Khor al-Baleed Archaeological Park in Salalah - Dhofar, Oman

The historic port city of al-Baleed in Salalah is open to visitors as a fascinating archaeological park. Experience first-hand how the ancient trading centre is being rediscovered.

The al-Baleed archaeological site is located in eastern Salalah, an Omani city in the very south of the country. Called the "Land of Frankincense", al-Baleed is a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with other sites on the Frankincense Route.

Advertisement

Al-Baleed was once a flourishing port city where mainly frankincense was handled for many centuries. The flourishing trade with Southeast Asia and Africa helped al-Baleed to great wealth, which was reflected in magnificent buildings. Due to exports from Asia, however, the frankincense trade is of little importance today.

Discovery of al-Baleed

Before the rule of Sultan Qaboos, which began in 1970, Oman was completely isolated from the rest of the world and hardly any foreigners were in Oman. Therefore, research teams tended to focus on surrounding countries such as Yemen or Iran. The first archaeological finds in Oman were only made by chance in the 1950s by European oil workers or soldiers.

It was only after the accession of Sultan Qaboos, who wanted to make Oman a modern and progressive country, that the first institute for the study of Omani history was founded. Besides al-Baleed, other archaeological sites have been discovered, such as the ancient incense port of Sumhuram, the beehive tombs of Baat and Al Ayn, or the legendary city of Ubar near Shisr.

Further excavations on the Khor al-Baleed headland were commissioned by UNESCO in 1995.

On the road in al-Baleed

The al-Bhaleed Archaeological Park in Salalah can be explored on foot or by small electric cart, Oman - © Maros Markovic / Shutterstock
© Maros Markovic / Shutterstock

The archaeological site has been turned into a 65-hectare archaeological park with green hills, walking paths, explanatory panels and benches where you can take a short rest and soak up the atmosphere of the ancient harbour. At the far end is a small recreational area with an idyllic lagoon, a sunbathing lawn and a children's playground under palm trees.

From the beginning, the work focused on the large projects, such as the Citadel, the Friday Mosque and the city wall of al-Baleed. Over time, paved streets and the remains of some warehouses were also uncovered.

Entrance to the archaeology park is free of charge, only the car park in front of the excavation site is subject to a fee.

Advertisement

The excavations in al-Baleed are far from complete. Under the hills of Khor al-Baleed, there are most likely more remains of the ancient trading city. The concept of the archaeological park is that visitors can also look over the archaeologists' shoulders as they work and thus experience first-hand how the old al-Baleed is being recreated.

The archaeology park can be explored on foot or with a small electric trolley and is also open at night. The paths and ruins illuminated in the dark create an atmosphere all of their own.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Archäologiepark Khor al-Baleed in Salalah – Dhofar, Oman

Die Ausgrabungsstätte al-Bhaleed liegt im östlichen Salalah, der größten Stadt im Süden Omans - © Maros Markovic / Shutterstock
© Maros Markovic / Shutterstock

Die historische Hafenstadt al-Baleed in Salalah ist als faszinierender Archäologiepark für Besucher zugänglich. Erleben Sie hautnah mit, wie das antike Handelszentrum wiederentdeckt wird.

Die Ausgrabungsstätte al-Baleed liegt im östlichen Salalah, einer omanischen Stadt ganz im Süden des Landes. Unter der Bezeichnung „Land of Frankincense” („Land des Weihrauchs”) zählt al-Baleed gemeinsam mit anderen Stätten an der Weihrauchstraße zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Al-Baleed war einst eine blühende Hafenstadt, in der über viele Jahrhunderte hinweg vor allem Weihrauch umgeschlagen wurde. Der florierende Handel mit Südostasien und Afrika verhalf al-Baleed zu großem Reichtum, der sich in prachtvollen Bauten niederschlug. Durch die Exporte aus Asien ist der Weihrauchhandel heute jedoch kaum mehr von Bedeutung.

Entdeckung von al-Baleed

Vor der Herrschaft von Sultan Qaboos, die 1970 begann, war der Oman vom Rest der Welt völlig abgeschottet und kaum ein Ausländer befand sich im Oman. Daher konzentrierten sich die Forscherteams eher auf die umliegenden Länder wie Jemen oder Iran. Die ersten archäologischen Funde im Oman wurden erst in den 1950er-Jahren durch Zufall von europäischen Erdölarbeitern oder Soldaten gemacht.

Erst nach dem Amtsantritt des von Sultan Qaboos, der den Oman zu einem modernen und fortschrittlichen Land machen wollte, wurde das erste Institut für die Erforschung der omanischen Geschichte gegründet. Neben al-Baleed wurden noch weitere archäologische Stätten, wie zum Beispiel der antike Weihrauchhafen Sumhuram, die Bienenkorbgräber von Baat und Al Ayn oder die legendäre Stadt Ubar in der Nähe von Shisr entdeckt.

Weitere Ausgrabungen auf der Landzunge Khor al-Baleed wurden im Jahr 1995 von der UNESCO in Auftrag gegeben.

Unterwegs in al-Baleed

Aus der archäologischen Stätte entstand ein 65 Hektar großer Archäologie-Park mit grünen Hügeln, Spazierwegen, Tafeln mit Erläuterungen und Bänken, auf denen man kurz rasten und die Atmosphäre des antiken Hafens auf sich wirken lassen kann. Am hinteren Ende befindet sich ein kleiner Erholungsbereich mit einer idyllischen Lagune, einer Liegewiese und einem Kinderspielplatz unter Palmen.

Der Archäologiepark al-Bhaleed in Salalah kann zu Fuß oder mit einem kleinen Elektrowagen erkundet werden, Oman - © Maros Markovic / Shutterstock
© Maros Markovic / Shutterstock

Die Arbeit konzentrierte sich von Beginn an auf die großen Projekte, wie die Zitadelle, die Freitagsmoschee und die Stadtmauer von al-Baleed. Mit der Zeit wurden auch gepflasterte Straßen und die Überreste einiger Lagerhäuser freigelegt.

Der Eintritt in den Archäologiepark ist kostenlos, lediglich für der Parkplatz vor der Ausgrabungsstätte ist gebührenpflichtig.

Die Ausgrabungen in al-Baleed sind noch lange nicht abgeschlossen. Unter den Hügeln von Khor al-Baleed verbergen sich höchstwahrscheinlich noch weitere Überreste der antiken Handelsstadt. Beim Konzept des Archäologieparks ist angedacht, dass die Besucher auch den Archäologen bei ihrer Arbeit über die Schulter schauen und so hautnah miterleben können, wie das alte al-Baleed neu entsteht.

Der Archäologiepark kann zu Fuß oder mit einem kleinen Elektrowagen erkundet werden und ist auch bei Nacht geöffnet. Die bei Dunkelheit beleuchteten Wege und Ruinen schaffen eine ganz eigene Atmosphäre.