Blarney Castle, Ireland

At Blarney Castle in the south of Ireland, the Blarney Stone promises eloquence to anyone who kisses it and the adjacent park hides mystical rock formations and secluded gardens.

Blarney Castle is located in the village of the same name in the south of Ireland about nine kilometres north of the Irish city of Cork.

Advertisement

Blarney Castle has existed since the 10th century, and in 1210 the formerly wooden castle was replaced by the present stone castle. In 1446, Blarney Castle was enlarged by the King of Munster, Dermot McCarthy and chosen as his family seat. The castle was briefly captured by Oliver Cromwell, but after his death Blarney Castle reverted to the McCarthy family estate. Before the Duke of Malborough, the McCarthy clan fled to France at the end of the 17th century and over the next 200 years Blarney Castle passed through the hands of several owners.

Visit to Blarney Castle

The village of Blarney, which surrounds Blarney Castle, is totally geared towards tourism. Since the 19th century, many visitors have come to Blarney Castle, including Winston Churchill, a descendant of the Duke of Malborough.

From the entrance to the actual castle, an 800m long path leads through the picturesque garden surrounding the castle. After about 5min, the majestic walls emerge from the lush green Irish countryside. In the vaults of the ground floor there are some well-preserved fireplace rooms to visit, then it is already 120 steps of winding corridors up to the wall of the "Towerhouse". The outer walls are not exactly perfectly secured and have already caused one or two dizzy spells. However, the many visitors are happy to put up with this, as they have only come to Blarney Castle for one reason.

Kissing the Blarney Stone

The famous Blarney Stone came to Blarney Castle in 1314. Cormac McCarthy supported Robert the Bruce of Scotland with 5,000 men in the Battle of Bannockburn against England. After the English King Edward II was defeated, he was presented with the "Stone of Destiny" or "Coronation Stone" - the present Blarney Stone - in gratitude, which is said to be half of the Stone of Scone brought by Crusaders from the Holy Land. The stone was kept safely in the castle and was henceforth the coronation site of Scottish kings. Blarney Stone was named after Dermont McCartyh, the Lord of Blarney, who once refused Queen Elizabeth I her tax payments by making lazy excuses until she angrily thought she had had enough of this Blarney. Thus arose the legend that one must kiss the stone in order to gain the gift of free speech. Thus, the famous stone was soon widely known as the "Stone of Eloquence".

The Blarney Stone at Blarney Castle in Ireland promises eloquence to anyone who kisses it - © Thomas Barrat / Shutterstock
© Thomas Barrat / Shutterstock

Especially in the English-speaking world, the Blarney Stone is a popular tourist attraction. Every year, around 200,000 tourists come to kiss the Blarney Stone. However, this is not as easy as it sounds. The Blarney Stone is located in the wall of the upper battlements. To make it work, you have to stand with your back to the wall, bend backwards and kiss the Blarney Stone upside down. As there is a 30-metre drop between the floor of the castle and the Blarney Stone, it takes a certain amount of courage to achieve eloquence.

Walk through Blarney Garden

Once you have given the Blarney Stone its obligatory kiss, a relaxing walk through the castle gardens is recommended. The park around Blarney Castle is worth seeing not only for its lush vegetation but also for its impressive rock formations. Murmuring streams littered with penny coins flow through the "Druid's Circle", the jungle-like fern garden and the "Poison Garden" with deadly plants from all over the world.

At Rock Close, a small castle, idyllic walks lead through woods of yew and oak, with a mystical touch of druids. The "witches' cave" and the "wishing staircase" hide in the undergrowth. In spring, thousands of blossoms transform the garden of Blarney Castle into a colourful carpet, and in autumn, the treetops impress in bright orange, red and gold.

Advertisement

Further links:

Official website of Blarney Castle (English)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Blarney Castle, Irland

Das Blarney Castle liegt im gleichnamigen Dorf im Süden Irlands etwa neun Kilometer nördlich der irischen Stadt Cork - © Dan Breckwoldt / Shutterstock
© Dan Breckwoldt / Shutterstock

Im Blarney Castle im Norden Irlands verspricht der Blarney Stone Beredsamkeit für jeden der ihn küsst und im angrenzenden Park verbergen sich mystische Felsformationen und lauschige Gärten.

Das Blarney Castle liegt im gleichnamigen Dorf im Süden Irlands etwa neun Kilometer nördlich der irischen Stadt Cork.

