Aradena Gorge in Crete, Greece

The little-known but spectacular Aradena Gorge is located in western Crete. Its wild beauty is revealed by a view from the 138m high Aradena Bridge or on a challenging hike through the Aradena Gorge.

The rugged Aradena Gorge in western Crete runs from the peak of Thodoris in the White Mountains to the sea and, at 138 metres, is the deepest gorge in the Chania region.

Advertisement

With a length of 15 kilometres, the Aradena Gorge is even slightly longer than the famous Samaria Gorge, which is walked through by tens of thousands of Cretan holidaymakers in the high season. The Sfakians called it "Faragas", "Huge Gorge", which is not surprising when looking at the impressive steep cliffs.

PICTURES: Aradena Gorge and Aradena Bridge on Crete

Photo gallery: Aradena Gorge and Aradena Bridge in Crete

Not as well known as the Samaria Gorge, which is often wrongly called Europe's longest gorge, the Aradena Gorge is well worth a visit - especially because there are far fewer tourists marching through it!

Best time to visit the Aradena Gorge

Weather-wise, the best time to visit Aradena Gorge in Crete, Greece is from April to October - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Aradena Gorge is open all year round. Weather-wise, the best time to visit the Aradena Gorge is April to October. Hiking through the Aradena Gorge during or shortly after rainfall is not recommended and is even dangerous due to possible falling rocks. If you hike through the Aradena Gorge in May or June, you will enjoy the countless oleander bushes in bloom.

Getting to the Aradena Gorge

The snow-white Church of St. Michael the Archangel offers a picturesque photo motif right on the edge of the Aradena Gorge in Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Aradena Gorge is located in the west of the island of Crete on its southern coast. From Chora Sfakion, a well-maintained road runs via the mountain village of Anapoli to the Aradena Gorge. The gorge can thus be easily reached by rental car.

From Anapoli, a good 3-kilometre-long footpath leads to the abandoned Aradena village right on the edge of the gorge. It was depopulated after the last vendetta of the Sfakians in the 1950s. The dilapidated houses still display the typical Cretan island architecture. The snow-white church of St. Michael the Archangel is still well preserved and offers a picturesque photo motif right on the edge of the gorge.

Aradena Bridge - 138m Bungee Jumping

The steel girder bridge, built in 1986, offers a wonderful view of the Aradena Gorge in western Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

If you drive to the Aradena Gorge, you will discover another sight in western Crete: the spectacular Aradena Bridge over the gorge, which connects Anapolis and Aradena. It is one of the most beautiful bridges in Crete and is located at the highest point of the gorge. From May to October, the 138-metre drop is used by bungee jumpers for their daring jumps - which are among the highest bungee jumps in Europe.

Advertisement

The steel girder bridge built in 1986 offers a wonderful view of the Aradena Gorge. But of course, its full splendour is best revealed on a hike through the Aradena Gorge.

Hike through the Aradena Gorge

Meanwhile, a gravel path leads from the Aradena Bridge to the bottom of the Aradena Gorge in Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Directly in front of the Aradena Bridge next to the Astratigos Chapel, a hiking trail leads to the bottom of the Aradena Gorge. From here, the hike to the end of the gorge at the Libyan Sea takes about 2.5 hours. In the past, the descent was via a steep ladder, but now a gravel path leads down to the riverbed at the bottom of the gorge.

Just like the famous Samaria Gorge in the northwest of Crete, the Aradena Gorge is also located on the legendary European long-distance hiking trail E4. A hike through the Aradena Gorge, with an altitude difference of 700 metres and many a tricky spot, is only recommended for experienced hikers and not an alternative for Crete holidays with children!

Tip: If you have knee problems, you should hike through the gorge from the coast to the top. The ascent is manageable and walking uphill is much healthier for the joints - assuming trained thighs.

Start at Aradena

Most hikers start at the Aradena Bridge about halfway down the Aradena Gorge in Crete, Greece - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Most hikers start at the Aradena Bridge, which is located about in the middle of the gorge. Thus, the rumour persists that the Aradena Gorge is only 7 kilometres long.

The hiking trail through the Aradena Gorge is marked with cairns and coloured blobs and leads past spectacular steep cliffs that rise more than a hundred metres into the sky. The most impressive spot is directly below Aradena, where the cliffs are only 8 metres apart at the bottom and 25 metres apart at the top, reaching 138 metres into the sky.

Two abandoned villages, Azogyres and Sterni, can also be found at the bottom of the gorge. Some passages require some concentration and very good surefootedness, especially when walking downwards through the gorge.

Attention! There are wild goats living in the gorge, and they keep kicking up stones. If goats appear above you, wait and see.

Destination in Marmara Bay

Marmara Bay in Crete, Greece, gets its name "Marble Beach" from the softly carved rocks and colourful sea caves surrounding it - © Heracles Kritikos / Shutterstock
© Heracles Kritikos / Shutterstock

At its end, the Aradena Gorge opens up to the dreamlike Marmara Beach with its colourful sea caves. A stop for a swim in the crystal-clear sea is recommended there before continuing for an hour on foot (along an unsecured coastal path next to which the cliff drops quite steeply into the sea) or by boat to Loutro. Boats leave from this picturesque coastal village back to Chora Sfakion (or you can get a lift from locals in a car).

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodations: Crete

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta, Griechenland

Die wenig bekannte aber spektakuläre Aradena-Schlucht liegt im Westen Kretas, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die wenig bekannte aber spektakuläre Aradena-Schlucht liegt im Westen Kretas. Ihre wilde Schönheit erschließt sich bei einem Blick von der 138m hohen Aradena-Brücke oder auf einer anspruchsvollen Wanderung durch die Aradena-Schlucht.

Die schroffe Aradena-Schlucht im Westen von Kreta verläuft vom Gipfel Thodoris in den Weißen Bergen bis ans Meer und ist mit 138 Metern die tiefste Schlucht der Region Chania. Mit einer Länge von 15 Kilometern ist sie sogar noch etwas länger als die berühmte Samaria-Schlucht, die in der Hochsaison von zigtausenden Kreta-Urlaubern durchwandert wird. Die Sfakier nannten sie „Faragas“, „Riesige Schlucht“, was beim Anblick der eindrucksvollen Steilklippen nicht verwunderlich ist.

BILDER: Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta

 

Nicht so bekannt wie die Samaria-Schlucht, die oft fälschlicherweise als Europas längste Schlucht bezeichnet wird, ist die Aradena-Schlucht aber allemal einen Besuch wert – vor allem, weil hier lange nicht so viele Touristen durch die Schlucht marschieren!

Anreise zur Aradena-Schlucht

Die Aradena-Schlucht liegt im Westen der Insel Kreta an ihrer Südküste. Von Chora Sfakion aus verläuft eine bestens ausgebaute Straße über das Bergdorf Anapoli bis zur Aradena Schlucht. Die Schlucht kann somit bequem mit dem Mietwagen erreicht werden.

Von Anapoli führt ein gut 3 Kilometer langer Fußweg bis ins verlassene Aradena-Dorf direkt am Rand der Schlucht. Es wurde nach der letzten Vendetta der Sfakier in den 1950er-Jahren entvölkert. Die verfallenen Häuser weisen immer noch die typisch kretische Inselarchitektur auf. Die schneeweiße Kirche des Erzengels Michael ist immer noch gut erhalten und bietet direkt an der Kante der Schlucht ein malerisches Fotomotiv.

Die schneeweiße Kirche des Erzengels Michael bietet direkt an der Kante der Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta, Griechenland, ein malerisches Fotomotiv - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Aradena-Brücke – 138m Bungee Jumping

Wer mit dem Auto zur Aradena-Schlucht fährt, entdeckt eine weitere Sehenswürdigkeit im Westen Kretas: die spektakuläre Aradena-Brücke über die Schlucht, die Anapolis und Aradena miteinander verbindet. Sie zählt zu den schönsten Brücken Kretas und liegt am höchsten Punkt der Schlucht. Die 138 Meter, die es hier in die Tiefe geht, nutzen von Mai bis Oktober Bungee Jumper für ihre waghalsigen Sprünge – die zu den höchsten Bungee Jumps Europas zählen.

Von der 1986 errichteten Stahlträgerbrücke tut sich ein wunderbarer Blick in die Aradena-Schlucht im Westen von Kreta auf, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Von der 1986 errichteten Stahlträgerbrücke tut sich ein wunderbarer Blick in die Aradena-Schlucht auf. Ihre ganze Pracht erschließt sich aber natürlich am besten auf einer Wanderung durch die Aradena-Schlucht.

Wanderung durch die Aradena-Schlucht

Direkt vor der Aradena-Brücke neben der Astratigos Kapelle führt ein Wanderweg auf den Grund der Aradena-Schlucht. Von hier dauert die Wanderung bis zum Ende der Schlucht am Lybischen Meer etwa 2,5 Stunden. Früher erfolgte der Abstieg über eine steile Leiter, mittlerweile führt ein Schotterweg bis hinunter zum Flussbett am Grund der Schlucht.

Mittlerweile führt ein Schotterweg von der Aradena-Brücke bis an den Grund der Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Ebenso wie die berühmte Samaria-Schlucht im Nordwesten Kretas liegt auch die Aradena-Schlucht am legendären europäischen Fernwanderweg E4. Eine Wanderung durch die Aradena Schlucht ist mit einem Höhenunterschied von 700 Metern und manch kniffliger Stelle nur für erfahrene Wanderer zu empfehlen und keine Alternative für Kreta-Urlaub mit Kindern!

Tipp: Wer Knieprobleme hat, sollte die Schlucht von der Küste nach oben durchwandern. Der Anstieg ist bewältigbar und das bergauf Gehen um einiges gesünder für die Gelenke – trainierte Oberschenkel vorausgesetzt.

Die meisten Wanderer starten bei der Aradena-Brücke etwa in der Mitte der Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta, Griechenland - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die meisten Wanderer starten bei der Aradena-Brücke, die etwa in der Mitte der Schlucht liegt. Somit hält sich hartnäckig das Gerücht, dass die Aradena-Schlucht nur 7 Kilometer lang sei. Der Wanderweg durch die Aradena Schlucht ist mit Steinmännchen und Farbklecksen markiert und führt an spektakulären Steilklippen vorbei, die über hundert Meter in den Himmel ragen. Die eindrucksvollste Stelle ist direkt unter Aradena, hier liegen die Felswände am Grund nur 8 und oben 25 Meter auseinander und streben 138 Meter in den Himmel.

Auch zwei verlassene Dörfer, Azogyres und Sterni, sind am Grund der Schlucht zu finden. Einige Passagen erfordern einiges an Konzentration und sehr gute Trittsicherheit, vor allem, wenn die Schlucht nach unten durchwandert wird.

Achtung! In der Schlucht leben wilde Ziegen, die immer wieder Steine lostreten. Sollten über Ihnen Ziegen auftauchen, warten Sie sicherheitshalber ab.

An ihrem Ende öffnet sich die Aradena-Schlucht zum traumhaften Marmara Strand. Dort empfiehlt sich ein Bade-Stopp im glasklaren Meer, bevor es eine Stunden zu Fuß (an einem nicht abgesicherten Küstenpfad, neben dem die Klippe ziemlich steil ins Meer abfällt) oder per Boot weiter nach Loutro geht. In diesem malerischen Küstenort starten Boote zurück nach Chora Sfakion (oder Sie lassen sich von Einheimischen im Auto mitnehmen).

Wettertechnisch ist die beste Reisezeit für die Aradena-Schlucht auf Kreta, Griechenland, von April bis Oktober - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Beste Reisezeit für die Aradena-Schlucht

Die Aradena-Schlucht ist das ganze Jahr über geöffnet, wettertechnisch ist die beste Reisezeit für die Aradena-Schlucht April bis Oktober. Eine Wanderung durch die Aradena-Schlucht während oder kurz nach Regenfällen ist nicht zu empfehlen und aufgrund von möglichem Steinschlag sogar gefährlich. Wer im Mai oder Juni durch die Aradena-Schlucht wandert, erfreut sich an den unzähligen blühenden Oleanderbüschen.