The Top 10 Sights of Madagascar

Which highlights and attractions are not to be missed while on holiday in Madagascar? Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions in Madagascar!

Since the animated film "Madagascar" at the latest, the second largest island state in the world (after Indonesia) has been a household name for most people. For travellers who like to visit exotic countries where mass tourism is still in its infancy, Madagascar should definitely be on the bucket list.

Advertisement

Jungle, lemurs and unpronounceable names: On Madagascar, the tombs and palaces of past kings, tropical rainforests with unknown animal species, dreamlike beaches and an untouched underwater world impress. The modern capital Antananarivo is right next to Ambohimanga, the majestic hill of the king, whose ruins still bear witness to the magnificent buildings of past centuries.

The best time to travel to Madagascar is between April and October, with the peak season starting in July. The rainy season lasts from November to March and the east coast is often hit by tropical storms, especially in January and February. Air and water temperatures in Madagascar's tropical climate are around 30 °C all year round.

Madagascar is a multifaceted country of contrasts and attracts visitors for active holidays in the mountains and national parks as well as for relaxing holidays on the paradisiacal coasts and deserted islands. Our top 10 sights of Madagascar are just as diverse and are sure to meet every traveler's taste!

Volcanic fields

About 10km north of the village of Ampefy lie the spectacular geysers of Analavory, whose minerals have covered the rocky landscape with a rich array of colours, Madagascar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia
© Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia

Until 12,000 years ago, Madagascar was a barren rocky island where five volcanoes barely supported life due to regular eruptions. Since calm has prevailed, the tropical island in the Indian Ocean has been overgrown by dense forests with numerous animal and plant species. The remains of volcanic activity from the Pleistocene are unmistakable from the five volcanic fields.

For example, around the crater lake Itasy, Madagascar's third largest lake, there are countless geysers, smoking holes in the earth, hot springs and extinct volcanic craters to see. Likewise, around Ankaratra, the island's second highest mountain, there is solidified lava and crater lakes to marvel at.

The volcanic fields of Ankaizina and Ambre-Bobaomby in the north of Madagascar today provide a home for endangered bird species and a wide variety of lemur species with a boiling hot past. Madagascar's fifth volcanic field is located on the island of Nosy Be, also in the north of the island. Crocodiles have now settled in its crater lakes, which are considered a sacred ancestral site.

To the article ...

Advertisement

Morondava and the Baobab Avenue

The Baobab Avenue is barely 45 minutes by car from Morondova, the baobabs line the humped road like mighty sentinels, Madagascar - © Nazzu / Fotolia
© Nazzu / Fotolia

Besides the volcanic fields, the giant baobabs are the second sight that makes Madagascar so special. The seemingly inverted tree giants on the west coast of Madagascar near Morondava are particularly spectacular.

Their thick trunks with the characteristic gnarled branches rise into the sky about 45 minutes by car from the coastal town to the left and right of the road to Belo Tsiribihina.

Tip: In February and March, the baobabs (or baobabs) are particularly pretty to look at - that's when they blossom.

Apart from the Baobab Avenue, Morondava ("where the coast is long") also offers paradisiacal beaches with lots of sun in a relaxed holiday atmosphere. Unfortunately, bathing in Morondava is not advisable due to the currents.

To the article ...


Tsingy de Bemaraha National Park

The rocky surface of the plateau of Tsingy de Bemaraha National Park is partially covered with the unique Malagasy dry forest, Madagascar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia
© Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia

Morondava is also a perfect starting point for a visit to the Tsingy de Bemaraha National Park. Its name loosely translates as "where you cannot walk barefoot". Anyone who gets to see the unique karst landscape of the national park will also immediately know where this name comes from. Countless stone peaks, some of them razor-sharp from the wind and weather, cover the entire national park like a spectacular forest of rock needles.

Apart from the bizarre rock formations, the flora and fa una in Tsingy de Bemaraha National Park is also unique. Over 80 percent of the plants thrive nowhere else in the world. The spiny-dry forests of the highlands and the wet lake areas of the valleys are home to 100 bird species and 13 different lemurs.

The labyrinths as limestone with their caves, gorges and plateaus can be explored on hiking trails or by sightseeing flight.

To the article ...
To the photo gallery ...

