Highlights in Spain's North: The Basque Country

Many people are drawn to the sunny south coast of Spain on vacation, but the north of the country is much more diverse. The Basque Country - located in the very northeast - presents itself scenically rough and varied and offers numerous spectacular highlights.

Instead of getting lost on the Mediterranean beaches or on the tourist island of Mallorca, the Basque Country is still considered an insider tip among the vacation regions in Spain. In addition to the province's two economic and cultural metropolises, San Sebastián and Bilbao, there are impressive beaches to be seen along the coastline on the Bay of Biscay. The hinterland, with its unspoiled nature, invites visitors to go on extensive discovery tours.

Advertisement

Facts and figures about the Basque Country

The Autonomous Community of the Basque Country has three provinces: Álava in the southwestern part, Bizkaia on the western part of the coast and Gipuzkoa in the east.

Area: 7.234 km²
Inhabitants: 2,198,657 (January 2018)
Language:
Besides Spanish, Basque is also considered an official language
Population density: about 303 inhabitants per km²
Capital: Vitoria-Gasteiz in the province of Álava
Airports:
Bilbao International Airport (BIO), San Sebastián Airport (EAS), Vitoria International Airport (VIT)
Official tourism site: https://tourismus.euskadi.eus/de/

The three largest and most important cities are also the respective provincial capitals:

  • Bilbao: (345,110 inhabitants) - Province of Bizkaia
  • Vitoria-Gasteiz: (246.976 inhabitants) - Province of Álava
  • San Sebastián: (186,370 inhabitants) - Province of Gipuzkoa

The Basque Country has had its autonomous status since 1997 and is economically one of the strongest regions in Spain. It has succeeded in developing the regional economy away from the formerly important heavy industry and strengthening other sectors. Above all, financial, technology and service companies have settled here. Due to its increasing attractiveness, the region has now also become even more interesting for vacationers.

Highlights of the Basque Coast

Several filming locations of the successful series Game of Thrones are located in the Basque Country in northern Spain - © jon_chica / stock.adobe.com
© jon_chica / stock.adobe.com

The coast in the north of Spain is very different from that in the south. Numerous sections here are very rocky, wild and pristine. The rugged beauty was also recognized by the film industry: several film locations of the successful series Game of Thrones are located in the Basque Country:

  • Barrika: Playa de Muriola / Playa de la Cantera - a particularly secluded bay surrounded by a rugged rocky landscape. The highlight here is a geological peculiarity, the so-called flysch. Various layers of sand and limestone rise from the water in strips and also extend up the rocky coastline.
  • Zumaya: Playa de Itzurun / Playa de Zumaya - a rocky, wild sandy beach, in the series the beach of Dragonstone.
  • San Juan de Gaztelugatxe Island: A small monastery is located on the rocky peninsula, which is connected to the mainland by a spectacular rock bridge. This spot is also part of the Dragonstone setting in the film.

Despite the predominantly rocky coastline, there are occasional sandy stretches where water sports can be enjoyed.

Port town Getaria

Also worth a visit is the picturesque coastal town of Getaria, about 25 kilometers west of San Sebastián. The town is surrounded by a wall, behind which stretches the local mountain San Antón. The small harbor is located on a headland with a small hill at its tip. To the right and left of the headland, the two sandy beaches Gaztetape and Malkorbe invite you to swim.

There is also a museum dedicated to a famous son of the town, designer Cristóbal Balenciaga. A former palace was converted into exhibition rooms and the most beautiful creations of the fashion designer are presented there.

Advertisement

Discover the Basque Country culinary

In addition to the cultural and scenic features, the Basque Country is also known for its culinary specialties. In the rugged landscape on the rocky slopes of the Cantabrian mountain massif in the hinterland, wine has been grown for centuries. The unique sites have a long tradition, which winemakers are focusing on again today. The landscape characteristics of the region are at the same time its greatest strength and contribute to being able to produce wines with their own character.

Several tourist routes allow you to explore the various wineries with regional specialties - especially Rioja and Txakoli. Cider is also one of the Basque specialties and is cultivated mainly in the hinterland of San Sebastián.

