Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania

With churches and pubs, small shops and hotels as well as some impressive museums, Sighetu Marmatiei in Baia Mare County is one of Romania's most important tourist destinations.

The cheerful settlement of Sighetu Marmatiei in the far north of Romania has always been a melting pot of numerous peoples. Romanians, Ukrainians, Hungarians and Germans, as well as Catholics, Orthodox and Jews have left their mark on the small town and made it interesting for tourism to this day. So interesting, in fact, that it is one of our Top 10 Sights of Romania.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Sighetu Marmatiei

Photo gallery: Sighetu Marmatiei

History of Sighetu Marmatiei

Sighetu Marmatiei has been the capital of many empires in its past. Its first settlement dates back to the Bronze Age. Since then, the princes of Moldavia and Transylvania resided in Sighet until the city finally belonged to Hungary in 1733 and finally to Romania from 1960.

Sighetu Marmatiei was the scene of political persecution and oppression during both the Second World War and the subsequent reign of communism. The terrible times of that time can be relived in the impressive and partly disturbing Sighet Memorial.

Sights of Sighetu Marmatiei

The Piața Libertății is the best starting point for a sightseeing tour of Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania - © Fraba / public domain/Wiki
© Fraba / public domain/Wiki

All the important sights of Sighetu Marmatiei are within walking distance in the city centre and can be explored within a day. Only for the way to the open-air museum on the outskirts of the city is a car an advantage.

Piața Libertății

The Orthodox Church in Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania, is probably the most striking building in the town - © Fuchs / CC BY-SA 3.0/W
© Fox / CC BY-SA 3.0/W

The best starting point for a sightseeing tour of Sighetu Marmatiei is the Piața Libertății, the Freedom Square in the centre of the two main streets that run through the city from east to west. Most of Sighetu Marmatiei's museums and churches worth seeing are grouped around the elongated square with the small park in the middle.

To the east is the town hall and opposite it is the impressive Biserica Reformată, made of sunny yellow bricks. Parts of the church date back to the 11th century, making it the oldest church in the city.

Equally impressive is the Orthodox church with its massive towers, probably the most striking building in Sighetu Marmatiei. The tourist information office can also be found here.

Advertisement

Ethnographic Museum of Maramureș

Some rooms in the open-air museum of Sighetu Marmatiei look downright artistic, Romania - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Muzeul Etnografic al Maramureșului is located on the north side of Freedom Square next to the Roman Catholic Church of St. Borromeo built in 1736. It shows typical rural life in the Maramureș in the form of carpets, gates and utensils. Most worth seeing, however, is its outpost, the open-air museum on the outskirts of the city.

Dr Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa Museum

Diagonally opposite the Maramureș Museum is the Casa Muzeu Dr. Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa, which presents not the rural but the bourgeois life of the region. Built in 1844, the house once belonged to a certain nobleman named Dr. Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa and, with its own library, displays valuable rococo furniture and beautiful paintings by the politician, scientist and art collector.

Sighet Memorial

The Sighet Memorial presents the horrors of communism in Romania in an impressive way in a former political prison - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Today, the Sighet Memorial commemorates the totalitarian regime and the victims of communism and its resistance. The memorial consists of a museum and the International Centre for Studies on Communism. It was founded in 1993 by the Romanian writer couple Ana Blandiana, the president of the Civic Alliance, and Romulus Rusan, the current director of the memorial.

PICTURES: Sighet Memorial in Sighetu Marmatiei

Photo gallery: Sighet Memorial in Sighetu Marmatiei

In 1998, the Council of Europe designated the Sighet Memorial as one of the most important memorials in Europe. Still under pressure from the post-communist regimes until 1997, the memorial was finally also recognised and supported by the national government.

Sighet Museum

In the museum in the former prison in Sighet, Romania, the gloomy atmosphere can still be felt today - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Sighet Museum is located in the building of the former Sighet Penitentiary. The prison was built as early as 1897 under Austro-Hungarian rule. In 1948 it was converted into a political prison of the communists, which was notorious until 1989 due to the strict prison conditions (no heating and meagre meals).

