Corniche and Corniche Beach in Abu Dhabi, UAE

In the cooler hours of the day, the Corniche, with its parks, shops, hotels, restaurants and the extensive Corniche Beach, is Abu Dhabi's most popular promenade.

The beach promenade on the west coast of Abu Dhabi stretches in an elegant arc along the city centre and is one of our top 10 sights of Abu Dhabi and the United Arab Emirates.

Advertisement

Until the 1970s, Abu Dhabi's Corniche was the port of the former fishing village, where dhows anchored and freighters unloaded their goods. Today, with walkways, parks and the picturesque Corniche Beach, it offers the perfect setting for a relaxing day of holidaying in Abu Dhabi.

PICTURES: Corniche of Abu Dhabi

Photo Gallery: Abu Dhabi Corniche and Corniche Beach

Places of interest on the Abu Dhabi Corniche

A walk along the magnificent beach promenade should not be missed on any Abu Dhabi trip (preferably in the morning or evening, because as long as the sun is blazing on the white cobblestones, the heat is almost unbearable). On its length of around 8 kilometres, the beach and sea stretch out on one side, while the other side is lined with cafés, restaurants, green spaces and children's playgrounds.

The best hotels in Abu Dhabi

The tallest buildings and most luxurious hotels in Abu Dhabi, UAE, can be found along the idyllic Corniche - © GagliardiImages / Shutterstock
© GagliardiImages / Shutterstock

The tallest buildings and most luxurious hotels in the city are also to be found along the idyllic Corniche. The end of the promenade is marked by the Mina Fish Market and the Iranian Market, where all kinds of kitsch and junk are sold.

Tip: For a small fee, bicycles for up to three people can be rented directly at the Corniche, with which the beach promenade can be comfortably explored, always surrounded by a light sea breeze.

Corniche Beach

The water quality at Abu Dhabi's Corniche Beach is excellent and has been awarded the Blue Flag several times, UAE - © GagliardiImages / Shutterstock
© GagliardiImages / Shutterstock

Corniche Beach stretches from the main entrance on Al Khaleej Al Arabi Street to the Hilton Hotel and is ideally equipped with sunbeds and parasols for a day at the beach. In addition to the free public area, there are also two segregated paid areas on Corniche Beach that are only accessible to families or singles.

The water quality at Corniche Beach is excellent and has been awarded the Blue Flag several times. However, it is not possible to swim far out at Corniche Beach. After about 40 metres from the shore, the sea is closed off and numerous lifeguards additionally ensure the safety of the beach guests.

With an average temperature of around 30°C, the sea in the Arabian Gulf hardly cools down in the summer months. Heated minds are better served at the cooler hotel pools.

Advertisement

Tip: If you don't like a lot of hustle and bustle, you should avoid Corniche Beach at the weekend (Friday and Saturday), as many locals also spend a day by the sea here.

Marina Mall

Opened in March 2001, Marina Mall on the Corniche is one of the largest shopping centres in Abu Dhabi, UAE - © Nadezda Murmakova / Shutterstock
© Nadezda Murmakova / Shutterstock

Opened in March 2001, Marina Mall is one of Abu Dhabi's largest shopping centres and was named the city's top shopping mall by Forbes Magazine in 2017. With four floors and 122,000 square metres of space, the mall features countless stores, an observatory, an ice skating rink, a bowling alley, a multiplex cinema and musical fountains for shopping and entertainment at its best.

By the way, at the Marina Mall, the flag of the United Arab Emirates flies on one of the highest flagpoles in the world.

Emirates Palace Hotel

The Emirates Palace Hotel in Abu Dhabi, UAE, pampers its guests with fairytale suites, food from around the world, a picture-perfect beach and a gigantic fitness, pool and spa landscape - © Shahid Khan / Shutterstock
© Shahid Khan / Shutterstock

The pompous Emirates Palace Hotel can also be described as a sight to behold. Once the most expensive hotel in the world, it is one of the top hotels in the United Arab Emirates, along with Dubai 's Burj al Arab on Jumeirah Beach and the Atlantis Hotel on the world-famous Palm Island.

Lulu Island

Lulu Island is an artificial island that was built in the Arabian Gulf off the coast of Abu Dhabi from 1988 to 1992. Residential and office buildings were to be built on the 4 square kilometre island. Since 2009, however, access to the island has only been possible by private boat. It is not yet clear how the island will be used in the future.

In 2002 and 2003, sand was also filled in on the mainland to extend the Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Corniche und Corniche Beach in Abu Dhabi, VAE

In den kühleren Stunden des Tages ist die Corniche die beliebteste Flaniermeile von Abu Dhabi, VAE - © Philip Lange / Shutterstock
© Philip Lange / Shutterstock

In den kühleren Stunden des Tages ist die Corniche mit ihren Parks, Shops, Hotels, Restaurants und dem weitläufigen Corniche Beach die beliebteste Flaniermeile von Abu Dhabi.

Die Strandpromenade an der Westküste von Abu Dhabi erstreckt sich in einem eleganten Bogen am Stadtzentrum entlang. Bis in die 1970er-Jahre war die Corniche von Abu Dhabi der Hafen des damaligen Fischerdorfes, an dem Dhaus ankerten und Frachter ihre Waren abluden. Heutet bietet sie mit Spazierwegen, Parkanlagen und dem malerischen Corniche Beach die perfekte Umgebung für einen entspannten Urlaubstag in Abu Dhabi.

BILDER: Corniche von Abu Dhabi

Sehenswürdigkeiten an der Corniche von Abu Dhabi

Einen Spaziergang entlang der herrlichen Strandpromenade sollte man sich auf keiner Abu Dhabi Reise entgehen lassen (am besten morgens oder abends, denn so lange die Sonne auf die weißen Pflastersteine brennt, ist die Hitze schier unerträglich). Auf ihrer Länge von rund 8 Kilometern erstrecken sich auf der einen Seite Strand und Meer, während die andere Seite von Cafés, Restaurants, Grünflächen und Kinderspielplätzen gesäumt wird.

Die höchsten Gebäude und die luxuriösesten Hotels von Abu Dhabi, VAE, sind entlang der idyllischen Corniche zu finden - © GagliardiImages / Shutterstock
© GagliardiImages / Shutterstock

Auch die höchsten Gebäude und die luxuriösesten Hotels der Stadt sind entlang der idyllischen Corniche zu finden. Den Abschluss der Strandpromenade bilden der Mina Fisch Markt und der Iranische Markt, auf dem allerlei Kitsch und Trödel verkauft wird.

Tipp: Für eine kleine Gebühr können direkt an der Corniche Fahrräder für bis zu drei Personen ausgeliehen, mit denen die Strandpromenade immer umweht von einer leichten Meeresbrise ganz bequem erkundet werden kann.

Corniche Beach

Der Corniche Beach erstreckt sich vom Haupteingang an der Al Khaleej Al Arabi Straße bis zum Hotel Hilton und ist mit Liegen und Sonnenschirmen ideal für einen Tag am Strand ausgestattet. Neben dem kostenlosen öffentlichen Bereich gibt es auch zwei abgetrennte kostenpflichtige Bereiche am Corniche Beach, die nur für Familien oder Singles zugänglich sind.

Die Wasserqualität am Corniche Beach von Abu Dhabi ist hervorragend und wurde bereits mehrmals mit der Blauen Flagge ausgezeichnet, VAE - © GagliardiImages / Shutterstock
© GagliardiImages / Shutterstock

Die Wasserqualität am Corniche Beach ist hervorragend und wurde bereits mehrmals mit der Blauen Flagge ausgezeichnet. Weit hinausschwimmen ist am Corniche Beach allerdings nicht möglich. Nach rund 40 Metern vom Ufer ist das Meer abgesperrt und zahlreiche Rettungsschwimmer sorgen zusätzlich für die Sicherheit der Strandgäste.

Mit einer Durchschnittstemperatur von rund 30°C bringt das Meer am Arabischen Golf in den Sommermonaten auch kaum Abkühlung. Erhitzte Gemüter sind an den kühleren Hotelpools besser bedient.

Tipp: Wer nichts von viel Trubel hält, sollte den Corniche Beach am Wochenende (Freitag und Samstag) meiden, da hier auch viele Einheimische einen Tag am Meer verbringen.

Die im März 2001 eröffnete Marina Mall an der Corniche zählt zu den größten Einkaufszentren von Abu Dhabi, VAE - © Nadezda Murmakova / Shutterstock
© Nadezda Murmakova / Shutterstock

Marina Mall

Die im März 2001 eröffnete Marina Mall zählt zu den größten Einkaufszentren von Abu Dhabi und wurde 2017 vom Forbes Magazine zur Top Shopping Mall der Stadt erklärt. Auf vier Stockwerken und einer Fläche von 122.000 Quadratmetern sorgen zahllose Stores, ein Observatorium, ein Eislaufplatz, eine Bowling-Halle, ein Multiplex-Kino und musikalische Springbrunnen für Shopping-Erlebnisse und Unterhaltung vom Feinsten.

An der Marina Mall weht übrigens die Flagge der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate an einem der höchsten Fahnenmasten der Welt.

Emirates Palace Hotel

Ebenfalls als Sehenswürdigkeit lässt sich das pompöse Emirates Palace Hotel titulieren. Als einst teuerstes Hotel der Welt zählt es gemeinsam mit Dubais Burj al Arab am Jumeirah Beach und dem Atlantis-Hotel auf der weltbekannten Palmeninsel zu den Top-Hotels der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate.

Das Emirates Palace Hotel in Abu Dhabi, VAE, verwöhnt seine Gäste mit märchenhaften Suiten, Speisen aus aller Welt, einem Bilderbuch-Strand und einer gigantischen Fitness-, Pool- und Spa-Landschaft - © Shahid Khan / Shutterstock
© Shahid Khan / Shutterstock

Lulu Island

Lulu Island ist eine künstliche Insel, die von 1988 bis 1992 im Arabischen Golf vor der Küste von Abu Dhabi aufgeschüttet wurde. Auf dem gut 4 Quadratkilometer großen Eiland sollten vor allem Wohn- und Bürogebäude errichtet werden. Seit 2009 ist der Zugang zur Insel allerdings nur noch mit dem Privatboot möglich. Wie die Insel in Zukunft genutzt werden wird, steht noch nicht fest.

2002 und 2003 wurde auch am Festland Sand aufgeschüttet, um die Corniche von Abu Dhabi zu erweitern.

Anzeige

Ihnen gefällt was Sie hier lesen?

Gleich zum Newletter anmelden.         Jetzt anmelden   >  


 

Anzeige