In special bars, the cider can be enjoyed together with a fish menu or the typical pintxos. These are also a peculiarity of Basque cuisine: similar to tapas, they hide small snacks and delicacies that can be eaten as finger food. However, they are usually smaller than tapas. The special feature: the delicious ingredients are served skewered on a piece of bread. It is popular among the locals to move from bar to bar and enjoy a few pintxos each together with a glass of wine, called txikitos, or a small beer.

Other Basque specialties that are also suitable as souvenirs:

  • Idiazabal: A strong sheep cheese, available smoked or unsmoked.
  • Peppers: A special green variety from Gernika is particularly spicy and tender. Also green peppers come from Ibarra and are traditionally pickled in mild white wine vinegar.
  • Tuna: The "Bonito del Norte" and the "Cimarrón" are typical fish species of the region.

Pure nature: on the way in the hinterland

Those who long for peace and nature in Spain must go to the Basque hinterland in the north - © mimadeo / stock.adobe.com
© mimadeo / stock.adobe.com

Those who long for even more peace and nature must head for the Basque hinterland. The landscape, which in many cases is still untouched, is also an experience in various protected areas.

Gorbeia Nature Park

Here the diverse nature can be hiked on numerous stages. In the center is the peak of Gorbeia (1,481 meters) which offers several beautiful views of the surrounding valleys. In addition to sparse deciduous forests and rolling hills, there are also mountainous sections with rugged cliffs.

A special highlight of the Parque natural de Gorbea is certainly the Goiuri waterfall, which plunges over 100 meters down a steep rock face. The view from the opposite rock plateau is particularly spectacular. Furthermore, there are numerous caves to discover in the protected area. Two visitor centers provide detailed information about possible activities or about the biotope of Itxina, a rock massif with many caves and burrows.

Kortezubi

The small village of Kortezubi has only a few hundred inhabitants and is located less than ten kilometers inland from the coast, 35 kilometers east of Bilbao. The picturesque village is surrounded by forests and houses, among other things, an open-air museum worth seeing. In addition to the Santimamiñe Caves, the surrounding forest was designed by an artist who left his mark on the trees there. A hike through the Bosque de Oma is a unique experience.

Advertisement

Art and culture: Bilbao and San Sebastián

In addition to various churches, monasteries and castles in the hinterland, those interested in culture should not miss the two largest cities on the coast. They offer exciting highlights that show the Basque Country in all its facets.

Bilbao

This city at the mouth of the Ría de Bilbao is one of the ten largest cities in Spain. Together with the surrounding area, more than 900,000 people live here. Structural change has been particularly successful here. A lot has been invested in recent years to make Bilbao attractive. Overall, an exciting mix of historic buildings from the old town and extravagant new buildings from the present day can be seen.

Among the most exciting sights are the Guggenheim Museum with its idiosyncratic architecture (Frank Gehry), which is one of the most spectacular museum buildings in the world. Also along the newly developed subway line, the individual stations were designed by a star architect - Norman Foster.

Other highlights include the oldest suspended ferry in the world, which crosses the river at the Hanging Bridge(Puente Colgante). Two museums, the Museo Marítimo Ría de Bilbao, and the Museo de la Industria tell of the city's historic maritime and industrial past.

San Sebastián

The port city also bears the name Donostia in Basque. The double designation Donostia-San Sebastián is also common. It nestles on a large bay that offers beautiful sandy beaches. The townscape along the long beach promenade has been preserved as best as possible and still shows the original stately buildings, which were already used as summer residences in the past.

Among the sights are the central Plaza de la Constitucion with the old city hall and the Kursaal(Palacio de Congresos y Auditoiro), which is located in the immediate vicinity of the sea. At night, the simple facade becomes a special eye-catcher due to the special lighting.

Strolling along the original beach mile, you can discover several sculptures (Peine del Viento). Through the preservation of old buildings, the city reflects in a special way the Basque way of life and culture.

Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Highlights in Spaniens Norden: Das Baskenland

Das Baskenland im Nordosten Spaniens präsentiert sich landschaftlich rau und abwechslungsreich und bietet zahlreiche spektakuläre Highlights - © David / stock.adobe.com
© David / stock.adobe.com

Viele zieht es im Urlaub an die sonnige Südküste Spaniens, dabei zeigt sich der Norden des Landes ungleich vielfältiger. Das Baskenland – ganz im Nordosten gelegen – präsentiert sich landschaftlich rau und abwechslungsreich und bietet zahlreiche spektakuläre Highlights.

Statt sich an den Mittelmeerstränden oder auf der Touristeninsel Mallorca zu verlieren, gilt das Baskenland noch als Geheimtipp unter den Urlaubsregionen in Spanien. Neben den zwei Wirtschafts- und Kulturmetropolen der Provinz, San Sebastián und Bilbao, gibt es am Küstenabschnitt am Golf von Biskaya beeindruckende Strände zu sehen. Das Hinterland lädt mit seiner ursprünglichen Natur zu ausgedehnten Entdeckungsreisen ein.

Daten und Fakten zum Baskenland

Die Autonome Gemeinschaft des Baskenlandes zählt drei Provinzen: Álava im südwestlichen Teil, Bizkaia am westlichen Teil der Küste und Gipuzkoa im Osten.

Fläche:7.234 km²
Einwohner:2.198.657 (Januar 2018)
Sprache:
Neben Spanisch gilt auch Baskisch als Amtssprache
Bevölkerungsdichte:rund 303 Einwohner pro km²
Hauptstadt:Vitoria-Gasteiz in der Provinz Álava
Flughäfen:
Bilbao International Airport (BIO), San Sebastián Airport (EAS), Vitoria International Airport (VIT)
Offizielle Tourismusseite:https://tourismus.euskadi.eus/de/

Die drei größten und wichtigsten Städte sind gleichzeitig auch die jeweiligen Hauptstädte der Provinzen:

  • Bilbao: (345.110 Einwohner) – Provinz Bizkaia
  • Vitoria-Gasteiz: (246.976 Einwohner) – Provinz Álava
  • San Sebastián: (186.370 Einwohner) – Provinz Gipuzkoa

Seit 1997 hat das Baskenland seinen autonomen Status und zählt wirtschaftlich zu den stärksten Regionen Spaniens. Es ist gelungen, die regionale Wirtschaft von der früher wichtigen Schwerindustrie weiterzuentwickeln und andere Bereiche zu stärken. Vor allem Finanz-, Technologie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen haben sich hier angesiedelt. Durch die zunehmende Attraktivität ist die Region nun auch für Urlauber noch interessanter geworden.

Highlights an der Baskischen Küste

Mehrere Drehorte der erfolgreichen Serie Game of Thrones befinden sich im Baskenland im Norden Spaniens - © jon_chica / stock.adobe.com
© jon_chica / stock.adobe.com

Die Küste im Norden Spaniens unterscheidet sich stark von jener im Süden. Zahlreiche Abschnitte sind hier sehr felsig, wild und ursprünglich. Die raue Schönheit erkannte auch die Filmindustrie: Gleich mehrere Drehorte der erfolgreichen Serie Game of Thrones befinden sich im Baskenland:

  • Barrika: Playa de Muriola / Playa de la Cantera – eine besonders abgeschiedene Bucht umgeben von einer zerklüfteten Felsenlandschaft. Als Highlight zählt hier eine geologische Besonderheit, das sogenannte Flysch. Verschiedene Sand- und Kalksteinschichten erheben sich streifenförmig aus dem Wasser und ziehen sich auch an der Felsenküste hoch.
  • Zumaya: Playa de Itzurun / Playa de Zumaya – ein felsenumrandeter, wildromantischer Sandstrand, in der Serie der Strand von Dragonstone.
  • Insel San Juan de Gaztelugatxe: Ein kleines Kloster befindet sich auf der felsigen Halbinsel, die durch eine spektakuläre Felsenbrücke mit dem Festland verbunden ist. Auch dieser Spot gehört im Film zum Schauplatz des Dragonstone.

Trotz der überwiegend felsigen Küste gibt es zwischendurch immer wieder sandige Abschnitte, wo auch Wassersport betrieben werden kann.

Hafenstädtchen Getaria

Ebenfalls einen Besuch wert ist der pittoreske Küstenort Getaria etwa 25 Kilometer westlich von San Sebastián. Die Stadt ist mit einer Mauer umgeben, dahinter erstreckt sich der Hausberg San Antón. Der kleine Hafen liegt an einer Landzunge, an deren Spitze sich ein kleiner Hügel erhebt. Rechts und links der Landzunge laden die beiden Sandstrände Gaztetape und Malkorbe zum Baden ein.

Einem berühmten Sohn des Ortes, dem Designer Cristóbal Balenciaga ist zudem ein eigenes Museum gewidmet. Ein ehemaliger Palast wurde zu Ausstellungsräumen umgebaut und dort werden die schönsten Kreationen des Modeschöpfers präsentiert.

Das Baskenland kulinarisch entdecken

Neben den kulturellen und landschaftlichen Besonderheiten ist das Baskenland zudem für seine kulinarischen Spezialitäten bekannt. In der rauen Landschaft an den felsigen Hängen des kantabrischen Bergmassivs im Hinterland wird seit Jahrhunderten Wein angebaut. Die einzigartigen Lagen haben eine lange Tradition, auf die sich die Winzer heute wieder verstärkt konzentrieren. Die landschaftlichen Besonderheiten der Region sind gleichzeitig ihre größte Stärke und tragen dazu bei, charakterlich eigenständige Weine erzeugen zu können.

Auf mehreren touristisch erschlossenen Routen lassen sich die verschiedenen Weingüter mit den regionalen Spezialitäten – vor allem Rioja und Txakoli – erkunden. Auch der Apfelwein gehört zu den baskischen Besonderheiten und wird vor allem im Hinterland von San Sebastián kultiviert. In speziellen Bars kann der Cidre zusammen mit einem Fischmenü oder den typischen Pintxos genossen werden.

Dabei handelt es sich ebenfalls um eine Eigenheit der baskischen Küche: Ähnlich den Tapas verbergen sich dahinter kleine Snacks und Leckerbissen, die als Fingerfood gegessen werden können. Sie sind jedoch in der Regel kleiner als Tapas. Die Besonderheit: Die leckeren Zutaten werden aufgespießt auf einem Stück Brot serviert. Bei den Einheimischen ist es beliebt, von Bar zu Bar zu ziehen und jeweils ein paar Pintxos zusammen mit einem Glas Wein, dem sogenannten Txikitos, oder einem kleinen Bier zu genießen.

Weitere baskische Spezialitäten, die sich auch als Mitbringsel eignen:

  • Idiazabal: Ein kräftiger Schafskäse, der geräuchert oder ungeräuchert erhältlich ist.
  • Paprika: Eine spezielle grüne Sorte aus Gernika ist besonders pikant und zart. Ebenfalls grüne Schoten stammen aus Ibarra und werden traditionell in mildem Weißweinessig eingelegt.
  • Thunfisch: Der „Bonito del Norte“ und der „Cimarrón“ sind typische Fischarten der Region.

Natur pur: Unterwegs im Hinterland

Wer sich in Spanien nach Ruhe und Natur sehnt, muss sich ins baskische Hinterland im Norden begeben - © mimadeo / stock.adobe.com
© mimadeo / stock.adobe.com

Wer sich nach noch mehr Ruhe und Natur sehnt, muss sich ins baskische Hinterland begeben. Die in vielen Fällen noch unberührte Landschaft ist zudem in verschiedenen Schutzgebieten ein Erlebnis.

Naturpark Gorbeia

Hier kann die vielfältige Natur auf zahlreichen Etappen erwandert werden. Im Zentrum steht der Gipfel des Gorbeia (1.481 Meter) der mehrere schöne Aussichten auf die umgebenden Täler bietet. Neben lichten Laubwäldern und sanften Hügeln gibt es auch bergige Abschnitte mit schroffen Felsen.

Ein besonderes Highlight des Parque natural de Gorbea ist sicherlich der Goiuri-Wasserfall, der sich über 100 Meter tief eine steile Felswand hinabstürzt. Besonders spektakulär ist die Aussicht vom gegenüberliegenden Felsplateau aus. Des Weiteren gibt es zahlreiche Höhlen in dem Schutzgebiet zu entdecken. In zwei Besucherzentren finden sich ausführliche Informationen zu möglichen Aktivitäten oder auch zum Biotop von Itxina, ein Felsmassiv mit vielen Höhlen und Erdlöchern.

Kortezubi

Das kleine Dorf Kortezubi zählt nur wenige hundert Einwohner und liegt knapp zehn Kilometer von der Küste entfernt im Landesinneren, 35 Kilometer östlich von Bilbao. Der pittoreske Ort liegt inmitten von Wäldern und beherbergt unter anderem ein sehenswertes Freilichtmuseum. Neben den Santimamiñe-Höhlen wurde der umgebende Wald von einem Künstler gestaltet, der dort Spuren an den Bäumen hinterlassen hat. Eine Wanderung durch den Bosque de Oma ist ein einmaliges Erlebnis.

Kunst und Kultur: Bilbao und San Sebastián

Neben verschiedenen Kirchen, Klöstern und Burgen im Hinterland sollten sich Kulturinteressierte die zwei größten Städte an der Küste nicht entgehen lassen. Sie warten mit spannenden Highlights auf, welche das Baskenland in all seinen Facetten zeigt.

Bilbao

Diese Stadt an der Mündung des Ría de Bilbao gehört zu den zehn größten Städten Spaniens. Mit dem Umland zusammen wohnen hier mehr als 900.000 Menschen. Der strukturelle Wandel ist hier besonders gut gelungen. In den letzten Jahren wurde viel investiert um Bilbao attraktiv zu gestalten. Insgesamt zeigt sich eine spannende Mischung aus historischen Gebäuden der Altstadt und extravaganten Neubauten aus der heutigen Zeit.

Zu den spannendsten Sehenswürdigkeiten zählen das Guggenheim-Museum mit seiner eigenwilligen Architektur (Frank Gehry), das mit zu den spektakulärsten Museumsbauten der Welt zählt. Auch entlang der neuerschlossenen U-Bahn Linie wurden die einzelnen Haltestationen von einem Stararchitekten entworfen – Norman Foster.

Weitere Highlights sind die älteste Schwebefähre der Welt, die an der Hängenden Brücke (Puente Colgante) über den Fluss führt. Zwei Museen, das Museo Marítimo Ría de Bilbao, sowie das Museo de la Industria erzählen von der historischen Vergangenheit der Stadt im Bereich der Seefahrt und der Industrie.

San Sebastián

Die Hafenstadt trägt im Baskischen auch den Namen Donostia. Gebräuchlich ist zudem die Doppelbezeichnung Donostia-San Sebastián. Sie schmiegt sich an eine große Bucht, die wunderschöne Sandstrände zu bieten hat. Das Stadtbild an der langen Strandpromenade wurde bestmöglich erhalten und zeigt bis heute die ursprünglichen herrschaftlichen Gebäude, die früher bereits als Sommerresidenzen genutzt wurden.

Zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten zählt der zentrale Plaza de la Constitucion mit dem alten Rathaus sowie der Kursaal (Palacio de Congresos y Auditoiro) der in unmittelbarer Nähe des Meeres liegt. Nachts wird die schlichte Fassade durch die spezielle Beleuchtung zum besonderen Hingucker.

Beim Flanieren entlang der ursprünglichen Strandmeile lassen sich mehrere Skulpturen (Peine del Viento) entdecken. Durch die Erhaltung alter Bauwerke spiegelt die Stadt auf besondere Weise die baskische Lebensart und Kultur wider.