily presents the Minoans. Europe's oldest advanced civilisation is named after the legendary King Minos, who ruled Crete in the 13th century BC. Next to the ruins of Knossos, the former palace of King Minos, the National Archaeological Museum presents the world's most comprehensive collection of Minoan artefacts.

Advertisement

Article: National Archaeological Museum of Crete
Photo gallery: National Archaeological Museum of Crete

Meteora Monasteries

Apart from the 24 monasteries, the Meteora rocks are among the most popular climbing destinations in Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Meteora Monasteries are located in the heart of Greece and are a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The "floating monasteries" are situated on steep cliffs and could once only be reached by rope ladders - a perfect defence strategy of the monks, who thus protected their dwellings and church treasures from robbers. Not only the architecture at dizzying heights, but also the view from the Meteora monasteries is absolutely unique.

Article: Meteora Monasteries
Photo gallery: Meteora Monasteries

Grand Master's Palace of Rhodes

The Grand Master's Palace in Rhodes was built in the 14th century at the highest point of Rhodes Town , Greece - © dedi / Fotolia
© dedi / Fotolia

In the heart of the old town of Rhodes Town sits the impressive Grand Master's Palace of Rhodes. The magnificent citadel of the Knights of St. John was rebuilt in the 20th century and today houses the Archaeological Museum of Rhodes. In addition to the architecture of the Grand Master's Palace, which is well worth seeing, furniture from all over the world, archaeological finds from Rhodes and Greek and Roman sculptures can be seen here.

Article: Grand Master's Palace of Rhodes

Balos Lagoon in Crete

Along the rocky shores outside Balos Lagoon, the water is deeper and cooler and perfect for diving and snorkeling in Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Balos Lagoon in the west of Crete is one of the most visited natural beauties of the island. No wonder - with fine white sand and turquoise blue sea, you almost feel transported to the Caribbean here. Its entire coastline is protected as a nature reserve and is thus immune from the construction of hotels. And so nothing, except perhaps the visitors, disturbs the perfect idyll of this beach paradise.

Article: Balos lagoon in Crete
Photo gallery: Balos Lagoon in Crete

Theatre of Epidauros

The theatre of Epidaurus is located in the western Peloponnese and is the largest and most impressive ancient theatre in Greece - © stockbksts / Fotolia
© stockbksts / Fotolia

In the east of the Peloponnese lies the theatre of Epidauros, a grandiose legacy of antiquity. The largest amphitheatre in Greece, together with the entire cult site of Epidauros, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It was built in the 4th century BC in honour of the god of healing Asklepios and is still the celebrated stage of the summer "Greek Festival".

Advertisement

Article: Theatre of Epidauros
Photo gallery: Theatre of Epidauros

Cape Sounion

The picturesque Cape Sounion with the marble temple of Poseidon is located in Greece at the southernmost point of the Attica peninsula, Greece - © Tatiana Popova / Shutterstock
© Tatiana Popova / Shutterstock

The picturesque Cape Sounion marks the southernmost point of the Greek mainland. On the 60m high coast of the Attica peninsula, the columns of the ancient temple of Poseidon still rise, guarding the entrance to the port of Athens for millennia. Today, the 5th century BC terrace is the ideal setting for a spectacular sunset.

Article: Cape Sounion

Achilleion on Corfu

The Achilleion was built by the Austrian Empress Elisabeth, statues of the Greek Muses are placed on the terrace, Corfu, Greece - © franxyz / Fotolia
© franxyz / Fotolia

For a change, the pretty Achilleion does not date back to antiquity, but was built by order of the Austrian Empress Sisi. She used the palace on Corfu as a retreat from her duties at the Viennese court. The architecture is entirely dedicated to Greek mythology - above all to the eponymous hero Achilles. Today, the magnificent Achilleion with its idyllic palace park is a museum with exhibits from the imperial era.

Article: Achilleion on Corfu

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Griechenland

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Griechenland reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Griechenland! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Griechenland auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Griechenland blickt auf eine jahrtausendealte Kultur zurück, deren stumme Zeugen den Besucher an jeder Ecke des Landes begrüßen. Sowohl auf dem Festland als auch auf den zahlreichen Urlaubsinseln zählen neben der malerischen Küste antike Bauwerke zu den Top Sehenswürdigkeiten von Griechenland. Fantastische Tempelanlagen gehen Hand in Hand mit malerischen Buchten, traumhaften Sandstränden und der sensationellen griechischen Küche.

Akropolis und Akropolis Museum in Athen

Der Aufstieg auf der Südseite (South Slope) zum Eingang der Akropolis offenbart schon die ersten Ruinen, Athen, Griechenland - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Es gibt nicht nur eine Akropolis und doch ist meist von jener in Athen die Rede, wenn man von „der Akropolis“ spricht. Der eindrucksvolle Tempelkomplex mitten in Griechenlands Hauptstadt ist der bekannteste Burgberg der Welt, UNESCO-Welterbestätte und ein absolutes Muss für jeden Athen-Urlauber. Das benachbarte Akropolis-Museum erzählt die Geschichte der Akropolis und präsentiert Fundstücke im Original, unter anderem das meisterhaft gefertigte Tempelfries des Parthenon.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Schmugglerbucht auf Zakynthos

Blick in die Schmugglerbucht auf Zakynthos mit einem markanten Schiffswrack auf dem kleinen Strand, umgeben von 200m hohen Felsen und türkisblauem Meer, Griechenland - © Mirko Wilhelm / Fotolia
© Mirko Wilhelm / Fotolia

Auf Postkarten von Zakynthos millionenfach abgebildet zählt die Schmugglerbucht zu den bekanntesten Urlaubsmotiven Griechenlands. Die Navagio-Bucht ist nur mit dem Boot zu erreichen auch in natura so malerisch, wie die Reisekataloge versprechen. Auch die nahegelegen Blauen Grotten mit wunderschönen Wasserspiegelungen und kristallklarem Meer sind einen Abstecher wert.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Samaria Schlucht auf Kreta

Wer in Griechenland auf Kreta Urlaub macht, kommt an der berühmten Samaria Schlucht nicht vorbei - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die spektakuläre Samaria Schlucht im Südwesten von Kreta ist die drittlängste Schlucht Europas. Ein zwar gut begehbarer aber konditionell anstrengender Wanderweg führt zwischen eindrucksvollen Steilwänden von der Mitte der Insel bis ans Libyische Meer. Der „Grand Canyon Europas“ ist in der Hochsaison gut besucht, in den Sommermonaten besuchen jeden Tag an die 4.000 Touristen die Samaria-Schlucht.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Archäologisches Nationalmuseum auf Kreta

Das Archäologische Museum in Kretas Hauptstadt Heraklion zählt zu den wichtigsten Museen Griechenlands und Europas - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Archäologische Museum in der Inselhauptstadt Heraklion ist eines der bedeutendsten Museen Europas und stellt vor allem die Minoer vor. Europas älteste Hochkultur ist nach dem legendären König Minos benannt, der im 13. Jahrhundert vor Christus auf Kreta herrschte. Neben den Ruinen von Knossos, dem ehemaligen Palast von König Minos, präsentiert das archäologische Nationalmuseum die weltweit umfassendste Sammlung minoischer Artefakte.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Meteora-Klöster

Abgesehen von den 24 Klöstern zählen die Meteora-Felsen zu den beliebtesten Kletterzielen Griechenlands - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Meteora-Klöster liegen im Herzen Griechenlands und zählen zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Die „Schwebenden Klöster“ liegen auf steilen Felsen und konnten einst nur über Strickleitern erreicht werden – eine perfekte Verteidigungsstrategie der Mönche, die so ihre Behausungen und Kirchenschätze vor Räubern schützten. Nicht nur die Architektur in schwindelerregender Höhe, sondern auch die Aussicht von den Meteora-Klöstern ist absolut einmalig.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Großmeisterpalast von Rhodos

Der Großmeisterpalast auf Rhodos wurde im 14. Jahrhundert am höchsten Punkt von Rhodos Stadt erbaut , Griechenland - © dedi / Fotolia
© dedi / Fotolia

Im Herzen der Altstadt von Rhodos Stadt thront der eindrucksvolle Großmeisterpalast von Rhodos. Die prächtige Zitadelle der Johanniter wurde im 20. Jahrhundert wieder aufgebaut und beherbergt heute das archäologische Museum von Rhodos. Neben der sehenswerten Architektur des Großmeisterpalastes sind hier Mobiliar aus aller Welt, archäologische Fundstücke von Rhodos sowie griechische und römische Skulpturen zu sehen.

Zum Artikel …

Lagune von Balos auf Kreta

Entlang der felsigen Ufer außerhalb der Lagune von Balos ist das Wasser tiefer und kühler und perfekt für Tauchen und Schnorcheln auf Kreta, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Lagune von Balos im Westen von Kreta zählt zu den meistbesuchten Naturschönheiten der Insel. Kein Wunder – mit feinem weißen Sand und türkisblauem Meer fühlt man sich hier fast in die Karibik versetzt. Ihre gesamte Küste steht unter Naturschutz und ist damit vor dem Bau von Hotels gefeit. Und so stört nichts, außer vielleicht die Besucher, die vollkommene Idylle dieses Strandparadieses.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Theater von Epidauros

Das Theater von Epidaurus liegt im Westen des Peloponnes und ist das größte und eindrucksvollste antike Theater Griechenlands - © stockbksts / Fotolia
© stockbksts / Fotolia

Im Westen der Peloponnes liegt mit dem Theater von Epidauros ein grandioses Vermächtnis der Antike. Das größte Amphitheater Griechenlands zählt mit der gesamten Kultstätte Epidauros zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Es wurde im 4. Jahrhundert vor Christus zu Ehren des Heilgottes Asklepios errichtet und ist noch heute gefeierte Bühne des sommerlichen „Greek Festival“.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Kap Sounion

Das malerische Kap Sounion mit dem Marmortempel des Poseidon befindet sich in Griechenland am südlichsten Punkt der Halbinsel Attika, Griechenland - © Tatiana Popova / Shutterstock
© Tatiana Popova / Shutterstock

Das malerische Kap Sounion markiert den südlichsten Punkt des griechischen Festlandes. An der 60m hohen Küste der Halbinsel Attika erheben sich noch die Säulen des antiken Poseidon-Tempels, die seit Jahrtausenden die Einfahrt zum Hafen von Athen bewachen. Die Terrasse aus dem 5. Jahrhundert vor Christus ist heute der ideale Schauplatz für einen spektakulären Sonnenuntergang.

Zum Artikel …

Achilleion auf Korfu

Das Achilleion wurde von der österreichischen Kaiserin Elisabeth errichtet, auf der Terrasse sind Statuen der griechischen Musen aufgestellt, Korfu, Griechenland - © franxyz / Fotolia
© franxyz / Fotolia

Das schmucke Achilleion stammt zur Abwechslung nicht aus der Antike, sondern wurde im Auftrag der österreichischen Kaiserin Sisi errichtet. Sie nutzte den Palast auf Korfu als Rückzugsort vor ihren Pflichten am Wiener Hof. Die Architektur ist ganz und gar der griechischen Mythologie gewidmet – allen voran dem namensgebenden Helden Achilles. Heute ist das prächtige Achilleion mit dem idyllischen Schlosspark ein Museum mit Ausstellungsstücken aus der Kaiserzeit.

Zum Artikel …

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >  


 

Anzeige