Boa Vista Island, Cape Verde

Boa Vista, the easternmost island of Cape Verde, is a fascinating symphony of glistening sand dunes, dry scree deserts, sleepy villages and the most beautiful and largest beaches of the archipelago.

Boa Vista is the third largest island of Cape Verde and is located in the very east of the archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean about 455km off the African coast. This is where the desert and the Atlantic meet, for Boa Vista consists largely of shifting dunes brought by the wind from the Sahara, rugged scree, extensive beaches and small oases with shaggy date palms.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Top Shots from Boa Vista, Cape Verde

Photo gallery: Boa Vista - Top Shots

Boa Vista lives up to its name "Beautiful View". Still spared from mass tourism, Boa Vista is unspoilt and cosy. But in the meantime, Boa Vista also has an airport and the first hotels are already rising into the sky above the Atlantic.

Tip: As a cheap alternative to renting a car, car rental companies on Boa Vista offer excursions for one or two people. To explore the entire island, you should allow two days.

Capital Sal Rei

The Igreja de Santa Isabel is one of the most beautiful buildings on the square of the same name in Sal Rei, the capital of the island of Boa Vista, Cape Verde - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

Sal Rei, the quiet capital of Boa Vista in Cape Verde, offers a pretty town centre with the island's main tourist infrastructure. Its fine sandy beaches are ideal for swimming, diving and surfing.

Sal Rei is located in the northwest of the island. For a capital city with over 2,000 inhabitants, almost half of the entire island population, Sal Rei seems almost sleepy. The tranquil yet interesting town is one of our Top 10 Sights of Cape Verde.

PICTURES: Capital Sal Rei on Boa Vista

Photo gallery: Boa Vista - Capital Sal Rei

Sal Rei Centre

The centre of Sal Rei is the lively Praça de Santa Isabel. Here, batik fabrics, carvings, fruit and vegetables are sold against a picturesque backdrop of flowers and pavilions.

One of the most beautiful buildings on the Praça de Santa Isabel is the church of the same name, the "Igreja da Santa Isabel", an attractive, pale yellow colonial-style building with two massive towers. It is a good place for tourists to go, because here you will find not only the travel agency, but also a bank and the post office.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodations: Cape Verde

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

View of the church "Igreja da Santa Isabel", an ornate, pale yellow colonial style building with two massive towers in Sal Rei, Boa Vista, Cape Verde - © uigsantos / Shutterstock
© uigsantos / Shutterstock

Walking along the waterfront in Sal Rei, you reach the old harbour and a boatyard. The signs of migration, hunger and crisis are mostly no longer visible, most of the pastel-coloured houses along the Avenida dos Pescadores have been renovated.

Sal Rei has what it takes to become a Mediterranean tourist town. It is still quiet in the streets - children play in the alleys and fishermen put out their nets.

Hustle and bustle in the harbour of Sal Rei on Boa Vista, Cape Verde - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

From the shore, the view always falls on the small Ilheu de Sal Rei off the shore of Boa Vista, which protects Sal Rei from the wildness of the Atlantic and ensures that its bays are excellent for swimming and bathing.

Sal Rei Salt Works

North of the capital Sal Rei, the ruins of the chapel of Nossa Senhora de Fátima can be discovered above the rocky coast, Boa Vista, Cape Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

To the northeast of Sal Rei are the salt flats that once gave the town its name "royal salt". A little further on, above the rocky coast, the ruins of the chapel of Nossa Senhora de Fátima can be discovered.

Hike to the wreck of the Cabo Santa Maria

The famous shipwreck of the Cabo Santa Maria at Praia do Sobrado of Boa Vista, Cape Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

The hike to the wreck of the Cabo Santa Maria takes about 6 hours from Sal Rei. The trail leads through partly impassable, steep and stony terrain and requires good physical condition, sturdy shoes, a hiking map and a sufficient supply of drinking water.

The trail leads from Riba d'Olt, a district in the north of Sal Rei, along a road heading north to Pico Vígia, from where you have a fantastic view of the roaring surf in the depths.

Red-billed tropicbirds show off their flying skills in the updraught and desert ravens complain loudly about the unwanted disturbance. Here, the wreck of the "Cabo Santa Maria" at Praia do Sobrado already appears in the distance to the east.

TheSpanish freighter stranded here in March 1968 due to a navigational error and was carrying cars, drinks, melons, cheese and cork. The rusty skeleton of the freighter has since broken in two and rises ghostly out of the sand.

Advertisement

Tip: There have already been several robberies of tourists travelling alone or in pairs near the wreck. In general, you should not take any (clearly visible) valuables into lonely areas on Boa Vista.

Beaches on Boa Vista

Boa Vista offers 55km of gorgeous beaches that merge almost seamlessly, Cape Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Almost the entire island of Boa Vista on Cape Verde is surrounded by extensive, fine-sand beaches, most of which are completely deserted. Besides endless beach walks, Boa Vista's coasts are also suitable for swimming, diving and surfing.

Boa Vista, like any island, offers a lot of beach, 55km to be exact. The beaches on Boa Vista are the largest and most beautiful in Cape Verde and are among our top 10 attractions in Cape Verde. Sun, sea and waves create excellent conditions for bathers and water sports enthusiasts.

PICTURES: Beaches on Boa Vista, Cape Verde

Photo gallery: Boa Vista - Beaches

Beaches in the West of Boa Vista

Close to the capital Sal Rei is Praia de Cabral in the north and Praia do Estoril in the south. These are protected by the offshore island Ilhéu de Sal Rei and their bays are ideal for swimming.

Praia do Estoril merges directly into Praia de Carlota in the south, where there are beach restaurants as well as surfing and diving stations. Here, especially between November and April, mast-high waves crash onto the beach, where only professional sur fers should venture. This is followed by Praia da Chave, where large hotels provide something like mass tourism.

Beaches in the south of Boa Vista

The beautiful Praia da Varandinha in the southwest of Boa Vista Island, Cape Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Praia da Chave is followed by Praia da Varandinha with its lighthouse, limestone rocks and caves, and the endless Praia Santa Monica. With picturesque rocks and fine, light sand, both are considered the most beautiful beaches on Boa Vista.

Heading east along the south coast, you soon reach Praia do Curral Velho near the village of the same name. Here, date palms provide protection from the sun, and visitors often have to share their shade with goats. On the island off the coast, hundreds of brown boobies and the now rare black frigate birds with a wingspan of over 2 metres can be observed.

Advertisement

And speaking of nature observation: at the nearest beach, Praia de João Barrosa, up to 2,000 sea turtles lay their eggs during the summer nights.

Beaches in the north of Boa Vista

Boa Vista offers 55km of gorgeous beaches that merge almost seamlessly, Cape Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

The beaches in the north-east of the island, Praia as Gatas ("Cat Shark Beach") and Praia do Galeão, are less suitable for swimming, but are ideal for long beach walks. Here you can watch fishermen at work and now and then even dolphins come right up to the beach.

Tip: With the rapid development of tourism, the number of muggings on the beaches has unfortunately also increased. For safety's sake, never go for long walks on the beach alone.

Villages on Boa Vista

If you want to explore the beautiful beaches of Boa Vista, you should also pay a visit to one or the other small village on Boa Vista. Apart from a few houses and colourful churches, you will mainly find peace and quiet in an environment where time seems to have stood still.

Rabil

The now rather sleepy village of Rabil lies south of the capital Sal Rei and was once the main town of Boa Vista. The village offers a beautiful view of the fertile oases at the bottom of the Ribeira do Rabil.

Rabil's main attractions are the sturdy São Roque Church, the oldest church on the island dating from 1801, and a pottery school at the southern entrance to the village. Roof tiles used to be pressed here, today Cape Verdean vases, amphorae, water jugs and traditional pots are made.

Tip: If the pottery is closed, draw attention to yourselves, the neighbours will inform the pottery staff, who will open after a few minutes.

Povoação Velha

From Rabil, half an hour further south, you reach Povoação Velha ("old settlement"). It was, as its name suggests, the first free settlement of Boa Vista at the beginning of the salt trade. Povoação Velha is not visible from the beaches, so it was excellently protected from pirates. Today, from the vantage point Rocha Estânçia, it offers a fantastic view as far as the neighbouring islands of Maio and São Nicolau.

Otherwise, Povoação Velha has small houses around the central square Praçeta de Santo António, the small, colourfully decorated church Igreja Nossa Senhora da Conceição from 1828, a small bar and a few shops - nothing else.

Advertisement

For this reason, most of the visitors are soon gone again and turn further towards the coast to the wonderful beaches.

The beaches on Boa Vista are the largest and most beautiful in Cape Verde - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

Curral Velho

Curral Velho ("old pasture gate") is located in the very south of Boa Vista and has not much to offer apart from its dreamlike surroundings and the Praia de Curral Velho. On the way there, you pass through the idyllic oasis of Fonta Vicente, where vegetables and almond trees are grown.

Along the south coast of Boa Vista to the east is Praia de João Barrosa, which is used by up to 2,000 sea turtles to lay their eggs during the summer nights. Some of the species are already threatened with extinction and so the organisation "Turtle Foundation" has set itself the goal of protecting both the adult turtles and their clutches from human predators - with initial success.

Norte

The east of the island is very lonely and deserted, often you don't meet a soul for long stretches. Norte, in the north-eastern corner of Boa Vista, actually consists of the three villages João Galego, Fundo das Figueiras and Cabeço dos Tarafes. Their inhabitants are comparatively well off and provided with telephone, electricity and schools.

From Fundo das Figueiras, a road branches off to the north coast, to Praia das Gatas ("Cat Shark Beach"). Here a reef protects the coast of the island, fishermen spread their catch out to dry and dolphins come almost to the beach.

Southwest of Cabeço dos Tarafes lies the Oi d'Àgua ("Blue Eye"), the only freshwater lake on the island - in the middle of a breathtaking mountain desert.

Bofareira

Bofareira is located in the north of the island about halfway between Sal Rei and Norte. Embedded in a gentle dune landscape, you can get to know a piece of desert without orientation problems on the way to the beach or on the abandoned track towards Sal Rei.

Advertisement


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Insel Boa Vista, Kap Verde

Boa Vista, die östlichste Insel der Kap Verden, ist eine faszinierende Symphonie aus gleißenden Sanddünen, trockenen Geröllwüsten, verschlafenen Ortschaften und den schönsten und größten Stränden der Inselgruppe.

Boa Vista ist die drittgrößte Insel der Kap Verden und liegt ganz im Osten der Inselgruppe im Atlantik etwa 455km vor der afrikanischen Küste. Hier treffen sich Wüste und Atlantik, denn Boa Vista besteht zum Großteil aus Wanderdünen, die der Wind aus der Sahara bringt, schroffem Geröll, weitläufigen Stränden und kleinen Oasen mit struppigen Dattelpalmen.

Anzeige

BILDER: Top Shots von Boa Vista, Kap Verde

Fotogalerie: Boa Vista – Top Shots

Boa Vista machte ihrem Namen „Schöne Aussicht“ alle Ehre. Vom Massentourismus noch verschont geblieben geht es auf Boa Vista ursprünglich und gemütlich zu. Doch mittlerweile gibt es auch auf Boa Vista einen Flughafen und die ersten Hotels ragen bereits in den Himmel über dem Atlantik.

Tipp: Als günstige Alternative zu Mietautos bieten Autovermieter auf Boa Vista Ausflugsfahrten für ein bis zwei Personen an. Um die gesamte Insel zu erkunden, sollte man zwei Tage veranschlagen.

Hauptstadt Sal Rei

Die Igreja de Santa Isabel ist eines der schönsten Gebäude am gleichnamigen Platz in Sal Rei, der Hauptstadt der Insel Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

Sal Rei, die ruhige Hauptstadt von Boa Vista auf den Kap Verden bietet ein schmuckes Stadtzentrum mit der wichtigsten touristischen Infrastruktur der Insel. Ihre feinsandigen Strände eignen sich zum Baden, Tauchen und Surfen.

Sal Rei liegt im Nordwesten der Insel. Für eine Hauptstadt, in der mit über 2.000 Einwohnern fast die Hälfte der gesamten Inselbevölkerung lebt, wirkt Sal Rei fast verschlafen. Das geruhsame und doch interessante Städtchen zählt zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten der Kap Verden.

BILDER: Hauptstadt Sal Rei auf Boa Vista

Fotogalerie: Boa Vista – Hauptstadt Sal Rei

Zentrum von Sal Rei

Zentrum von Sal Rei ist der belebte Praça de Santa Isabel. Hier werden vor einem malerischen Ambiente aus Blumen und Pavillons Batik-Stoffe, Schnitzereien, Obst und Gemüse verkauft.

Eines der schönsten Gebäude am Praça de Santa Isabel ist die gleichnamige Kirche „Igreja da Santa Isabel“, ein schmuckes, zartgelbes Kolonialstil-Gebäude mit zwei wuchtigen Türmen. Für Touristen eine gute Anlaufstelle, denn hier sind nicht nur das Reisebüro, sondern auch eine Bank und das Postamt zu finden.

Anzeige
Blick auf die Kirche „Igreja da Santa Isabel", ein schmuckes, zartgelbes Kolonialstil-Gebäude mit zwei wuchtigen Türmen in Sal Rei, Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © uigsantos / Shutterstock
© uigsantos / Shutterstock

Spaziert man entlang der Uferpromenade in Sal Rei erreicht man den alten Hafen und eine Bootswerft. Die Zeichen von Abwanderung, Hunger und Krise sind zum Großteil nicht mehr zu sehen, die meisten pastellfarbenen Häuser entlang der Avenida dos Pescadores sind renoviert.

Sal Rei hat das Zeug, ein mediterranes Tourismusstädtchen zu werden. Noch geht es ruhig zu in den Straßen – Kinder spielen in den Gassen und Fischer legen ihre Netze aus.

Geschäftiges Treiben im Hafen von Sal Rei auf Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

Vom Ufer aus fällt der Blick immer auf die kleine Ilheu de Sal Rei vor dem Ufer von Boa Vista, die Sal Rei vor der Wildheit des Atlantiks schützt und dafür sorgt, dass man in seinen Buchten hervorragend baden und schwimmen kann.

Salinen von Sal Rei

Nördlich der Hauptstadt Sal Rei lässt sich oberhalb der Felsküste die Ruine der Kapelle Nossa Senhora de Fátima entdecken, Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Im Nordosten von Sal Rei liegen die Salinen, die der Stadt „königliches Salz“ einst ihren Namen gaben. Noch etwas weiter lässt sich oberhalb der Felsküste die Ruine der Kapelle Nossa Senhora de Fátima entdecken.

Wanderung zum Wrack der Cabo Santa Maria

Das berühmte Schiffswrack der Cabo Santa Maria am Praia do Sobrado von Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Die Wanderung zum Wrack der Cabo Santa Maria dauert von Sal Rei aus etwa 6 Stunden. Der Weg führt durch teilweise unwegsames, steiles und steiniges Gelände und setzt gute Kondition, festes Schuhwerk, eine Wanderkarte und einen ausreichenden Vorrat an Trinkwasser voraus.

Der Weg führt von Riba d’Olt, einem Ortsteil im Norden von Sal Rei über ein Straße Richtung Norden bis zum Pico Vígia, von wo aus man eine fantastische Aussicht auf die tosende Brandung in der Tiefe hat.

Rotschnabeltropikvögel geben im Aufwind ihre Flugkünste zum Besten und Wüstenraben beschweren sich lautstark über die unerwünschte Störung. Hier taucht bereits im Osten in der Ferne das Wrack der „Cabo Santa Maria“ am Praia do Sobrado auf.

Der spanische Frachter strandete hier im März 1968 aufgrund eines Navigationsfehlers und hatte Autos, Getränke, Melonen, Käse und Kork geladen. Das rostige Gerippe des Frachters ist mittlerweile in zwei Teile gebrochen und ragt gespenstisch aus dem Sand.

Anzeige

Tipp: In der Nähe des Wracks ereigneten sich bereits mehrmals Überfälle auf Touristen, die alleine oder zu zweit unterwegs waren. Generell sollten in einsame Gegenden auf Boa Vista möglichst keine (deutlich sichtbaren) Wertgegenstände mitgenommen werden.

Strände auf Boa Vista

Boa Vista bietet 55km traumhafte Strände, die nahezu nahtlos ineinander übergehen, Kap Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Nahezu die gesamte Insel Boa Vista auf Kap Verde ist von weitläufigen, feinsandigen und zum Großteil völlig menschenleeren Stränden umschlossen. Neben endlosen Strandspaziergängen eignen sich Boa Vistas Küsten auch zum Schwimmen, Tauchen und Surfen.

Boa Vista bietet wie jede Insel viel Strand, 55km um genau zu sein. Die Strände auf Boa Vista sind die größten und schönsten der Kap Verden und zählen zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten der Kap Verden. Sonne, Meer und Wellen schaffen exzellente Bedingungen für Badegäste und Wassersportler.

BILDER: Strände auf Boa Vista, Kap Verde

Fotogalerie: Boa Vista – Strände

Strände im Westen von Boa Vista

Gleich in der Nähe der Hauptstadt Sal Rei liegt im Norden der Praia de Cabral und im Süden der Praia do Estoril. Diese sind durch die vorgelagerte Insel Ilhéu de Sal Rei geschützt und ihre Buchten eignen sich hervorragend zum Baden.

Der Praia do Estoril geht im Süden direkt in den Praia de Carlota über, wo es Strandrestaurants, sowie Surf- und Tauchstationen gibt. Hier branden vor allem zwischen November und April masthohe Wellen an den Strand, in die sich nur Profisurfer wagen sollten. Anschließend folgt der Praia da Chave, an dem große Hotels für so etwas wie Massentourismus sorgen.

Strände im Süden von Boa Vista

Der wunderschöne Praia da Varandinha im Südwesten der Insel Boa Vista, Kap Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Nach dem Praia da Chave folgen der Praia da Varandinha mit Leuchtturm, Kalkfelsen und -höhlen und der endlose Praia Santa Monica. Mit malerischen Felsen und feinem, hellem Sand gelten die beiden als schönste Strände auf Boa Vista.

An der Südküste entlang Richtung Osten erreicht man bald den Praia do Curral Velho in der Nähe des gleichnamigen Dorfes. Hier schützen Dattelpalmen vor der Sonne, deren Schatten sich die Besucher des Öfteren auch mit Ziegen teilen müssen. Auf der Insel vor der Küste sind hunderte Brauntölpel und die selten gewordenen schwarzen Fregattvögel mit einer Flügelspannweite von über 2 Metern zu beobachten.

Anzeige

Und apropos Naturbeobachtung: Am nächsten Strand, dem Praia de João Barrosa legen in den Sommernächten bis zu 2.000 Meeresschildkröten ihre Eier ab.

Strände im Norden von Boa Vista

Boa Vista bietet 55km traumhafte Strände, die nahezu nahtlos ineinander übergehen, Kap Verde - © Sabino Parente / Shutterstock
© Sabino Parente / Shutterstock

Die Strände im Nordosten der Insel, der Praia as Gatas („Katzenhaistrand“) und der Praia do Galeão, eignen sich weniger zum Schwimmen, sind jedoch für ausgedehnte Strandspaziergänge ideal. Hier kann man Fischer bei der Arbeit beobachten und hin und wieder kommen sogar Delfine bis an den Strand.

Tipp: Mit der rasanten Entwicklung im Tourismus stieg leider auch die Anzahl der Überfälle an den Stränden. Ausgedehnte Strandspaziergänge daher sicherheitshalber nie allein unternehmen.

Ortschaften auf Boa Vista

Wer die traumhaften Strände von Boa Vista erkunden möchte, sollte auch dem einen oder anderen Örtchen auf Boa Vista einen Besuch abstatten. Abgesehen von ein paar Häusern und bunten Kirchlein findet ihr hier hauptsächlich Ruhe und Frieden in einer Umgebung, in der die Zeit stehen geblieben zu sein scheint.

Rabil

Die heute eher verschlafene Ortschaft Rabil liegt südlich der Hauptstadt Sal Rei und war einst Hauptort von Boa Vista. Das Dorf bietet eine wunderschöne Aussicht auf die fruchtbaren Oasen am Grund der Ribeira do Rabil.

Rabils Hauptattraktionen bestehen in der stämmigen Kirche São Roque, der ältesten Kirche der Insel aus dem Jahr 1801 und in einer Töpferschule am südlichen Ortseingang. Hier wurden früher Dachziegel gepresst, heute werden kapverdische Vasen, Amphoren, Wasserkrüge und traditionelle Töpfe hergestellt.

Tipp: Falls die Töpferwerkstatt geschlossen ist, macht auf euch aufmerksam, die Nachbarn informieren die Mitarbeiter der Töpferei, die nach wenigen Minuten aufmachen.

Povoação Velha

Von Rabil eine halbe Stunde weiter nach Süden erreicht man Povoação Velha („alte Siedlung“). Sie war, wie ihr Name schon sagt, die erste freie Siedlung von Boa Vista zu Beginn des Salzhandels. Von den Stränden aus ist Povoação Velha nicht zu sehen, war somit hervorragend vor Piraten geschützt und bietet heut am Aussichtspunkt Rocha Estânçia einen traumhaften Blick bis zu den Nachbarinseln Maio und São Nicolau.

Ansonsten gibt es in Povoação Velha kleine Häuschen um den zentralen Platz Praçeta de Santo António, die kleine, bunt geschmückte Kirche Igreja Nossa Senhora da Conceição aus dem Jahr 1828, eine kleine Bar und ein paar Läden – sonst nichts.

Anzeige

Aus diesem Grund sind die meisten Besucher auch bald wieder weg und wenden sich weiter Richtung Küste zu den herrlichen Stränden

Die Strände auf Boa Vista sind die größten und schönsten der Kap Verden - © Axel Lauer / Shutterstock
© Axel Lauer / Shutterstock

Curral Velho

Curral Velho („altes Weidegatter“) liegt ganz im Süden von Boa Vista und hat außer seiner traumhaften Umgebung und dem Praia de Curral Velho nicht viel zu bieten. Auf dem Weg dorthin durchfährt man die idyllische Oase Fonta Vicente, in der Gemüse und Mandelbäume angebaut werden.

Entlang der Südküste von Boa Vista nach Osten erstreckt sich der Praia de João Barrosa, der in den Sommernächten von bis zu 2.000 Meeresschildkröten für die Eiablage genutzt wird. Einige der Arten sind bereits vom Aussterben bedroht und so hat sich die Organisation „Turtle Foundation“ zum Ziel gesetzt, sowohl die erwachsenen Schildkröten als auch ihre Gelege vor den menschlichen Räubern zu schützen – mit erstem Erfolg.

Norte

Der Osten der Insel ist sehr einsam und verlassen, oft trifft man über weite Strecken keine Menschenseele. Norte in der Nordostecke von Boa Vista besteht eigentlich aus den drei Ortschaften João Galego, Fundo das Figueiras und Cabeço dos Tarafes. Deren Bewohner sind vergleichsweise wohlhabend und mit Telefon, Strom und Schulen versorgt.

Von Fundo das Figueiras zweigt eine Straße an die Nordküste ab, zum Praia das Gatas („Katzenhai-Strand“). Hier schützt ein Riff die Küste der Insel, Fischer breiten ihren Fang zum Trocknen und Delfine kommen fast bis an den Strand.

Südwestlich von Cabeço dos Tarafes liegt das Oi d’Àgua („Blaues Auge“), der einzige Süßwassersee der Insel – inmitten einer atemberaubenden Gebirgswüste.

Bofareira

Bofareira liegt im Norden der Insel etwa auf halber Strecke zwischen Sal Rei und Norte. Eingebettet in eine sanfte Dünenlandschaft kann man auf dem Weg zum Strand oder auf der verlassenen Trasse in Richtung Sal Rei ohne Orientierungsprobleme ein Stückchen Wüste kennenlernen.

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: