Sevastopol on the Crimean Peninsula, Ukraine

The Russian Black Sea Fleet is still stationed in Sevastopol on the Crimean peninsula on the Black Sea. Crimea's largest city attracts half a million tourists every year with its monuments and magnificent buildings.

Sevastopol on the Black Sea is the largest and probably best-known city on the Ukrainian peninsula of Crimea, with a population of just under 400,000. Every year it is visited by about half a million tourists, mainly from Russia and Ukraine.

Advertisement

Sevastopol was (re)founded in 1783 under Russian occupation and is today the educational centre of the autonomous Republic of Crimea and the seat of numerous scientific institutes and organisations. In terms of area, Sevastopol is huge, about the size of Berlin or New York, and encloses 38 bays and several river courses.

Travel tips for Sevastopol

The journey to Sevastopol is via Kiev or Simferopol by plane and then by bus or taxi. Another (more lengthy) alternative is the ferry from Istanbul, but this takes 24 hours.

The climate in Sevastopol is almost subtropical with summer temperatures of up to 40°C. However, the heat remains bearable due to the constant breeze from the sea. In winter, temperatures sometimes drop below freezing, but the port of Sevastopol has never frozen over.

Although the city is not a holiday and seaside resort in its own sense, it exudes a unique flair with its very special sights.

Black Sea Fleet

Sevastopol is the main base of the Ukrainian navy and to this day also the home port of the Russian Black Sea Fleet, which was divided between Russia and Ukraine after Ukraine 's independence. Sevastopol was then on Ukrainian territory, but the use of the Black Sea port by the Russians was regulated by treaty. And so Ukrainian and Russian warships are now anchored side by side in Sevastopol. The Ukrainian ships are easily recognisable by their ship number with the "U" and the blue and yellow flag. The stationing of the Russian Black Sea Fleet is also the reason why the (pro-)Russian authorities and institutions have a very strong presence in Sevastopol and connections to the West are rejected.

Both Russian and Ukrainian Black Sea Fleet ships are anchored in Sevastopol, Crimean Peninsula, Ukraine - © Stepanyuchenko CC BY2.0/W
© Stepanyuchenko CC BY2.0/W

Balaklava Bay

The former military installations can best be visited in Balaklava Bay, which is part of Sevastopol, a picturesque inlet in the south of the city. Here you will also find an underground yard driven into the mountain and a fortress from which a breathtaking view opens up over Balaklava, its bay and the Black Sea.

Vladimir Cathedral

The Vladimir Cathedral (not to be confused with the Vladimir Cathedral in Khersones) is located on Suvorov Street on the highest hill in Sevastopol. The first Byzantine construction of the cathedral began in 1854 after the then admiral of the Russian Black Sea Fleet Alexei Samuilovich Greig made a request to Tsar Alexander I to build a memorial to Saint Vladimir. In 1966, the Vladimir Cathedral had to be completely rebuilt after being destroyed in the Second World War.

Advertisement

Today, the Vladimir Cathedral shines in its old splendour and still houses the tombs of some important admirals of the Black Sea Fleet under its 30 m high tower, whose names are also immortalised in black marble on the church façade.

Other churches worth seeing are the Peter and Paul Church and the Pokrovsky Cathedral.

Museums in Sevastopol

The Panorama Museum in Sevastopol is a circular building on the fortress hill Istorichesky bulwar. Its sole purpose is to present a single painting. A panoramic painting by the Russian battle painter Franz Roubaud "The Defence of Sevastopol 1854-1855″ stretches across the entire inner wall of the museum on a canvas over 100m long.

Tip: Close to the Panorama Museum is the Inkerman Cave Monastery, where you can taste Sevastopol's excellent wine.

The Museum of the Black Sea Fleet, one of Ukraine's oldest naval museums, chronicles Sevastopol's turbulent history as a naval base, and a small art museum at Nakhimova 9 exhibits works by Russian and Western European painters from the 17th to the 19th centuries.

The Museum of the Black Sea Fleet in Sevastopol, Crimean Peninsula, Ukraine - © Елизавета Резник CCBY-SA3.0/W
© Елизавета Резник CCBY-SA3.0/W

Chersones

On the cape of Servastopol, you can visit the excavation site of the ancient Greek settlement of Chersones, which has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2013. Here you will also find the Vladimir Church, whose golden cross shines over the entire city and is listed on all international nautical charts.

St. Vlaidimir's Cathedral at the Khersones excavation site on the Crimean peninsula dates from the 19th century, Ukraine - © Andrew Butko CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© Andrew Butko CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

Monuments in Sevastopol

There are over 2,000 monuments to discover in the heroic city of Sevastopol. At the harbour, for example, there is the Eagle Column in memory of the Russian ships sunk in the Crimean War. Also commemorating the Crimean War is the statue of the Russian admiral Pavel S. Nakhimov, who organised the defence of the home port during the siege of Sevastopol. On Sapun Hill outside the city gates, a monument and museum commemorates the terrible days of the siege and storming of Sevastopol in World War II.

Sevastopol and the Malakov Cake

The famous Malakov cake, a magnificent composition of sponge cake, vanilla cream and whipped cream, has its origins in Sevastopol. On 8 September 1955, during the Crimean War, the Malakov fortress was captured on a hill in Sevastopol (a defence tower of the fortress can still be seen today) and the French marshal at the time was named "Duke of Malakov". In his honour, the Malakov cake was created, which is still known and loved throughout Central Europe - only in Sevastopol no one knows it. The Swiss cheese balls called Malakow, which are known mainly in Vaud, were also named after the duke.

History of Sevastopol

Sevastopol was already settled by the Greeks in the 7th century BC. This is where its name comes from: "sebastós" and "pólis" together mean something like "majestic city". Even then, Sevastopol was the largest city on the Crimean peninsula. Under Byzantine and Roman rule, Sevastopol continued to exist for a time, but it was not until the 14th century that it was razed to the ground by the Tartars and completely rebuilt. When Crimea was conquered by the Russians, the re-foundation of Sevastopol followed in 1783 under the then Tsarina Catherine the Great.

Advertisement

However, Sevastopol's heyday was long over. Its renewed destruction followed in the middle of the 19th century during the Crimean War after an eleven-month siege. However, the city was rebuilt and was considered the strongest fortress in the world during the Second World War. Nevertheless, it fell again in the Battle of Sevastopol in 1941 to 1942 and was briefly in German hands before being recaptured by the Soviets in the Battle of Crimea in 1944. In 1945, Sevastopol was declared a Hero City, and over 2,000 monuments still commemorate the past events of the war.

In 1954, the later head of government Nikita Khrushchev (himself a native Ukrainian) gave the entire Crimean peninsula - and with it Sevastopol - to the Ukrainian Soviet Republic - with devastating consequences. Sevastopol had always been the home port of the Russian Black Sea Fleet - which was divided in 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet Union. The Russians received most of the fleet, but lost the area of the port to the new Republic of Ukraine. No alternative to Sevastopol on Russia's Black Sea coast was found. Protracted negotiations finally assured Russia that the Russian Black Sea Fleet would remain in Sevastopol. The first contract was valid until 2017 and was extended in 2010 by Russian President Putin and Ukrainian President Yanukovych until 2042 in exchange for cheaper natural gas supplies. For this agreement, Russia pays one hundred million US dollars to Ukraine every year, which is 25% of the total Ukrainian state budget.

Since 1994, Sevastopol is no longer a restricted zone, but open to Crimean residents and tourists alike. However, the city is not Simferopol, the capital of Crimea, but is the only settlement on the peninsula directly subordinate to the Ukrainian capital Kiev.

After the unrest in Kiev in February 2014 and the flight of President Yanukovych, however, compliance with the treaty was no longer assured from the Russian point of view and the Russians invaded the Crimean pen insula, which even led the media to speak of a revival of the Cold War. Russia has been trying for some time to bring about the independence of the Crimean peninsula from Ukraine in order to secure its naval base.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Sewastopol auf der Halbinsel Krim, Ukraine

Sewastopol wird jedes Jahr von etwa einer halben Million Touristen besucht, die die über 2.000 Denkmäler und die prachtvollen Kirchen zu schätzen wissen, Halbinsel Krim, Ukraine - © J29 CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© J29 CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

In Sewastopol auf der Halbinsel Krim am Schwarzen Meer ist bis heute die russische Schwarzmeerflotte stationiert. Die größte Stadt Krims zieht mit seinen Denkmälern und Prachtbauten jedes Jahr eine halbe Million Touristen an.

Sewastopol am Schwarzen Meer ist mit knapp 400.000 Einwohnern die größte und wohl bekannteste Stadt der ukrainischen Halbinsel Krim. Jedes Jahr wird sie von etwa einer halben Million Touristen besucht, die hauptsächlich aus Russland und der Ukraine stammen.

Sewastopol wurde im Jahr 1783 unter russischer Besatzung (neu) gegründet und ist heute Bildungszentrum der autonomen Republik Krim und Sitz zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Institute und Organisationen. Flächenmäßig ist Sewastopol riesig, etwa so groß wie Berlin oder New York, und umschließt 38 Buchten und mehrere Flussläufe.

Reisetipps für Sewastopol

Die Anreise nach Sewastopol erfolgt über Kiew oder Simferopol mit dem Flugzeug und anschließend mit dem Bus oder Taxi. Eine andere (langwierigere) Alternative ist die Fähre von Istanbul aus, da ist man allerdings 24 Stunden unterwegs.

Das Klima in Sewastopol ist beinahe subtropische mit Sommertemperaturen bis zu 40°C. Die Hitze bleibt jedoch durch die ständige Brise vom Meer her erträglich. Im Winter fallen die Temperaturen auch mal unter den Gefrierpunkt, der Hafen von Sewastopol ist jedoch noch nie zugefroren.

Die Stadt ist zwar kein Urlaubs- und Badeort im eigenen Sinne, verströmt mit seinen ganz besonderen Sehenswürdigkeiten jedoch ein einzigartiges Flair.

Schwarzmeerflotte

Sewastopol ist Hauptstützpunkt der ukrainischen Marine und bis heute auch Heimathafen der russischen Schwarzmeerflotte, die nach der Unabhängigkeit der Ukraine zwischen Russland und der Ukraine aufgeteilt wurde. Sewastopol war zwar dann auf ukrainischem Territorium, die Nutzung des Schwarzmeer-Hafens durch die Russen wurde jedoch vertraglich geregelt. Und so liegen nun ukrainische und russische Kriegsschiffe in Sewastopol nebeneinander vor Anker. Die ukrainischen Schiffe sind leicht an der Schiffsnummer mit dem „U” und der blau-gelben Flagge zu erkennen. Die Stationierung der russischen Schwarzmeerflotte ist auch der Grund, warum in Sewastopol die (pro-)russischen Behörden und Institutionen sehr stark präsent sind und Verbindungen zum Westen abgelehnt werden.

Sowohl Schiffe der russischen als auch der ukrainischen Schwarzmeerflotte liegen in Sewastopol vor Anker, Halbinsel Krim, Ukraine - © Stepanyuchenko CC BY2.0/W
© Stepanyuchenko CC BY2.0/W

Bucht von Balaklawa

Die ehemaligen Militäranlagen können am besten in der zu Sewastopol gehörigen Bucht Balaklawa besichtigt werden, einem malerischen Landeinschnitt im Süden der Stadt. Hier befinden sich außerdem eine in den Berg getriebene U-Bahn-Werft und eine Festung, von der aus sich ein atemberaubender Blick über Balaklawa, seine Bucht und das Schwarze Meer auftut.

Wladimir-Kathedrale

Die Wladimir-Kathedrale (nicht zu verwechseln mit der Wladimir-Kathedrale in Chersones) liegt in der Suworow-Straße auf dem höchsten Hügel von Sewastopol. Der erste byzantinische Bau der Kathedrale begann im Jahr 1854, nachdem der damalige Admiral der russischen Schwarzmeerflotte Alexei Samuilowitsch Greig ein Ansuchen an Zar Alexander I. gestellt hatte, eine Gedenkstätte für den Heiligen Wladimir zu errichten. 1966 musste die Wladimir-Kathedrale nach ihrer Zerstörung im Zweiten Weltkrieg komplett neu wieder aufgebaut werden.

Heute erstrahlt die Wladimir-Kathedrale in altem Glanz und beherbergt unter ihrem gut 30m hohen Turm nach wie vor die Grabstätten einiger bedeutender Admirale der Schwarzmeerflotte, deren Namen ebenso in schwarzem Marmor an der Kirchenfassade verewigt wurden.

Weitere sehenswerte Kirchen sind die Peter-und-Paul-Kirche und die Pokrowski-Kathedrale.

Museen in Sewastopol

Das Panorama-Museum in Sewastopol ist ein kreisrunder Bau auf dem Festungshügel Istoritscheski bulwar. Es dient einzig und allein der Präsentation eines einzigen Gemäldes. Ein Panoramabild des russischen Schlachtenmalers Franz Roubaud „Die Verteidigung Sewastopols 1854-1855″ erstreckt sich auf einer über 100m langen Leinwand über die gesamte Innenwand des Museums.

Tipp: Ganz in der Nähe des Panorama-Museums befindet sich das Höhlenkloster Inkerman, auf dessen Weingut der exzellente Wein Sewastopols verkostet werden kann.

Das Museum der Schwarzmeerflotte, eines der ältesten Marine-Museen der Ukraine, berichtet über die turbulente Geschichte von Sewastopol als Flottenstützpunkt und ein kleines Kunstmuseum am Nachimowa 9 stellt Werke russischer und westeuropäischer Maler vom 17. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert aus.

Das Museum der Schwarzmeerflotte in Sewastopol, Halbinsel Krim, Ukraine - © Елизавета Резник CCBY-SA3.0/W
© Елизавета Резник CCBY-SA3.0/W

Chersones

Auf dem Kap von Serwastopol kann die Ausgrabungsstätte der antiken griechischen Siedlung Chersones besichtigt werden, die seit 2013 um Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO zählt. Hier befindet sich auch die Wladimir-Kirche, deren goldenes Kreuz über die gesamte Stadt leuchtet und auf allen internationalen Seekarten verzeichnet ist.

Die St. Vlaidimir-Kathedrale an der Ausgrabungsstätte Chersones auf der Halbinsel Krim stammt aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, Ukraine - © Andrew Butko CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki
© Andrew Butko CC BY-SA3.0/Wiki

Denkmäler in Sewastopol

In der Heldenstadt Sewastopol gibt es über 2.000 Denkmäler zu entdecken. Am Hafen findet sich zum Beispiel die Adlersäule zum Andenken an die im Krimkrieg versenkten russischen Schiffe. Ebenfalls an den Krimkrieg erinnert die Statue des russischen Admirals Pawel S. Nachimow, der während der Belagerung Sewastopols die Verteidigung des Heimathafens organisierte. Auf dem Sapun-Hügel vor den Toren der Stadt erinnert ein Denkmal und Museum an die furchtbaren Tage der Belagerung und Erstürmung Sewastopols im Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Sewastopol und die Malakow-Torte

Die berühmte Malakow-Torte, eine herrliche Komposition aus Biskuit, Vanillecreme und Schlagsahne, hat ihren Ursprung in Sewastopol. Am 8. September 1955 wurde während des Krimkrieges auf einem Hügel in Sewastopol die Festung Malakow erobert (ein Verteidigungsturm der Festung ist heute noch zu sehen) und der damalige französische Marschall zum „Herzog von Malakow” ernannt. Ihm zu Ehren wurde die Malakow-Torte kreiert, die bis heute in ganz Mitteleuropa bekannt und beliebt ist – nur in Sewastopol kennt sie keiner. Auch die schweizerischen Käsebällchen namens Malakow, die vor allem im Waadtland bekannt sind, wurden nach dem Herzog benannt.

Geschichte von Sewastopol

Sewastopol wurde bereits im 7. Jahrhundert vor Christus von den Griechen besiedelt. Daher rührt auch noch sein Name: „sebastós” und „pólis” bedeutet zusammengesetzt in etwa „Majestätsstadt”. Bereits damals war Sewastopol die größte Stadt der Halbinsel Krim. Unter byzantinischer und römischer Herrschaft blieb Sewastopol nocht halbwegs bestehen, erst im 14. Jahrhundert wurde sie durch die Tartaren dem Erdboden gleichgemacht und völlig neu aufgebaut. Als Krim von den Russen erobert wurde, folgte 1783 unter der damaligen Zarin Katharina der Großen die Neugründung von Sewastopol.

Mit der Blütezeit von Sewastopol war es allerdings längst vorbei. Ihre erneute Zerstörung folgte Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts im Krimkrieg nach elfmonatiger Belagerung. Die Stadt wurde jedoch wieder errichtet und galt im zweiten Weltkrieg als stärkste Festung der Welt. Dennoch fiel sie in der Schlacht um Sewastopol 1941 bis 1942 erneut und war kurzfristig in deutscher Hand, bevor sie 1944 in der Schlacht um Krim von den Sowjets wieder zurückerobert wurde. 1945 wird Sewastopol zur Heldenstadt erklärt, über 2.000 Denkmäler erinnern heute noch an die vergangenen Kriegsereignisse.

1954 schenkte der spätere Regierungschef Nikita Chruschtschow (selbst gebürtiger Ukrainer) die gesamte Halbinsel Krim – und damit auch Sewastopol – der ukrainischen Sowjetrepublik – mit verheerenden Folgen. Sewastopol war seit jeher Heimathafen der russischen Schwarzmeerflotte – die 1991 nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion geteilt wurde. Die Russen erhielten zwar den Großteil der Flotte, verloren jedoch das Gebiet des Hafens an die neue Republik der Ukraine. Alternative zu Sewastopol an der russischen Schwarzmeer-Küste wurd keine gefunden. Langwierige Verhandlungen sicherten Russland schließlich den Verbleib der russischen Schwarzmeerflotte in Sewastopol zu. Der erste Vertrag galt bis 2017 und wurde im Jahr 2010 vom russischen Präsident Putin und dem ukrainischen Präsident Janukowitsch gegen verbilligte Erdgaslieferungen bis 2042 verlängert. Für diese Vereinbarung zahlt Russland jedes Jahr hundert Millionen US-Dollar an die Ukraine, das sind 25% des gesamten ukrainischen Staatsbudgets.

Seit dem Jahr 1994 ist Sewastopol nicht mehr Sperrzone, sondern für Krim-Bewohner und Touristen gleichermaßen geöffnet. Die Stadt ist allerdings nicht Simferopol, der Hauptstadt Krims, sondern als einzige Siedlung der Halbinsel direkt Kiew unterstellt.

Nach den Unruhen in Kiew im Februar 2014 und der Flucht des Präsidenten Janukowitsch allerdings war die Einhaltung des Vertrages aus russischer Sicht nicht mehr gesichert und die Russen marschierten auf der Halbinsel Krim ein, was die Medien sogar von einem Wiederaufleben des Kalten Krieges sprechen ließ. Russland versucht seit geraumer Zeit, die Unabhängigkeit der Halbinsel Krim von der Ukraine herbeizuführen, um seinen Flottenstützpunkt zu sichern.