Advertisement

Isalo National Park

The Isalo National Park in the southern highlands of Madagascar captivates with its bizarre rock formations of Jurassic sandstone - © LouieLea / Shutterstock
© LouieLea / Shutterstock

The Isalo National Park in the southern highlands of Madagascar also captivates with its bizarre rock formations of Jurassic sandstone. In the vast savannahs and grassy plains, the cute calicoes hiss around and there are chameleons to be discovered in the bushes.

Established in 1962, the park is located directly on the RN7 and is therefore easy to reach by car. The hiking trails through the 80,000-hectare Isalo National Park are all well developed and range from a few hours to several days.

Tip: If you want to explore the national park by car, you should definitely have an off-road vehicle with four-wheel drive!

One of the main attractions of Isalo National Park are its natural pools. Blue Pool, Black Pool and the absolutely picturesque Piscine Naturelle invite you to take a refreshing plunge into the cool water after a hike through the impressive mountain landscape. The park's canyons, which are up to 200 metres deep, or a hike to one of the waterfalls also provide cooling.


Ranomafana National Park

The attraction of Ranomafana National Park in Madagascar is the lush green mountain rainforests, ideal for immersing yourself in wild tropical nature - © LouieLea / Shutterstock
© LouieLea / Shutterstock

In Ranomafana National Park, it is not the mountain ridges and rocks that are the attraction, but the lush green mountain rainforests. Nowhere else in Madagascar can hikers better immerse themselves in the wild tropical nature of the island nation. Lemurs scurry through the treetops, geckos snap at butterflies and exotic flowers line the hiking trails, which can be explored on tours lasting up to 4 days.

In the middle of Madagascar's third largest national park lies a spa hotel that makes the natural thermal springs accessible for relaxation and healing purposes. Incidentally, these also gave the national park its name, because Ranomafana means "hot water".

The best time to visit Romafana National Park is all year round, although August has the least rainfall. The tropical hot and humid climate, on the other hand, hardly changes.


Nosy Be

Boats off the island of Nosy Be in northern Madagascar - © Unclesam / Fotolia
© Unclesam / Fotolia

The island of Nosy Be around 10 kilometres off the north coast of Madagascar is worth a trip not only because of its turbulent volcanic remains. The "Big Island" is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Madagascar and is also called "Perfume Island" because of its sugar, vanilla, clove and cinnamon plantations.

Advertisement

About the size of the German island of Rügen, there are only about 350 guest rooms on Nosy Be, which are booked out long in advance. Those who get hold of accommodation are rewarded with a dream holiday in paradise far from mass tourism.

Because Nosy Be is a perfect holiday island where temperatures range between 20 and 30°C all year round. Nevertheless, thanks to the frequent (mostly nightly) rainfall, Nosy Be is lush and green and boasts breathtaking nature. Beautiful sandy beaches, tropical nature reserves, gushing waterfalls and crater lakes with crocodiles, as well as the bars and discos of Ambataloaka form a colourful mix of activity and entertainment that makes holidays on Nosy Be so special.

To the article ...


Nosy Boraha

Lonely stretch of beach on the dream island of Nosy Boraha in the Indian Ocean, a few kilometres from the north-east coast of Madagascar - © ste67 / Fotolia
© ste67 / Fotolia

The former pirate island of Nosy Boraha on the north-east coast of Madagascar is a dream holiday paradise, just like Nosy Be, but much more unspoilt.

Golden sandy beaches in palm-fringed bays beckon for swimming holidays and a crystal-clear sea complete with coral reef reveals Madagascar's fascinating underwater world to divers and snorkellers.

Tip: From June to September, even humpback whales pass by here. They leave the cold waters of Antarctica to give birth to their calves further north.

To the article ...


Royal Palace (Rova) in Ambohimanga

Entrance to the palace grounds of Ambohimanga on the African island nation of Madagascar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon/Shutterstock
© Pierre-Yves Babelon/Shutterstock

About 20 kilometres north of Madagascar's capital Antananarivo is the historic capital Ambohimanga. Until the late 18th century, the kings of the island state had their residence in the best-preserved palace complex in Madagascar. Since 2001, the now sacred site has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Advertisement

From the 15th to the 19th century, construction took place at Ambohimanga. Around the royal palace, the rather plain "Rova", the royal bath, a sacrificial place, a court seat and the tombs of the kings were built on the palace grounds. The remains of these can still be seen today and still make Ambohimanga an important pilgrimage destination where Madagascans go to ask their departed rulers for help and advice.

To the article ...


Royal Palace (Rova) in Antananarivo

The Rova of Antananarivo is located on the highest hill of Madagascar's capital and has been gradually developed into a magnificent royal city since the 17th century - © Stéphan SZEREMETA / Fotolia
© Stéphan SZEREMETA / Fotolia

Also in Antananarivo is a rova, a Malagasy royal palace. It was built in the 17th century, when Madagascar's seat of government was moved from Ambohimanga to Antananarivo. From then on, the heavily fortified palace was the cultural and political centre of the recently unified empire for about 300 years.

The Rova is located at an altitude of 1,500 metres around 200 metres above Antananarivo and offers a fantastic view of the city. Palaces, temples, residences, a chapel and the tombs of the royal family can still be visited on the seven sacred hills. Most of the wooden buildings were destroyed by fire in 1995, and it was not until 2010 that the royal palace was reopened to visitors after renovation.

Since 2020, a (controversial) coliseum has been enthroned on the tombs of the kings, providing a fantastic backdrop for cultural events in front of an audience of 400 people.

To the article ...


Analakely Market in Antananarivo

The Analakely Market in Antananarivo is the largest market in the city and also known as Zoma Market, Madagascar - © ronemmons / Shutterstock
© ronemmons / Shutterstock

Besides the Royal Palace, the Analakely Market is the second famous sight in Antananarivo. It is the largest market in the city and also known as Zoma Market. There is always something going on at the Analakely Market, because in the colourful pavilions the locals find everything they need for daily life.

Advertisement

Brightly coloured fruit and vegetables, fish, meat (who fancies grilled lizards?) and clothing make up the bulk of the goods for sale. Household goods, electronics and DVDs are also available, as well as African handicrafts.

If you are looking for souvenirs, this is also the place to go. Haggling and bargaining are the order of the day here - unfortunately, so is pickpocketing, so it is better to leave your valuables at the hotel.

PICTURES: The top sights of Madagascar

 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Madagaskar

Die spektakulären Baobab-Bäume in Madagaskar - © WANG HSIU-HUA / Fotolia
© WANG HSIU-HUA / Fotolia

Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Madagaskar auf keinen Fall versäumen? Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Madagaskar!

Spätestens seit dem Animationsfilm „Madagaskar“ ist der zweitgrößte Inselstaat der Welt (nach Indonesien) den meisten Menschen ein Begriff. Für Reisende, die gerne exotische Länder besuchen, in denen der Massentourismus noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt, sollte Madagaskar unbedingt auf der Bucket List stehen.

Dschungel, Lemuren und unaussprechliche Namen: Auf Madagaskar beeindrucken Gräber und Paläste vergangener Könige, tropische Regenwälder mit unbekannten Tierarten, traumhafte Strände und eine unberührte Unterwasserwelt. Die moderne Hauptstadt Antananarivo liegt gleich neben Ambohimanga, dem majestätischen Hügel des Königs, dessen Ruinen noch von den Prachtbauten der vergangenen Jahrhunderte zeugen.

Die beste Reisezeit für Madagaskar liegt zwischen April und Oktober, wobei im Juli die Hauptsaison startet. Von November bis März herrscht Regenzeit und vor allem im Jänner und Februar wird die Ostküste häufig von Tropenstürmen heimgesucht. Luft- und Wassertemperatur liegen im tropischen Klima Madagaskars das ganze Jahr über um die 30 °C.

Madagaskar ist ein facettenreiches Land der Gegensätze und lockt ebenso zu Aktivurlaub in den Bergen und Nationalparks wie zu Erholungsurlaub an den paradiesischen Küsten und einsamen Inselchen. Ebenso vielschichtig sind auch unsere Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Madagaskar, die bestimmt jeden Reise-Geschmack treffen!

Vulkanfelder

Etwa 10km nördlich der Ortschaft Ampefy liegen die spektakulären Geysire von Analavory, deren Minerale die Felslandschaft mit einer reichen Farbenpracht überzogen haben, Madagaskar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia
© Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia

Bis noch vor 12.000 Jahren war Madagaskar eine karge Felseninsel, auf der fünf Vulkane durch regelmäßige Ausbrüche kaum Leben ermöglichten. Seit Ruhe herrscht, wurde die tropische Insel im Indischen Ozean von dichten Wäldern mit zahlreichen Tier- und Pflanzenarten überwuchert. Die Überreste der vulkanischen Aktivität aus dem Pleistozän sind anhand von fünf Vulkanfeldern unübersehbar.

So gibt es zum Beispiel um den Kratersee Itasy, Madagaskars drittgrößten See, unzählige Geysire, rauchende Erdlöcher, heiße Quellen und erloschene Vulkankrater zu sehen. Ebenso gibt es um den Ankaratra, den zweithöchsten Berg der Insel, erstarrte Lava und Kraterseen zu bestaunen.

Die Vulkanfelder Ankaizina und Ambre-Bobaomby im Norden von Madagaskar bieten heute bedrohten Vogelarten und verschiedensten Lemurenarten eine Heimat mit kochend heißer Vergangenheit. Das fünfte Vulkanfeld von Madagaskar liegt auf der Insel Nosy Be ebenfalls im Norden der Insel. In seinen Kraterseen, die als heilige Stätte der Ahnen gelten, haben sich mittlerweile Krokodile angesiedelt.

Zum Artikel …


Morondava und die Baobab-Allee

Die Baobab-Allee ist knapp 45 Autominuten von Morondova entfernt, die Baobabs säumen die buckelige Straße wie mächtige Wächter, Madagaskar - © Nazzu / Fotolia
© Nazzu / Fotolia

Neben den Vulkanfeldern sind die riesenhaften Baobabs die zweite Sehenswürdigkeit, die Madagaskar so besonders macht. Besonders spektakulär präsentieren sich die scheinbar verkehrt gewachsenen Baumriesen an der Westküste Madagaskars bei Morondava.

Ihre dicken Stämme mit den charakteristischen knorrigen Ästen ragen rund 45 Autominuten von der Küstenstadt entfernt links und rechts der Straße nach Belo Tsiribihina in den Himmel.

Tipp: Im Februar und März sind die Baobabs (oder Affenbrotbäume) besonders hübsch anzusehen – dann blühen sie nämlich.

Abgesehen von der Baobab-Allee hat Morondava („wo die Küste lang ist“) auch paradiesische Strände mit viel Sonne in entspannter Urlaubs-Atmosphäre zu bieten. Vom Baden ist in Morondava aufgrund der Strömungen allerdings leider abzuraten.

Zum Artikel …


Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha

Die felsige Oberfläche des Plateaus des Tsingy de Bemaraha-Nationalparks ist teilweise mit dem einzigartigen madagassischen Trockenwald bedeckt, Madagaskar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia
© Pierre-Yves Babelon / Fotolia

Morondava ist auch ein perfekter Ausgangspunkt für einen Besuch des Nationalparks Tsingy de Bemaraha. Sein Name bedeutet frei übersetzt „wo man nicht barfuß gehen kann“. Wer die einzigartige Karstlandschaft des Nationalparks zu Gesicht bekommt, weiß auch sofort, woher diese Bezeichnung stammt. Unzählige steinerne Spitzen, zum Teil von Wind und Wetter messerscharf geschliffen, bedecken den gesamten Nationalpark wie ein spektakulärer Wald aus Felsnadeln.

Abgesehen von den bizarren Felsformationen ist auch die Tier- und Pflanzenwelt im Tsingy de Bemaraha Nationalpark einmalig. Über 80 Prozent der Pflanzen gedeihen sonst nirgends auf der Welt. In den stachelig-trockenen Wäldern des Hochlandes und den feuchten Seengebieten der Täler leben 100 Vogelarten und 13 verschiedene Lemuren.

Die Labyrinthe als Kalkstein mit ihren Höhlen, Schluchten und Plateaus können auf Wanderwegen oder per Rundflug erkundet werden.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …


Nationalpark Isalo

Der Isalo Nationalpark im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars besticht durch seine bizarren Felsformationen aus Jura-Sandstein - © LouieLea / Shutterstock
© LouieLea / Shutterstock

Auch der Isalo Nationalpark im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars besticht durch seine bizarren Felsformationen aus Jura-Sandstein. In den weiten Savannen und Grasebenen zischen die possierlichen Kattas umher und in den Büschen gibt es Chamäleons zu entdecken.

Der 1962 gegründete Park liegt direkt an der RN7 und ist mit dem Auto daher leicht zu erreichen. Die Wanderwege durch den 80.000 Hektar großen Isalo Nationalpark sind allesamt gut erschlossen und reichen von wenigen Stunden bis zu mehreren Tagen.

Tipp: Wer den Nationalpark mit dem Auto erkunden möchte, sollte unbedingt über einen Geländewagen mit Allradantrieb verfügen!

Eine der Hauptattraktionen des Isalo Nationalparks sind seine natürlichen Pools. Blue Pool, Black Pool und der absolut malerische Piscine Naturelle laden nach einer Wanderung durch die imposante Berglandschaft zu einem erfrischenden Sprung ins kühle Nass ein. Ebenfalls Abkühlung verschaffen die bis zu 200 Meter tiefen Canyons des Parks oder eine Wanderung zu einem der Wasserfälle.


Nationalpark Ranomafana

Die Attraktion im Ranomafana Nationalpark in Madagaskar sind die üppig grünen Bergregenwälder, ideal zum eintauchen in die wilde tropische Natur - © LouieLea / Shutterstock
© LouieLea / Shutterstock

Im Ranomafana Nationalpark sind nicht die Bergrücken und Felsen die Attraktion, sondern die üppig grünen Bergregenwälder. Nirgendwo sonst auf Madagaskar können Wanderer besser in die wilde tropische Natur des Inselstaates eintauchen. Lemuren huschen durch die Baumwipfel, Geckos schnappen nach Schmetterlingen und exotische Blüten säumen die Wanderwege, die auf bis zu 4 Tage dauernden Touren erforscht werden können.

Mitten im drittgrößten Nationalpark Madagaskars liegt ein Kurhotel, welches die natürlichen Thermalquellen zu Entspannungs- und Heilzwecken zugänglich macht. Diese gaben dem Nationalpark übrigens auch seinen Namen, denn Ranomafana bedeutet „heißes Wasser“.

Beste Reisezeit für den Romafana Nationalpark ist das ganze Jahr über, im August ist allerdings mit am wenigsten Niederschlag zu rechnen. Das tropische feucht-heiße Klima ändert sich dagegen kaum.


Nosy Be

Boote vor der Insel Nosy Be im Norden Madagaskars - © Unclesam / Fotolia
© Unclesam / Fotolia

Die Insel Nosy Be rund 10 Kilometer vor der Nordküste Madagaskars ist nicht nur aufgrund ihrer turbulenten vulkanischen Überbleibsel eine Reise wert. Die „Große Insel“ zählt zu den beliebtesten Touristenzielen auf Madagaskar und wird aufgrund seiner Zucker-, Vanille-, Nelken- und Zimtplantagen auch „Parfum-Insel“ genannt.

Etwa so groß wie die deutsche Insel Rügen gibt es auf Nosy Be lediglich um die 350 Gästezimmer, die lange im Voraus ausgebucht sind. Wer eine Unterkunft ergattert, wird mit einem Traumurlaub im Paradies fern vom Massentourismus belohnt.

Denn Nosy Be ist eine perfekte Ferieninsel, auf der sich die Temperaturen ganzjährig zwischen 20 und 30°C bewegen. Trotzdem ist Nosy Be dank den häufigen (meist nächtlichen) Regenfällen üppig grün und kann mit atemberaubender Natur aufwarten. Herrliche Sandstrände, tropische Naturreservate, rauschende Wasserfälle und Kraterseen mit Krokodilen sowie die Bars und Discos von Ambataloaka formen eine bunte Mischung an Aktivität und Unterhaltung, die Urlaub auf Nosy Be so besonders macht.

Zum Artikel …


Nosy Boraha

Einsamer Strandabschnitt auf der Trauminsel Nosy Boraha im Indischen Ozean, wenige Kilometer von der Nordost-Küste Madagaskars entfernt - © ste67 / Fotolia
© ste67 / Fotolia

Die einstige Piraten-Insel Nosy Boraha an der Nordostküste von Madagaskar ist ebenso wie Nosy Be ein traumhaftes Urlaubsparadies, allerdings um einiges ursprünglicher.

Goldgelbe Sandstrände in palmengesäumten Buchten locken zu Badeferien und ein glasklares Meer komplett mit Korallenriff offenbart Tauchern und Schnorchlern die faszinierende Unterwasserwelt Madagaskars.

Tipp: Von Juni bis September ziehen hier sogar Buckelwale vorbei. Sie verlassen die kalten Gewässer der Antarktis, um weiter nördlich ihre Kälber zur Welt zu bringen.

Zum Artikel …


Königspalast (Rova) in Ambohimanga

Eingang zum Palastgelände von Ambohimanga auf dem afrikanischen Inselstaat Madagaskar - © Pierre-Yves Babelon/Shutterstock
© Pierre-Yves Babelon/Shutterstock

Rund 20 Kilometer nördlich der madagassischen Hauptstadt Antananarivo befindet sich die historische Hauptstadt Ambohimanga. In der besterhaltenen Palastanlage von Madagaskar hatten bis ins späte 18. Jahrhundert die Könige des Inselstaates ihren Sitz. Seit 2001 zählt die heute heilige Stätte zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Vom 15. bis ins 19. Jahrhundert wurde an Ambohimanga gebaut. Rund um den Königspalast, den eher schlicht gehaltenen „Rova“, entstanden auf dem Palastgelände das königliche Bad, ein Opferplatz, ein Gerichtsstuhl sowie die Grabstätten der Könige. Die Überreste davon sind heute noch zu sehen und machen Ambohimanga nach wie vor zu einem wichtigen Pilgerziel, an dem die Madagassen ihre verflossenen Herrscher um Hilfe und Rat fragen.

Zum Artikel …


Königspalast (Rova) in Antananarivo

Der Rova von Antananarivo liegt auf dem höchsten Hügel der Hauptstadt Madagaskars und wurde seit dem 17. Jahrhundert nach und nach zu einer prachtvollen Königsstadt ausgebaut - © Stéphan SZEREMETA / Fotolia
© Stéphan SZEREMETA / Fotolia

Auch in Antananarivo liegt ein Rova, ein madagassischer Königspalast. Er wurde im 17. Jahrhundert erbaut, als der Regierungssitz Madagaskars von Ambohimanga nach Antananarivo verlegt wurde. Ab dann war der stark befestigte Palast rund 300 Jahre das kulturelle und politische Zentrum des erst kürzlich geeinten Reiches.

Der Rova liegt auf 1.500 Metern Höhe rund 200 Meter über Antananarivo und bietet einen fantastischen Blick auf die Stadt. Paläste, Tempel, Wohnhäuser, eine Kapelle und die Grabstätten der Königsfamilie sind auf den sieben heiligen Hügeln bis heute zu besichtigen. Der Großteil der Holzbauten wurde 1995 durch ein Feuer zerstört, erst 2010 wurde der Königspalast nach der Renovierung wieder für Besucher eröffnet.

Seit 2020 thront auf den Grabstätten der Könige ein (kontrovers diskutiertes) Kolosseum, welches vor einem 400 Menschen fassenden Publikum eine fantastische Kulisse für kulturelle Veranstaltungen bietet.

Zum Artikel …


Analakely Market in Antananarivo

Der Analakely Markt in Antananarivo ist der größte Markt der Stadt und auch als Zoma Market bekannt, Madagaskar - © ronemmons / Shutterstock
© ronemmons / Shutterstock

Neben dem Königspalast ist der Analakely Markt die zweite berühmte Sehenswürdigkeit in Antananarivo. Er ist der größte Markt der Stadt und auch als Zoma Market bekannt. Auf dem Analakely Markt ist immer was los, denn in den bunten Pavillons finden die Einheimischen alles, was sie für das tägliche Leben brauchen.

Obst und Gemüse in leuchtenden Farben, Fisch, Fleisch (wer hat Lust auf gegrillte Eidechsen?) und Kleidung machen den Großteil der feilgebotenen Waren aus. Auch Haushaltswaren, Elektronik und DVDs sind verfügbar, ebenso wie afrikanisches Kunsthandwerk.

Wer auf der Suche nach Souvenirs ist, ist hier ebenfalls richtig, handeln und feilschen steht hier an der Tagesordnung – leider ebenso wie Taschendiebstahl, deshalb die Wertsachen besser im Hotel lassen.

BILDER: Die Top Sehenswürdigkeiten von Madagaskar