Glavotok on Krk, Croatia

The sleepy village of Glavotok on the western cape of the Croatian island of Krk attracts visitors with its typical nativeness, heavenly tranquillity in secluded woods and a completely undisturbed underwater world.

The tiny village of Glavotok marks the westernmost point of the island of Krk and is hardly visited by tourists despite its proximity to the well-known resort of Malinska. The tiny fishing village consists of about ten houses, to which a narrow wall-lined road leads through groves of olive and fig trees. Here, life is still completely original and reminiscent of Croatia a hundred years ago.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Glavotok on Krk

Photo gallery: Glavotok on Krk

"Sights" of Glavotok

At the top of the pier of Glavotok on the island of Krk stands probably the most rudimentary lighthouse in the world, Croatia - © Lila Pharaoh / franks-travelbox
© Purple Pharaoh / franks-travelbox

A walk to the coast also leads at the same time to the Glagolitic Franciscan monastery with the church of Sveti Maria from 1507. The side chapels were added in 1760. The monastery and the Church of St. Mary originally stood (even) closer to the sea, but in 1879 the swell was so extreme that the buildings were moved back a few metres. If you would like to attend a service in the old Croatian language, this is the place to be.

From the quay, the view falls on the dark hills of the neighbouring island of Cres and probably the most rudimentary lighthouse in the world, which consists only of a signal-red iron skeleton with a fire basket.

Ideal for snorkellers

The few boats that travel along the coast of Glavotok on Krk do not disturb the idyll at all, Croatia - © Lila Pharaoh / franks-travelbox
© Purple Pharaoh / franks-travelbox

Due to the seclusion and the small size of the beach, the fish in the sea feel completely undisturbed and cavort around Glavotok in large numbers. The few boats that travel along the coast do not disturb the idyll at all.

Tip: It is also worth walking through the forests along the coast and exploring among the rocks in the water.

Sea chapel Sveti Krševan

The sea chapel Sveti Krševan near Glavotok on the island of Krk is one of the last two of its kind still existing in Croatia - © Lila Pharaoh / franks-travelbox
© Purple Pharaoh / franks-travelbox

From the road to Glavotok, a signposted turnoff leads to the chapel of Sveti Krševan. The path there soon turns into a gravel track and in the end can only be managed on foot. Apart from a few goats or cats, there is rarely a living creature to be seen on this path.

Amidst pines and pines, a circular building suddenly appears. Dating from the 11th or 12th century, the Sveti Krševan Sea Chapel is one of the last two of its kind still in existence in Croatia. Under the few rays of sunlight that stray through the dense branches, the small chapel seems almost eerie. A look inside adds to the entrancing atmosphere, for apart from a tiny stone altar with a cross made of branches, the chapel is completely empty.

Camping in Glavotok

There is a large campsite about one kilometre from Glavotok, but it is also usually completely deserted outside the season. The maximum capacity of 750 guests is hardly reached even in summer. In addition to the 500m long pebble beach, holidaymakers will also find a diving centre, a restaurant and animation programmes.

Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Glavotok auf Krk, Kroatien

Das winzige Fischerdorf Glavotok auf der Insel Krk, Kroatien, besteht aus etwa zehn Häusern und wird kaum von Touristen besucht - © Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox
© Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox

Das verschlafene Örtchen Glavotok am Westkap der kroatischen Insel Krk lockt mit landestypischer Ursprünglichkeit, himmlischer Ruhe in lauschigen Wäldchen und einer völlig ungestörten Unterwasserwelt.

Die winzige Ortschaft Glavotok markiert den westlichsten Punkt der Insel Krk und ist trotz seiner Nähe zum bekannten Ferienort Malinska von Touristen kaum besucht. Das winzige Fischerdorf besteht aus etwa zehn Häusern, zu denen eine enge mauergesäumte Straße durch Haine von Oliven- und Feigenbäume führt. Hier ist das Leben noch völlig ursprünglich und erinnert an Kroatien vor hundert Jahren.

BILDER: Glavotok auf Krk

 

Ein Spaziergang zur Küste führt auch gleichzeitig zum glagolitischen Franziskanerkloster mit der Kirche Sveti Maria aus dem Jahr 1507. Die Seitenkapellen wurden 1760 angefügt. Das Kloster und die Marienkirche standen ursprünglich (noch) näher am Meer, doch 1879 war der Wellengang so extrem, dass die Gebäude um einige Meter nach hinten versetzt wurden. Wer einmal einem Gottesdienst in altkroatischer Sprache beiwohnen möchte, ist hier richtig.

Vom Kai fällt der Blick auf die dunklen Hügel der Nachbarinsel Cres und den wohl rudimentärsten Leuchtturm der Welt, der nur aus einem signalroten Eisengerippe mit Feuerkorb besteht.

An der Spitze des Piers von Glavotok auf der Insel Krk steht der wohl rudimentärste Leuchtturm der Welt, Kroatien - © Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox
© Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox

Toll für Schnorchler

Aufgrund der Abgeschiedenheit und der geringen Größe des Strandes fühlen sich die Fische im Meer völlig ungestört und tummeln sich rund um Glavotok in großer Zahl. Die wenigen Boote, die entlang der Küste unterwegs sind, stören die Idylle keineswegs.

Die wenigen Boote, die entlang der Küste von Glavotok auf Krk unterwegs sind, stören die Idylle keineswegs, Kroatien - © Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox
© Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox

Tipp: Es lohnt sich auch, durch die Wälder entlang der Küste entlang zu spazieren und zwischen den Felsen im Wasser auf Entdeckungstour zu gehen.

Seekapelle Sveti Krševan

Von der Straße nach Glavotok führt eine beschilderte Abzweigung zur Kapelle Sveti Krševan. Der Weg dorthin geht bald in eine Schotterpiste über und kann zum Schluss nur noch zu Fuß bewältigt werden. Außer einigen Ziegen oder Katzen ist auf diesem Pfad selten ein Lebewesen zu sehen.

Die Seekapelle Sveti Krševan bei Glavotok auf der Insel Krk ist eine der beiden letzten ihrer Art, die in Kroatien noch existieren - © Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox
© Lila Pharao / franks-travelbox

Inmitten von Pinien und Kiefern taucht unvermittelt ein kreisrundes Gemäuer auf. Aus dem 11. oder 12. Jahrhundert stammend ist die Seekapelle Sveti Krševan eine der beiden letzten ihrer Art, die in Kroatien noch existieren. Unter den wenigen Sonnenstrahlen, die sich durch die dichten Äste verirren, wirkt die kleine Kapelle nahezu unheimlich. Ein Blick nach innen trägt zur entrischen Atmosphäre bei, denn bis auf einen winzigen Altar aus Stein mit einem Kreuz aus Ästen ist die Kapelle völlig leer.

Camping in Glavotok

Etwa einen Kilometer von Glavotok entfernt befindet sich ein großer Campingplatz, der außerhalb der Saison jedoch auch meist völlig verlassen ist. Die Maximalkapazität von 750 Gästen wird auch im Sommer kaum erreicht. Neben dem rund 500m langen Kiesstrand finden Urlauber hier auch ein Tauchzentrum, ein Restaurant und Animationsprogramme.