The Top 10 Sights of Cuba

Travel to Cuba completely without tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions of Cuba! What are the highlights and attractions you can't miss when vacationing in Cuba?

Cuba attracts visitors from all over the world to the Caribbean with its fantastic attractions. Breathtaking diving sites, enchanting historic cities, such as Havana or Cienfuegos, and the relaxed Cuban atmosphere guarantee a pure vacation mood.

Advertisement

Havana old town

You can stroll for hours through the typical Caribbean alleyways in Old Havana, Cuba - © Kamira / Shutterstock
© Kamira / Shutterstock

The old town of Havana, Cuba's capital, is one of the most worth seeing old quarters in the world. Some of the many pastel-colored colonial buildings are among the first in the Americas and brim with interesting history. The mighty fortifications of Havana have been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Also worth seeing is the Revolutionary Museum about Fidel Castro and Che Guevara or the Cathedral of San Cristóbal, one of the oldest churches in the Americas.

Article: Top 10 places to visit in Havana
Photo gallery: Old Havana

Cuba beaches

Cuba's 6,000km coastline offers several hundred paradise beaches of white sand and calm turquoise sea - © DUSAN ZIDAR / Shutterstock
© DUSAN ZIDAR / Shutterstock

What would a Caribbean island be without its beaches? Of course, most travelers come to Cuba for a beach vacation. Quite rightly, because along Cuba's 6,000km long coastline, 400 picture-book beaches offer Caribbean flair at its best.

On the quiet south coast, relaxation is a priority, while hot salsa rhythms for dancing through the night can be found on the north coast. Diving is a real pleasure almost everywhere, including in the Jardines de la Reina, the fourth longest coral reef in the world.

Article: The 10 most beautiful beaches of Cuba

Desembarco del Granma National Park

Palm trees in Desembarco del Granma National Park, Cuba - © PHB.cz (Richard Semik) / Shutterstock
© PHB.cz (Richard Semik) / Shutterstock

Anyone interested in Cuba's history can't miss the Desembarco del Granma National Park. With the "Granma" Fidel Castro and Che Guevara landed here in 1956 to overthrow the dictatorship. Otherwise, the national park is known for its plant diversity and its striking cliffs that rise up between the Caribbean and North American continental plates.

Article: National Park Desembarco del Granma

Advertisement

Valle de Viñales

Valle de Viñales is one of the most beautiful areas of Cuba - © kmiragaya / Fotolia
© kmiragaya / Fotolia

The fabulous Viñales Valley is - perhaps apart from Cuba's gorgeous beaches - the most scenic area of the Caribbean island. Lush meadows with low bushes and small palm groves cover an impressive hilly landscape in the west of the island, which is considered the oldest region in Cuba. The so-called "mogotes" were formed 170 million years ago and contain an equally ancient flora and fauna.

Article: Valle de Viñales

Historic Centre of Cienfuegos

Pedestrian zone in Cienfuegos, one of the cleanest and most well-kept cities in Cuba; its nickname "La Perla del Sur," the Pearl of the South - © Altair de Bruin / Fotolia
© Altair de Bruin / Fotolia

After Havana, "the Pearl of the South" has Cuba's most beautiful old town to offer. The historic center of Cienfuegos was still a notorious pirate port in the 18th century, but today its imposing streets, churches and palaces are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Article: Top 10 places to visit in Cienfuegos

Capitolio Nacional in Havana

The Capitolio Nacional, a domed building about a hundred meters high, was modeled on the Capitol in Washington, D.C., Havana, Cuba - © Regien Paassen / Shutterstock
© Regien Paassen / Shutterstock

In the picturesque old town of Havana, the all-surpassing Capitolio Nacional is worth mentioning as a sight in its own right. The impressive Capitolio with its 100m high dome is one of the most imposing pre-revolutionary buildings in Cuba.

Today it houses the National Library and the Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment. During guided tours, a monstrous 25-carat diamond and the third largest indoor statue in the world can be seen.

Article: Capitolio Nacional in Havana

Jardines de la Reina

Tropical fish in one of the world's most spectacular underwater paradises, Jardines de la Reina, Cuba - © vilainecrevette / Fotolia
© vilainecrevette / Fotolia

The Jardines de la Reina were already named after the Spanish queen by the discoverer Christopher Columbus. Around 600 coral islands form the fourth largest coral reef in the world over a length of 120 kilometers. It is under strict nature protection and could preserve its originality. It is not for nothing that the queen's species-rich gardens are also known as the "Galapagos of the Caribbean.

Advertisement

Article: Jardines de la Reina

Jardines del Rey

Beach on the island of Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Cuba - © PHB.cz / Fotolia
© PHB.cz / Fotolia

The counterpart to the southern Jardines de la Reina are the Jardines del Rey off Cuba's north coast. They belong to the paradisiacal island chain Sabana Camagüey and are an attractive vacation destination not only for divers. White sandy beaches and turquoise blue waves invite you to swim and relax, a steady wind attracts surfers and sailors and the exotic forests in the hinterland are waiting to be discovered.

Article: Jardines del Rey

La Tropicana in Havana

A dance show to live music at La Tropicana in the Cuban capital Havana, the largest nightclub in the world, Cuba - © gary yim / Shutterstock
© gary yim / Shutterstock

Old Havana not only has historic architecture to offer, but also the world's largest nightclub.La Tropicanais all about music and dance, especially dancers who put on a show in a sea of light and color. Afterwards, the dance floor belongs to the guests with live music until the wee hours of the morning.

Article: La Tropicana in Havana

Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca

The Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca, on the southern coast of Cuba guards the entrance to the bay to Santiogo de Cuba - © Richard Semik / Shutterstock
© Richard Semik / Shutterstock

The Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca is located about 10km from Santiago de Cuba and is amazingly well preserved to this day. The impressive fortress was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and today houses a pirate museum. From the battlements, still equipped with cannons, the view falls for miles over the Caribbean Sea.

Article: Castillo de San Pedro de la Roca in Santiago de Cuba

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Kuba

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Kuba reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Kuba! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub auf Kuba auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Kuba lockt mit seinen fantastischen Attraktionen Besucher aus aller Welt in die Karibik. Atemberaubende Tauchgründe, zauberhafte historische Städte, wie Havanna oder Cienfuegos, und die entspannte kubanische Atmosphäre garantieren Urlaubsstimmung pur.

Altstadt von Havanna

Stundenlang kann man durch die typisch karibischen Gässchen in der Altstadt von Havanna flanieren, Kuba - © Kamira / Shutterstock
© Kamira / Shutterstock

Die Altstadt von Havanna, Kubas Hauptstadt, zählt zu den sehenswertesten Altstadtvierteln der Welt. Einige der vielen pastellfarbenen Kolonialbauten zählen zu den ersten des amerikanischen Kontinents und strotzen nur so vor interessanter Geschichte. Die mächtigen Festungen von Havanna wurden von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Strände auf Kuba

Die 6.000km lange Küstenlinie Kubas bietet mehrere hundert paradiesische Strände mit weißem Sand und ruhigem, türkisblauem Meer - © DUSAN ZIDAR / Shutterstock
© DUSAN ZIDAR / Shutterstock

Was wäre eine Karibik-Insel ohne ihre Strände? Natürlich kommen die meisten Reisenden zum Bade-Urlaub auf Kuba. Völlig zurecht, denn entlang Kubas 6.000km langer Küste bieten an die 400 Bilderbuch-Strände Karibik-Flair vom Feinsten. An der ruhigen Südküste wird Entspannung großgeschrieben, heiße Salsa-Rhythmen für durchtanzte Nächte gibt es an der Nordküste. Tauchen ist so gut wie überall eine wahre Freude, unter anderem in den Jardines de la Reina, dem viertlängsten Korallenriff der Welt.

Zum Artikel …

Nationalpark Desembarco del Granma

Palmen im Nationalpark Desembarco del Granma, Kuba - © PHB.cz (Richard Semik) / Shutterstock
© PHB.cz (Richard Semik) / Shutterstock

Wer sich für Kubas Geschichte interessiert, kommt am Nationalpark Desembarco del Granma nicht vorbei. Mit der „Granma“ landeten hier 1956 Fidel Castro und Che Guevara, um die Diktatur zu stürzen. Ansonsten ist der Nationalpark für seine Pflanzenvielfalt und seine markanten Klippen bekannt, die sich zwischen der Karibischen und der Nordamerikanischen Kontinentalplatte auftun.

Zum Artikel …

Valle de Viñales

Das Valle de Viñales ist eines der schönsten Gebiete von Kuba - © kmiragaya / Fotolia
© kmiragaya / Fotolia

Das märchenhafte Viñales-Tal ist – vielleicht abgesehen von Kubas traumhaften Stränden – das landschaftlich schönste Gebiet der Karibik-Insel. Saftige Wiesen mit niedrigen Büschen und kleinen Palmenhainen überziehen eine eindrucksvolle Hügellandschaft, die als älteste Region Kubas gilt. Die so genannten „Mogoten“ entstanden vor 170 Millionen Jahren und erhalten eine ebenso uralte Flora und Fauna.

Zum Artikel …

Historisches Zentrum von Cienfuegos

Fußgängerzone in Cienfuegos, einer der saubersten und gepflegtesten Städte Kubas; ihr Spitzname „La Perla del Sur", die Perle des Südens - © Altair de Bruin / Fotolia
© Altair de Bruin / Fotolia

Nach Havanna hat „die Perle des Südens“ Kubas schönste Altstadt zu bieten. Das historische Zentrum von Cienfuegos war im 18. Jahrhundert noch ein berüchtigter Piratenhafen, heute zählen die imposanten Straßen, Kirchen und Paläste zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Zum Artikel …

Capitolio Nacional in Havanna

Das Capitolio Nacional, ein an die hundert Meter hoher Kuppelbau, wurde dem Kapitol in Washington D.C. nachempfunden, Havanna, Kuba - © Regien Paassen / Shutterstock
© Regien Paassen / Shutterstock

In der pittoresken Altstadt von Havanna ist das alles überragende Capitolio Nacional als eigene Sehenswürdigkeit zu erwähnen. Das eindrucksvolle Kapitol mit der 100m hohen Kuppel zählt zu den imposantesten vorrevolutionären Bauten Kubas. Heute beherbergt es die Nationalbibliothek und das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Umwelt. Im Zuge von Führungen können ein monströser 25karätiger Diamant und die drittgrößte Indoor-Statue der Welt besichtigt werden.

Zum Artikel …

Jardines de la Reina

Tropische Fische in einem der weltweit spektakulärsten Unterwasserparadiese, Jardines de la Reina, Kuba - © vilainecrevette / Fotolia
© vilainecrevette / Fotolia

Die Jardines de la Reina wurden bereits vom Entdecker Christoph Kolumbus nach der spanischen Königin benannt. Rund 600 Koralleninseln formen hier auf einer Länge von 120 Kilometer das viertgrößte Korallenriff der Welt. Es steht unter strengem Naturschutz und konnte sich seine Ursprünglichkeit bewahren. Nicht umsonst werden die Gärten der Königin auch als „Galapagos der Karibik“ bezeichnet.

Zum Artikel …

Jardines del Rey

Strand auf der Insel Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Kuba - © PHB.cz / Fotolia
© PHB.cz / Fotolia

Das Pendant zu den südlich gelegenen Jardines de la Reina sind vor Kubas Nordküste die Jardines del Rey. Sie gehören zur paradiesischen Inselkette Sabana Camagüey und sind nicht nur für Taucher ein attraktives Urlaubsziel. Weiße Sandstrände und türkisblaue Wellen laden zum Baden und Relaxen ein, ein stetiger Wind lockt Surfer und Segler und auch die exotischen Wälder im Hinterland warten darauf entdeckt zu werden.

Zum Artikel …

La Tropicana in Havanna

Eine Tanzshow zu Live-Musik im La Tropicana in der kubanischen Hauptstadt Havanna, dem größten Nachtclub der Welt, Kuba - © gary yim / Shutterstock
© gary yim / Shutterstock

Die Altstadt von Havanna hat nicht nur historische Architektur, sondern auch den weltgrößten Nachtclub zu bieten. Im „La Tropicana“ dreht sich alles um Musik und Tanz, vor allem Tänzerinnen, die in einem Meer aus Licht und Farben ihre Show abziehen. Danach gehört die Tanzfläche den Gästen mit Live Musik bis in die frühen Morgenstunden.

Zum Artikel …

Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca

Das Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca, an der südlichen Küste Kubas bewacht die Einfahrt in die Bucht zu Santiogo de Cuba  - © Richard Semik / Shutterstock
© Richard Semik / Shutterstock

Das Castillo de san Pedro de la Roca liegt rund 10km von Santiago de Cuba entfernt und ist bis heute erstaunlich gut erhalten. Die eindrucksvolle Festung wurde von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt und beherbergt heute ein Piraten-Museum. Von den immer noch mit Kanonen bestückten Zinnen fällt der Blick kilometerweit über das Karibische Meer.

Zum Artikel …