Champagne Beach, Vanuatu

Champagne Beach in Vanuatu is repeatedly described as the most beautiful beach in the South Pacific. The completely untouched beach and the crystal-clear, turquoise-blue sea captivate every visitor.

The gorgeous Champagne Beach is located in the north-east of Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu's largest island. It is one of the most visited sights on the island and one of our top 10 sights in the South Seas.

Advertisement

Champagne Beach got its exquisite name from volcanic rock in front of its shore, which repeatedly sent gas bubbles to the surface of the water. The first travellers to Champagne Beach were involuntarily reminded of bubbling champagne. The phenomenon is best at low tide, but even then it is not always visible.

From Luganville, Champagne Beach can be reached by car along the east coast of Espirito Santo in just under one and a half hours. The picturesque bay is also frequently visited by Australian cruise ships.

Once at the beach, the almost 1-kilometre-long pristine sandy beach shaded by lush vegetation and the crystal-clear turquoise sea immediately captivate every visitor, and the entrance fee is extremely low.

The small, powder-soft beach fringes a bay full of coral and is bordered by emerald-green rainforest that stretches over the rolling hills towards the interior. The calm, shallow waters never get colder than 22°C and reach almost bathtub temperature at 28°C in summer. For swimming, snorkelling, beach walks or simply sunbathing and relaxing, Champagne is the absolutely perfect destination in Vanuatu.

There are no hotels on Champagne Beach itself - thank goodness. The nearest accommodation is in Hog Harbour, the former seat of the British administration, or at nearby Lonnoc Beach. Thus, despite the occasional visits of cruise ships, Champagne Beach has been able to retain its unspoilt paradisiacal atmosphere.

Lonnoc Beach

If you walk a little further east from Champagne Beach, you reach the lesser known but no less magnificent Lonnoc Beach. Here, the privately run Lonnoc Beach Bungalows offer accommodation and meals in the beautiful tropical surroundings and only a few minutes' walk from Champagne Beach.

Matavulu Blue Hole

The Matavulu Blue Hole is located on the route between Luganville and Champagne Beach. From a former World War II airstrip near Matavulu, turn left over a hill to a gate, which unfortunately is often locked. Here you can leave your car and walk further down to a gorgeous natural freshwater pool with deep blue water. There are ropes hanging from the trees around the Blue Hole for the brave to swing into the water.

Advertisement

Tip: The Blue Hole is home to small black snails with sensitive pointed spines on their shells. Best to wear shoes or at least watch where you step.

The Manavutu Blue Hole is not the only natural pool on Santo. The Blue Holes offer an ideal way to rid your skin of sand and salt on the way back from Champagne Beach.

Further links:

Official website of the Lonnoc Beach Resort (English)


Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Champagne Beach, Vanuatu

Der Champagne Beach im Nordosten der Pazifikinsel Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu, wurde bereits mehrmals zum schönsten Strand im Südpazifik gekürt - © PrzemyslawSkibinski/Shutterstock
© PrzemyslawSkibinski/Shutterstock

Der Champagne Beach in Vanuatu wird immer wieder als schönster Strand im Südpazifik bezeichnet. Der völlig unberührte Strand und das glasklare, türkisblaue Meer ziehen jeden Besucher in ihren Bann.

Der traumhafte Champagne Beach liegt im Nordosten von Espiritu Santo, der größten Insel Vanuatus, und zählt zu den meist besuchten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel.

Seinen exquisiten Namen erhielt der Champagne Beach von vulkanischem Gestein vor seinem Ufer, welches immer wieder Gasblasen an die Wasseroberfläche schickte. Die ersten Reisenden am Champagne Beach wurden unwillkürlich an perlenden Champagner erinnert. Das Phänomen ist am besten bei Ebbe, aber auch dann nicht immer sichtbar.

Von Luganville kann der Champagne Beach mit dem Auto an der Ostküste Espirito Santos entlang in knapp eineinhalb Stunden erreicht werden. Die malerische Bucht wird auch immer wieder von australischen Kreuzfahrtschiffen aufgesucht.

Am Strand angekommen ziehen der knapp 1km lange unberührte, von üppiger Vegetation beschattete Sandstrand und das glasklare, türkisblaue Meer jeden Besucher sofort in ihren Bann, die Eintrittsgebühr ist äußerst gering.

Der kleine, puderweiche Strand umsäumt eine Bucht voller Korallen und wird von smaragdgrünem Regenwald begrenzt, der sich über die sanften Hügel in Richtung Landesinneres zieht. Das ruhige, flache Wasser wird nie kälter als 22°C und erreicht im Sommer mit 28°C schon fast Badewannentemperatur. Für Schwimmen, Schnorcheln, Strandspaziergänge oder einfach nur Sonnenbaden und Entspannung ist der Champagne die absolut perfekte Destination in Vanuatu.

Am Champagne Beach selbst gibt es – Gott sei Dank – keine Hotels. Die nächsten Unterkünfte sind in Hog Harbour, dem einstigen Sitz der britischen Verwaltung, oder am nahe gelegenen Lonnoc-Beach zu finden. Somit konnte der Champagne-Beach, trotz den gelegentlichen Besuchen von Kreuzfahrtschiffen, seine unberührte paradiesische Atmosphäre bewahren.

Lonnoc Beach

Spaziert man vom Champagne Beach etwas weiter nach Osten, erreichte man den zwar weniger bekannten, aber nicht weniger herrlichen Lonnoc Beach. Hier bieten die privat geführten Lonnoc Beach Bungalows Unterkunft und Verpflegung in der herrlichen tropischen Umgebung und nur wenige Gehminuten vom Champagne Beach entfernt.

Matavulu Blue Hole

Das Matavulu Blue Hole liegt auf der Strecke zwischen Luganville und Champagne Beach. Von einer ehemaligen Landebahn aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in der Nähe von Matavulu geht es nach links über einen Hügel zu einem Tor, welches leider oft verschlossen ist. Hier kann man sein Auto stehen lassen und weiter nach unten zu einem traumhaften natürlichen Süßwasser-Pool mit tiefblauem Wasser spazieren. In den Bäumen um das Blue Hole hängen Seile, an denen sich besonders Mutige ins Wasser schwingen können.

Tipp: Im Blue Hole leben kleine schwarze Schnecken mit empfindlich spitzen Stacheln auf ihren Häusern. Am besten Schuhe tragen oder zumindest aufpassen, wo man hintritt.

Das Manavutu Blue Hole ist nicht der einzige natürliche Pool auf Santo. Die Blue Holes bieten eine ideale Möglichkeit, sich am Rückweg vom Champagne Beach von Sand und Salz auf der Haut zu befreien.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Lonnoc Beach Resorts (englisch)

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >