Monasteries at Popocatepetl Volcano, Mexico

The monasteries within a radius of 60km around the volcano Popocatepetl have been UNESCO World Heritage Sites since 1994. They were built at regular intervals to convert the indigenous population to Christianity after their conquest.

The volcano Popocatepetl ("strong smoking mountain") is located in central Mexico in the state of Estado de México and is one of our 10 most famous and beautiful mountains in the world. At just under 5,500 metres, it is the highest volcano in North America and the second highest mountain in Mexico, sending ash and gas several kilometres into the atmosphere at regular intervals.

Advertisement

The many Missonars monasteries around it are one of our top 10 sights of Mexico. Since 1994, 14 of the monasteries and their mission stations at the foot of Popocatepetl have been UNESCO World Heritage Sites because of their exemplary early missionary architecture.

These were built in the following localities: Atlatlauhcan, Cuernavaca, Hueyapan, Ocuituco, Tepoztlan, Tetela del Volcán, Tlayacapan, Totolapan, Yautepec, Yecapixtla, Zacualpan de Amilpas (State of Morelos), Calpan, Huejotzingo and Tochimilco (State of Puebla).

In addition, the Franciscan monasteries of Atlixco and Huaquechula in Puebla, for example, are not UNESCO World Heritage Sites, but in terms of their importance they are certainly on a par with the award-winning monasteries.

Conversion of the "savages

The monasteries at Popocatepetl were built in the 16th century successively by Franciscan, Dominican and Augustinian monks. They were intended to convert the indigenous inhabitants of Mexico, such as the Aztecs or Mayas, to Christianity and thus tried to increase the influence of civilisation in the conquered territories. The quadrangular monasteries are all surrounded by walls and fortifications, giving them the aura of a knight's castle, and tower high above the other houses of the population.

Impressive architecture of the monasteries at Popocatepetl

The monasteries at the foot of Popocatepetl all impress with imposing towers and crenellated walls, mighty portals and beautifully landscaped courtyards. In addition to their imposing exteriors, the interiors of all the churches are decorated with magnificent mosaics, wall paintings and early coats of arms.

The first monastery built in 1524 and probably the most magnificent and important is the one in the village of Huejotzingo, at an altitude of 2,100 metres. The sculptures and paintings from past centuries can still be seen today. The pulpit and the organ from the 17th century have also been preserved.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Klöster am Vulkan Popocatepetl, Mexiko

Die Klöster im Umkreis von 60km um den Vulkan Popocatepetl zählen seit 1994 zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe. Sie wurden in regelmäßigen Abständen erbaut, um die indigene Bevölkerung nach ihrer Eroberung zum Christentum zu bekehren.

Der Vulkan Popocatepetl („stark rauchender Berg“) liegt in Zentralmexiko im Bundesstaat Estado de México und zählt zu unseren 10 berühmtesten und schönsten Bergen der Welt. Er ist mit knapp 5.500 Meter der höchste Vulkan Nordamerikas und zweithöchster Berg Mexikos und schickt in regelmäßigen Abständen Asche und Gas mehrere Kilometer weit in die Atmosphäre.

Anzeige

Die vielen Missonars-Klöster in seinem Umkreis sind eine unserer Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Mexiko. Seit 1994 zählen 14 der Klöster und ihre Missionsstationen am Fuße des Popocatepetl aufgrund ihrer beispielhaften Architektur der frühen Missionare zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Diese wurden in folgenden Ortschaften erbaut: Atlatlauhcan, Cuernavaca, Hueyapan, Ocuituco, Tepoztlan, Tetela del Volcán, Tlayacapan, Totolapan, Yautepec, Yecapixtla, Zacualpan de Amilpas (Bundesstaat Morelos), Calpan, Huejotzingo und Tochimilco (Bundesstaat Puebla) .

Darüber hinaus sind die zum Beispiel die Franziskaner-Klöster Atlixco und Huaquechula in Puebla zwar nicht UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, aber von ihrer Bedeutung her sicher gleichberechtigt mit den prämierten Klöstern.

Bekehrung der „Wilden“

Die Klöster am Popocatepetl wurden im 16. Jahrhundert nacheinander von franziskanischen, dominikanischen und augustinischen Mönchen errichtet. Sie sollten die indigenen Einwohner Mexikos, wie zum Beispiel die Azteken oder Mayas, zum Christentum bekehren und versuchten dadurch, den Einfluss der Zivilisation in den eroberten Gebieten zu vergrößern. Die viereckig erbauten Klöster sind alle von Mauern und Befestigungsanlagen umgeben, was ihnen die Aura eine Ritterburg verleiht, und ragen hoch über die übrigen Häuser der Bevölkerung.

Eindrucksvolle Bauweise der Klöster am Popocatepetl

Die Klöster am Fuße des Popocatepetl beeindrucken alle mit imposanten Türmen und zinnenbewährten Mauern, mächtigen Portalen und schön angelegten Innenhöfen. Neben ihren imposanten äußeren Erscheinungen sind die Innenräume aller Kirchen mit prunkvollen Mosaiken, Wandmalereien und frühen Wappen ausgestattet.

Das im Jahr 1524 als erstes erbaute und wahrscheinlich prachtvollste und bedeutendste Kloster ist jenes im Dorf Huejotzingo, auf 2.100 Metern Höhe gelegen. Die Skulpturen und Bilder aus den vergangenen Jahrhunderten können heute noch besichtigt werden. Auch die Kanzel und die Orgel aus dem 17. Jahrhundert sind bis heute erhalten.

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: