Taipei 101 in Taipei, Taiwan

The Taipei 101 is actually the Taipei Financial Center in the capital of Taiwan and, with a gigantic height of 509 metres, by far the tallest building in the country. The observation deck on the 89th floor offers an unforgettable view over Taiwan's sea of houses.

Taipei 101 is actually the Taipei Financial Center in the capital of Taiwan and, with a gigantic height of 509 metres, by far the tallest building in the country. It towers over the sea of houses in Taipei by about twice as much and is a spectacular sight. Until the beginning of 2007, it was the tallest building in the world, but then Taipei 101 had to cede this title to the still unfinished Burj Kalifah in Dubai.

Advertisement

Taipei 101 is called the highest skyscraper in Taiwan because of its 101 floors. In addition, there are 5 underground floors. Taipei 101 boasts the second highest accessible floor, which was ceremonially opened on 1 May 2003. With a height of 438m, it surpasses the Willis Tower in Chicago.

500m high Feng Shui Bamboo

Taipei 101, the tallest skyscraper in Taiwan at night - © ryan_rop / Fotolia
© ryan_rop / Fotolia

The striking shape of Taipei 101 was not a whim of the architect Chang Yong Lee, but serves the stability of the skyscraper. Taipei lies in the earthquake zone between the Eurasian and Philippine continental plates and has to reckon with up to 4 typhoons a year. To defy the forces of nature, the architecture of Taipei 101 was modelled on the extremely flexible bamboo cane. The eight areas originate from the Chinese harmony doctrine Feng Shui and stand for wealth; likewise, the oversized gold coins embedded in the façade are supposed to protect against bad business.

To cope with the turbulence of the enormous height, there is also a gold-plated steel sphere measuring over 5 m in diameter on the 88th-92nd floor of Taipei 101. Weighing 660 tonnes, it swings against the wind and is intended to compensate for the building's vibrations. A construction of this size that is unique in the world. Two further vibration absorbers weighing 4.5 tonnes are located in the antenna construction. In this way, the force of the winds that the steel structure has to contend with at a height of 500 metres can be roughly halved. The 380 steel pillars anchoring Taipei 101 to the ground are driven 80 metres into the ground.

The official opening of Taipei 101 took place on New Year's Eve 2004, the construction costs amounted to 1.6 billion euros. The magnificent skyscraper is primarily used as an office building. Well-known companies, such as Google, McKinsey or L'Oreal, have rented space in this luxurious location. Telecommunications facilities can be found on the top floors from 92 to 100.

Taipei 101 Shopping Temple

Information on places of interest for your holiday in Taiwan with travel tips, pictures, travel guides, climate, weather and entry regulations - © ChenPG / Fotolia
© ChenPG / Fotolia

On the lowest floor is the largest shopping centre in Taiwan. The fastest lifts in the world take you up to the 89th floor at a speed of around 60km/h. Here is the inner observation deck, from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view over the sea of houses in Taipei and the green mountain landscape beyond. Further viewing opportunities are located outside on the 91st floor and can only be accessed when there is no wind, which is rather rare.

The 101st floor is closed to visitors. The journey back down takes us at 36km/h. The ceiling of the lift is transformed into a starry firmament and there is a subtle smell of incense...

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Taipei 101 in Taipei, Taiwan

Der Wolkenkratzer Taipei 101 ist mit einer Höhe von 509 Metern das höchste Gebäude Taiwans - © Chang-Chih Liao / Fotolia
© Chang-Chih Liao / Fotolia

Der Taipei 101 ist eigentlich das Taipei Financial Center in der Hauptstadt Taiwans und mit einer gigantischen Höhe von 509 Metern das weitaus höchste Gebäude des Landes. Die Aussichtsplattform im 89. Stock bietet einen unvergesslichen Blick über das Häusermeer Taiwans.

Der Taipei 101 ist eigentlich das Taipei Financial Center in der Hauptstadt Taiwans und mit einer gigantischen Höhe von 509 Metern das weitaus höchste Gebäude des Landes. Er überragt das Häusermeer Taipeis um etwa das Doppelte und stellt einen spektakulären Anblick dar. Bis Anfang 2007 war er das höchste Gebäude der Welt, dann musste der Taipei 101 diesen Titel an den noch unvollendeten Burj Kalifah in Dubai abtreten.

Taipei 101 wird der höchste Wolkenkrater Taiwans wegen seiner 101 Stockwerke genannt. Hinzu kommen noch 5 unterirdische Stockwerke. Taipei 101 darf sich dabei des zweithöchsten begehbaren Stockwerks rühmen, welches am 1. Mai 2003 feierlich eröffnet wurde. Mit einer Höhe von 438m übertrifft es den Willis Tower in Chicago.

500m hoher Feng-Shui-Bambus

Taipei 101, der höchste Wolkenkrater Taiwans bei Nacht - © ryan_rop / Fotolia
© ryan_rop / Fotolia

Die auffällige Form des Taipei 101 war keine Laune des Architekten Chang Yong Lee, sondern dient der Stabilität des Wolkenkratzers. Taipei liegt im Erdbebengebiet zwischen der eurasischen und philippinischen Kontinentalplatte und hat jährlich mit bis zu 4 Taifunen zu rechnen. Um den Naturgewalten zu trotzen wurde die Architektur des Taipei 101 dem äußerst biegsamen Bambusrohr nachempfunden. Die acht Bereiche stammen aus der chinesischen Harmonie-Lehre Feng Shui und stehen für Reichtum, ebenso sollen die in die Fassade eingelassenen überdimensionalen Goldmünzen vor schlechten Geschäften schützen.

Um den Turbulenzen der enormen Höhe Herr zu werden, befindet sich im 88.-92. Stock des Taipei 101 außerdem eine über 5m im Durchmesser messende vergoldete Stahlkugel. Mit einem Gewicht von 660 Tonnen pendelt sie gegen den Wind und soll die Gebäudeschwingungen des Wolkenkratzers ausgleichen. Eine in dieser Größe weltweit einzigartige Konstruktion. Zwei weitere Schwingungstilger mit einem Gewicht von 4,5 Tonnen befinden sich in der Antennenkonstruktion. So kann die Kraft der Winde, mit der die Stahlkonstruktion in 500 Metern Höhe zu kämpfen hat, etwa halbiert werden. Die 380 Stahlpfeiler, die den Taipei 101 im Boden verankern, sind 80 Meter in den Boden gerammt.

Die offizielle Eröffnung des Taipei 101 fand zu Silvester 2004 statt, die Baukosten betrugen 1,6 Milliarden Euro. Der prächtige Wolkenkratzer wird in erster Linie als Bürogebäude genutzt. Namhafte Unternehmen, wie zum Beispiel Google, McKinsey oder L’Oreal, haben sich in dieser luxuriösen Location eingemietet. In den obersten Stockwerken von 92 bis 100 sind Telekommunikationseinrichtungen zu finden.

Shopping-Tempel im Taipei 101

Informationen zu Sehenswürdigkeiten für Ihren Urlaub in Taiwan mit Reisetipps, Bildern, Reiseführern, Klima, Wetter und Einreisebestimmungen - © ChenPG / Fotolia
© ChenPG / Fotolia

Im untersten Stock befindet sich das größte Einkaufszentrum Taiwans. Mit den schnellsten Aufzügen der Welt gelangt man mit einer Geschwindigkeit von rund 60km/h in den 89. Stock. Hier liegt das innere Aussichtsdeck, von dem aus man einen unvergesslichen Ausblick über das Häusermeer Taipeis und die grüne Berglandschaft dahinter genießen kann. Weitere Aussichtsmöglichkeiten befinden sich im 91. Stock im Freien und sind nur bei Windstille, also eher selten, begehbar.

Der 101. Stock ist für Besucher geschlossen. Wieder nach unten geht es mit 36km/h. Dabei verwandelt sich die Decke des Fahrstuhls in ein sternenübersätes Firmament und es duftet dezent nach Weihrauch…