The Top 10 Sights of China

Travel to China completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of China! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in China?

China's adventurous mix of unspoilt nature and bustling business, shopping temples and rice terraces, rugged mountains and imposing skyscrapers attracts visitors from all over the world to the fantastic Middle Kingdom.

Advertisement

Terracotta Army

At up to 1m80, the figures are somewhat larger than the average "real" Chinese; a terracotta soldier weighs around 300kg, China - © Hung Chung Chih / Shutterstock
© Hung Chung Chih / Shutterstock

The gigantic Terracotta Army in Xi'an Province consists of an incredible 7,000 original-sized statues of soldiers and horses, no two of which are alike. They were created to guard the tomb of Emperor Shǐhuángdì for all eternity - who, by the way, began planning his imposing mausoleum at the age of 13 and also ordered the construction of the famous Great Wall.

Article: Terracotta Army
Photo gallery: Terracotta Army

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China at sunrise - © chungking / Shutterstock
© chungking / Shutterstock

China's "Great Wall" is around 9,000 kilometres long and was built over a massive period of 2000 years. Construction began around 500 BC to protect China from hostile nomadic tribes from the north. Today, the UNESCO World Heritage Site is only maintained on a length of around 500km around Beijing - mainly for tourists.

Article: Great Wall of China
Photo gallery: Great Wall of China

Forbidden City in Beijing (Beijing)

The Forbidden City in Beijing used to be reserved for the emperor and his entourage and was strictly closed off to the public, China - © ReSeandra / Fotolia
© ReSeandra / Fotolia

In China's capital Beijing, the Forbidden City on Tiananmen Square is one of the main attractions. The former imperial palace was reserved for the emperor and his entourage until 1924. In the meantime, the "Gugong" behind its 10m-high wall is no longer off-limits, but reveals its spectacular architectural and craft masterpieces to visitors.

Article: Forbidden City in Beijing
Photo gallery: Forbidden City in Beijing

Imperial Summer Palace in Beijing (Beijing)

The Imperial Summer Palace in Beijing is considered the pinnacle of Chinese architecture and landscape design. It stands for relaxation, harmony and beauty, China - © Doug Stacey / Shutterstock
© Doug Stacey / Shutterstock

Speaking of imperial residences: The 18th-century Imperial Summer Palace covers a gigantic area of almost 3 square kilometres. Picturesquely situated between Kunming Lake and the Hill of Longevity, its palaces, gardens and pavilions are considered the pinnacle of Chinese architecture and landscape design.

Advertisement

Article: Imperial Summer Palace in Beijing
Photo gallery: Imperial Summer Palace in Beijing

Shanqing Shan National Park

Beautiful view in Sanqing Shan National Park (Sanqing Mountain) in Jiangxi Province, southeast China, at the western end of the Huaiyu mountain range - © Micro.lee / Fotolia
© Micro.lee / Fotolia

The Shanqing Shan National Park has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site and impresses with its extraordinary rock formations. With a little imagination, animals, humans and mythical creatures can be recognised in the granite mountain peaks that rise into the sky between mystical rainforests.

Article: Shanqing Shan National Park

Yu Yuan - Garden of Joy in Shanghai

Traditional Chinese pavilion in the Yu Yuan (Garden of Delight) southeast of the Shanghai metropolis from the 16th century, China - © Mario Savoia / Fotolia
© Mario Savoia / Fotolia

The Garden of Delight was built in the 16th century in the southeast of Shanghai. The masterpiece of garden design contains the largest and oldest rock monument in southern China - the gigantic "Great Artificial Rock" - in addition to unparalleled plant splendour.

Article: Yu Yuan - Garden of Joy in Shanghai

Mogao Caves

The approximately 1,000 Mogoa Caves are grottos carved out of the sandstone along the Silk Road by Buddhist monks, China - © Valery Shanin / Shutterstock
© Valery Shanin / Shutterstock

On the edge of the famous Silk Road lie the fascinating Mogao Caves, carved into the sandstone by Buddhist monks over 6 centuries. They used the caves as a library, hideout and retreat for meditation and decorated them with thousands and thousands of rock paintings. This technical and logistical masterpiece is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Article: The most famous stone carving sites in China 

Rock sculptures in Dazu

The rock sculptures in Dazu were mainly created between the 7th and 13th centuries in the Tang and Song dynasties and combine Buddhist, Confucian and Daoist influences, China - © Volker Haak / Fotolia
© Volker Haak / Fotolia

Just as spectacular as the Mogoa Caves are the approximately 60,000 rock sculptures in Dazu. Here you can admire not only Buddhist, but also Confucian and Daoist figures - and all in colour. The statues, created between the 7th and 13th centuries, also depict everyday scenes and are therefore also of great archaeological importance.

Advertisement

Article: The most famous stone carving sites in China 

Limestone terraces in the Huanglong valley

The calcareous terraces in the Hualong Valley were formed over thousands of years by the erosion of rainwater, China - © modestlife / Fotolia
© modestlife / Fotolia

The limestone terraces in the Huanglong Valley can be described as almost unearthly beautiful. The numerous pools and caves in the northwest of Sichuan province were washed out by rainwater over thousands of years and today shine in every conceivable shade of blue and green. The almost 4km-long valley amidst snow-covered mountain peaks is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Article: Limestone terraces in the Huanglong Valley

Lu Shan National Park

A lake in the famous Lu Shan National Park in Jiangxi province in southeast China - © chungking / Fotolia
© chungking / Fotolia

Lu Shan National Park stretches around the mountain of the same name, which is one of China's most famous peaks. Due to its mild summer climate, numerous politically important events have taken place in the landscape, which is characterised by austere beauty. Over 200 historical buildings bear witness to the various religious communities that have settled in the misty climes since the 1st millennium.

Article: Lu Shan National Park
Photo gallery: Lu Shan National Park

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von China

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach China reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von China! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in China auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Chinas abenteuerlicher Mix aus unberührter Natur und lebhaftem Business, Shopping-Tempel und Reisterrassen, schroffen Bergen und imposanten Wolkenkratzern lockt Besucher aus aller Welt ins fantastische Reich der Mitte.

Terrakotta-Armee

Die Figuren sind mit bis zu 1m80 etwas größer, als der durchschnittliche „echte“ Chinese; ein Terrakotta-Soldat wiegt an die 300kg, China - © Hung Chung Chih / Shutterstock
© Hung Chung Chih / Shutterstock

Die gigantische Terrakotta-Armee in der Provinz Xi’an besteht aus unglaublichen 7.000 originalgroßen Statuen von Soldaten und Pferden, von denen keine der anderen gleicht. Sie wurden geschaffen, um bis in alle Ewigkeit das Grab von Kaiser Shǐhuángdì zu bewachen – der sein imposantes Mausoleum übrigens bereits im Alter von 13 Jahren zu planen begann und auch den Bau der berühmten Großen Mauer befahl.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Chinesische Mauer

Die Chinesische Mauer bei Sonnenaufgang - © chungking / Shutterstock
© chungking / Shutterstock

Chinas „Große Mauer“ ist rund 9.000 Kilometer lang und wurde über einen gewaltigen Zeitraum von 2000 Jahren errichtet. Um 500 vor Christus begann der Bau, um China vor feindlichen Nomadenstämmen des Nordens zu schützen. Heute wird das UNESCO Weltkulturerbe nur noch auf einer Länge von rund 500km um Peking instandgehalten – hauptsächlich für die Touristen.

Zum Artikel …

Verbotene Stadt in Peking (Beijing)

Die Verbotene Stadt in Peking war früher nur dem Kaiser und seinem Gefolge vorbehalten und für die Bevölkerung streng abgeschirmt, China - © ReSeandra / Fotolia
© ReSeandra / Fotolia

In Chinas Hauptstadt Beijing zählt die Verbotene Stadt am Platz des Himmlischen Friedens zu den Hauptattraktionen. Der einstige Kaiserpalast war bis 1924 nur dem Kaiser und seinem Gefolge vorbehalten. Mittlerweile ist der „Gugong“ hinter seiner 10m hohen Mauer nicht mehr verboten, sondern gibt Besuchern seine spektakulären architektonischen und handwerklichen Meisterwerke preis.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Kaiserlicher Sommerpalast in Peking (Beijing)

Der kaiserliche Sommerpalast in Peking gilt als Höhepunkt der chinesischen Architektur und Landschaftsgestaltung. Er steht für Erholung, Harmonie und Schönheit, China  - © Doug Stacey / Shutterstock
© Doug Stacey / Shutterstock

Apropos Kaiserliche Residenzen: Auf einem gigantischen Gelände von knapp 3 Quadratkilometern erstreckt sich der Kaiserliche Sommerpalast aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. Malerisch zwischen dem Kunming See und dem Hügel der Langlebigkeit gelegen gelten seine Paläste, Gärten und Pavillons als Höhepunkt der chinesischen Architektur und Landschaftsgestaltung.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Shanqing Shan Nationalpark

Wunderschöner Blick im Nationalpark Sanqing Shan (Berg Sanqing) in der Provinz Jiangxi im Südosten Chinas am westlichen Ende des Huaiyu-Gebirgszugs - © Micro.lee / Fotolia
© Micro.lee / Fotolia

Der Shanqing Shan Nationalpark wurde von der UNESCO zum Welterbe erklärt und beeindruckt mit seinen außergewöhnlichen Felsformationen. In den granitenen Bergspitzen, die zwischen mystischen Regenwäldern in den Himmel ragen, können mit etwas Fantasie Tiere, Menschen und Fabelwesen erkannt werden.

Zum Artikel …

Yu Yuan – Garten des Erfreuens

Traditioneller chinesischer Pavillon im Yu Yuan (Garten des Erfreuens) südöstlich der Metropole Shanghai aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, China - © Mario Savoia / Fotolia
© Mario Savoia / Fotolia

Der Garten des Erfreuens wurde im 16. Jahrhundert im Südosten von Shanghai errichtet. Das Meisterwerk der Gartengestaltung enthält neben einer unvergleichlichen Pflanzenpracht das größte und älteste Felsmonument im Süden Chinas – den gigantischen „Großen Künstlichen Felsen“.

Zum Artikel …

Mogao Höhlen

Die ca. 1.000 Mogoa-Höhlen sind entlang der Seidenstraße von buddhistischen Mönchen aus dem Sandstein gemeißelte Grotten, China - © Valery Shanin / Shutterstock
© Valery Shanin / Shutterstock

Am Rand der berühmten Seidenstraße liegen die faszinierenden Mogao-Höhlen, die von buddhistischen Mönchen über 6 Jahrhunderte in den Sandstein gehauen wurden. Sie nutzten die Höhlen als Bibliothek, Versteck und Rückzugsort für Meditationen und schmückten sie mit abertausenden Felsbildern. Die für damalige Verhältnisse technische und logistische Meisterleistung zählt zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Zum Artikel …

Felsskulpturen in Dazu

Die Felsskulpturen in Dazu entstanden hauptsächlich zwischen dem 7. und 13. Jahrhundert in der Tang- und Song-Dynastie und vereinen buddhistische, konfuzianische und daoistische Einflüsse, China - © Volker Haak / Fotolia
© Volker Haak / Fotolia

Ebenso spektakulär wie die Mogoa-Höhlen präsentieren sich die rund 60.000 Felsskulpturen in Dazu. Hier sind nicht nur buddhistische, sondern auch konfuzianische und daostische Figuren zu bewundern – und das komplett in Farbe. Die zwischen dem 7. und 13. Jahrhundert entstandenen Statuen stellen auch Alltagsszenen dar und sind daher auch archäologisch gesehen von großer Bedeutung.

Zum Artikel …

Kalksinterterrassen im Hualong Tal

Die Kalksinterterrassen im Hualong-Tal entstanden über Jahrtausend durch Auswaschungen von Regenwasser, China - © modestlife / Fotolia
© modestlife / Fotolia

Als nahezu überirdisch schön kann man die Kalksinterterrassen im Hualong-Tal bezeichnen. Die zahlreichen Pools und Höhlen im Nordwesten der Provinz Sichuan wurden über Jahrtausende vom Regenwasser ausgewaschen und leuchten heute in allen erdenklichen Blau- und Grünschattierungen. Das knapp 4km lange Tal inmitten schneebedeckter Berggipfel ist Teil des UNESCO Welterbes.

Zum Artikel …

Lu Shan Nationalpark

Ein See im berühmten Lu Shan Nationalpark in der Provinz Jiangxi im Südosten Chinas  - © chungking / Fotolia
© chungking / Fotolia

Der Lu Shan Nationalpark erstreckt sich um den gleichnamigen Berg, der zu den berühmtesten Gipfeln Chinas zählt. Aufgrund seines milden Sommer-Klimas fanden in der von strenger Schönheit geprägten Landschaft zahlreiche politisch bedeutende Ereignisse statt. Über 200 historische Bauten zeugen von den verschiedenen Religionsgemeinschaften, die sich seit dem 1. Jahrtausend in den nebeligen Gefilden ansiedelten.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …