Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in Galicia, northern Spain, is the architecturally impressive destination of thousands of pilgrims who set out each year on the world-famous Way of St. James.

The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela is greeted annually by thousands of pilgrims with exhausted but beaming faces. Finally at the destination! Because the magnificent cathedral in northern Spain is the end of the Way of St. James - one of the most famous pilgrimages of Christianity. In 1985, the old town of Santiago de Compostela, and with it the cathedral, was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. We have put the world-famous pilgrimage destination on our lists of the 10 most beautiful churches of Spain and the top 10 sights of Spain.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Photo gallery: Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Tomb of the Apostle James

The impressive main portal of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela on the west façade is flanked by two 75m high towers, Spain - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The origins of the famous place of worship date back to the 1st century AD. At that time, in a then still pagan mausoleum, the bones of the apostle James the Elder were buried, who had to pay for his faith with his life in the year 44 AD; he was beheaded in Palestine.

As a result, the mausoleum of Santiago de Compostela became a place of religious worship as early as the 9th century. Moreover, this place of worship was intended to unite all the Christians of the West against the advance of the Moors. From the numerous pilgrimages that set out to visit the tomb of St. James, over the centuries became the now world-famous Way of St. James and Santiago de Compostela became the spiritual center of Western Europe.

In 830, the first simple church was built over the mausoleum, whose construction also marks the official founding date of Santiago de Compostela. Today, this small church is the magnificent Cathedral of Santiago and the most important Romanesque building in Spain. It forms the destination of all the routes of the famous Way of St. James and, as the official burial church of St. James the Apostle, it remains one of the most important pilgrimage sites in Christendom.

Construction of the present Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Detailed view of the Baroque, Neoclassical and Gothic elements of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, Spain - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in its current appearance dates from the mid-18th century. The facade was created by the local architect Fernando de Casas y Nóvoa. From the cathedral of that time can still be seen the Romanesque south portal.

Due to the ongoing extensions, the impressive sacral building combines baroque, classicist and gothic elements. The impressive main portal on the west facade is flanked by two 75m high towers. Entering the cathedral through the magnificent Portico de la Gloria, one is greeted by a 100m long and 20m high central nave. The long aisle leads to the spectacular gilded main altar, under which the remains of the Apostle James rest in a silver shrine.

Tip: In the Holy Years, when the name day of James (July 25) falls on a Sunday, the otherwise walled "Gate of Forgiveness" (La Puerta Santa) can be passed through. It is ceremonially opened on December 31 of the previous year and leads directly (not through the church) to the tomb of James.

The treasures of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Detailed view of the Baroque, Neoclassical and Gothic elements of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, Spain - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Through the different cultural currents, the cathedral has been enriched with a variety of treasures. One of them consists in the west portal in Obradoiro Square. The so-called "Pórtico de la Gloria" is by Maestro Mateo from the 12th century and impresses with a series of masterfully created sculptures.

Advertisement

The treasures of the cathedral have always attracted robbers and so the Normans invaded the city several times to plunder the cathedral. However, a successful looting succeeded only the Moors in 997 AD, but they left the tomb of the Apostle John untouched.

After this invasion, the destroyed city was rebuilt on a larger scale, and in 1077 construction also began on the Romanesque cathedral. Diego Xelmírez, who was appointed bishop in 1099, contributed to the expansion of the city and the cathedral.

Incense against pilgrim sweat

Through the different cultural currents, the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela has been enriched with a variety of treasures, Spain - © FCG / Shutterstock
© FCG / Shutterstock

In the middle of the cathedral, the famous botafumeiro hangs from the vaulted ceiling on a long rope. This almost 2m tall incense bur ner is set in motion by six men on high holidays, by order or after pilgrims have spent a night praying in the church. The smoking cauldron then swings at breathtaking speed up to the roof of the cathedral and spreads a pleasant fragrance.

Related links:

Official site of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela, Spanien

Die Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela im nordspanischen Galicien ist das architektonisch eindrucksvolle Ziel tausender Pilger, die sich jährlich auf den weltberühmten Jakobsweg begeben.

Die Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela wird jährlich von tausenden Pilgern mit erschöpften, aber strahlenden Gesichtern begrüßt. Endlich am Ziel! Denn die prachtvolle Kathedrale im Norden Spaniens ist das Ende des Jakobswegs – eines der berühmtesten Pilgerwege der Christenheit. 1985 wurde die Altstadt von Santiago de Compostela und damit auch die Kathedrale von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Wir haben das weltbekannte Pilgerziel auf unserer Listen der 10 schönsten Kirchen von Spanien und der Top 10 Sehenswürdigkeiten von Spanien gesetzt.

Anzeige

BILDER: Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela

Fotogalerie: Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela

Grabstätte des Apostels Jakobus

Das eindrucksvolle Hauptportal der Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela an der Westfassade wird von zwei 75m hohen Türmen flankiert, Spanien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Ursprünge des berühmten Gotteshauses gehen auf das 1. Jahrhundert nach Christus zurück. Zu dieser Zeit wurden in einem damals noch heidnischen Mausoleum die Gebeine des Apostels Jakobus des Älteren bestattet, der im Jahr 44 n.Chr. für seinen Glauben mit dem Leben bezahlen musste; er wurde in Palästina enthauptet.

Dadurch wurde das Mausoleum von Santiago de Compostela schon im 9. Jahrhundert zu einer religiösen Kultstätte. Außerdem sollte diese Kultstätte dazu dienen, sämtliche Christen des Abendlandes gegen das Vordringen der Mauren zu vereinen. Aus den zahlreichen Pilgerzügen, die sich aufmachten, um das Grabmal des Heiligen Jakobus zu besuchen, wurde im Lauf der Jahrhunderte der heute weltberühmte Jakobsweg und Santiago de Compostela zum geistlichen Zentrum Westeuropas.

Im Jahr 830 wurde die erste einfach gehaltene Kirche über dem Mausoleum errichtet, deren Bau auch das offizielle Gründungsdatum von Santiago de Compostela markiert. Heute ist diese kleine Kirche die prachtvolle Kathedrale von Santiago und das wichtigste romanische Bauwerk Spaniens. Sie bildet das Ziel aller Routen des berühmten Jakobsweges und ist als offizielle Grabeskirche des Apostel Jakobus nach wie vor eine der wichtigsten Pilgerstätten der Christenheit.

Errichtung der heutigen Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela

Detailansicht der barocken, klassizistischen und gotischen Elemente der Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela, Spanien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Die Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela in ihrem heutigen Erscheinungsbild stammt aus dem mittleren 18. Jahrhundert. Die Fassade wurde vom einheimischen Architekten Fernando de Casas y Nóvoa geschaffen. Von der damaligen Kathedrale ist noch das romanische Südportal zu sehen.

Durch die laufenden Erweiterungen vereint der eindrucksvolle Sakralbau barocke, klassizistische und gotische Elemente. Das eindrucksvolle Hauptportal an der Westfassade wird von zwei 75m hohen Türmen flankiert. Betritt man die Kathedrale durch das prachtvolle Portico de la Gloria, wird man von einem 100m langen und 20m hohen Mittelschiff empfangen. Der lange Gang führt zum spektakulären vergoldeten Hauptaltar, unter dem die sterblichen Überreste des Apostel Jakobus in einem silbernen Schrein ruhen.

Tipp: In den Heiligen Jahren, in denen der Namenstag von Jakobus (der 25. Juli) auf einen Sonntag fällt, kann die ansonsten zugemauerte „Pforte der Vergebung“ (La Puerta Santa) durchschritten werden. Sie wird am 31. Dezember des Vorjahres zeremoniell geöffnet und führt direkt (nicht durch die Kirche) zur Grabstätte des Jakobus.

Die Schätze der Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela

Detailansicht der barocken, klassizistischen und gotischen Elemente der Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela, Spanien - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Durch die verschiedenen kulturellen Strömungen wurde die Kathedrale mit einer Vielzahl von Schätzen bereichert. Einer davon besteht im Westportal am Obradoiro-Platz. Der so genannte „Pórtico de la Gloria“ stammt von Maestro Mateo aus dem 12. Jahrhundert und beeindruckt durch eine Reihe meisterhaft geschaffener Skulpturen.

Anzeige

Die Schätze der Kathedrale lockten seit jeher Räuber an und so fielen die Normannen mehrmals in die Stadt ein, um die Kathedrale zu plündern. Eine erfolgreiche Plünderung gelang aber erst den Mauren im Jahr 997 n.Chr., die jedoch die Grabstätte des Apostels Johannes unangetastet ließen.

Nach diesem Übergriff wurde die zerstörte Stadt in größerem Ausmaß wieder aufgebaut, und 1077 begann man auch mit dem Bau der romanischen Kathedrale. Zum Ausbau der Stadt und der Kathedrale trug Diego Xelmírez, der 1099 zum Bischof ernannt wurde, einiges bei.

Weihrauch gegen Pilgerschweiß

Durch die verschiedenen kulturellen Strömungen wurde die Kathedrale Santiago de Compostela mit einer Vielzahl von Schätzen bereichert, Spanien - © FCG / Shutterstock
© FCG / Shutterstock

Inmitten der Kathedrale hängt an einem langen Seil der berühmte Botafumeiro von der gewölbten Decke. Dieses fast 2m großes Weihrauchfass wird zu hohen Feiertagen, auf Bestellung oder nachdem die Pilger eine Nacht betend in der Kirche verbracht haben, von sechs Männern in Bewegung gesetzt. Der rauchende Kessel schwingt dann in atemberaubendem Tempo bis unter das Dach der Kathedrale und verbreitet angenehmen Wohlgeruch.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Seite der Kathedrale von Santiago de Compostela

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: