Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy in Gustavia, Saint Barthélemy

The Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy in the capital Gustavia contains the first and most comprehensive collection of sociological, ethnic, economic, geological and zoological information from the entire island.

The Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy is the municipal museum of the exclusive Caribbean island of Saint Barthélemy, or St Barth for short. It is located at the harbour of the capital Gustavia at the far end of La Pointe.

Advertisement

The museum is housed in a historic two-storey stone house. It is therefore also called "Wall House", not to be confused with the fine gourmet restaurant Wall House Restaurant, which is just nearby. The building dates back to the Swedish colonial period and was built around the beginning of the 19th century.

Places of interest in the St Barth Museum

The Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy is the largest collection on St Barth dedicated to the history of the small Caribbean island. Over the years, St. Barth has been under French, Swedish and British rule. The respective occupying powers and their legacies are presented in the form of documents, maps, photographs and paintings in the Musée Municipal. Exhibitions of historical costumes, everyday objects and tools give an idea of life in St. Barth in the past.

Prepared plants and animals present the fauna and flora of the Caribbean island. Thus, the Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy contains the first and most comprehensive collection of sociological, ethnic, economic, geological and zoological information of the entire island.

Models of Creole houses and historic fishing boats are also on display on the ground floor. The associated library contains further documents and a large number of books on the history of St. Barth.

Visitors interested in culture to the Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy learn about St. Barth's highly interesting past, from the early days of colonisation to today's modern tourist island.

Further links:

Official site of the Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy with admission prices and opening hours (French)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy in Gustavia, St. Barthélemy

In der Hauptstadt Gustavia, Saint Barthélemy - © Tony Moran / Shutterstock
© Tony Moran / Shutterstock

Das Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy in der Hauptstadt Gustavia enthält die erste und umfassendste Sammlung von soziologischen, ethnischen, wirtschaftlichen, geologischen und zoologischen Informationen der gesamten Insel.

Das Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy ist das Stadtmuseum der exklusiven Karibikinsel Saint Barthélemy, kurz St. Barth. Es befindet sich am Hafen der Hauptstadt Gustavia am äußersten Ende von La Pointe.

Das Museum ist in einem historischen zweistöckigen Steinhaus untergebracht. Es wird daher auch „Wall House” genannt, nicht zu verwechseln mit dem feinen Gourmet-Lokal Wall House Restaurant, welches sich gleich in der Nähe befindet. Das Gebäude stammt noch aus der schwedischen Kolonialzeit und wurde etwa Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts errichtet.

Sehenswürdigkeiten im Museum von St. Barth

Das Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy ist die größte Sammlung auf St. Barth, die sich mit der Geschichte der kleinen Karibikinsel beschäftigt. Im Lauf der Zeit war St. Barth unter französischer, schwedischer und britischer Herrschaft. Die jeweiligen Besatzungsmächte und deren Hinterlassenschaften sind in Form von Dokumenten, Karten, Fotos und Malereien im Musée Municipal präsentiert. Ausstellungen von historischen Kostümen, Alltagsgegenständen und Werkzeugen vermitteln eine Vorstellung des früheren Lebens auf St. Barth.

Präparierte Pflanzen und Tiere stellen die Fauna und Flora der Karibikinsel vor. Somit enthält das Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy die erste und umfassendste Sammlung von soziologischen, ethnischen, wirtschaftlichen, geologischen und zoologischen Informationen der gesamten Insel.

Im Erdgeschoß sind auch Modelle kreolischer Häuser und historischer Fischerboote ausgestellt. In der zugehörigen Bibliothek sind weitere Dokumente und eine Vielzahl an Büchern über die Geschichte von St. Barth zu finden.

Kulturinteressierte Besucher des Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy erfahren über St. Barths hochinteressante Vergangenheit, von den frühen Tagen der Kolonialisierung bis zur heutigen modernen Tourismusinsel.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Seite des Musée Municipal de Saint Barthélemy mit Eintrittspreisen und Öffnungszeiten (französisch)