Jellyfish Lake in the Rock Islands, Palau

World-famous among divers, Jellyfish Lake on the Rock Islands in Palau is located on the uninhabited limestone island of Eil Malk. The jellyfish that populate it have no natural enemies and therefore no poisonous tentacles. Snorkellers can safely move through swarms of tens of thousands of the ghostly animals.

World-famous among divers, Jellyfish Lake on the Rock Islands in Palau is located on the uninhabited limestone island of Eil Malk. It was formed about 12,000 years ago when rising sea levels caused salt water to seep through the karst rock of the Rock Islands and collect in the basin of what is now Jellyfish Lake. Eil Malk is about a 45-minute boat ride from Koror.

Advertisement

The fascinating brackish water lake is 420 by 200 metres, up to 30 metres deep and the only one of the 70 marine lakes on Palau that is open to the public. Its water level is on a par with the sea level; with a delay of about 1.5 hours, even the tides are visible. The lake is actually called Ongeim'l Tketau. Jellyfish Lake, it is called because of its unique inhabitants. In its salt water, which is also mixed with fresh water in the first 3 metres, countless jellyfish cavort. Divers who come across jellyfish usually give them a wide berth because their tentacles are poisonous and cause a terrible burning sensation on the skin, and some species can even kill.

Swimming with jellyfish?

Jellyfish Lake in the Rock Islands is probably the only place in the world where you can swim with jellyfish. It is home to the pale yellow Mastigias Medusae jellyfish, also known as the Golden Jellyfish, or simply Medusa, which grows up to 23 cm in size. Since the translucent water dwellers have virtually no natural enemies in their lake, which is secluded from the outside world, their tentacles are also non-toxic. Snorkellers therefore need have no fear and can get up close and personal with the ghostly creatures in the approximately 30°C warm water.

The jellyfish that populate Jellyfish Lake in the Rock Islands have no natural enemies and therefore no poisonous tentacles, Palau - © Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock
© Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock

Deeper diving with oxygen tanks is not allowed in Jellyfish Lake. Firstly, the rising oxygen bubbles can get caught in the umbrellas of the jellyfish and secondly, the water is permeated with sulphuric acid from a depth of about 15 metres, which can even be fatal for a diver. This is also the reason why the medusae never get below this depth. From about 15m, there is no more oxygen. Other animals in the lake do not get above the size of snails, sponges and crabs. Other medusa habitats are Clear Lake also on Eil Malk and Goby Lake and Big Jellyfish Lake on Koror.

Tip: The jellyfish are supported in their feeding by unicellular organisms that live on a certain type of algae. Algae need light to live and therefore most medusae are always found where the sun shines most intensively on the lake, from morning to evening they follow the daylight. In addition, the only enemies of the jellyfish - solid sea anemones - live in the shade.

According to estimates, about 30 million of these fascinating animals live in Jellyfish Lake. Swimming around among thousands of them in complete safety is an unforgettable experience that should not be missed if you are ever on Palau.

And so it sometimes happens that you run into holidaymakers in the rainforest of Eil Malk who are walking through the dense jungle armed with diving goggles, snorkels and fins. The path from the coast to Jellyfish Lake takes about 30 minutes over two steep hills through the jungle of the Rock Islands.

Related links:

More info about Jellyfish Lake and the Medusae on Wikipedia

Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands, Palau

Im unter Tauchern weltberühmte Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands in Palau tummeln sich Millionen von Quallen - © Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock
© Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock

Der unter Tauchern weltberühmte Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands in Palau befindet sich auf der unbewohnten Kalksteininsel Eil Malk. Die Quallen, die ihn bevölkern, haben keine natürlichen Feinde und daher keine giftigen Tentakeln. Schnorchler können sich gefahrlos durch Schwärme von zigtausenden der geisterhaften Tiere bewegen.

Der unter Tauchern weltberühmte Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands in Palau befindet sich auf der unbewohnten Kalksteininsel Eil Malk. Er entstand vor etwa 12.000 Jahren, als durch den Anstieg des Meeresspiegels Salzwasser durch das Karstgestein der Rock Islands sickerte und sich im Becken des heutigen Jellyfish Lake sammelte. Eil Malk ist etwa eine 45minüte Bootsfahrt von Koror entfernt.

