Perast, Montenegro

Once a thriving seafaring centre in the Bay of Kotor, the pretty town of Perast was completely restored at the end of the 20th century. Some parts of Perast are still in ruins, but the majority of the magnificent buildings have already been restored to their former glory.

The charming town of Perast in the beautiful Bay of Kotor in Montenegro is a feast for the eyes even from afar. Magnificent villas line the shore promenade and the two small monastery islands of Sveti Đorđe and Gospa od Škrpjela in front of Perast add the finishing touch to the postcard motif.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Perast

Photo gallery: Perast

History of Perast

Perast, first documented in the 13th century, stood for years in the shadow of the more important Kotor, eventually siding with the Venetians and fighting Kotor before becoming known as an independent small town for its sailors, merchants and navigators.

Perast 's four shipping companies maintained up to 100 ships and many captains chose Perast as their retirement home. The wealth of the small town grew over the centuries and between 1600 and 1797 magnificent new buildings were built by the Perast upper class.

The two small monastery islands of Sveti Đorđe and Gospa od Škrpjela off Perast add the finishing touch to the postcard motif, Montenegro - © ddsign / Shutterstock
© ddsign / Shutterstock

However, as international ships grew larger, the port of Perast soon became too small and the flow of seafaring money began to flow to other ports. From 1900 onwards, Perast slowly began to decline. What was left of the once flourishing town was destroyed by the 1979 earthquake.

Thankfully, the preservationists of Montenegro decided at that time to rebuild the jewel in the Bay of Kotor, and today Perast shines in its old splendour thanks to investments by UNESCO, the state of Montenegro and many private sponsors. Some ruins in the higher parts of Perast are still waiting to be renovated, but this gives Perast a historical charm all of its own.

Gospa od Škrpjela

The Gospa od Škrpjela is a church island off the coastal town of Perast and lies in the picturesque bay of Kotor, Montenegro - © ivanovskyy / Shutterstock
© ivanovskyy / Shutterstock

Thepicturesque "Maria vom Felsen " is an artificially raised island on which a church has been built, where impressive masterpieces by Montenegrin and Italian artists can be seen.

The first church dates back to 1452, the Roman Catholic sacred building that can be seen today was built in 1632 and renovated and expanded just under 100 years later. Sailors in particular prayed and still pray here for a safe return home.

Advertisement

Island Sveti Đorđe

On the cypress-covered island of Sveti Đorđe off Perast in Montenegro, the city's great personalities found their final resting place - © hor Pasternak / Shutterstock
© hor Pasternak / Shutterstock

Unlike Gospa od Škrpjela, the island of "St. George" is a natural islet on which the first Benedictine monastery of the same name was built in the 12th century. Sveti Đorđe was a bone of contention between Perast and Kotor for a long time, until the tiny island was finally awarded to Perast in 1634.

Only 20 years later, Sveti Đorđe was demolished by the Turks after they had to leave without success after the siege of Perast and Kotor. Another 13 years later, the earthquake of 1667 also destroyed the rest of the monastery complex. Today's monastery of Sveti Đorđe amidst tall cypresses dates from the early 18th century and houses the tombs of Perast's great personalities.

Old Town of Perast

View of the historic town of Perast in the Bay of Kotor in summer at sunset, Montenegro - © givaga / Shutterstock
© givaga / Shutterstock

Theterm "old town" is hardly appropriate in Perast, as most of the restorations in the small town are barely 50 years old. Nevertheless, the compact, listed architectural ensemble bears witness to the former prosperity.

A classic tour of Perast is not possible, as the streets at higher elevations have all not yet been restored and many of them end in dead ends. The best way to explore Perast is therefore from east to west along the waterfront, with individual detours into the "hinterland".

Sveti Nikola

The 55m high bell tower of the Church of St. Nicholas in Perast is the tallest in the entire Bay of Kotor, Montenegro - © BoPhotoAdventures / Shutterstock
© BoPhotoAdventures / Shutterstock

Impossible to miss from afar is the striking Church of St. Nicholas, whose 55m bell tower is the tallest in the entire Bay of Kotor. Built in 1616, the church houses a rich interior with a Venetian altar and an extensive church treasure of gold and silver. The paintings are from the workshop of the famous Baroque artist Tripo Kokoljas.

Palata Smekja

The largest palace in Perast after renovation was built in 1764 and still bears witness to the enormous wealth of its owners. Precious stones from the Croatian island of Korčula were used for the three-storey building with its high-baroque balconies and portals.

Palata Zmajević

Aerial view of the town of Perast in the Bay of Kotor, Montenegro - © Aleksei Kazachok / Shutterstock
© Aleksei Kazachok / Shutterstock

Tripo Kokolja also immortalised himself here with his frescoes. Once part of the relatively weak city fortifications, today only a ruin remains of the palace and the ornate painting is barely recognisable.

Sveti Jovana Krstitelja

TheChurch of St. John the Baptist is the first of 14 churches that were donated to Perast mostly by the upper classes. In the church, built in 1596, you get a first taste of the interior decoration of Gospa od Škrpjela, because the paintings there were also created by the famous Baroque artist Tripo Kokolja.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodation in Montenegro

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Palata Bujović

The last large building on the way along the promenade is also the only palace in Perast that can be visited from the inside. The Palata Bujović from the late 17th century houses the Perast Museum of Local History, which presents documents and other finds from the town's heyday.

Further links:

Official website of Perast

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Perast, Montenegro

Der charmante Ort Perast in der traumhaften Bucht von Kotor in Montenegro ist schon von weitem eine Augenweide - © Planner / Shutterstock
© Planner / Shutterstock

Das schmucke Perast war einst florierendes Seefahrerzentrum in der Bucht von Kotor und wurde Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts komplett restauriert. Manche Teile Perasts sind immer noch Ruinen, doch die Mehrheit der prachtvollen Bauten erstrahlt bereits wieder in altem Glanz.

Der charmante Ort Perast in der traumhaften Bucht von Kotor in Montenegro ist schon von weitem eine Augenweide. An der Uferpromenade reihen sich prunkvolle Villen und die beiden kleinen Klosterinseln Sveti Đorđe und Gospa od Škrpjela vor Perast geben dem Postkartenmotiv noch den letzten Schliff.

Geschichte von Perast

Perast, im 13. Jahrhundert erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, stand jahrelang im Schatten des bedeutenderen Kotor, schlug sich schließlich auf die Seite der Venezianer und bekämpfte Kotor, bevor es als eigenständige Kleinstadt für seine Seeleute, Händler und Nautiker bekannt wurde. Die vier Reedereien Perasts unterhielten bis zu 100 Schiffe und viele Kapitäne wählten Perast als Alterswohnsitz. Der Reichtum der Kleinstadt wuchs über die Jahrhunderte und zwischen 1600 und 1797 entstanden prunkvolle Neubauten der Peraster Oberschicht.

Die beiden kleinen Klosterinseln Sveti Đorđe und Gospa od Škrpjela vor Perast geben dem Postkartenmotiv noch den letzten Schliff, Montenegro - © ddsign / Shutterstock
© ddsign / Shutterstock

Als die internationalen Schiffe jedoch immer größer wurden, war der Hafen von Perast bald zu klein und der Geldstrom der Seefahrt begann, in andere Häfen zu fließen. Ab 1900 begann Perast langsam zu verfallen. Was von der einst florierenden Stadt noch übrig war, zerstörte das Erdbeben von 1979.

Gott sein Dank entschieden sich die Denkmalschützer Montenegros damals dafür, das Kleinod in der Bucht von Kotor wieder aufzubauen und so erstrahlt Perast heute dank Investitionen der UNESCO, des Staates Montenegro und vieler Privatsponsoren in altem Glanz. Manche Ruinen in den höher gelegenen Teilen von Perast warten noch immer auf ihrer Renovierung, was Perast jedoch einen ganz eigenen, historischen Charme verleiht.

Gospa od Škrpjela

Die Gospa od Škrpjela ist eine Kircheninsel vor dem Küstenstädtchen Perast und liegt in der malerischen Bucht von Kotor, Montenegro - © ivanovskyy / Shutterstock
© ivanovskyy / Shutterstock

Die malerische „Maria vom Felsen” ist eine künstlich aufgeschüttete Insel, auf der eine Kirche errichtet wurde, in der eindrucksvolle Meisterarbeiten montenegrinischer und italienischer Künstler zu besichtigen sind. Die erste Kirche stammt aus dem Jahr 1452, der römisch-katholische Sakralbau, der heute zu sehen ist, wurde 1632 errichtet und knapp 100 Jahre später renoviert und ausgebaut. Vor allem die Seefahrer baten und bitten hier um eine sichere Heimkehr.

Insel Sveti Đorđe

Im Gegensatz zu Gospa od Škrpjela ist die Insel des „Hl. Georg” ein natürliches Eiland, auf dem im 12. Jahrhundert das erste Benediktiner-Kloster gleichen Namens errichtet wurde. Sveti Đorđe war lange Zeit Zankapfel zwischen Perast und Kotor, bis die winzige Insel im Jahr 1634 schließlich Perast zugesprochen wurde.

Auf der zypressenbestandenen Insel Sveti Đorđe vor Perast in Montenegro fanden die großen Persönlichkeiten der Stadt ihre letzte Ruhestätte - © hor Pasternak / Shutterstock
© hor Pasternak / Shutterstock

Nur 20 Jahre später wurde Sveti Đorđe von den Türken demoliert, nachdem sie nach der Belagerung von Perast und Kotor ohne Erfolg wieder abziehen mussten. Weitere 13 Jahre später zerstörte das Erdbeben von 1667 auch den Rest der Klosteranlage. Das heutige Kloster von Sveti Đorđe inmitten hoher Zypressen stammt aus dem frühen 18. Jahrhundert und beherbergt die Grabstätten der großen Persönlichkeiten von Perast.

Altstadt von Perast

Der Begriff „Altstadt” ist in Perast kaum angebracht, sind die meisten Restaurationen der Kleinstadt ja kaum 50 Jahre alt. Dennoch zeugt das kompakte, denkmalgeschützte Architektur-Ensemble vom einstigen Wohlstand.

Ein klassischer Rundgang durch Perast ist nicht möglich, da die Straßen in höheren Lagen allesamt noch nicht restauriert wurden und viele davon in Sackgassen enden. Die beste Art, Perast zu erkunden ist daher von Ost nach West an der Uferpromenade entlang, mit einzelnen Abstechern ins „Hinterland”.

Sveti Nikola

Der markante Glockenturm der Pfarrkirche des Hl. Nikolaus in Perast ist mit 55m der höchste in der Bucht von Kotor, Montenegro - © Eugene Sergeev / Shutterstock
© Eugene Sergeev / Shutterstock

Schon von weitem unmöglich zu übersehen ist die markante Kirche des Hl. Nikolaus, deren 55m hoher Glockenturm der höchste in der gesamten Bucht von Kotor ist. Das 1616 erbaute Gotteshaus beherbergt eine reiche Innenausstattung mit einem venezianischen Altar und einem umfangreichen Kirchenschatz aus Gold und Silber. Die Gemälde stammen aus der Werkstatt des berühmten Barock-Künstlers Tripo Kokoljas.

Palata Smekja

Der nach der Renovierung größte Palast von Perast wurde 1764 erbaut und zeugt heute noch vom enormen Reichtum seiner Besitzer. Für das dreistöckige Gebäude mit den hochbarocken Balkonen und Portalen wurden die damals kostbaren Steine von der kroatischen Insel Korčula verwendet.

Palata Zmajević

Auch hier hat sich Tripo Kokolja mit seinen Fresken verewigt. Einst Teil der relativ schwach ausgeprägten Stadtbefestigung ist von dem Palast heute nur noch eine Ruine übrig und die kunstvolle Bemalung kaum noch zu erkennen.

Sveti Jovana Krstitelja

Die Kirche von Johannes dem Täufer ist die erste von 14 Kirchen, die Perast meist von der Oberschicht gespendet wurden. In dem 1596 erbauten Gotteshaus erhält man einen ersten Vorgeschmack auf die Innenausstattung der Gospa od Škrpjela, denn auch dort wurden die Gemälde vom berühmten Barock-Künstler Tripo Kokolja geschaffen.

Palata Bujović

Das letzte große Gebäude auf dem Weg über die Strandpromenade ist auch der einzige Palast von Perast, der von innen besichtigt werden kann. Der Palata Bujović aus dem späten 17. Jahrhundert beherbergt das Heimatmuseum von Perast, welches Dokumente und andere Fundstücke aus der Blütezeit der Stadt präsentiert.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website von Perast (englisch)