The Top 10 Sights of Japan

Travel to Japan without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 sights of Japan! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in Japan?

Japan is a unique country with unique people and a unique culture. The island nation in the far east has something to offer for everyone, whether magical national parks with fantastic nature, historic buildings as witnesses of past centuries or bustling cities with millions of inhabitants all under the sign of the latest technology.

Advertisement

Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji in spring, Japan - © toraya / Fotolia
© toraya / Fotolia

Mount Fuji is not only famous as Japan's sacred and highest mountain, but is also one of the most beautiful mountains in the world. Rising up to 3,776m, the summit of the dormant volcano is almost completely symmetrical and is relatively easy to climb. Japan's landmark is particularly photogenic during the cherry blossom season with its snow-covered summit.

Article: Mount Fuji
Photo gallery: Mount Fuji

Nikko National Park

The 2,484-metre-high Nantai volcano in Nikko National Park can be climbed from the beginning of May to the end of October on an easily accessible trail, Japan - © orikazu / Shutterstock
© orikazu / Shutterstock

An attractive mix of beautiful scenery and historic buildings, Nikko National Park is considered Japan's most beautiful national park. Hidden among the lush vegetation in one of the oldest national parks in the country are bridges, temples and shrines that are even UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Particularly famous is the Nikko Tōshō-gū, considered the most beautiful Shinto shrine in Japan.

Article: Nikko National Park
Photo gallery: Nikko National Park

Tokyo Skytree

At 634 metres, the Skytree in Tokyo is the tallest tower in the world, Japan - © skyearth / Shutterstock
© skyearth / Shutterstock

If you ' re out and about in Japan's capital, you can't miss the Skytree. Since 2012, the world's tallest TV tower has been Tokyo's new landmark. It is a gigantic 634 metres high and offers a spectacular view of the city from two viewing platforms. On a clear day, you can even see Mount Fuji rising into the sky a good 100 kilometres away.

Article: Tokyo Skytree

Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

The Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium holds the world record for the largest saltwater aquarium, Japan - © leungchopan / Fotolia
© leungchopan / Fotolia

On the Japanese island of Okinawa, the Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium is the largest saltwater aquarium in the world. Even whale sharks make their circles in the enormous 10-metre-high tank! Other highlights are the manta rays, dolphin shows, around 70 different coral species and the deep-sea pool, whose bizarre inhabitants hardly anyone has ever seen before.

Advertisement

Article: Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

Daibatsu ("Great Buddha") in Kamakura

The Daibatsu, "Great Buddha" in the temple city of Kamakura is the second largest bronze Buddha statue in Japan, standing 13 metres tall - © Filip Fuxa / Shutterstock
© Filip Fuxa / Shutterstock

The fascinating temple town of Kamakura is home to Japan's second tallest Buddha statue at 13 metres. The monumental bronze Buddha Daibatsu dates from the 13th century and is one of the world's most important images of Buddha Amitabha. The 100-ton statue can even be visited from the inside.

Article: Daibatsu (Great Buddha) in Kamakura

Shinto Shrine in Itsukushima

The famous wooden "Torii" on Itsukushima Island at sunset, Japan - © SeanPavonePhoto / Fotolia
© SeanPavonePhoto / Fotolia

An impressive example of Japanese architecture, the Shinto shrine in Itsukushima is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The bright red buildings seem to float on the water and were not allowed to be entered by ordinary citizens for a long time. The fiery red wooden gate of the shrine is one of the most famous postcard motifs of Japan.

Article: Shinto Shrine in Itsukushima

Himeji Castle

The 17th century Himeji Castle (also called Himeji-jō) is one of the oldest buildings in Japan and is considered the most beautiful and most visited castle - © Martin Mette / Shutterstock
© Martin Mette / Shutterstock

The 32m-high Himeji Castle is one of the oldest well-preserved buildings in Japan. Not even the bombs of the Second World War could harm it. With its typical Japanese roofs and winding alleys, the snow-white castle on the mountain top is considered Japan's most beautiful and also most visited castle.

Article: Himeji Castle

Kyōto Tower in Kyōto

The 131 metre high Kyoto Tower in the evening, Japan - © Ghettog76 / Fotolia
© Ghettog76 / Fotolia

Amidst the time-honoured shrines and temples of Kyōto, the 130m-high Kyōto Tower rises into the Japanese sky as the city's tallest building. At a height of 100 metres, a viewing platform offers a magnificent panoramic view. Initially controversial as to whether such a steel and glass colossus would fit into the image of the traditional old town, the candle-shaped tower has since become an integral part of the Kyōto skyline.

Advertisement

Article: Kyoto Tower in Kyoto

Peace Monument in Hiroshima

The Peace Memorial in the Japanese coastal city of Hiroshima, also known as the "Atomic Bomb Dome", commemorates the victims of the atomic bomb of 6 August 1945, Japan - © kessudap / Shutterstock
© kessudap / Shutterstock

As the Hiroshima Peace Memorial, the bare skeleton of a building commemorates the atomic bomb of August 1945 and its approximately 140,000 victims. It is located almost exactly at ground zero, where the atomic bomb would have hit had it not exploded in the air. The so-called "Atomic Bomb Dome" is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is considered a memorial to the first wartime use of the atomic bomb in human history.

Article: Peace Monument in Hiroshima

Bandai Asahi National Park

The mountain world of Bandai Asahi National Park in Japan is home to crystal-clear lakes and lush vegetation - © Luftikus / Shutterstock
© Luftikus / Shutterstock

Japan's third-largest national park covers an area of 186,400 hectares and is home to a wildly romantic mountain landscape with lush green forests, crystal-clear lakes and flowering alpine meadows. Similar to the Nikko National Park, hidden temples and shrines keep popping up in the varied landscape of Bandai Asahi National Park.

Article: National Park Bandai Asahi

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Japan

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Japan reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Japan! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Japan auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Mount Fuji

Der Berg Fuji im Frühjahr, Japan - © toraya / Fotolia
© toraya / Fotolia

Der Mount Fuji ist nicht nur als Japans heiliger und höchster Berg berühmt, sondern zählt auch zu den schönsten Bergen der Welt. Der bis zu 3.776m hoch aufstrebende Gipfel des schlafenden Vulkans ist nahezu völlig symmetrisch und kann noch dazu verhältnismäßig leicht bestiegen werden. Besonders fotogen zeigt sich Japans Wahrzeichen zur Kirschblüte mit schneebedecktem Gipfel.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Nikko Nationalpark

Der 2.484 Meter hohe Vulkan Nantai im Nikko-Nationalpark kann von Anfang Mai bis Ende Oktober auf einem gut begehbaren Pfad bestiegen werden, Japan - © orikazu / Shutterstock
© orikazu / Shutterstock

Als attraktive Mischung zwischen herrlicher Landschaft und historischen Bauwerken gilt der Nikko Nationalpark als schönster Nationalpark Japans. Zwischen der üppigen Vegetation verbergen sich in einem der ältesten Nationalparks des Landes Brücken, Tempel und Schreine, die sogar zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO zählen. Besonders berühmt ist der Nikko Tōshō-gū, der als schönster Shinto-Schrein Japans gilt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Skytree in Tokio

Der Skytree in Tokio ist mit 634 Metern der höchste Turm der Welt, Japan - © skyearth / Shutterstock
© skyearth / Shutterstock

Wer in Japans Hauptstadt unterwegs ist, kann den Skytree gar nicht übersehen. Seit 2012 gilt der welthöchste Fernsehturm als neues Wahrzeichen von Tokio. Gigantische 634 Meter ist er hoch und bietet auf zwei Aussichtsplattformen einen spektakulären Blick über die Stadt. An klaren Tagen sieht man in gut 100 Kilometern Entfernung sogar den Mount Fuji in den Himmel ragen.

Zum Artikel …

Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

Das Okinawa-Churaumi-Aquarium hält den weltweiten Rekord des größten Salzwasser-Aquariums, Japan - © leungchopan / Fotolia
© leungchopan / Fotolia

Auf der japanischen Insel Okinawa ist im Okinawa-Churaumi-Aquarium das größte Salzwasser-Aquarium der Welt zu bestaunen. In dem gewaltigen Becken mit 10 Metern Höhe ziehen sogar Walhaie ihre Kreise! Weitere Highlights sind die Manta-Rochen, Delfinshows, rund 70 verschiedene Korallenarten und das Tiefseebecken, dessen skurrile Bewohner zuvor wohl kaum noch jemand zu Gesicht bekommen hat.

Zum Artikel …

Daibatsu (“Großer Buddha”) in Kamakura

Der Daibatsu, „Großer Buddha“ in der Tempelstadt Kamakura ist mit einer Höhe von 13 Metern die zweitgrößte Bronze Buddha-Statue Japans - © Filip Fuxa / Shutterstock
© Filip Fuxa / Shutterstock

In der faszinierenden Tempelstadt Kamakura ist mit 13 Metern die zweithöchste Buddha-Statue Japans zu bewundern. Der monumentale Bronze-Buddha Daibatsu stammt aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und ist eines der weltweit bedeutendsten Bildnisse des Buddha Amitabha. Die 100 Tonnen schwere Statue kann sogar von innen besichtigt werden.

Zum Artikel …

Shinto-Schrein in Itsukushima

Das berühmte hölzerne „Torii“ auf der Insel Itsukushima bei Sonnenuntergang, Japan - © SeanPavonePhoto / Fotolia
© SeanPavonePhoto / Fotolia

Als imposantes Beispiel japanischer Architektur steht der Shinto-Schrein in Itsukushima auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes. Die leuchtend roten Gebäude scheinen scheinbar auf dem Wasser zu schweben und durften von einfachen Bürgern lange nicht betreten werden. Das feuerrote Holztor des Schreins zählt zu den berühmtesten Postkarten-Motiven von Japan.

Zum Artikel …

Burg von Himeji

Die Burg von Himeji (auch Himeji-jō genannt) aus dem 17. Jahrhundert ist eines der ältesten Bauwerke Japans und gilt als schönstes und meistbesuchtes Schloss - © Martin Mette / Shutterstock
© Martin Mette / Shutterstock

Die 32m hohe Burg von Himeji zählt zu den ältesten gut erhaltenen Bauwerken Japans. Nicht einmal die Bomben im Zweiten Weltkrieg konnten ihr etwas anhaben. Mit seinen typisch japanischen Dächern und den verwinkelten Gassen gilt die schneeweiße Burg am Berggipfel als Japans schönstes und auch meistbesuchtes Schloss.

Zum Artikel …

Kyōto Tower in Kyōto

Der 131 Meter hohe Kyoto Tower am Abend, Japan - © Ghettog76 / Fotolia
© Ghettog76 / Fotolia

Inmitten der altehrwürdigen Schreine und Tempel von Kyōto ragt der 130m hohe Kyōto Tower als höchstes Bauwerk der Stadt in den japanischen Himmel. In 100 Metern Höhe bietet eine Aussichtsplattform einen herrlichen Rundumblick. Am Anfang kontrovers diskutiert, ob ein derartiger Stahl- und Glas-Koloss ins Bild der traditionellen Altstadt passt, ist der kerzenförmige Turm aus der Skyline von Kyōto mittlerweile nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Zum Artikel …

Friedensdenkmal in Hiroshima

Das Friedensdenkmal in der japanischen Küstenstadt Hiroshima, auch unter „Atombombenkuppel“ bekannt, erinnert an die Opfer der Atombombe vom 6. August 1945, Japan - © kessudap / Shutterstock
© kessudap / Shutterstock

Als Friedensdenkmal von Hiroshima erinnert das nackte Gerippe eines Gebäudes an die Atombombe vom August 1945 und deren rund 140.000 Opfer. Es liegt nahezu exakt am Bodennullpunkt, dort wo die Atombombe aufgeschlagen wäre, wäre sie nicht in der Luft explodiert. Die so genannte „Atombombenkuppel“ zählt zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe und gilt als Gedenkstätte für den ersten Kriegseinsatz der Atombombe in der Menschheitsgeschichte.

Zum Artikel …

Nationalpark Bandai Asahi

Die Gebirgswelt des Bandai-Asahi-Nationalparks in Japan beherbergt glasklare Seen und eine üppige Vegetation - © Luftikus / Shutterstock
© Luftikus / Shutterstock

Der drittgrößte Nationalpark Japans beherbergt auf seiner Fläche von 186.400 Hektar eine wildromantische Berglandschaft mit saftig grünen Wäldern, glasklaren Seen und blühenden Almen. Ähnlich wie im Nikko Nationalpark tauchen auch im Bandai Asahi Nationalpark immer wieder versteckte Tempel und Schreine in der vielseitigen Landschaft auf.

Zum Artikel …