The Big Hole in Kimberley, South Africa

The Big Hole in the South African town of Kimberley is a spectacular remnant of a 19th century diamond mine and the largest man-made hole in the earth.

The Big Hole is located in the centre of South Africa in the town of Kimberley and is the largest man-made hole ever. It originates from the former Kimberley mine, from which 14.5 million carats of diamonds were mined until 1914.

Advertisement

Dispute over the biggest

A similarly spectacular open pit hole is located about 100km southwest in Bloemfontein. There is a dispute between these two holes for the title of the largest hole in the world, because Kimberley's is deeper, but Bloemfontein's "Jagersfontein" is more voluminous. In any case, the designation only applies to holes created with dynamite and simple tools, because the open-cast hole dug with machines at Chuquicamata in Chile is even bigger.

Whether or not it is actually the largest, The Big Hole of Kimberley is spectacular to behold. The almost circular hole has a circumference of 1.6km, a diameter of 460m and a depth of 240m.

Creation of the Big Hole in Kimberley

After accidental diamond discoveries in open fields, the region of South Africa was discovered as a diamond mine. By 1870, 500,000 people were working in the diamond fields around Kimberley. Many of the diamond seekers perished due to poor hygiene, poor nutrition, lack of water and extreme heat. In 1871, the brothers Johannes Nicolaas and Diederik Arnoldus de Beer bought farmland in South Africa on which The Big Hole was to be built that same year. 22 million tons of earth were removed from the gigantic hole. They soon had to sell the mines, but the various mines merged into one big one that took their name. The "De Beers" company still controls practically the entire worldwide diamond market today.

The weight of the diamonds mined until 1914 was over 2,700 kilograms, after which work on the diamond mines had to be stopped due to lack of profitability.

The Big Hole today

Today, The Big Hole is partially filled with groundwater, the water level of which reaches 175m below the ground. Guided tours are offered around the hole and from a steel scaffold you can take a cautious look into the yawning abyss. A large mining and open-air museum has been set up on the edge of the spectacular hole, showcasing the history and workings of the diamond industry in Kimberley from mining to onward transportation. Tools, photographs and archival documents from centuries past bring the diamond fever of yesteryear back to life. Even the reconstruction of a mine shaft can be visited. Of course, there are also plenty of the precious sparkling stones on display. In addition to the diamond-related exhibits, life in Kimberley at that time is presented in the open-air museum with original houses. The museum can be reached from the Kimberley Town Hall by a historic tram.

Further links:

Official website of the Big Hole in Kimberley (English)

Advertisement


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

The Big Hole in Kimberley, Südafrika

The Big Hole („Das Große Loch“) liegt im Zentrum Südafrikas mitten in der Stadt Kimberley und ist das größte je von Menschenhand geschaffene Loch - © Daleen Loest / Shutterstock
© Daleen Loest / Shutterstock

The Big Hole in der südafrikanischen Stadt Kimberley ist ein spektakuläres Überbleibsel einer Diamantenmine aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und das größte von Menschenhand geschaffene Loch in der Erde.

The Big Hole („Das Große Loch”) liegt im Zentrum Südafrikas mitten in der Stadt Kimberley und ist das größte je von Menschenhand geschaffene Loch. Es stammt aus der ehemaligen Kimberley-Mine, aus der bis ins Jahr 1914 14,5 Millionen Karat Diamanten gefördert wurden.

Streit um das Größte

Ein ähnlich spektakuläres Tagebauloch befindet sich etwa 100km südwestlich in Bloemfontein. Zwischen diesen beiden Löchern herrscht ein Streit um den Titel des größten Lochs der Welt, denn das von Kimberley ist zwar tiefer, „Jagersfontein” von Bloemfontein jedoch voluminöser. Die Bezeichnung gilt ohnehin nur für Löcher, die mit Dynamit und einfachen Werkzeugen geschaffen wurden, denn das mit Maschinen gegrabene Tagebauloch bei Chuquicamata ist noch um einiges größer.

Ob nun tatsächlich das größte oder nicht, spektakulär ist The Big Hole von Kimberley in jedem Fall anzusehen. Das nahezu kreisrunde Loch hat einen Umfang von 1,6km, einen Durchmesser von 460m und eine Tief von 240m.

Entstehung des Big Hole in Kimberley

Nach zufälligen Diamantfunden auf freiem Feld wurde die Region Südafrikas als Diamantengrube entdeckt. 1870 arbeiteten bereits 500.000 Menschen auf den Diamantenfeldern um Kimberley. Viele der Diamantensuchenden kamen aufgrund mangelnder Hygiene, schlechter Ernährung, Wassermangel und extremer Hitze ums Leben. 1871 kauften die Brüder Johannes Nicolaas und Diederik Arnoldus de Beer Ackerland in Südafrika, auf dem noch im selben Jahr The Big Hole entstehen sollte. 22 Millionen Tonnen Erde wurden aus dem gigantischen Loch abtransportiert. Sie mussten die Bergwerke zwar bald verkaufen, doch die verschiedenen Minen schlossen sich zu einer großen zusammen, die ihren Namen annahm. Die Firma „De Beers” kontrolliert noch heute praktisch den gesamten weltweiten Diamantenmarkt.

Das Gewicht der bis 1914 geförderten Diamanten betrug über 2.700 Kilogramm, danach musste die Arbeit an den Diamantenminen wegen mangelnder Rentabilität eingestellt werden.

The Big Hole heute

Heute ist The Big Hole teilweise mit Grundwasser gefüllt, dessen Wasserstand bis 175m unter den Erdboden reicht. Rund um das Loch werden Führungen angeboten und von einem Stahlgerüst aus kann man vorsichtige Blicke in den gähnenden Abgrund werfen. Am Rand des spektakulären Lochs wurde ein großes Bergbau- und Freiluftmuseum eingerichtet, welches die Geschichte und Funktionsweise der Diamantenindustrie in Kimberley vom Abbau bis zum Weitertransport präsentiert. Werkzeuge, Fotografien und Archivdokument aus den vergangenen Jahrhunderten lassen das Diamantenfieber von damals wieder aufleben. Sogar die Rekonstruktion eines Minenschachtes kann besichtigt werden. Natürlich sind auch jede Menge der kostbaren funkelnden Steine zu sehen. Neben den diamantenbezogenen Exponaten wird im Freiluftmuseum mit originalen Häusern das damalige Leben in Kimberley vorgestellt. Das Museum kann von der Stadthalle in Kimberley aus mit einer historischen Straßenbahn erreicht werden.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Big Hole in Kimberley (englisch)