Coal mine architecture of Lens, France

Since the discovery of coal in the north of France, both urban planning and working conditions in Lens have been entirely geared to mining over a period of three centuries.

Along the border between Belgium and France, coal was mined on a large scale, especially in the late 20th century. Today, however, there is no trace of the economic miracle of that time in the economically weak town of Lens. The abandoned mines and dark coal cones are still silent witnesses of a once flourishing mining town.

Advertisement
The dark cones of the coal mountains still frame the town of Lens today, recalling its great past as one of the mining centres of France - © MarnixR CC BY-SA4.0/Wiki
© MarnixR CC BY-SA4.0/Wiki

Northern French coalfield as a World Heritage Site

The remains of coal mining in the Nord and Pas de Calais regions have been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2012 as the Northern French Coalfield.

The pretty Église Saint-Edouard in Lens has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2012 as part of the Northern French Coalfield - © Jérémy-Günther-Heinz Jähnick PD/Wiki
© Jérémy-Günther-Heinz Jähnick PD/Wiki

On an area of around 120,000 hectares, more than 100 buildings document the past of the former economic miracle, which played an important role in the history of European industry.

For three centuries, both urban planning and working conditions in Lens were one hundred percent geared to mining.

In addition to the abandoned collieries, the Northern French Coalfield also includes railway tracks, workers' housing estates, schools, hospitals, company buildings, former entrepreneurs' residences, town halls, sports facilities and churches, such as the pretty Église Saint-Edouard.

 

History of coal mining in Lens

Promising coal deposits were first discovered in the north of France in 1660. Targeted excavations from 1716 onwards uncovered further mines, which were mined on a large scale from the late 18th century under the umbrella of the Compagnie des mines d'Anzin, founded in 1757.

During the First World War, the town suffered severe damage and coal production temporarily came to a standstill. Reconstruction after the end of the war was thwarted by the Second World War, during which Lens again suffered heavily from Anglo-American bombing.

In the 1960s, coal mining experienced a new boom and the economy in Lens flourished once again. In 1986, however, mining came to an end and the last coal mine was closed. This was a tragedy for the economy of Lens, which is now one of the poorest regions in France.

Advertisement
The former coal mine 9 of the Northern French coalfield in Lens is now home to the Louvre-Lens Art Museum, France - © Jérémy Jännick GFDL-1.2/Wiki
© Jérémy Jännick GFDL-1.2/Wiki

Increasingly, attempts are being made to boost tourism in Lens. Among other things, the historic buildings of the coal industry are being used for this purpose. Since December 2012, the Louvre-Lens art museum in the former No. 9 colliery has also been a successful visitor magnet.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Kohleminen-Architektur von Lens, Frankreich

Die Zechen von Lens, in denen über drei Jahrhunderte lang Steinkohle gefördert wurde, zählen heute zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO, Frankreich - © Jérémy Jännick CC BY-NC-ND 3.0/Wiki
© Jérémy Jännick CC BY-NC-ND 3.0/Wiki

Seit der Entdeckung von Steinkohle im Norden von Frankreich wurden sowohl Stadtplanung als auch Arbeitsbedingungen in Lens über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahrhunderten zur Gänze auf den Bergbau ausgerichtet.

Entlang der Grenze zwischen Belgien und Frankreich wurde vor allem im späten 20. Jahrhundert in großem Stil Steinkohle abgebaut. Vom damaligen Wirtschaftswunder ist in der konjunkturschwachen Stadt Lens heute jedoch nichts mehr zu spüren. Die verlassenen Zechen und dunklen Kohlekegel sind noch immer stumme Zeugen einer einst florierenden Bergbau-Stadt.

Die dunklen Kegel der Kohleberge umrahmen noch heute die Stadt Lens und erinnern an ihre große Vergangenheit als eines der Bergbau-Zentren von Frankreich - © MarnixR CC BY-SA4.0/Wiki
© MarnixR CC BY-SA4.0/Wiki

Nordfranzösisches Kohlerevier als Weltkulturerbe

Die Überreste der Steinkohle-Förderung in den Regionen Nord und Pas de Calais zählen seit 2012 als Nordfranzösisches Kohlerevier zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Die hübsche Église Saint-Edouard in Lens zählt als Teil des Nordfranzösischen Kohlereviers seit 2012 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO, Frankreich - © Jérémy-Günther-Heinz Jähnick PD/Wiki
© Jérémy-Günther-Heinz Jähnick PD/Wiki

Auf einem Gebiet von rund 120.000 Hektar dokumentieren über 100 Bauten die Vergangenheit des einstigen Wirtschaftswunders, welches eine bedeutende Rolle in der Geschichte der europäischen Industrie spielte.

Über drei Jahrhunderte wurden sowohl Stadtplanung als auch Arbeitsbedingungen in Lens zu hundert Prozent auf den Bergbau ausgerichtet.

Neben den aufgelassenen Zechen zählen auch Gleisanlagen, Arbeitersiedlungen, Schulen, Krankenhäuser, Firmengebäude, ehemalige Wohnsitze der Unternehmer, Rathäuser, Sportstätten und Kirchen, wie zum Beispiel die hübsche Église Saint-Edouard, zum Nordfranzösischen Kohlerevier.

 

Geschichte des Kohle-Bergbaus in Lens

Im Norden von Frankreich wurden im Jahr 1660 das erste Mal vielversprechende Steinkohle-Vorkommen entdeckt. Gezielte Grabungen ab 1716 legten weitere Minen zu Tage, die ab dem späten 18. Jahrhundert unter dem Dach der 1757 gegründeten Compagnie des mines d’Anzin in großem Stil abgebaut wurden.

Im Ersten Weltkrieg musste die Stadt schwere Schäden hinnehmen und die Steinkohle-Förderung geriet vorübergehend ins Stocken. Der Wiederaufbau nach Kriegsende wurde durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg zunichte gemacht, im Zuge dessen Lens abermals heftig unter den angloamerikanischen Bombenangriffen litt.

In den 1960er-Jahren erlebte die Steinkohle-Förderung einen neuen Aufschwung und die Wirtschaft in Lens florierte abermals. 1986 jedoch war es vorbei mit dem Bergbau, die letzte Kohlemine wurde geschlossen. Für die Wirtschaft von Lens eine Tragödie, die Stadt zählt heute zu den ärmsten Regionen Frankreichs.

Die ehemalige Zeche 9 des Nordfranzösischen Kohlereviers in Lens ist heute Sitz des Kunstmuseums Louvre-Lens, Frankreich - © Jérémy Jännick GFDL-1.2/Wiki
© Jérémy Jännick GFDL-1.2/Wiki

Zunehmend wird versucht, den Tourismus in Lens anzukurbeln. Dazu werden unter anderem die historischen Bauten der Steinkohle-Industrie herangezogen. Seit Dezember 2012 fungiert auch das Kunstmuseum Louvre-Lens in der ehemaligen Zeche Nr. 9 als erfolgreicher Besuchermagnet.