The Top 10 Sights of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Travel to Rio de Janeiro without any tourist traps! Here you will find a list of the top 10 attractions in Rio de Janeiro! Which highlights and attractions should you not miss on your holiday in Rio?

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil's second largest and probably best known city, is visited by millions of tourists every year. The "most beautiful city in the world" between Copacabana and Sugar Loaf Mountain enchants its visitors with the unmistakable flair of sun, sand and samba - nowhere else can you party better! In between, there may also be time for a little culture.

Advertisement

Statue of Christ "Cristo Redentor

Fantastic bird's eye view over the statue of Christ to the bay of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - © Marc Turcan / Shutterstock
© Marc Turcan / Shutterstock

Who doesn't know it, the statue of the Saviour spreading his arms over the city in a protective gesture. The 30m high Cristo Redentor in the forests of the Tijuca National Park is the largest Art Deco statue in the world and THE landmark of Rio de Janeiro. A 20-minute cable car ride takes you to the base of the statue and reveals a breathtaking view!

Article: Statue of Christ (Cristo Redentor) in Tijuca National Park, Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Statue of Christ (Cristo Redentor) in Rio de Janeiro

Copacabana

The world famous 4km long sandy beach Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - © csokil1 / Fotolia
© csokil1 / Fotolia

Rio holidaymakers love to enjoy the idyllic flair of Brazil's most famous beach while sipping caipirinha on the beach promenade. The 4km long sandy beach in the Copacabana district is a relaxation zone and party mile in one and is located on the coast of the district with the highest population density in Rio. Also worth seeing is the Forte de Copacabana, which is steeped in history and includes an army museum, located directly on the beach.

Article: Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro

Sugar loaf

View of Rio Bay shortly after sunset, in the centre the Sugar Loaf Mountain, the landmark of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - © Luiz Rocha / Shutterstock
© Luiz Rocha / Shutterstock

Just as famous as Cristo Redentor and Copacabana is Sugar Loaf Mountain. This almost 400 m high granite rock on the coast of Rio de Janeiro can also be climbed by cable car and has been known worldwide at least since James Bond's "Moonraker - Top Secret". The panorama of Guanabara Bay is also unforgettable from here!

Article: Sugar Loaf Mountain in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Sugar Loaf Mountain in Rio de Janeiro

Ipanema neighbourhood and beach

The Ipanema district in the south of the city, with its famous beach, is the most expensive place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - © Aleksandar Todorovic / Shutterstock
© Aleksandar Todorovic / Shutterstock

Not quite as famous but at least as worth seeing is the beach of Ipanema. The neighbourhood of the same name is the most expensive place in Rio. Accordingly, the rich and beautiful of the city meet here to see and be seen - no wonder that Ipanema Beach has already been voted the "Sexiest Beach in the World".

Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommended accommodations in Rio de Janeiro

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Article: Ipanema district and beach in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Ipanema district and beach in Rio de Janeiro

Catedral Metropolitana

The New Cathedral of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, dates from the late 20th century and is one of the most unusual places of worship in the world - © Matyas Rehak / Shutterstock
© Matyas Rehak / Shutterstock

The Catedral Metropolitana, which is extremely controversial in terms of design, is also known as the "New Cathedral of Rio de Janeiro" because it was only completed in 1979. The 75m high cathedral is the largest church in Rio and is enthroned in the Lapa neighbourhood.

Article: Catedral Metropolitana in Rio de Janeiro

Santa Teresa Artists' Quarter

Magnificent mosaics, brightly painted walls and the world's oldest tramway characterise the Santa Teresa district in the mountains of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - © Catarina Belova / Shutterstock
© Catarina Belova / Shutterstock

Santa Teresa is blessed with a magnificent view of the coast and is probably the most colourful district of Rio de Janeiro. Almost every square inch of wall has been used as a canvas, with samba music blaring from cosy bars and cafés. The rattling of the Bonde, the oldest tram in the world, can be heard again and again through the narrow, winding streets - a sight in itself!

Article: Santa Teresa district in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Santa Teresa district in Rio de Janeiro

Museu do Amanhã

The futuristic Museu do Amanhã at the port of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, is dedicated to future themes and is itself a unique example of sustainable architecture - © Ronaldo Almeida / Shutterstock
© Ronaldo Almeida / Shutterstock

Even the sight of the "Museum of Tomorrow" reveals its unusual focus. Since 2015, the futuristic building at Pier Maua on Rio's harbour has been presenting all kinds of future topics. The building itself consists of one hundred percent sustainable architecture and is embedded in a huge recreational area.

Article: Museu do Amanhã in Rio de Janeiro

Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden

The botanical garden in Rio de Janeiro is one of the largest botanical gardens in South America, Brazil - © Catarina Belova / Shutterstock
© Catarina Belova / Shutterstock

Every metropolis with millions of inhabitants has its green lungs. So does Rio, and one of the largest in South America. The Botanical Garden of Rio de Janeiro presents 7,000 different plants on more than 140 hectares and is considered a "living museum". UNESCO has designated it a biosphere reserve, and tourists appreciate it as an oasis of peace and relaxation in the otherwise noisy city of Rio.

Advertisement

Article: Botanical Garden in Rio de Janeiro

Favela Santa Marta

The Santa Marta Favela tour in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, has included guides, signposts to places of interest and jeep safaris - © Skreidzeleu / Shutterstock
© Skreidzeleu / Shutterstock

No wonder Michael Jackson chose this poor district of all places as the backdrop for the music video "They don't care about us"! The approximately 8,000 residents of the Santa Marta favela are also really something special, because they have transformed their wooden and tin huts into a real sight of Rio thanks to free wi-fi, their own radio station and colourful facades.

Article: Favelas in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Favela Santa Marta in Botafogo in Rio de Janeiro

Rio de Janeiro Carnival

The variety of costumes at Carnival in Rio de Janeiro is impressive, but also overwhelming, Brazil - © Celso Pupo / Shutterstock
© Celso Pupo / Shutterstock

The world-famous carnival doesn't happen all year round, but it still has to be on the list of the top 10 sights in Rio. Every year at carnival time, the entire city is in a state of emergency when exuberant costume parades parade through the streets to meet at the Sambodromo for a breathtaking show.

Article: Carnival at the Sambodromo in Rio de Janeiro
Photo gallery: Carnival at Sambodromo in Rio de Janeiro

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Die Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien

Ganz ohne Touristenfallen nach Rio de Janeiro reisen! Hier finden Sie eine Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rio de Janeiro! Welche Highlights und Attraktionen dürfen Sie beim Urlaub in Rio auf keinen Fall versäumen?

Rio de Janeiro, zweitgrößte und wohl bekannteste Stadt Brasiliens, wird jedes Jahr von Millionen Touristen besucht. Die zwischen Copacabana und Zuckerhut “am schönsten gelegene Stadt der Welt” verzaubert ihre Besucher mit dem unverkennbaren Flair aus Sonne, Sand und Samba – nirgends kann man schöner feiern! Dazwischen bleibt vielleicht auch noch Zeit für etwas Kultur.

Christusstatue „Cristo Redentor“

Traumhafter Blick aus der Vogelperspektive über die Christusstatue auf die Bucht von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien - © Marc Turcan / Shutterstock
© Marc Turcan / Shutterstock

Wer kennt sie nicht, die Statue des Erlösers, der in einer schützenden Geste seine Arme über die Stadt ausbreitet. Der 30m hohe Cristo Redentor in den Wäldern des Tijuca-Nationalparks ist die größte Art-Deco-Statue der Welt und DAS Wahrzeichen von Rio de Janeiro. Eine 20minütige Seilbahnfahrt führt zum Sockel der Statue und offenbart einen atemberaubenden Ausblick!

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Copacabana

Der weltbekannte 4km lange Sandstrand Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien - © csokil1 / Fotolia
© csokil1 / Fotolia

Das idyllische Flair am berühmtesten Strand Brasiliens genießen Rio-Urlauber am liebsten Caipirinha-schlürfend auf der Strandpromenade. Der 4km lange Sandstrand im Stadtviertel Copacabana ist Relaxzone und Partymeile in einem und liegt an der Küste des Viertels mit der höchsten Bevölkerungsdichte von Rio. Ebenfalls sehenswert ist das geschichtsträchtige Forte de Copacabana inklusive Heeres-Museum, welches sich direkt am Strand befindet.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Zuckerhut

Blick auf die Bucht von Rio kurz nach Sonnenuntergang, im Zentrum der Zuckerhut, das Wahrzeichen von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien - © Luiz Rocha / Shutterstock
© Luiz Rocha / Shutterstock

Ebenso berühmt wie Cristo Redentor und Copacabana ist der Zuckerhut. Dieser knapp 400m hohe Granitfelsen an der Küste von Rio de Janeiro kann ebenfalls mittels Seilbahn erklommen werden und ist spätestens seit James Bonds „Moonraker – Streng geheim” weltweit bekannt. Auch von hier ist das Panorama der Guanabara Bucht unvergesslich!

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Stadtviertel und Strand von Ipanema

Der Stadtteil Ipanema im Süden der Stadt ist mit seinem berühmten Strand das teuerste Pflaster von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien - © Aleksandar Todorovic / Shutterstock
© Aleksandar Todorovic / Shutterstock

Nicht ganz so berühmt aber mindestens ebenso sehenswert ist der Strand von Ipanema. Das gleichnamige Stadtviertel ist das teuerste Pflaster in ganz Rio. Dementsprechend treffen sich hier die Schönen und Reichen der Stadt, um zu sehen und gesehen zu werden – kein Wunder, dass der Ipanema-Strand schon zum „Sexiest Beach in the World“ gewählt wurde.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Catedral Metropolitana

Die Neue Kathedrale von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, stammt aus dem späten 20. Jahrhundert und zählt zu den ungewöhnlichsten Gotteshäusern der Welt - © Matyas Rehak / Shutterstock
© Matyas Rehak / Shutterstock

Die designtechnisch äußerst umstrittene Catedral Metropolitana ist auch als „Neue Kathedrale von Rio de Janeiro“ bekannt, denn sie wurde erst im Jahr 1979 vollendet. Die 75m hohe Kathedrale thront als größte Kirche von Rio im Viertel Lapa und fasst unter ihren gewaltigen Buntglasfenstern 20.000 Gläubige.

Zum Artikel …

Künstlerviertel Santa Teresa

Prächtige Mosaike, bunt bemalte Mauern und die älteste Straßenbahn der Welt prägen das Stadtviertel Santa Teresa in den Bergen von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien - © Catarina Belova / Shutterstock
© Catarina Belova / Shutterstock

Santa Teresa ist mit prächtigem Ausblick auf die Küste gesegnet und wohl das farbenprächtigste Stadtviertel von Rio de Janeiro. Gefühlt jeder Quadratzentimeter Mauer wurde hier als Leinwand verwendet, dazwischen schallt Samba-Musik aus gemütlichen Bars und Cafés. Durch die engen, kurvigen Gassen tönt immer wieder das Rattern der Bonde, der ältesten Straßenbahn der Welt – eine Sehenswürdigkeit für sich!

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Museu do Amanhã

Das futuristische Museu do Amanhã am Hafen von Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, widmet sich Zukunftsthemen und stellt selbst ein einmaliges Beispiel für nachhaltige Architektur dar - © Ronaldo Almeida / Shutterstock
© Ronaldo Almeida / Shutterstock

Bereits der Anblick des „Museums von Morgen“ verrät seinen außergewöhnlichen Fokus. In dem futuristischen Bau am Pier Maua am Hafen von Rio werden seit 2015 Zukunftsthemen aller Art präsentiert. Das Gebäude selbst besteht zu hundert Prozent aus nachhaltiger Architektur und ist in ein riesiges Erholungsgebiet eingebettet.

Zum Artikel …

Botanischer Garten von Rio de Janeiro

Der botanische Garten in Rio de Janeiro zählt zu den größten botanischen Gärten Südamerikas, Brasilien - © Catarina Belova / Shutterstock
© Catarina Belova / Shutterstock

Jede Millionen-Metropole hat seine grüne Lunge. So auch Rio und zwar eine der größten ganz Südamerikas. Der Botanische Garten von Rio de Janeiro präsentiert auf über 140 Hektar 7.000 verschiedene Pflanzen und gilt als „lebendiges Museum“. Die UNESCO ernannte ihn zum Biosphären-Reservat, Touristen schätzen ihn als Oase der Ruhe und Entspannung im sonst so lauten Rio.

Zum Artikel …

Favela Santa Marta

Die Besichtigung der Favela Santa Marta in Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, hat Fremdenführer, Wegweiser zu Sehenswürdigkeiten und Jeep-Safaris inklusive - © Skreidzeleu / Shutterstock
© Skreidzeleu / Shutterstock

Kein Wunder, dass sich Michael Jackson ausgerechnet dieses Armenviertel als Kulisse im Musikvideo „They don’t care about us“ ausgesucht hat! Die rund 8.000 Bewohner der Favela Santa Marta sind auch wirklich etwas Besonderes, denn sie haben ihre Holz- und Blechhütten dank gratis W-Lan, eigenem Radiosender und farbenfrohen Fassaden in eine echte Sehenswürdigkeit von Rio verwandelt.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …

Karneval von Rio de Janeiro

Die Vielfalt der Kostüme beim Karneval in Rio de Janeiro ist beeindruckend, aber auch überwältigend, Brasilien - © Celso Pupo / Shutterstock
© Celso Pupo / Shutterstock

Den weltberühmten Karneval gibt’s zwar nicht das ganze Jahr über, dennoch darf er auf der Liste der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Rio nicht fehlen. Jedes Jahr zur Faschingszeit herrscht in der gesamten Stadt Ausnahmezustand, wenn ausgelassene Kostümparaden durch die Straßen ziehen, um sich im Sambodromo zu einer atemberaubenden Show zu treffen.

Zum Artikel …
Zur Fotogalerie …