Das Blarney Castle besteht bereits seit dem 10. Jahrhundert, im Jahr 1210 wurde die vormals hölzerne Burg durch das heutige steinerne Schloss ersetzt. 1446 wurde das Blarney Castle vom König von Munster, Dermot McCarthy vergrößert und zu seinem Familiensitz auserkoren. Kurzfristig wurde das Schloss von Oliver Cromwell erobert, nach seinem Tod ging das Blarney Castle aber wieder in den Familienbesitz der McCarthys. Vor dem Herzog von Malborough floh der McCarthy-Clan Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts nach Frankreich und in den nächsten 200 Jahren ging das Blarney Castle durch die Hände mehrerer Besitzer.

Besuch des Blarney Castle

Das Dorf Blarney, welches das Blarney Castle umgibt, ist völlig auf den Tourismus ausgerichtet. Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert kamen zahlreiche Besucher zum Blarney Castle, darunter auch Winston Churchill, ein Nachkomme vom Herzog von Malborough.

Vom Eingang bis zum tatsächlichen Schloss führt ein 800m langer Weg durch den malerischen Garten, der das Schloss umgibt. Nach etwa 5min taucht das majestätische Gemäuer aus der üppig grünen Landschaft Irlands auf. Im Gewölbe des Erdgeschoßes gibt es einige gut erhaltene Kaminzimmer zu besichtigen, dann geht es bereits über 120 Stufen verwinkelte Gänge hinauf auf die Mauer des „Towerhouse“. Die Außenwände sind nicht gerade perfekt gesichert und haben schon den einen oder anderen Schwindelanfall verursacht. Das nehmen die vielen Besucher jedoch gern in Kauf, sind sie doch nur aus einem Grund zum Blarney Castle gekommen.

Kissing the Blarney Stone

Der berühmte Blarney Stone kam im Jahr 1314 ins Blarney Castle. Cormac McCarthy unterstützte Robert the Bruce of Scotland mit 5.000 Mann in der Schlacht von Bannockburn gegen England. Nachdem der englische König Edward II. geschlagen war, wurde ihm zum Dank der „Stone of Destiny“ oder „Coronation Stone“ – der jetzige Blarney Stone – präsentiert, der angeblich die Hälfte des Steins von Scone ist, der von Kreuzrittern aus dem Heiligen Land mitgebracht wurde. Der Stein wurde sicher in der Burg verwahrte und war fortan Krönungsplatz der schottischen Könige. Blarney Stone wurde der Stein nach Dermont McCartyh, dem Lord von Blarney genannt, der einst durch faule Ausreden Königin Elizabeth I. ihre Steuerzahlungen verweigert hat, bis sie verärgert gemeint hat, genug von diesem Blarney zu haben. So entstand die Legend, dass man den Stein küssen muss, um die Gabe des freien Sprechens zu erlangen. Somit war der berühmte Stein bald weithin als „Stone of Eloquence“ („Stein der Redegewandtheit“) bekannt.

Der Blarney Stone im Blarney Castle in Irland verspricht Beredsamkeit für jeden der ihn küsst - © Thomas Barrat / Shutterstock
© Thomas Barrat / Shutterstock

Vor allem in der englischsprachigen Welt ist der Blarney Stone eine beliebte Touristenattraktion. Jährlich kommen an die 200.000 Touristen, um den Blarney Stone zu küssen. Das ist jedoch gar nicht so einfach, wie sich das anhört. Der Blarney Stone befindet sich in der Mauer des oberen Wehrgangs. Um seine Wirkung zu entfalten, muss man sich mit dem Rücken zur Wand stellen, nach hinten beugen und kopfüber den Blarney Stone küssen. Da es zwischen Boden der Burg und Blarney Stone 30 Meter in die Tiefe geht, gehört zur Erlangung der Beredsamkeit auch eine Portion Mut dazu.

Spaziergang durch den Blarney Garden

Hat man dem Blarney Stone seinen obligatorischen Kuss aufgedrückt, empfiehlt sich ein entspannender Spaziergang durch den Schlossgarten. Der Park um das Blarney Castle ist neben seiner üppigen Vegetation auch wegen der eindrucksvollen Felsformationen sehenswert. Durch den „Druidenkreis“, den dschungelartigen Farngarten und den „Poison Garden“ mit tödlichen Gewächsen aus aller Welt fließen murmelnde Bäche, die mit Cent-Münzen geradezu übersät sind.

Im Rock Close, einem kleinen Schlösschen, führen idyllische Spazierwege durch Wälder aus Eiben und Eichen, die mit einem mystischen Hauch von Druiden durchzogen sind. Die „Hexenhöhle“ und die „Wunschtreppe“ verbergen sich im Unterholz. Im Frühjahr verwandeln tausende Blüten den Garten des Blarney Castle in einen farbenprächtigen Teppich, im Herbst beeindrucken die Baumkronen in leuchtendem Orange, Rot und Gold.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Blarney Castle (englisch)

Anzeige