Der faszinierende Brackwassersee ist 420 mal 200 Meter groß, bis zu 30 Meter tief und als einziger der 70 marinen Seen auf Palau öffentlich zugänglich. Sein Wasserspiegel ist mit dem Meeresspiegel auf einer Ebene, mit etwa 1,5 Stunden Verspätung sind sogar die Gezeiten sichtbar. Der See heißt eigentlich Ongeim’l Tketau. Jellyfish Lake, „Quallensee”, wird er aufgrund seiner einzigartigen Bewohner genannt. In seinem Salzwasser, welches auf den ersten 3 Metern auch mit Süßwasser durchmischt ist, tummeln sich unzählige Quallen. Taucher, die Quallen zu Gesicht bekommen, machen normalerweise einen großen Bogen um sie, denn ihre Tentakeln sind giftig und verursachen ein furchtbares Brennen auf der Haut, manche Arten können sogar töten.

Mit Quallen schwimmen?

Der Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands ist wohl der einzige Ort der Welt, auf dem man mit Quallen schwimmen kann. In ihm wohnt die bis zu 23cm große blassgelbe Mastigias Medusae Qualle, auch als Golden Jellyfish, oder einfach nur Medusa bezeichnet. Da die durchscheinenden Wasserbewohner in ihrem von der Außenwelt abgeschiedenen See so gut wie keine natürlichen Feinde haben, sind auch ihre Tentakeln ungiftig. Schnorchler müssen somit keine Angst haben und können im etwa 30°C warmen Wasser mit den geisterhaften Tieren auf Tuchfühlung gehen.

Die Quallen, die den Jellyfish Lake auf den Rock Islands bevölkern, haben keine natürlichen Feinde und daher keine giftigen Tentakeln, Palau - © Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock
© Ethan Daniels / Shutterstock

Tieferes Tauchen mit Sauerstoffflasche ist im Jellyfish Lake nicht erlaubt. Erstens können sich die aufsteigenden Sauerstoffblasen in den Schirmen der Quallen verfangen und zweitens ist das Wasser ab einer Tiefe von etwa 15 Metern mit Schwefelsäure durchsetzt, was für einen Taucher sogar tödlich enden kann. Dies ist auch der Grund, warum die Medusen nie unter diese Tiefe kommen. Ab etwa 15m gibt es keinen Sauerstoff mehr. Andere Tiere im See kommen über die Größe von Schnecken, Schwämmen und Krebsen nicht hinaus. Weitere Lebensräume der Medusen sind der Clear Lake ebenfalls auf Eil Malk und der Goby Lake sowie der Big Jellyfish Lake auf Koror.

Tipp: Die Quallen werden bei der Ernährung von einzelligen Organismen unterstützt, die von einer bestimmten Algenart leben. Algen brauchen Licht zum leben und daher sind die meisten Medusen immer dort zu finden, wo die Sonne am intensivsten auf den See scheint, von morgens bis abends folgen sie dem Tageslicht. Außerdem leben im Schatten die einzigen Feinde der Quallen – fest gewachsene Seeanemonen.

Laut Schätzungen leben etwa 30 Millionen der faszinierenden Tiere im Jellyfish Lake. Zwischen zigtausenden von ihnen völlig gefahrlos herumzuschwimmen, ist ein unvergessliches Erlebnis, das man auf keinen Fall missen sollte, wenn man sich schon einmal auf Palau befindet.

Und so kommt es schon mal vor, dass man im Regenwald von Eil Malk Urlaubern über den Weg läuft, die mit Taucherbrille, Schnorchel und Flossen bewaffnet durch den dichten Urwald spazieren. Von der Küste zum Jellyfish Lake führt der Weg nämlich ca. 30 Minuten über zwei steile Hügel durch den Dschungel der Rock Islands.

Weiterführende Links:

Mehr Info zum Jellyfish-Lake und den Medusen auf Wikipedia

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >