Belvedere Palace in Vienna, Austria

The magnificent Belvedere Palace was once built for Prince Eugene of Savoy and today amazes its visitors with opulent architecture, imposing art exhibitions and a dreamlike garden.

The Belvedere Palace in the Austrian capital Vienna is one of the most important baroque buildings in the city. It also played a decisive role in the country's history, as the Austrian State Treaty was signed in the marble hall of the so-called Upper Belvedere on 15 May 1955.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Photo gallery: Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Construction of the Belvedere Palace

View from the Upper Belvedere over the beautiful baroque garden to the Lower Belvedere and over Vienna, Austria - © Timothy Michael Morgan/Shutterstock
© Timothy Michael Morgan/Shutterstock

Belvedere Palace dates back to the famous general and Prince Eugene of Savoy. At the beginning of the 18th century, he had the magnificent estate built by Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt.

The original design of the city palace came at that time from Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach, the builder of the no less magnificent Schönbrunn Palace. The prince used the magnificent Upper Belvedere as his summer residence, which was originally only to be built as a visual finish.

The two building complexes that still exist today, the Upper and Lower Belvedere, were built on a hill outside the city. From this point of view, the name of the palace, "beautiful view", also makes sense, because at that time the prince actually had a wonderful view of Vienna, which was still much smaller, from his garden palace outside the city walls.

Art Museum at Belvedere Palace

The magnificent ceiling in Belvedere Palace impresses every visitor, Vienna, Austria - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

After the death of Prince Eugene, Belvedere Palace became the property of the imperial family and was opened to the public in 1780.

The Palais had its beginnings as a museum as early as 1806, when Napoleon threatened to invade Tyrol and the Habsburgs' Ambras collection was moved to the Lower Belvedere before being transferred to the newly founded Kunsthistorisches Museum.

Almost 100 years later, the "Modern Gallery" was established in Belvedere Palace, which became the Austrian State Gallery in 1909 and was expanded to include the Upper Belvedere after the First World War.

Advertisement

The impressive baroque rooms of Belvedere Palace are still used as a museum. On the one hand, they house the palace's collections, and on the other, they repeatedly provide rooms for temporary exhibitions. In addition to the exhibits, the imposing state rooms with their marble decorations and masterful ceiling paintings also amaze the viewer.

World's largest Klimt collection and state rooms

Grand Staircase in the Upper Belvedere in Vienna, Austria - © Mira Arnaudova / Shutterstock
© Mira Arnaudova / Shutterstock

The centrepiece of the Belvedere's collection is the world's largest collection of works by Gustav Klimt. The famous masterpieces "Judith" and "The Kiss", among others, are exhibited in the Upper Belvedere.

Other artists represented at the Upper Belvedere include Schiele, Kokoschka, Makart, Wotruba and Hundertwasser. In the field of sculpture and painting, opulent treasures come from the Baroque period and from the late Gothic period, such as the magnificently decorated Znojmo Altar.

The Lower Belvedere is reserved for special exhibitions and still displays the former splendour of Prince Eugene's time with the Marble Gallery and the Golden Room.

Strolling through the palace garden

Upper and Lower Belvedere are connected by a dreamlike baroque garden since their construction, Vienna, Austria - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Since their construction, the Upper and Lower Belvedere have been connected by a dreamlike Baroque garden. De facto, the garden is the oldest element of the entire ensemble, as it was laid out as early as 1700, shortly after the purchase of the property, and completed in 1725.

Thematically, the garden represents the path from the underworld to Olympus. Accordingly, the flight of steps that adorns the garden is decorated with elegant sphinxes as well as snow-white sculptures from Greek mythology.

A special highlight of the palace garden are the twelve beautiful fountains, which were fed by the imperial court water supply system at the time. The two largest fountains, the imposing upper cascade fountain and the lower shell fountain, mark the differences in level in the Belvedere Palace Garden. From the Lower Belvedere to the Upper Belvedere, the complex overcomes a height difference of 23 metres.

Christmas Market at Belvedere Palace

During Advent, one of Vienna's most beautiful Christmas markets takes place on the square in front of the Upper Belvedere Palace. The 40 or so stalls are distinguished by exclusive and high-quality products. The search for unusual Christmas gifts is accompanied by gospel choirs and Advent songs.

Advertisement

PICTURES: Christmas Village at Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Photo Gallery: Christmas Village at Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Related links:

Official website of the Belvedere Palace in Vienna

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Schloss Belvedere in Wien, Österreich

Das prunkvolle Schloss Belvedere wurde einst für Prinz Eugen von Savoyen errichtet und versetzt seine Besucher heute mit opulenter Architektur, imposanten Kunstausstellungen und einer traumhaften Gartenanlage in Staunen.

Das Schloss Belvedere in der österreichischen Hauptstadt Wien zählt zu den bedeutendsten Barockbauten der Stadt. Es spielte auch in der Landesgeschichte eine entscheidende Rolle, denn am 15. Mai 1955 wurde im Marmorsaal des so genannten Oberen Belvederes der Österreichische Staatsvertrag unterzeichnet.

Anzeige

BILDER: Schloss Belvedere in Wien

Fotogalerie: Schloss Belvedere in Wien

Errichtung des Schlosses Belvedere

Blick vom Oberen Belvedere über den traumhaften Barockgarten zum Unteren Belvedere und über Wien, Österreich - © Timothy Michael Morgan/Shutterstock
© Timothy Michael Morgan/Shutterstock

Das Schloss Belvedere geht auf den berühmten Feldherrn und Prinzen Eugen von Savoyen zurück. Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts ließ er das prachtvolle Anwesen von Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt errichten.

Anzeige

Der ursprüngliche Entwurf des Stadtpalais stammte damals von Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach, dem Erbauer des nicht weniger prächtigen Schlosses Schönbrunn. Der Prinz nutzte das prachtvolle Obere Belvedere als Sommersitz, das ursprünglich nur als optischer Abschluss erbaut werden sollte.

Die beiden heute noch existierenden Gebäudekomplexe Oberes und Unteres Belvedere entstanden auf einem Hügel außerhalb der Stadt. Unter diesem Gesichtspunkt macht auch der Name des Schlosses, „schöne Aussicht“ Sinn, denn damals hatte der Prinz von seinem Gartenpalais außerhalb der Stadtmauern tatsächlich einen wunderbaren Ausblick auf das noch um vieles kleinere Wien.

Kunstmuseum im Schloss Belvedere

Die prunkvolle Decke im Schloss Belvedere beeindruckt jeden Besucher, Wien, Österreich - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Nach dem Tod von Prinz Eugen ging das Schloss Belvedere in den Besitz der Kaiserfamilie über und wurde 1780 für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Seine Anfänge als Museum erfuhr das Palais bereits im Jahr 1806. Als damals Napoleon in Tirol einzumarschieren drohte, wurde die Ambraser Sammlung der Habsburger ins Untere Belvedere verlegt, bevor sie ins neu gegründete Kunsthistorische Museum überführt wurde.

Knapp 100 Jahre später entstand im Schloss Belvedere die „Moderne Galerie“, die 1909 zur Österreichischen Staatsgalerie und nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg auch auf das Obere Belvedere ausgeweitet wurde.

Die eindrucksvollen barocken Räumlichkeiten des Schlosses Belvedere werden nach wie vor als Museum genutzt. Sie beherbergen einerseits die Sammlungen des Schlosses und stellen auch immer wieder Räumlichkeiten für Wechselausstellungen zur Verfügung. Neben den Exponaten versetzen auch die imposanten Prunkräume mit ihren Verzierungen aus Marmor und meisterhaften Deckengemälden den Betrachter in Staunen.

Anzeige

Weltgrößte Klimt-Sammlung und Prunkräume

Prunkstiege im Oberen Belvedere in Wien, Österreich - © Mira Arnaudova / Shutterstock
© Mira Arnaudova / Shutterstock

Den Mittelpunkt der Sammlung des Belvedere bildet die weltgrößte Sammlung an Werken von Gustav Klimt. Die berühmten Meisterwerke „Judith“ und „Der Kuss“ sind unter anderem im Oberen Belvedere ausgestellt.

Als weitere Künstler sind Schiele, Kokoschka, Makart, Wotruba und Hundertwasser im Oberen Belvedere vertreten. Im Bereich der Skulpturen und Malerei stammen opulente Schätze aus der Barockzeit und aus der Spätgotik, wie zum Beispiel der prachtvoll geschmückte Znaimer Altar.

Das Untere Belvedere ist für Sonderausstellungen reserviert und zeigt mit der Marmorgalerie und dem Goldenen Zimmer nach wie vor die einstige Pracht aus Prinz Eugens Zeiten.

Flanieren durch den Schlossgarten

Oberes und Unteres Belvedere sind seit ihrer Erbauung durch einen traumhaften Barockgarten miteinander verbunden, Wien, Österreich - © FRASHO / franks-travelbox
© FRASHO / franks-travelbox

Oberes und Unteres Belvedere sind seit ihrer Erbauung durch einen traumhaften Barockgarten miteinander verbunden. De facto ist der Garten das älteste Element des gesamten Ensembles, denn er wurde bereits um 1700, kurz nach Grundstückskauf, angelegt und 1725 vollendet.

Thematisch stellt der Garten den Weg von der Unterwelt zum Olymp dar. Dementsprechend ist die Freitreppe, die den Garten schmückt, neben eleganten Sphingen auch mit schneeweißen Skulpturen aus der griechischen Mythologie verziert.

Anzeige

Besonderes Highlight des Schlossgartens sind die zwölf wunderschönen Brunnen, die damals von der kaiserlichen Hofwasserleitung gespeist wurden. Die beiden größten Brunnen, der imposante obere Kaskadenbrunnen und der untere Muschelbrunnen, markieren die Niveau-Unterschiede im Schlossgarten des Belvedere. Vom Unteren bis zum Oberen Belvedere überwindet die Anlage nämlich einen Höhenunterschied von 23 Metern.

Weihnachtsmarkt am Schloss Belvedere

In der Adventzeit findet am Platz vor dem Oberen Schloss Belvedere einer der schönsten Weihnachtsmärkte Wiens statt. Die rund 40 Verkaufsstände zeichnen sich durch exklusive und hochwertige Produkte aus. Die Suche nachausgefallenen Weihnachtsgeschenken wird von Gospelchören und Adventgesängen untermalt.

BILDER: Weihnachtsdorf am Schloss Belvedere in Wien

Fotogalerie: Weihnachtsdorf am Schloss Belvedere in Wien

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website des Schlosses Belvedere in Wien

Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
Anzeige
error: