Fortress Riffort in Willemstad, Curaçao

The reef resort is located in Curaçao's capital Willemstad directly at the mouth of the Sint Annabaai into the Caribbean Sea and offers sensational views as well as food and drink behind historic walls.

The Riffort in the Otrabanda district of Willemstad is the counterpart to the Waterfort in the Punda district. Together, these two fortresses at the entrance to Sint Annabaai have guarded the capital of the Caribbean island of Curaçao for centuries.

Advertisement

The fort was built between 1824 and 1828 and can be entered through an imposing entrance gate. A narrow staircase leads to the roof terrace, which offers a dreamlike panoramic view over the open sea and the Punda district with the impressive Fort Amsterdam and the walls of the Waterfort.

The reef resort is located in Curaçao's capital, Willemstad, in the Otrabanda district, right at the mouth of the Sint Annabaai into the Caribbean Sea - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Immediately behind it, you enter an elongated inner courtyard framed by former magazines in round arches, which are now used privately. A small guest garden invites you to take a seat. Besides Fort Nassau on the hill above Schottegat and Fort Waakzamheid, the Riffort is the third fortress in Willemstad where you can dine within historic walls.

"Le Clochard" in the Riffort

Behind the time-honoured walls of the Riffort on the harbour side, the French restaurant "Le Clochard" set up shop in 1978. Its guests dine either in the rustic, cosy interior (whose past as a dungeon can still be seen in traces) or under awnings on the airy terrace, from where the view falls on the colourful district of Punda. The excellent menu includes Caribbean specialities as well as cheese fondue and French-Swiss-style mousse au chocolate.

In the elongated courtyard of the Reef Resort on the Otrabanda side of Willemstad, a French restaurant serves Caribbean and European food, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Festung Riffort in Willemstad, Curaçao

Gemeinsam mit dem Waterfort bewacht das Riffort die Einfahrt zur Sint Annabaai in Willemstad schon seit Jahrhunderten, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Das Riffort liegt in Curaçaos Hauptstadt Willemstad direkt an der Mündung der Sint Annabaai ins Karibische Meer und bietet neben sensationellen Ausblicken auch Speis und Trank hinter historischen Mauern.

Das Riffort im Stadtteil Otrabanda von Willemstad ist das Pendant zum Waterfort im Stadtteil Punda. Gemeinsam bewachen diese beiden Festungen an der Einfahrt zur Sint Annabaai die Hauptstadt der karibischen Insel Curaçao schon seit Jahrhunderten.

Die Festung wurde in den Jahren 1824 bis 1828 errichtet und kann durch ein imposantes Eingangstor betreten werden. Eine schmale Treppe führt auf die Dachterrasse, die einen traumhaften Rundblick über das offene Meer und den Stadtteil Punda mit dem eindrucksvollen Fort Amsterdam und den Mauern des Waterfort bietet.

Das Riffort liegt in Curaçaos Hauptstadt Willemstad im Stadtteil Otrabanda direkt an der Mündung der Sint Annabaai ins Karibische Meer - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox

Gleich dahinter betritt man einen langgestreckten Innenhof, der von ehemaligen Magazinen in Rundbögen umrahmt wird, die heute privat genutzt werden. Ein kleiner Gastgarten lädt zum Platz nehmen ein. Neben dem Fort Nassau auf dem Hügel über dem Schottegat und dem Fort Waakzamheid ist das Riffort die dritte Festung in Willemstad, in der man innerhalb von historischen Mauern speisen kann.

„Le Clochard“ im Riffort

Hinter den altehrwürdigen Mauern des Rifforts an der Hafenseite hat sich im Jahr 1978 das französische Lokal „Le Clochard“ eingerichtet. Seine Gäste speisen entweder im rustikal-gemütlichen Innenraum (dessen Vergangenheit als Kerker noch in Spurenelemten zu bemerken ist) oder unter Sonnensegel auf der luftigen Terrasse, von wo aus der Blick auf den farbenfrohen Stadtteil Punda fällt. Die vorzügliche Speisekarte beinhaltet neben karibischen Spezialitäten auch Käsefondue und Mousse au Chocolate nach Französisch-Schweizer Geschmack.

Im langgestreckten Innenhof des Rifforts auf der Otrabanda-Seite von Willemstad serviert ein französisches Restaurant karibische und europäische Speisen, Curaçao - © James Camel / franks-travelbox
© James Camel / franks-travelbox