National Jewellery Museum in Tehran, Iran

The National Jewellery Museum in Tehran is located in the vaults of the Central Bank and presents fantastic treasures of unimaginable value, including some of the largest diamonds in the world.

The National Jewellery Museum in Tehran contains the country's greatest treasures, one of the most valuable collections in the world, which is also unmatched in size by any other state exhibition in the world.

Advertisement

The National Jewellery Museum is located in the Central Bank of Tehran on Ferdowsi Avenue and now belongs to the Republic of Iran. In the strictly guarded rooms of the central bank lie unique treasures whose astronomical value no expert in the world dares to estimate. Even today, they are used in the case to strengthen the Iranian currency.

Crown Jewels of the Iranian Shahs

The highlight of the National Jewellery Museum is undoubtedly the Iranian crown jewels. Diamond- and gem-studded crowns, tiaras, hair ornaments, sceptres, swords and shields, tablecloths, tableware and flasks sparkle here under impressive lighting. The royal robe is also part of the crown jewels.

The incredible treasures were amassed by the Iranian monarchy over 2,500 years of existence. The jewel collection was largely acquired by the Safavids in the 16th to early 18th centuries. When Isfahan, the former capital of Persia, was sacked by the Afghans in 1719, many national treasures were lost.

However, these were retrieved by Nadir Shah 20 years later in his campaign against Afghanistan, and because they were already in the area, they also sacked Delhi in northern India, whereby Indian diamonds, rubies, emeralds and sapphires were also incorporated into the Iranian crown jewels.

For example, the Koh-i Noor diamond ("Mountain of Light") and the pink Darya-ye Noor diamond ("Ocean of Light"), both among the largest diamonds in the world, the Shah diamond, the Peacock Throne and the Samarian Spinel, the largest of its kind, arrived in Iran.

The crown jewels were last used during the reign of Shah Pahlavi, which is why the royal crown is still called the Phalavi Crown today. After being overthrown by the Iranian revolution under Ayatollah Khomeini in 1979, the crown jewels were kept under lock and key in the vaults of the Central Bank of Iran. It is only since 1990 that they can be viewed again.

Other incredible pieces of jewellery include a 34kg globe made of pure gold, with continents made of emeralds, Great Britain and Southeast Asia made of diamonds and India made of rubies. The lines of longitude and latitude were also laid from the finest diamonds.

Advertisement

The National Jewellery Museum in Tehran is of course an absolute must for every jewellery lover. But not only that. Every piece in the vaults of the Jewellery Museum also reflects a small part of Iranian history, tells of wars and kings, losses and victories. Brochures in various languages, including German, are available to help visitors better understand the fantastic works of art and jewellery. In addition to Persian, English-, French- and Russian-language guided tours of the Jewellery Museum are also offered.

Further links:

The Jewellery Museum on the official site of the National Bank of Iran incl. opening hours and prices (English)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Nationales Juwelenmuseum in Teheran, Iran

Im Juwelenmuseum in Teheran befinden sich die kostbarsten Schätze des Iran, hier die Krönungskette - © PD /Wiki
© PD /Wiki

Das nationale Juwelenmuseum in Teheran befindet sich in den Gewölben der Zentralbank und präsentiert fantastische Schätze von unvorstellbarem Wert, darunter einige der größten Diamanten der Welt.

Das nationale Juwelenmuseum in Teheran enthält die größten Schätze des Landes, eine der wertvollsten Sammlungen weltweit, die auch an Umfang von weltweit keiner sonstigen staatlichen Ausstellung auf einem Fleck übertroffen wird.

Das nationale Juwelenmuseum befindet sich in der Zentralbank von Teheran in der Ferdowsi Avenue und gehört mittlerweile der Republik Iran. In den streng bewachten Räumen der Zentralbank liegen einzigartige Schätze, deren astronomischen Wert kein Experte der Welt zu schätzen wagt. Noch heute werden sie im Fall verwendet, um die iranische Währung zu stärken.

Kronjuwelen der iranischen Shahs

Das Highlight im nationalen Juwelenmuseum sind zweifelsohne die iranischen Kronjuwelen. Diamant- und edelsteinbesetzte Kronen, Tiaras, Haarschmuck, Zepter, Schwerter und Schilde, Tischtücher, Geschirr und Flakons funkeln hier unter eindrucksvoller Beleuchtung um die Wette. Auch die Königsrobe ist Teil der Kronjuwelen.

Die unglaublichen Schätze wurden über 2.500 Jahre des Bestehens von der iranischen Monarchie angehäuft. Die Juwelensammlung wurde zum Großteil von den Safawiden im 16. bis Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts erworben. Als 1719 Isfahan, die einstige Hauptstadt Persiens, von den Afghanen geplündert wurde, gingen viele nationale Schätze verloren.

Diese wurden jedoch von Nadir Shah 20 Jahre später in seinem Feldzug gegen Afghanistan wieder zurückgeholt, und weil man schon einmal in der Gegend war, plünderte man auch gleich Delhi in Nordindien, wodurch auch indische Diamanten, Rubine, Smaragde und Saphire den iranischen Kronjuwelen einverleibt wurden.

So gelangten zum Beispiel der Koh-i-Noor-Diamant („Berg des Lichts”) und der rosafarbene Darya-ye Noor-Diamant („Ozean des Lichts”), die beide zu den größten Diamanten der Welt gehören, der Shah-Diamant, der Pfauenthron und der Samarische Spinell, der größte seiner Art, in den Iran.

Zum letzten Mal kamen die Kronjuwelen unter der Herrschaft von Shah Pahlavi zum Einsatz, daher heißt die Königskrone bis heute noch Phalavi-Krone. Nachdem sie 1979 durch die iranische Revolution unter Ayatollah Chomeini gestürzt wurden, wurden die Kronjuwelen in den Tresorräumen der iranischen Zentralbank unter Verschluss gehalten. Erst seit 1990 können sie wieder besichtigt werden.

Weitere unglaubliche Schmuckstücke sind eine 34kg schwere Weltkugel aus purem Gold, deren Kontinente aus Smaragden, Großbritannien und Südostasien aus Diamanten und Indien aus Rubinen bestehen. Die Längen- und Breitengradlinien wurden ebenfalls aus feinsten Diamanten gelegt.

Das nationale Juwelenmuseum in Teheran ist natürlich ein absolutes Muss für jeden Schmuckliebhaber. Doch nicht nur das. Jedes Stück in den Gewölben des Juwelenmuseums spiegelt auch einen kleinen Teil iranischer Geschichte wider, erzählt von Kriegen und Königen, Verlusten und Siegen. Um die fantastischen Kunstwerke und Geschmeide besser einordnen zu können, stehen Broschüren in verschiedensten Sprachen, darunter auch Deutsch, zur Verfügung. Neben persischen werden auch englisch-, französisch- und russisch-sprachige Führungen durch das Juwelenmuseum angeboten.

Weiterführende Links:

Das Juwelenmuseum auf der offiziellen Seite der iranischen Nationalbank inkl. Öffnungszeiten und Preise (englisch)