In a total of 50 exhibition rooms, which are located in former prison cells, the terrible events of the communist era in Romania are presented. The museum is meticulous about sticking to original facts and pointing out gaps in the documentation.

Exhibitions in the prison cells and famous inmates

The Hall of Kitsch Communism at the Sighet Memorial in Romania shows the "golden age" that Romania was led to believe after World War II - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The prisoners included leading church members, top politicians and ministers of the "wrong" parties, generals and critical communists. Among the most famous inmates were the Romanian Prime Minister and leader of the National Peasant Party Iuliu Maniu, who is considered one of the fathers of Romanian democracy, or the Catholic Bishop Anton Durcovici, who was later beatified.

Advertisement

Today, some death cells commemorate their famous inmates, in some cells the inhumane prison life can be reconstructed and others deal with the totalitarian regime in general. For example, one room in the Sighet Memorial is dedicated to all those historical buildings that were destroyed for the Palace of Parliament in Bucharest.

Prayer and Meditation Site at Sighet Memorial

On the walls of the ramp leading to the underground memorial at the Sighet Memorial are engraved the names of thousands of victims from prisons in Romania - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In 1996, an underground place of prayer and meditation was added to the Sighet Memorial in Romania. The names of 8,000 victims from the prisons, camps and deportation sites in Romania are inscribed on the walls of the ramp leading to the "Room of Reflection and Prayer". The names of other inmates who were once imprisoned in Sighet for political reasons are engraved in the inner courtyard and in the cemetery for the poor.

Monument "The Sacrificial Procession

The bronze monument "The Sacrificial Procession" in the Sighet Memorial in Romania was created in 1998 by Aurel Vlad - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In an inner courtyard of the spacious prison is the bronze monument "The Sacrificial Procession", created in 1998 by Aurel Vlad. The 18 figures of the monument are moving towards a wall with partly raised hands, which - similar to communism - robs them of their freedom and blocks their view of the horizon. The unmistakable shape of the statues has become a kind of landmark of the Sighet Memorial.

International Centre for Studies on Communism

The second part of the Sighet Memorial is the International Centre for the Study of Communism in the Romanian capital Bucharest, which is directed by Romulus Rusan. In addition to the research department, the centre also houses an archive, a publishing house, a department for contemporary witnesses and exhibition rooms. Documents, photographs, eyewitness accounts and objects were collected here and subsequently exhibited in the museum.

International Summer School for Young People

Since 1998, the International Summer School for Young People has also been part of the Sighet Memorial. The summer school is directed by the French historian Stéphane Courtois, who became famous in 1997 for publishing the "Black Book of Communism". Every year in July, historians, journalists, writers, doctors, economists, composers and international filmmakers teach here.

"Shtetl" - Jewish quarter

From the Sighet Memorial, on the other side of the two main streets, lies the Jewish quarter of Sighetu Marmatiei, the "shtetl", where the traveller is immediately greeted by the synagogue from 1854 on Strada Basarabiei.

The synagogue in the Jewish quarter "Schtetl" is the last of formerly eight left in Sighetu Marmatiei after the Second World War, Romania - © Vberger PD/Wiki
© Vberger PD/Wiki

It is the last one left. There used to be eight synagogues in Sighet with their own Jewish cemeteries and a Yiddish newspaper. Since the Second World War, when around 12,400 Jews were deported from Sighet until 1944, only around 100 Jews still live in the town.

Advertisement

Casa Elie Wiesel

One of the most famous Jews in Sighetu Marmatiei was the Nobel Prize winner Elie Wiesel, who was deported with his family to the concentration camp in Auschwitz in 1944 and liberated a year later in the Buchenwald concentration camp.

For a voluntary donation as admission, his birthplace on Tudor Vladimirescu can be visited, which presents not only his life but also the time of the Holocaust in Sighet.

Cattle market (Târgul de animale)

It takes a little longer to walk to the cattle market on Strada Nicolae Bălcescu, which can be reached from the shtetl in about half an hour. Here, not only fodder and household goods, but also live cattle, calves and pigs are sold in the middle of the city until around 1 pm. A special kind of spectacle that is put on especially big on the first Monday of every month.

Open-air museum of the Ethnographic Museum of Maramureș

The open-air museum on the outskirts of Sighetu Marmatiei is a branch of the Maramureș Ethnographic Museum, which is located in the city centre on Freedom Square. Next to the impressive Sighet Memorial, the museum village is the second most important sight of the small town in the north of Romania.

PICTURES: Village Museum in Sighetu Marmatiei

Photo gallery: Village Museum in Sighetu Marmatiei

Visit to the museum village of Sighetu Marmatiei

The open-air museum is located in the east of the city and can be reached via Bogdan Vodă. From there, Strada Muzeului branches off, leading directly to the open-air section of the Maramureș Museum, established in 1981. For a small entrance fee, visitors can enter the idyllic grounds, where they immediately feel transported to Romanian life in the 16th and 17th centuries.

On the way in the village museum of Sighetu Marmatiei

Some rooms in the open-air museum of Sighetu Marmatiei look downright artistic, Romania - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

On green meadows under shady trees, about 30 historic courtyards are spread out, their pantries, living rooms, kitchens and bedrooms fully furnished.

Advertisement

Some rooms are simple, with bare stone walls and tamped earthen floors. Others are downright ornate with wood-panelled walls, carefully carved furniture and colourful carpets.

Between the farmsteads, wells, looms, mills, presses and other agricultural implements bring life back to the past.

Tip: Every year on Sunday around 18 May, a folk festival is held at the open-air museum, bringing the historical setting to life with traditional costumes, dances, traditional food and souvenir stalls.

Artful carvings

Elaborate carving on an archway at the Sighetu Marmatiei Open Air Museum, Romania - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

When wandering through the museum courtyards, it is also worth taking a closer look at the ornate decorations on the wooden fountains, gates and beams. All of these are made of hand-worked timber and represent the construction methods of the Slavs, Hungarians and Romanians of the time. Many archways are decorated with elaborate carvings consisting of Cyrillic and sometimes even Arabic characters.

Oncesti Wooden Church

Perched on a hill in the museum village, the traditional 16th century wooden church of Oncesti, Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Perched on a hill in the museum village, the traditional wooden church of Oncesti dates back to the 16th century. It was built between 1572 and 1614 and is the oldest building in the open-air museum. Unlike many other wooden churches in Maramureș, some of which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites, only a few fragments of its once magnificent murals remain.

Festival of Winter Customs

Those who stay in Sighetu Marmatiei in winter will witness a colourful festival with parades, dances, theatre and traditional costumes from 20 to 27 December. At the final masquerade parade on 27 December, which is also the highlight of the festival, the inhabitants of the small town appear as grandma and grandpa, bears, goats and devils, and many a person dares to express behind the mask what they have wanted to get rid of all year.

Related links:

Official website of the Sighet Memorial

Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Sighetu Marmatiei, Rumänien

Mit Kirchen und Lokalen, kleinen Shops und Hotels sowie einigen imposanten Museen zählt Sighetu Marmatiei im Kreis Baia Mare zu den wichtigsten Touristendestinationen Rumäniens.

Die fröhliche Siedlung Sighetu Marmatiei im äußersten Norden Rumäniens ist seit jeher ein Schmelztiegel zahlreicher Völker. Rumänen, Ukrainer, Ungarn und Deutsche, sowie Katholiken, Orthodoxe und Juden haben der Kleinstadt ihren Stempel aufgedrückt und das besonnene Städtchen bis heute für den Tourismus interessant gemacht. So interessant, dass es zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rumänien zählt.

Anzeige

BILDER: Sighetu Marmatiei

Fotogalerie: Sighetu Marmatiei

Geschichte von Sighetu Marmatiei

Sighetu Marmatiei war in seiner Vergangenheit bereits Hauptstadt vieler Reiche. Ihre erste Besiedlung geht bis auf die Bronzezeit zurück. Seit damals residierten in Sighet die Fürsten von Moldau und Siebenbürgen, bis die Stadt 1733 schließlich zu Ungarn und ab 1960 endgültig zu Rumänien gehörte.

Sowohl im Zweiten Weltkrieg als auch in der darauffolgenden Herrschaft des Kommunismus wurde Sighetu Marmatiei Schauplatz politischer Verfolgung und Unterdrückung. Die furchtbare Zeit von damals kann im eindrucksvollen und teils verstörenden Sighet Memorial nachvollzogen werden.

Sehenswürdigkeiten von Sighetu Marmatiei

Der Piața Libertății ist der beste Ausgangspunkt für eine Sightseeing-Tour durch Sighetu Marmatiei, Rumänien - © Fraba / gemeinfrei/Wiki
© Fraba / gemeinfrei/Wiki

Alle wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten von Sighetu Marmatiei befinden sich im Stadtzentrum in Laufweite und können innerhalb eines Tages erkundet werden. Lediglich für den Weg ins Freilichtmuseum am Stadtrand ist ein Auto von Vorteil.

Anzeige

Piața Libertății

Die orthodoxe Kirche in Sighetu Marmatiei, Rumänien, ist das wohl auffälligste Gebäude der Stadt - © Fuchs / CC BY-SA 3.0/W
© Fuchs / CC BY-SA 3.0/W

Der beste Ausgangspunkt für eine Sightseeing-Tour durch Sighetu Marmatiei ist der Piața Libertății, der Freiheitsplatz im Zentrum der beiden Hauptstraßen, die von Ost nach West durch die Stadt führen. Um den länglichen Platz mit dem kleinen Park in der Mitte gruppiert sich der Großteil der sehenswerten Museen und Kirchen von Sighetu Marmatiei.

Im Osten findet sich das Rathaus und gegenüber thront die eindrucksvolle Biserica Reformată aus sonnengelben Ziegeln. Teile es Gotteshauses stammen aus dem 11. Jahrhundert, was es zur ältesten Kirche der Stadt macht.

Ebenso eindrucksvoll präsentiert sich die orthodoxe Kirche mit ihren gewaltigen Türmen, wohl das auffälligste Gebäude von Sighetu Marmatiei. Auch die Touristeninformation ist hier zu finden.

Ethnografisches Museum der Maramureș

Manche Räume im Freilichtmuseum von Sighetu Marmatiei wirken regelrecht kunstvoll, Rumänien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Muzeul Etnografic al Maramureșului liegt an der Nordseite des Freiheitsplatzes neben der 1736 erbauten römisch-katholischen Kirche des Hl. Borromäus. Es zeigt in Form von Teppichen, Toren und Gerätschaften das typische ländliche Leben in den Maramureș. Am sehenswertesten ist jedoch seine Außenstelle, das Freilichtmuseum am Stadtrand.

Dr. Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa-Museum

Dem Maramureș-Museum schräg gegenüber liegt das Casa Muzeu Dr. Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa, in dem nicht das ländliche, sondern das gutbürgerliche Leben der Region vorgestellt wird. Das 1844 erbaute Wohnhaus gehörte einst einem gewissen Adeligen namens Dr. Ioan Mihalyi de Apșa und zeigt mit eigener Bibliothek wertvolles Rokoko-Mobiliar und hübsche Gemälde des Politikers, Wissenschaftlers und Kunstsammlers.

Anzeige

Gedenkstätte „Sighet Memorial“

Das Sighet Memorial präsentiert in einem ehemaligen politischen Gefängnis auf eindrucksvolle Weise die Schrecken des Kommunismus in Rumänien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

An das totalitäre Regime und die Opfer des Kommunismus und dessen Widerstands erinnert heute das Sighet Memorial. Die Gedenkstätte besteht aus einem Museum und dem Internationalen Zentrum für Studien über den Kommunismus. Es wurde 1993 vom rumänischen Schriftsteller-Ehepaar Ana Blandiana, der Vorsitzenden der Bürger-Allianz, und Romulus Rusan, dem heutigen Leiter der Gedenkstätte, ins Leben gerufen.

BILDER: Sighet Memorial in Sighetu Marmatiei

Fotogalerie: Sighet Memorial in Sighetu Marmatiei

1998 ernannte der Europarat das Sighet Memorial zu einer der wichtigsten Gedenkstätten Europas. Bis 1997 noch unter Druck der postkommunistischen Regime wurde das Denkmal schließlich auch von der nationalen Regierung anerkannt und unterstützt.

Sighet Museum

Im Museum im ehemaligen Gefängnis in Sighet, Rumänien, ist die düstere Stimmung bis heute noch zu spüren - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Das Sighet-Museum befindet sich im Gebäude der einstigen Strafvollzugsanstalt von Sighet. Das Gefängnis wurde bereits 1897 unter österreichisch-ungarischer Herrschaft errichtet. 1948 wurde es in ein politisches Gefängnis der Kommunisten umgewandelt, welches aufgrund der strengen Haftbedingungen (keine Heizung und karge Mahlzeiten) bis 1989 berüchtigt war.

In insgesamt 50 Ausstellungsräumen, die sich in ehemaligen Gefängniszellen befinden, werden die furchtbaren Geschehnisse zu Zeiten des Kommunismus in Rumänien präsentiert. Dabei ist das Museum penibel darauf bedacht, sich an originale Fakten zu halten und auf Dokumentationslücken hinzuweisen.

Ausstellungen in den Gefängniszellen und berühmte Insassen

Der Saal des Kitsch-Kommunismus im Sighet Memorial in Rumänien zeigt das „goldene Zeitalter“, welches Rumänien nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg vorgegaukelt wurde - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Zu den Gefangenen zählten führende Kirchenmitglieder, Spitzenpolitiker und Minister der „falschen“ Parteien, Generäle und kritische Kommunisten. Zu den berühmtesten Insassen zählten der rumänische Ministerpräsident und Führer der Nationalen Bauernpartei Iuliu Maniu, der als einer der Väter der rumänischen Demokratie gilt, oder der später selig gesprochene katholische Bischof Anton Durcovici.

Einige Todeszellen erinnern heute an ihre berühmten Insassen, in manchen Zellen kann das unmenschliche Gefängnisleben nachvollzogen werden und andere beschäftigen sich mit dem totalitären Regime im Allgemeinen. Ein Raum im Sighet Memorial ist zum Beispiel all jenen historischen Bauten gewidmet, die für den Parlamentspalast in Bukarest zerstört wurden.

Gebets- und Meditationsstätte am Sighet Memorial

An den Wänden der Rampe zur unterirdischen Gedenkstätte am Sighet Memorial sind die Namen tausender Opfer aus den Gefängnissen in Rumänien eingraviert - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Im Jahr 1996 wurde das Sighet Memorial in Rumänien um eine unterirdische Gebets- und Meditationsstätte erweitert. An den Wänden der Rampe zum „Raum der Besinnung und des Gebets“ sind die Namen von 8.000 Opfer aus den Gefängnissen, Lagern und Deportationsorten in Rumänien vermerkt. Im Innenhof und am Armenfriedhof in Rauchsteinplatten eingraviert prangen die Namen weiterer Insassen, die einst aus politischen Gründen in Sighet inhaftiert waren.

Denkmal „Der Opferzug“

Das Bronze-Denkmal „Der Opferzug“ im Sighet Memorial in Rumänien wurde im Jahr 1998 von Aurel Vlad geschaffen - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

In einem Innenhof des weitläufigen Gefängnisses befindet sich das im Jahr 1998 von Aurel Vlad geschaffene Bronze-Denkmal „Der Opferzug“. Die 18 Gestalten des Denkmals ziehen mit teils erhobenen Händen auf eine Mauer zu, die ihnen – ähnlich wie der Kommunismus – die Freiheit raubt und den Blick auf den Horizont versperrt. Die unverwechselbare Form der Statuen wurden mittlerweile zu einem Art Wahrzeichen des Sighet Memorials.

Internationales Zentrum für Studien über den Kommunismus

Der zweite Teil des Sighet Memorials ist das Internationale Zentrum für die Studien über den Kommunismus in der rumänischen Hauptstadt Bukarest, welches von Romulus Rusan geleitet wird. Neben der Forschungsabteilung beherbergt das Zentrum auch ein Archiv, einen Verlag, eine Abteilung für Zeitzeugen und Ausstellungsräumlichkeiten. Hier wurden Dokumente, Fotografien, Zeitzeugen-Berichte und Objekte gesammelt, die anschließend im Museum ausgestellt wurden.

Internationale Sommerschule für Jugendliche

Seit 1998 ist auch die Internationale Sommerschule für Jugendliche Teil des Sighet Memorials. Die Leitung der Sommerschule unterliegt dem französischen Historiker Stéphane Courtois, der 1997 für die Herausgabe des „Schwarzbuches des Kommunismus“ bekannt wurde. Jedes Jahr im Juli unterrichten hier Historiker, Journalisten, Schriftsteller, Ärzte, Wirtschaftler, Komponisten und internationale Filmemacher.

„Schtetl“ – Jüdisches Viertel

Vom Sighet Memorial auf der anderen Seite der beiden Hauptstraßen liegt mit dem „Schtetl“ das Jüdische Viertel von Sighetu Marmatiei, wo der Reisende gleich an der Strada Basarabiei mit der Synagoge aus dem Jahr 1854 begrüßt wird.

Die Synagoge im jüdischen Viertel „Schtetl“ ist die letzte von ehemals acht, die in Sighetu Marmatiei nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg noch übrig ist, Rumänien - © Vberger PD/Wiki
© Vberger PD/Wiki

Sie ist die letzte, die noch übrig ist. Früher gab es in Sighet acht Synagogen mit eigenen jüdischen Friedhöfen und eine jiddische Zeitung. Seit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, als bis 1944 rund 12.400 Juden aus Sighet deportiert wurden, leben nur noch rund 100 Juden in der Stadt.

Casa Elie Wiesel

Einer der berühmtesten Juden in Sighetu Marmatiei war der Nobelpreisträger Elie Wiesel, der mit seiner Familie 1944 ins Konzentrationslager nach Auschwitz deportiert und ein Jahr darauf im KZ Buchenwald befreit wurde.

Gegen eine freiwillige Spende als Eintritt kann sein Geburtshaus an der Tudor Vladimirescu besichtigt werden, welches neben seinem Leben auch die Zeit des Holocaust in Sighet vorstellt.

Viehmarkt (Târgul de animale)

Etwas länger dauert der Fußmarsch zum Viehmarkt auf der Strada Nicolae Bălcescu, der vom Schtetl in rund einer halben Stunde zu erreichen ist. Hier werden bis etwa 13 Uhr mitten in der Stadt nicht nur Futter und Haushaltswaren, sondern auch lebende Rinder, Kälber und Schweine verkauft. Ein Spektakel der besonderen Art, das an jedem ersten Montag im Monat besonders groß aufgezogen wird.

Freilichtmuseum des Ethnografischen Museums der Maramureș

Das Freilichtmuseum am Stadtrand von Sighetu Marmatiei ist eine Außenstelle des Ethnografischen Museums der Maramureș, das sich im Stadtzentrum am Freiheitsplatz befindet. Neben dem eindrucksvollen Sighet-Memorial ist das Museumsdorf die zweitwichtigste Sehenswürdigkeit der Kleinstadt im Norden von Rumänien.

BILDER: Dorfmuseum in Sighetu Marmatiei

Fotogalerie: Dorfmuseum in Sighetu Marmatiei

Besuch des Museumsdorfes von Sighetu Marmatiei

Das Freilichtmuseum liegt im Osten der Stadt und ist über die Bogdan Vodă zu erreichen. Von dort zweigt die Strada Muzeului ab, die direkt zur 1981 eingerichteten Freilichtabteilung des Maramureș-Museums führt. Gegen eine geringe Eintrittsgebühr kann das idyllische Gelände betreten werden, auf dem sich der Besucher sofort ins rumänische Leben des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts versetzt fühlt.

Unterwegs im Dorfmuseum von Sighetu Marmatiei

Manche Räume im Freilichtmuseum von Sighetu Marmatiei wirken regelrecht kunstvoll, Rumänien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Auf grünen Wiesen unter schattenspendenden Bäumen sind an die 30 historische Höfe verteilt, deren Vorratskammern, Wohnzimmer, Küchen und Schlafräume vollständig eingerichtet sind.

Manche Räumlichkeiten sind einfach gehalten und bestehen lediglich aus nackten Steinmauern und gestampften Lehmböden. Andere wiederum wirken mit holzvertäfelten Wänden, sorgfältig geschnitztem Mobiliar und farbenfrohen Teppichen regelrecht kunstvoll.

Zwischen den Gehöften lassen Brunnen, Webstühle, Mühlen, Pressen und andere landwirtschaftliche Gerätschaften, das Leben von damals wieder auferstehen.

Tipp: Am Sonntag um den 18. Mai wird im Freilichtmuseum jedes Jahr ein Volksfest abgehalten, bei dem historische Kulisse mit Trachten, Tänzen, traditionellen Speisen und Souvenir-Ständen zum Leben erweckt wird.

Kunstvolle Schnitzereien

Aufwändige Schnitzerei an einem Torbogen im Freilichtmuseum von Sighetu Marmatiei, Rumänien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Beim Streifzug durch die Museumshöfe lohnt sich auch ein genauerer Blick auf die kunstvollen Verzierungen der hölzernen Brunnen, Tore und Balken. All diese bestehen aus handbearbeitetem Bauholz und repräsentieren die damalige Bauweise der Slawen, Ungarn und Rumänen. Viele Torbögen sind mit aufwändigen Schnitzereien verziert, die aus kyrillischen und manchmal sogar arabischen Zeichen bestehen.

Holzkirche von Oncesti

Auf einem Hügel im Museumsdorf thront die traditionelle Holzkirche von Oncesti aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, Sighetu Marmatiei, Rumänien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Auf einem Hügel im Museumsdorf thront die traditionelle Holzkirche von Oncesti aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Sie wurde zwischen 1572 und 1614 errichtet und ist das älteste Gebäude im Freilichtmuseum. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Holzkirchen der Maramureș, von denen einige zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe zählen, sind von ihren einst prächtigen Wandmalereien nur wenige Fragmente erhalten.

Festival der Winterbräuche

Wer im Winter in Sighetu Marmatiei weilt, wird von 20. bis 27. Dezember Zeuge eines bunten Festivals mit Umzügen, Tänzen, Theater und Trachten. Bei der abschließenden Maskenparade am 27. Dezember, die gleichzeitig den Höhepunkt des Festivals darstellt, treten die Bewohner der Kleinstadt als Oma und Opa, Bären, Ziegen und Teufel auf und so mancher traut sich hinter der Maske zu äußern, was er bereits das ganze Jahr über los werden wollte.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Sighet Memorials

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: