O2 Arena at "The O2" in London, Great Britain

The massive O2 Arena in London is the centrepiece of the entertainment complex "The O2". The largest domed building in the world is now used for concerts and internationally important sporting events.

The O2 Arena in London is the centrepiece and highlight of the striking entertainment temple "The O2" in the district of Greenwich at Docklands, the old port of London. The famous Greenwich prime meridian is not far from the O2 Arena.

Advertisement

PICTURES: O2 Arena at "The O2" in London

Photo gallery: O2 Arena in London

The O2 Arena holds the title of the largest free-standing building in the UK and the largest domed structure in the world. Music greats from all over the world perform their shows in the massive hall and teams and individuals compete for victory in internationally important sporting events under the eyes of the world.

Creation of the O2 Arena

The 12 masts, each 100 metres high, rising from the dome of the O2 Arena are meant to symbolise the face of a clock, London, UK - © Philip Bird LRPS CPAGB/Shutterstock
© Philip Bird LRPS CPAGB/Shutterstock

The O2 Arena was designed by Richard Rogers and opened on 1 January 2000 as the Millennium Dome. Even before that, the gigantic dome appeared in the opening sequence of "James Bond: The World is Not Enough". At that time, the futuristic building was the largest of its kind in the world and was intended to impress the entire world as London 's landmark of the 21st century.

The dimensions of the O2 Arena are also truly impressive! With its length of 320 and its height of 50 metres, the entire Eiffel Tower could be placed in the O2 Arena. The 12 masts, each 100 metres high, that rise from the dome are meant to symbolise the face of a clock.

Equally impressive are the construction costs of over one billion euros. The "Millennium Dome" served as a museum in the first months of its existence, but was closed again only one year after its opening due to a lack of visitors and is now considered a bad investment.

"The O2" for music and sport

Entrance hall of the striking entertainment temple "The O2" in the Greenwich district at Docklands in London, Great Britain - © IR Stone / Shutterstock
© IR Stone / Shutterstock

In 2005, O2 acquired the naming rights to the Millennium Dome and built the huge entertainment complex "The O2" around the massive dome. In addition to the breathtaking O2 Arena with 16,500 seats, it houses a multiplex cinema with 11 screens, the "Entertainment Avenue" lined with cafés, restaurants and bars, the interactive "The British Music Experience" exhibition and the ultra-modern club "indigO2" with live music.

The O2 Arena now has a seating capacity of 20,000 and has hosted the North American Ice Hockey League (NHL), the NBA basketball teams and the World Gymnastics Championships in 2009. Since that year, the ATP World Tour Finals have also been held at the O2 Arena, where the world's best tennis players compete each year. The semi-finals and finals of the PDC Darts Premier League also take place here as the largest indoor sporting event in Great Britain.

Advertisement

From the music business, Justin Timberlake, Barbra Streisand, Bon Jovie, Kylie Minogue, Prince and Led Zeppelin have already rocked the stage of the O2 Arena.

The O2 Arena also hosted the Olympic Games and the Summer Paralympics in 2012. At that time, the stadium, which was called the "North Greenwich Arena" at the time, hosted the apparatus and trampoline gymnastics competitions as well as the finals of the basketball tournament. Since 2012, it has also been possible to travel directly to the gates of the O2 Arena with the London cable car "Emirates Air Line".

Related links:

Official website of the O2 Arena in London
Buy London Pass online


Recommended accommodations: London

HOTELS | PENSIONS | APARTMENTS | VILLAS | CHALETS

Show accommodations


 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

O2-Arena in „The O2“ in London, Großbritannien

In der gewaltigen Halle der O2-Arena geben Musikgrößen aus aller Welt ihre Shows zum Besten, London, Großbritannien - © mikecphoto / Shutterstock
© mikecphoto / Shutterstock

Die gewaltige O2-Arena in London ist das Herzstück des Entertainment-Komplexes „The O2“. Der größte Kuppelbau der Welt wird heute für Konzerte und international bedeutende Sportveranstaltungen genutzt.

Die O2-Arena in London ist das Kernstück und Highlight des markanten Entertainment-Tempels „The O2“ im Stadtteil Greenwich an den Docklands, dem alten Hafen von London. Der berühmte Nullmeridian von Greenwich ist nicht weit von der O2-Arena entfernt.

BILDER: O2-Arena in „The O2“ in London

 

Die O2-Arena hält den Titel des größten freistehenden Gebäudes Großbritanniens und des größten Kuppelbaus der Welt. In der gewaltigen Halle geben Musikgrößen aus aller Welt ihre Shows zum Besten und in international bedeutenden Sportveranstaltungen ringen Mannschaften und Einzelkämpfer unter den Augen der Welt um den Sieg.

Entstehung der O2-Arena

Die O2-Arena wurde von Richard Rogers entworfen am 1. Jänner 2000 als „Millennium Dome“ eröffnet. Bereits davor erschien die gigantische Kuppel in der Eröffnungssequqnz von „James Bond: Die Welt ist nicht genug“. Damals war der futuristische Bau der weltweit größte dieser Art und sollte als Londons Wahrzeichen des 21. Jahrhunderts die gesamte Welt beeindrucken. Die Ausmaße der O2-Arena sind auch wahrlich eindrucksvoll! Mit ihrer Länge von 320 und ihrer Höhe von 50 Metern könnte der gesamte Eiffelturm in die O2-Arena gelegt werden. Die 12 jeweils 100 Meter hohen Masten, die aus der Kuppel ragen, sollen das Ziffernblatt einer Uhr symbolisieren.

Die 12 jeweils 100 Meter hohen Masten, die aus der Kuppel der O2-Arena ragen, sollen das Ziffernblatt einer Uhr symbolisieren, London, Großbritannien - © Philip Bird LRPS CPAGB/Shutterstock
© Philip Bird LRPS CPAGB/Shutterstock

Ebenso eindrucksvoll sind die Baukosten von über einer Milliarde Euro. Der „Millennium Dome“ diente in den ersten Monaten seiner Existenz als Museum, wurde jedoch mangels Besucherzahlen nur ein Jahr nach seiner Eröffnung wieder geschlossen und gilt heute als Fehlinvestition.

„The O2“ für Musik und Sport

Im Jahr 2005 erwarb O2 die Namensrechte am Millennium Dome und ließ um die gewaltige Kuppel, die bereits damals hauptsächlich Austragungsort von Konzerten war, den gewaltigen Entertainment-Komplex „The O2“ entstehen. Dieser beherbergt neben der atemberaubenden O2-Arena mit 16.500 Zuschauerplätzen noch ein Multiplex-Kino mit 11 Leinwänden, die von Cafés, Restaurants und Bars gesäumte „Entertainment Avenue“, die interaktive „The British Music Experience“-Ausstellung sowie den ultramodernen Club „indigO2“ mit fetziger Live-Musik.

Eingangshalle des markanten Entertainment-Tempels „The O2“ im Stadtteil Greenwich an den Docklands in London, Großbritannien - © IR Stone / Shutterstock
© IR Stone / Shutterstock

Mittlerweile verfügt die O2-Arena über 20.000 Sitzplätze und beherbergte bereits die nordamerikanische Eishockeyliga NHL, die Basketball-Teams der NBA und die Turn-Weltmeisterschaften im Jahr 2009. Seit eben diesem Jahr werden auch die ATP World Tour Finals in der O2-Arena ausgetragen, im Zuge dessen jedes Jahr die besten Tennisspieler der Welt gegeneinander antreten. Auch die Halbfinal- und Finalspiele der PDC Darts Premier League finden hier als größter Hallensport-Event Großbritanniens statt. Aus dem Musikbusiness rockten die Bühne der O2-Arena bereits Justin Timberlake, Barbra Streisand, Bon Jovie, Kylie Minogue, Prince und Led Zeppelin.

Auch die Olympischen Spiele und die Sommer Paralympics im Jahr 2012 hielten in der O2-Arena Einzug. Damals wurden im zu diesem Zeitpunkt „North Greenwich Arena“ genannten Stadion die Bewerbe im Geräte- und Trampolinturnen, sowie die Finalspiele des Basketball-Turniers ausgetragen. Seit 2012 kann man auch mit der Londoner Cable Car “Emirates Air Line” direkt vor die Pforten der O2-Arena fahren.

Weiterführende Links:

Offizielle Website der O2-Arena in London (englisch)
London Pass online kaufen