Durmitor National Park, Montenegro

The Durmitor National Park encompasses the mountain massif of the same name in northern Montenegro. The breathtaking landscape with the highest peak in the country, the deepest gorge in Europe and numerous sapphire-blue mountain lakes inspires hikers and winter sports enthusiasts alike.

The Durmitor is an impressive mountain massif in the north of Montenegro, a good 120 kilometres north of the capital Podgorica. The Durmitor National Park was founded around the Durmitor in 1952. Due to its breathtaking landscape, it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1980. It is also on our list of the top 10 sights of Montenegro.

Advertisement

Covering an area of almost 400 square kilometres, Durmitor National Park includes spectacular gorges, sapphire-blue mountain lakes and 48 rugged 2,000-metre peaks. The highest peak of the massif is the 2,523-metre Bobotov Kuk, often referred to as the highest mountain in Montenegro (although two higher mountains exist in Prokletije National Park ).

PICTURES: Durmitor National Park

Photo gallery: Durmitor National Park

Journey to Durmitor National Park

The Durmitor National Park is best reached by car or bus from Podgorica. It takes a good two hours by car to reach Žabljak. At just under 1,500 metres above sea level, this is the highest town in the Balkans and the tourist centre of the Durmitor National Park.

Advertisement

Best time to visit Durmitor National Park

Glacial lake Crno Jezero is one of the most visited sights in Montenegro's Durmitor National Park thanks to its exceptional beauty - © A_Mikhail / Shutterstock
© A_Mikhail / Shutterstock

The national park is very popular with visitors all year round. In winter, the lower regions of the mighty Durmitor are transformed from hiking areas into dreamy ski slopes, because due to the collision of the warm air from the Adriatic Sea with the cold air from the mainland, 3 metres of snow and more are nothing unusual for northern Montenegro.

In summer, the national park attracts visitors with its numerous hiking trails and mountaineering routes through the fascinating mountain landscape. Due to the high altitude of the Durmitor National Park, it is quite bearable in its mountains even in midsummer, with an average temperature of 15°C.

Tip: The mountain can be treacherous and quite a few hikers have already been surprised by snowfall in July! Therefore, be prepared for any weather.

Sights in Durmitor National Park

Covering an area of almost 400km2, Durmitor National Park includes spectacular gorges, sapphire-blue mountain lakes and 48 rugged 2000m peaks, Montenegro - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The special mixture of Mediterranean and alpine climate allows a fascinating flora and fauna to flourish in the Durmitor National Park. One of the last original pine forests in Europe grows here alongside pine, beech, birch and juniper. Eagles, brown bears, wild boars, wolves, chamois, wildcats, capercaillies, black grouse and rock partridges roam the natural forests and rocky plateaus.

Bobotov Kuk - "highest mountain in Montenegro

The 2,523m high Bobotov Kuk is considered the roof of Montenegro and the supreme discipline of Montenegrin mountain tours - © Inna Gritsinova / Shutterstock
© Inna Gritsinova / Shutterstock

It is not really the highest mountain in the country. In the Prokletije National Park there are two higher mountains, Zla Kolata (2,534m) and Maja Rosit (2,528m), right on the border with Albania.

Advertisement

Nevertheless, the ascent of the 2,523m high Bobotov Kuk is considered the supreme discipline of Montenegrin mountain tours and its summit the roof of Montenegro. No wonder, because with crystal-clear glacial lakes, pristine meadows and well-marked trails, the rugged mountains around Bobotov Kuk offer one of the most beautiful hiking areas in Europe.

PICTURES: Bobotov Kuk in Durmitor National Park

Photo gallery: Bobotov Kuk in Durmitor National Park

Ascent of Bobotov Kuk

The climb up Bobotov Kuk presents Durmitor National Park in all its glory, Montenegro - © BUCKO 28 / Shutterstock
© BUCKO 28 / Shutterstock

Without exaggeration, the ascent of Bobotov Kuk is considered the most spectacular tour in Durmitor National Park. If you are free from giddiness and have some experience in mountain hiking, you can climb to the top of Bobotov Kuk on a 7-9 hour tour.

Tip: There are no huts on Bobotov Kuk, so bring food and water for the entire hike. Depending on the length of the breaks, you should plan on a daily hike of 8-10 hours. Be sure to bring warm clothes, even in high summer, as it is often below 10°C on the windy summit!

The two ascent options start either in Žabljak, the tourist centre of the Durmitor Mountains, or at a car park on the other side of the mountain. The paths are excellently maintained and signposted and initially lead through green meadows, which are quickly replaced by karst fields and jagged rocks.

After about 4 hours of walking, you reach the base of the peak. This is the end of the steep but still comfortable ascent, as you need to be sure-footed and fully concentrated when climbing over the sometimes large rocks and loose scree. Fear of heights is out of place here, because often a rock wall right next to the path falls up to several hundred metres into the depths.

Summit arrival and descent

The sensational view from Bobotov Kuk over the rugged mountain ranges and valleys of Montenegro's Durmitor mountains is worth every effort on the climb - © salajean / Shutterstock
© salajean / Shutterstock

Once at the summit, the whole of Montenegro lies at the hiker's feet and the sensational view over the rugged mountain ranges and valleys of the Durmitor Mountains is worth every effort on the ascent!

The way back is either the same way down again, or on the other side of the mountain. Those who have started from the car park should, if possible, tackle the descent in the direction of Žabljak, where some of the picturesque, quiet glacial lakes of the Durmitor National Park are located.

Tara Gorge - longest and deepest gorge in Europe

View from the Tara Bridge into the Tara Gorge with its vertical walls, Montenegro - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

One of the special highlights of the national park is the Tara Gorge, possibly the most pristine river valley in all of Europe. The breathtaking Tara Gorge at the lower end of the Tara River is 78 kilometres long and over 1,300 metres deep. This makes it not only the longest and deepest gorge in Europe, but also one of the largest gorges in the world.

At 140 kilometres, the river of the same name is the longest river in Montenegro and has carved a deep channel in the rock over the millennia. The crystal-clear river is extremely popular for rafting due to its up to 60-metre-high waterfalls, numerous rapids and cascades.

Crno Jezero - Montenegro's Black Lake

Glacial lake Crno Jezero is one of the most visited sights in Montenegro's Durmitor National Park thanks to its exceptional beauty - © A_Mikhail / Shutterstock
© A_Mikhail / Shutterstock

Also a scenic gem are the 18 glacial lakes of the Durmitor National Park. Due to their breathtaking colour and mirror-like surface, they are also called "Gorske Oči", "Eyes of the Mountain".

The picturesque Crno Jezero, the Black Lake, is the largest and one of the most famous of the glacial lakes in Durmitor National Park. It is also an ideal starting point for hikes to other lakes in its vicinity.

When the deep green spruces, firs and pines on its shores cast dark shadows on the mirror-smooth surface, it becomes clear where the picturesque lake gets its name. But Crno Jezero can also shimmer in deep blue or intense shades of green, depending on the amount of precipitation and sunlight.

The Black Lake is divided into the 26m-deep Great Lake (Veliko Jezero) and the 50m-deep Small Lake (Malo Jezero), which together cover an area of around 500 hectares. The two lakes are connected by a waterway, which sometimes dries up completely in hot summers.

PICTURES: Black Lake in Durmitor National Park

Photo gallery: Black Lake (Crno Jezero) in Durmitor National Park

Around the entire lake runs a circular path of around 3.6 kilometres through the dense forests on the shore, along which Crno Jezero can be discovered in all its glory.

Tip: In the early morning you won't meet a soul at the Black Lake of Durmitor - the perfect place for pure relaxation!

Hiking at the Black Lake of Durmitor

The picturesque Crno jezero, or "Black Lake", is the largest of the 18 glacial lakes in Durmitor National Park in Montenegro - © Creative Travel Projects / Shutterstock
© Creative Travel Projects / Shutterstock

Only 3km from Žabljak, the tourist centre of the national park, Crno Jezero is one of the most popular day trips in the Durmitor region. The lake lies at an altitude of around 1,400 metres and often presents itself covered in deep snow in winter.

In summer, the water in the Black Lake warms up to 20 degrees and offers welcome refreshment after a strenuous hike. Most tourists, however, enjoy the beauty of the lake in a canoe or kayak. Catering is provided in the immediate vicinity of Crno Jezero. A small restaurant serves traditional Montenegrin food.

Sights around the Black Lake

Crno Jezero in the famous Durmitor National Park in Montenegro is a worthwhile destination for excursions and hikes all year round - © AleksandarMilutinovic / Shutterstock
© AleksandarMilutinovic / Shutterstock

A wonderful hiking destination in itself, Black Lake is also the starting point for further hikes through the breathtaking landscape of Durmitor National Park and to smaller lakes in its surroundings. The Zminje Jezero (Snake Lake), for example, is particularly beautiful, hidden even deeper in the forest - also ideal for picnics!

Behind the quiet water surface, a round stone massif is visible amidst dense forests. Mount Međed ("Bear") reaches a height of 2,287 metres and rises about 25 metres above Crn Jezero. In spring, meltwater flows from its summit into the depths. The waterfalls, up to 15 metres high, announce themselves with a loud roar.

Further links:

Official website of the Durmitor National Park

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Nationalpark Durmitor, Montenegro

Der Nationalpark Durmitor umfasst das gleichnamige Bergmassiv im Norden Montenegros. Die atemberaubende Landschaft mit dem höchsten Gipfel des Landes, der tiefsten Schlucht Europas und zahlreichen saphirblauen Bergseen begeistert Wanderer und Wintersportler gleichermaßen.

Der Durmitor ist ein eindrucksvolles Bergmassiv im Norden von Montenegro gut 120 Kilometer nördlich der Hauptstadt Podgorica. Rund um den Durmitor wurde im Jahr 1952 der Nationalpark Durmitor gegründet. Aufgrund seiner atemberaubenden Landschaft zählt er seit 1980 zum Welterbe der UNESCO. Außerdem steht er auf unserer Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Montenegro.

Anzeige

Auf einer Fläche von knapp 400 Quadratkilometern umfasst der Durmitor-Nationalpark spektakuläre Schluchten, saphirblaue Bergseen und 48 schroffe 2.000er. Der höchste Gipfel des Massivs ist der 2.523 Meter hohe Bobotov Kuk, der oft als höchster Berg Montenegros bezeichnet wird (obwohl im im Prokletije-Nationalpark zwei höhere Berge existieren).

BILDER: Durmitor Nationalpark

Fotogalerie: Durmitor Nationalpark

Anreise zum Durmitor Nationalpark

Der Nationalpark Durmitor ist am besten mit dem Auto oder dem Bus von Podgorica aus zu erreichen. Mit dem Auto benötigt man gute zwei Stunden bis nach Žabljak. Dies ist mit knapp 1.500 Metern Seehöhe die höchstgelegene Stadt am Balkan und touristisches Zentrum des Durmitor-Nationalparks.

Anzeige

Beste Reisezeit für den Durmitor Nationalpark

Der Gletschersee Crno Jezero ist dank seiner außergewöhnlichen Schönheit eine der meistbesuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten im Durmitor Nationalpark von Montenegro - © A_Mikhail / Shutterstock
© A_Mikhail / Shutterstock

Der Nationalpark erfreut sich bei Besuchern das ganze Jahr über großer Beliebtheit. Im Winter werden die niederen Regionen das mächtigen Durmitor von Wandergebieten in traumhafte Skipisten verwandelt, denn aufgrund der Kollision der warmen Luft der Adria auf die kalte Luft vom Festland sind 3 Meter Schnee und mehr nichts Ungewöhnliches für den Norden Montenegros.

Im Sommer lockt der Nationalpark mit seinen zahlreichen Wanderwegen und Bergsteiger-Routen durch die faszinierende Gebirgslandschaft. Aufgrund der großen Höhe des Durmitor-Nationalparks ist es in seinen Bergen auch im Hochsommer bei einer Durchschnittstemperatur von 15°C durchaus auszuhalten.

Tipp: Der Berg kann tückisch sein und nicht wenige Wanderer sind schon im Juli von Schneefall überrascht worden! Deshalb sicherheitshalb für jedes Wetter gerüstet sein.

Sehenswürdigkeiten im Durmitor Nationalpark

Auf einer Fläche von knapp 400km2 umfasst der Durmitor Nationalpark spektakuläre Schluchten, saphirblaue Bergseen und 48 schroffe 2000er, Montenegro - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die besondere Mischung aus mediterranem und alpinem Klima lässt im Durmitor-Nationalpark eine faszinierende Flora und Fauna gedeihen. Einer der letzten ursprünglichen Kiefernwälder Europas wächst hier neben Föhren, Buchen, Birken und Wacholder. Durch die naturbelassenen Wälder und die felsigen Hochplateaus streifen Adler, Braunbären, Wildschweine, Wölfe, Gämsen, Wildkatzen, Auerhähne, Birkhühner und Felshühner.

Bobotov Kuk – „höchster Berg Montenegros“

Der 2.523m hohe Bobotov Kuk gilt als Dach von Montenegro und die Königsdisziplin der montenegrinischen Bergtouren - © Inna Gritsinova / Shutterstock
© Inna Gritsinova / Shutterstock

Er ist es nicht wirklich, der höchste Berg des Landes. Im Prokletije-Nationalpark existieren mit dem Zla Kolata (2.534m) und dem Maja Rosit (2. 528m) zwei höhere Berge direkt an der Grenze zu Albanien.

Anzeige

Dennoch gilt die Besteigung des 2.523m hohen Bobotov Kuk als Königsdisziplin der montenegrinischen Bergtouren und sein Gipfel als Dach Montenegros. Kein Wunder, denn mit glasklaren Gletscherseen, unberührten Wiesen und gut markierten Pfade bieten die zerklüfteten Berge rund um den Bobotov Kuk eines der schönsten Wandergebiete Europas.

BILDER: Bobotov Kuk im Durmitor Nationalpark

Fotogalerie: Bobotov Kuk im Durmitor Nationalpark

Besteigung des Bobotov Kuk

Der Aufstieg auf den Bobotov Kuk präsentiert den Durmitor Nationalpark in seiner ganzen Pracht, Montenegro - © BUCKO 28 / Shutterstock
© BUCKO 28 / Shutterstock

Ohne Übertreibung gilt die Besteigung des Bobotov Kuk als spektakulärste Tour im Durmitor Nationalpark. Wenn ihr schwindelfrei seid und etwas Erfahrung im Bergwandern mitbringt, könnt ihr den Gipfel des Bobotov Kuk auf einer 7-9stündigen Tour erklimmen.

Tipp: Es gibt keine Hütten auf dem Bobotov Kuk, Verpflegung und Wasser ist also für die gesamte Wanderung mitzubringen. Je nach Länge der Pausen sollte man dafür einen Tagesmarsch von 8-10 Stunden einplanen. Auch im Hochsommer unbedingt warme Kleidung mitnehmen, denn auf dem windigen Gipfel hat es oft unter 10°C!

Die zwei Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten starten entweder in Žabljak, dem touristischen Zentrum des Durmitor-Gebirges, oder an einem Parkplatz auf der anderen Seite des Berges. Die Pfade sind hervorragend gepflegt und ausgeschildert und führen anfänglich noch durch grüne Wiesen, die rasch von Karstfeldern und schroffen Felsen abgelöst werden.

Nach etwa 4 Stunden Gehzeit steht man an der Basis des Gipfels. Hier ist es vorbei mit dem zwar steilen, aber noch bequemen Aufstieg, denn über die teils großen Felsen und losen Geröllfelder ist beim Steigen und Klettern Trittsicherheit und volle Konzentration angesagt. Höhenangst ist hier fehl am Platz, denn oft fällt eine Steinwand direkt neben dem Pfad bis zu mehreren hundert Metern in die Tiefe.

Gipfelankunft und Abstieg

Der sensationelle Blick vom Bobotov Kuk über die zerklüfteten Bergketten und Täler des Durmitor-Gebirges von Montenegro ist beim Aufstieg jede Strapaze wert - © salajean / Shutterstock
© salajean / Shutterstock

Am Gipfel angekommen liegt dem Wanderer ganz Montenegro zu Füßen und der sensationelle Blick über die zerklüfteten Bergketten und Täler des Durmitor-Gebirges ist beim Aufstieg jede Strapaze wert!

Zurück geht es entweder denselben Weg wieder hinunter, oder auf der anderen Seite des Berges. Wer vom Parkplatz aus gestartet ist, sollte wenn möglich den Abstieg in Richtung Žabljak in Angriff, an dem einige der malerisch-stillen Gletscherseen des Durmitor Nationalparks liegen.

Tara-Schlucht – längste und tiefste Schlucht Europas

Blick von der Tara-Brücke in die Tara-Schlucht mit ihren senkrecht abfallenden Wänden, Montenegro - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Eines der besonderen Highlights des Nationalparks ist die Tara-Schlucht, möglicherweise das ursprünglichste Flusstal in ganz Europa. Die atemberaubende Tara-Schlucht am unteren Ende der Tara ist 78 Kilometer lang und über 1.300 Meter tief. Damit ist sie nicht nur die längste und tiefste Schlucht Europas, sondern gehört auch zu den größten Schluchten der Welt.

Der gleichnamige Fluss ist mit 140 Kilometern der längste Fluss Montenegros und hat im Lauf der Jahrtausende eine tiefe Schneise in den Fels gegraben. Der glasklare Fluss ist aufgrund seiner bis zu 60 Meter hohen Wasserfälle, zahlreichen Stromschnellen und Kaskaden für Rafting äußerst beliebt.

Crno Jezero – Montenegros Schwarzer See

Der Gletschersee Crno Jezero ist dank seiner außergewöhnlichen Schönheit eine der meistbesuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten im Durmitor Nationalpark von Montenegro - © A_Mikhail / Shutterstock
© A_Mikhail / Shutterstock

Ebenfalls ein landschaftliches Juwel sind die 18 Gletscherseen des Durmitor-Nationalparks. Aufgrund ihrer atemberaubenden Farbe und ihrer spiegelglatten Oberfläche werden sie auch „Gorske Oči“, „Augen des Berges“ genannt.

Der malerische Crno Jezero, der Schwarze See, ist der größte und einer der bekanntesten der Gletscherseen im Durmitor Nationalpark. Er bietet sich auch ideal als Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen zu weiteren Seen in seiner Umgebung an.

Wenn die tiefgrünen Fichten, Tannen und Kiefern an seinen Ufern dunkle Schatten auf die spiegelglatte Oberfläche werfen, wird klar, woher der malerische See seinen Namen hat. Doch der Crno Jezero kann je nach Niederschlagsmenge und Sonneneinstrahlung auch in tiefem Blau oder intensiven Grüntönen schimmern.

Der Schwarze See teilt sich in den 26m tiefen Großen See (Veliko Jezero) und den mit 50m fast doppelt so tiefen Kleinen See (Malo Jezero), die zusammen eine Fläche von rund 500 Hektar ergeben. Die beiden Seen sind durch einen Wasserweg miteinander verbunden, der in heißen Sommern zum Teil vollständig austrocknet.

BILDER: Schwarzer See im Durmitor Nationalpark

Fotogalerie: Schwarzer See (Crno Jezero) im Durmitor Nationalpark

Um den gesamten See verläuft ein rund 3,6 Kilometer langer Rundweg durch die dichten Wälder am Ufer, auf dem der Crno Jezero in seiner gesamten Pracht entdeckt werden kann.

Tipp: Am frühen Morgen trifft man am Schwarzen See von Durmitor noch auf keine Menschenseele – der perfekte Ort für Erholung pur!

Wandern am Schwarzen See von Durmitor

Der malerische Crno jezero, zu deutsch „Schwarzer See“, ist der größte der 18 Gletscherseen im Durmitor Nationalpark in Montenegro - © Creative Travel Projects / Shutterstock
© Creative Travel Projects / Shutterstock

Nur 3km von Žabljak, dem touristischen Zentrum des Nationalparks entfernt, zählt der Crno Jezero zu den beliebtesten Tagesausflügen im Durmitor-Gebiet. Der See liegt auf rund 1.400 Metern Höhe und präsentiert sich im Winter oft tief verschneit.

Im Sommer erwärmt sich das Wasser im Schwarzen See auf bis zu 20 Grad und bietet eine willkommene Erfrischung nach einer anstrengenden Wanderung. Die meisten Touristen genießen die Schönheit des Sees allerdings in Kanu oder Kajak. Für Verpflegung ist in unmittelbarerer Nähe zum Crno Jezero gesorgt. Ein kleines Restaurant serviert hier traditionell montenegrinische Kost.

Sehenswürdigkeiten um den Schwarzen See

Der Crno Jezero im berühmten Durmitor Nationalpark in Montenegro ist das ganze Jahr über ein lohnendes Ziel von Ausflügen und Wanderungen - © AleksandarMilutinovic / Shutterstock
© AleksandarMilutinovic / Shutterstock

Selbst ein herrliches Wanderziel ist der Schwarze See auch Ausgangspunkt für weitere Wanderungen durch die atemberaubende Landschaft das Durmitor Nationalparks und zu kleineren Seen in seiner Umgebung. Besonders schön liegt zum Beispiel der Zminje Jezero (Schlangensee) noch tiefer im Wald versteckt – auch ideal zum Picknicken!

Hinter der stillen Wasserfläche ist zwischen inmitten dichter Wälder ein rundes Steinmassiv sichtbar. Der Berg Međed („Bär“) erreicht eine Höhe von 2.287 Metern und ragt rund 25 Meter über dem Crn Jezero auf. Im Frühjahr strömt das Schmelzwasser von seinem Gipfel in die Tiefe. Mit lautem Getöse kündigen sich die bis zu 15m hohen Wasserfälle an.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Durmitor Nationalparks

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: