Wadi Shaam in Ras al Khaimah, UAE (United Arab Emirates)

Wadi Shaam in the north of Ras al Khaimah is located in the Hajar Mountains, the border mountain range to the Omani exclave of Musandam, and is characterised by vegetation-free mountains and spectacular steep walls.

Wadi Shaam is located in the United Arab Emirates in the very north of Ras al Khaimah and is one of our top 10 attractions in the United Arab Emirates. By car, Wadi Shaam can be reached in half an hour from Ras al Khaimah city, the capital of the emirate, via the E11.

Advertisement

On the way from Ras al Khaimah to Wadi Shaam, you drive through several small villages (Al Rams, Ghalila), which do not offer any tourist highlights, but reflect very well the typical and still somewhat quieter life in the United Arab Emirates.

PICTURES: Wadi Shaam

Photo Gallery: Wadi Shaam in Ras al Khaimah

If you want to enjoy the sea without the crowds, you always have the opportunity to drive along the coastline on the spur roads. However, you should not expect any tourist infrastructure, but in return you will get pleasant peace and idyll with partly magnificent views of the Hajar Mountains.

On the way in Wadi Shaam

The rock faces in Wadi Shaam often rise several hundred meters steeply, UAE - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

There are good roads leading into the wadi, some of them through breathtaking gorges and far into the spectacular mountains. Some adventurous passages, where the track is bordered on the left and right by several hundred metres of steep rock faces, are not for people with claustrophobia.

At the end of the levelled paths, numerous oasis gardens nestle at the foot of the impressive Hajar Mountains, offering unique photo motifs with lush green palm trees in front of mighty scree slopes.

Tip: If you venture onto the tracks through the Hajjar Mountains by off-road vehicle, you will have stunning views from Wadi Shaam, which often reach all the way to the coast.

On the other side of the Hajar Mountains lies Musandam, the exclave of Oman, which is also known for its spectacular rugged mountains and a dreamlike fjord landscape.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Wadi Shaam in Ras al-Khaimah, VAE (Vereinigte Arabische Emirate)

Das Wadi Shaam im Norden von Ras al Khaima liegt in den Hadschar-Bergen, dem Grenzgebirge zur omanischen Exklave Musandam, und zeichnet sich durch vegetationslose Berge und spektakuläre Steilwände aus.

Das Wadi Shaam liegt in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten ganz im Norden von Ras al Khaimah und gehört zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate. Mit dem Auto kann das Wadi Shaam von Ras al Khaimah-Stadt, der Hauptstadt des Emirats, über die E11 in einer halben Stunde erreicht werden.

Anzeige

Am Weg von Ras al Khaimah zum Wadi Shaam fährt man durch mehrere kleine Ortschaften (Al Rams, Ghalila), die zwar keine touristischen Highlights bieten, aber sehr gut das typische und noch etwas geruhsamere Leben in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten widerspiegeln.

BILDER: Wadi Shaam

 

Wer einmal das Meer ohne großen Menschenauflauf genießen will, hat auf der Strecke immer wieder die Möglichkeit über Stichstraßen an die Küstenlinie vorzufahren. Touristische Infrastruktur darf man sich allerdings keine erwarten, dafür erhält man im Gegenzug wohltuende Ruhe und Idylle mit teils großartigen Ausblicken auf das Hadschar-Gebirge.

Unterwegs im Wadi Shaam

Die Felswände im Wadi Shaam ragen oft mehrere hundert Meter steil auf, VAE - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In das Wadi führen gut befahrbare Pisten, die teils durch atemberaubende Schluchten, bis weit in die spektakulären Berge hinein führen. Einige abenteuerliche Passagen, auf denen die Piste links und rechts von mehrere hundert Meter steil aufragenden Felswänden begrenzt ist, sind nichts für Menschen mit Klaustrophobie.

Am Ende der planierten Wege schmiegen sich zahlreiche Oasengärten an den Fuß des eindrucksvollen Hadschar-Gebirges, die mit sattgrünen Palmen vor mächtigen Geröllhalden einmalige Fotomotive bieten.

Tipp: Wer sich mit dem Geländewagen auf die Pisten durch das Hadschar-Gebirge vorwagt, hat aus dem Wadi Shaam überwältigende Ausblicke, die oft bis an die Küste reichen.

Auf der anderen Seite der Hadschar-Berge liegt bereits Musandam, die Exklave des Oman, die ebenfalls für ihre spektakuläre schroffe Bergwelt und eine traumhafte Fjordlandschaft bekannt ist.

Anzeige





Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige