Lille Cathedral, France

The massive cathedral of Lille was built over 150 years. Today, the imposing church shines as a monumental blend of neo-Gothic and modern.

Lille's mighty cathedral is one of our top 10 sights of Lille and one of our top 10 most beautiful churches in France. The distinctive church is the metropolitan see and seat of the Roman Catholic Archbishopric of Lille.

Advertisement

Creation of Lille Cathedral

On 1 July 1854, the foundation stone was laid for the magnificent cathedral of Lille, France - © Jordan Tan / Shutterstock
© Jordan Tan / Shutterstock

The history of the extraordinary cathedral of Lille began with the statue of the Virgin Mary "Notre Dame de la Treille". The wooden image of Our Lady of Treille shows the Virgin Mary with the Child Jesus and originally came from the 12th or 13th century. At that time she was already venerated as a miracle worker in the church of Saint-Pierre and was appointed patron saint of the city of Lille in 1634.

In the course of the French Revolution at the end of the 18th century, the church of Saint-Pierre was completely destroyed. A monk managed to save the figure and place it in the church of Sainte-Cathérine, where it was initially forgotten.

It was only with the Catholic movement "Renouveau catholique" that the veneration of Notre Dame de la Treille was resumed in the early 19th century. Soon the idea arose to consecrate a church to the patron saint of the city. The foundation stone for Lille Cathedral was laid on 1 July 1854.

However, due to the enormous size of the cathedral, which was planned by the architect Charles Leroy, the sacred building remained unfinished for a long time. Twenty years after the foundation stone was laid, in 1874, the church was consecrated and the statue of Mary was solemnly given its place in the choir of the church.

The unfinished

Today, the massive cathedral is the metropolitan see and seat of the Roman Catholic Archbishopric of Lille, France - © Jordan Tan / Shutterstock
© Jordan Tan / Shutterstock

To celebrate the consecration, the church bells were donated, whereupon a three-storey bell tower had to be completed in no time at all, which has not been extended further to this day. In the 20th century, several additions were completed, including a total of eight side chapels.

The current image of the patron saint of the city in Lille Cathedral was created by Marie Madeleine Weerts, France - © Velvet CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© Velvet CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

The last changes were made in 1999, 8 years before the modern west wall was put up, making the monumental cathedral of Lille unmistakable.

 

The sunlight that falls through the coloured leaded glass windows envelops the altars and sculptures in the high hall church with a mystical aura.

Advertisement

The sight of the enormous window rosette on the west façade by Ladislas Kijno is particularly spectacular. Also worth a second look is the ornate portal by the sculptor Jeanclos.

The figure of the town's patron saint is no longer the original, however, because the statue of the Virgin Mary from the Middle Ages was stolen in 1959.

Today's image of grace is a replica created by Marie Madeleine Weerts.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Kathedrale von Lille, Frankreich

Über 150 Jahr wurde an der gewaltigen Kathedrale von Lille gebaut. Heute erstrahlt das imposante Gotteshaus als monumentale Mischung von Neugotik und Moderne.

Die mächtige Kathedrale von Lille gehört zu unseren Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Lille und zählt zu unseren 10 schönsten Kirchen Frankreichs. Die unverwechselbare Kirche ist Metropolitansitz und Sitz des römisch-katholischen Erzbistums von Lille.

Anzeige

Entstehung der Kathedrale von Lille

Am 1. Juli 1854 wurde der Grundstein für die prächtige Kathedrale von Lille gelegt, Frankreich - © Jordan Tan / Shutterstock
© Jordan Tan / Shutterstock

Die Geschichte der außergewöhnlichen Kathedrale von Lille begann mit der Marienstatue „Notre Dame de la Treille“. Das hölzerne Gnadenbild „Unserer Lieben Frau von Treille“ zeigt die Heilige Jungfrau mit dem Jesuskind und stammte ursprünglich aus dem 12. oder 13. Jahrhundert. Damals wurde sie bereits in der Kirche Saint-Pierre als Wundertäterin verehrt und 1634 zur Stadtpatronin von Lille ernannt.

Im Zuge der Französischen Revolution Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts wurde die Kirche Saint-Pierre vollständig zerstört. Einem Mönch gelang es, die Figur zu retten und in der Kirche Sainte-Cathérine unterzubringen, wo sie zuerst jedoch in Vergessenheit geriet.

Erst mit der katholischen Bewegung „Renouveau catholique“ wurde die Verehrung der Notre Dame de la Treille im frühen 19. Jahrhundert wieder aufgenommen. Bald entstand auch die Idee der Patronin der Stadt eine eigene Kirche zu weihen. Am 1. Juli 1854 wurde der Grundstein für die Kathedrale von Lille gelegt.

Aufgrund der gewaltigen Größe der Kathedrale, die vom Architekten Charles Leroy geplant wurde, blieb der Sakralbau jedoch lange unvollendet. Zwanzig Jahre nach Grundsteinlegung, 1874, wurde die Kirche eingeweiht und die Marienfigur erhielt feierlich ihren Platz am Chor der Kirche.

Die Unvollendete

Heute ist die gewaltige Kathedrale Metropolitansitz und Sitz des römisch-katholischen Erzbistums von Lille, Frankreich - © Jordan Tan / Shutterstock
© Jordan Tan / Shutterstock

Zur Feier der Weihe wurden die Kirchenglocken gestiftet, woraufhin in Windeseile ein dreistöckiger Glockenturm fertiggestellt werden musste, der bis heute nicht weiter ausgebaut wurde. Im 20. Jahrhundert wurden mehrere Anbauten abgeschlossen, darunter insgesamt acht Seitenkapellen.

Das heutige Gnadenbild der Stadtpatronin in der Kathedrale von Lille wurde von Marie Madeleine Weerts geschaffen, Frankreich - © Velvet CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© Velvet CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

Die letzten Änderungen wurden im Jahr 1999 durchgeführt, 8 Jahre zuvor wurde die moderne Westwand aufgestellt, die die monumentale Kathedrale von Lille unverkennbar macht.

 

Das Sonnenlicht, das durch die farbigen Bleiglasfenster fällt, umhüllt die Altäre und Skulpturen in der hohen Saalkirche mit einer mystischen Aura.

Anzeige
Anzeige

Empfehlenswerte Unterkünfte in Lille

HOTELS | PENSIONEN | FERIENWOHNUNGEN | VILLEN | CHALETS

Unterkünfte anzeigen


 

Der Anblick der gewaltigen Fensterrosette an der Westfassade von Ladislas Kijno ist dabei besonders spektakulär. Ebenfalls einen zweiten Blick wert ist das kunstvolle Portal des Bildhauers Jeanclos.

Die Figur der Stadtpatronin ist allerdings nicht mehr das Original, denn die Marienstatue aus dem Mittelalter wurde 1959 gestohlen.

Das heutige Gnadenbild ist eine Nachbildung, die von Marie Madeleine Weerts geschaffen wurde.


Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: