Elafonissi beach in Crete, Greece

Elafonissi is an island on Crete's western tip and is best known for its beautiful sandy beaches. Apart from swimming holidays in Crete, the area attracts visitors with its unspoilt landscape and spectacular sunsets.

The north-west coast of Elafonissi in the west of Crete is completely rugged, but in the south-east small sea basins in the dark rock attract visitors with wonderful sandy beaches. The famous beach opposite Elafonissi, together with the dreamlike lagoon of Balos, is considered the most beautiful beach of Crete and attracts thousands of bathing holidaymakers in summer. Both beaches are among our top 10 sights of Cre te and our top 10 most beautiful beaches of Crete.

Advertisement

Pictures: Elafonissi beach

Photo gallery: Elafonissi beach in Crete

At the highest point of the island are a lighthouse and the Koundourakis Chapel, which can be reached via a trail. Two memorial plaques commemorate a massacre on Easter Sunday in April 1824, when Turkish troops murdered hundreds of Greeks, and a shipwreck in February 1907, when 38 passengers of the Imperatrix capsized with their lifeboat and died (the passenger steamer, by the way, still lies on the seabed off Elafonissi).

Crete's coast under nature protection

Elafonissi is separated from the rest of the island of Crete only by a narrow ford, which often dries up completely, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The flat sand dunes on Elafonissi are protected and may not be entered. The snow-white dune daffodil and juniper bushes thrive here and the loggerhead turtle "Caretta caretta" comes to the sandy shores to lay its eggs. When the weather is calm and there is no wind, you can get from Crete to Elafonissi on dry feet, and the sea here hardly gets deeper than a metre.

Directions to Elafonissi beach

From the mountain road, the view falls on the island of Elafonissi and the idyllic beach in western Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The road to the beach of Elafonissi leads through the secluded green village of Elos (15 kilometres from Elafonissi) and past the Topolia Gorge, which is well worth seeing. From the mountain road, the view falls on the island of Elafonissi and the idyllic beach in the west of Crete.

The small island of Elafonissi is located in the very west of Crete and is often described as "far away from everything". The "deer island" is almost 80 kilometres from Chania. Only one road leads from the main road from Kissamos to Elafonissi. The turn-off is at Kefali in the direction of Vathi and leads past the picturesquely situated monastery of Chrysoskalitissa directly to the unpaved car park on the beach.

Caribbean on Crete

The popular sandy beach near Elafonissi in western Crete, Greece, inevitably gives off a Caribbean feeling - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Of all the sandy beaches of Elafonissi, the most famous is the one that is not on Elafonissi at all, but opposite the island on Crete. Here you inevitably get that Caribbean feeling. The waves of the turquoise sea rush over the fine sand, coloured pink by shells, and you can walk hundreds of metres into the sea.

Tip: Even more Cretan Caribbean can be found on the palm beach of Vai. Here, the crystal-clear sea on the white beach is even joined by date palms!

Bathing on the beach at Elafonissi

The shallow sea and calm swells on the beach of Elafonissi in Crete, Greece, invite even the youngest children to enjoy a relaxing splash - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The sea water in the beautiful lagoon is only about one metre deep, making Elafonissi beach an ideal family destination for swimming holidays in Crete. To the east of the beach, beach loungers, umbrellas, snack bars, changing rooms and sanitary facilities offer the best comfort for a beach day in Crete. The shallow sea and calm waves invite even the smallest ones to splash around in a relaxed way.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodations: Crete

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

The other smaller beaches along the rugged coast of Elafonissi offer no infrastructure, but absolute solitude and hidden coves for naturists.

Elafonissi Tip: Mornings are the least busy!

Elafonissi sunset is also a much visited sight in Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The beauty of Elafonissi is praised in every travel guide, so the later the day, the more crowded the beach. Excursion boats from Paleochora, coaches and rental cars bring thousands of tourists to Crete's most beautiful beach during the summer months. If you want to be reasonably undisturbed, you should visit Elafonissi early in the morning, because the sunset at Elafonissi is also a much-visited sight on Crete.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Strand von Elafonissi auf Kreta, Griechenland

Elafonissi ist eine Insel an Kretas Westzipfel und vor allem für seine traumhaften Sandstrände bekannt. Abgesehen vom Bade-Urlaub auf Kreta lockt die Gegend mit unberührter Landschaft und spektakulären Sonnenuntergängen.

Die Nordwestküste von Elafonissi im Westen Kretas ist völlig zerklüftet, im Südosten jedoch locken kleine Meeresbecken im dunklen Gestein mit herrlichen Sandstränden. Der berühmte Strand gegenüber von Elafonissi gilt gemeinsam mit der traumhaften Lagune von Balos als schönster Strand von Kreta und lockt im Sommer tausende Bade-Urlauber an. Beide Strände zählen zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Kreta und unseren 10 schönsten Stränden von Kreta.

Anzeige

Bilder: Strand von Elafonissi

Fotogalerie: Strand von Elafonissi auf Kreta

Am höchsten Punkt der Insel stehen ein Leuchtturm und die Koundourakis-Kapelle, die über einen Trampelpfad zu erreichen sind. Zwei Gedenktafeln erinnern an ein Massaker am Ostersonntag im April 1824, bei dem türkische Truppen hunderte Griechen ermordeten, und an ein Schiffsunglück im Februar 1907, bei dem 38 Passagiere der Imperatrix mit ihrem Rettungsboot kenterten und ums Leben kamen (der Passagierdampfer liegt übrigens heute noch am Meeresgrund vor Elafonissi).

Kretas Küste unter Naturschutz

Elafonissi ist vom Rest der Insel Kreta nur durch eine schmale Furt getrennt, die oft völlig austrocknet, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die flachen Sanddünen auf Elafonissi stehen unter Naturschutz und dürfen nicht betreten werden. Hier gedeihen die schneeweiße Dünen-Narzisse und Wacholderbüsche und die Unechte Karettschildkröte „Caretta caretta“ kommt zur Eiablage an die sandigen Ufer. Bei ruhigem Wetter und Windstille kann man von Kreta trockenen Fußes nach Elafonissi gelangen und auch sonst wird das Meer hier kaum tiefer als einen Meter.

Anfahrt zum Strand von Elafonissi

Von der Bergstraße fällt der Blick auf die Insel Elafonissi und den idyllischen Strand im Westen Kretas, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Der Weg zum Strand von Elafonissi führt durch die lauschig grüne Ortschaft Elos (15 Kilometer von Elafonissi entfernt) und an der sehenswerten Topolia-Schlucht vorbei. Von der Bergstraße fällt der Blick auf die Insel Elafonissi und den idyllischen Strand im Westen Kretas.

Die kleine Insel Elafonissi liegt ganz im Westen von Kreta und wird oft als „weit weg von allem“ beschrieben. Die „Hirsch-Insel“ liegt fast 80 Kilometer von Chania entfernt. Nur eine einzige Straße führt von der Hauptstraße von Kissamos nach Elafonissi. Die Abzweigung liegt bei Kefali in Richtung Vathi und führt vorbei am malerisch gelegenen Kloster Chrysoskalitissa direkt zum unbefestigten Parkplatz am Strand.

Karibik auf Kreta

Am beliebten Sandstrand bei Elafonissi im Westen von Kreta, Griechenland, kommt unweigerlicher Karibik-Feeling auf - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Von allen Sandstränden von Elafonissi ist jener der berühmteste, der gar nicht auf Elafonissi, sondern gegenüber dem Eiland auf Kreta liegt. Hier kommt unweigerlich Karibik-Feeling auf. Über den feinen, durch Muscheln rosa gefärbten Sand rauschen die Wellen aus dem türkisblauen Meer, in das man hunderte Meter weit hinein spazieren kann.

Tipp: Noch mehr kretische Karibik gibts am Palmenstrand von Vai. Hier kommen zum glasklaren Meer am weißen Strand sogar noch Dattelpalmen dazu!

Baden am Strand von Elafonissi

Das seichte Meer und der ruhige Wellengang am Strand von Elafonissi auf Kreta, Griechenland, laden auch die Kleinsten zum entspannten Planschen ein - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Meerwasser in der herrlichen Lagune ist nur etwa einen Meter tief, was den Strand von Elafonissi zu einem idealen Familienziel für Bade-Urlaub auf Kreta macht. Im Osten des Strandes bieten Strandliegen, Sonnenschirme, Snackbars, Umkleidekabinen und sanitäre Anlagen besten Komfort für einen Strandtag auf Kreta. Das seichte Meer und der ruhige Wellengang laden auch die Kleinsten zum entspannten Planschen ein.

Anzeige
Anzeige

Empfehlenswerte Unterkünfte: Kreta

HOTELS | PENSIONEN | FERIENWOHNUNGEN | VILLEN | CHALETS

Unterkünfte anzeigen


 

Die übrigen kleineren Strände entlang der schroffen Küste von Elafonissi bieten keine Infrastruktur, dafür absolute Einsamkeit und versteckte Buchten für FKK-Anhänger.

Elafonissi-Tipp: Morgens ist am wenigsten los!

Auch der Sonnenuntergang von Elafonissi ist eine vielbesuchte Sehenswürdigkeit auf Kreta, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Schönheit von Elafonissi wird in jedem Reiseführer gelobt, demnach wird der Strand umso voller, je später der Tag. Ausflugsschiffe von Paleochora, Reisebusse und Mietautos bringen in den Sommermonaten tausende Touristen an Kretas schönsten Strand. Wer halbwegs ungestört sein möchte, sollte Elafonissi früh am Morgen besuchen, denn auch der Sonnenuntergang von Elafonissi ist eine vielbesuchte Sehenswürdigkeit auf Kreta.


Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: