Alaverdi Monastery, Georgia

The 11th century Alaverdi Monastery was once the main church of Kakheti, a region in eastern Georgia. The massive stone main church is where the Kakhetian kings and queens of past centuries are buried.

Alaverdi Monastery is located in the Kakheti region of eastern Georgia and is not to be confused with the Armenian town of Alaverdi.

Advertisement

The Georgian Orthodox Alawerdi Monastery is located in the village of the same name about 20 kilometres from the town of Telavi. It was founded in the 4th century by the Assyrian monk Joseb of Alawerdi as a small church of St. George and expanded in the 11th century by the Kakhetian king Kwirike III to include its present main church, the so-called "Alawerdi Cathedral". Today, it is the third largest church in Georgia after the Sameba and Svetitskhoveli Cathedrals, and with its more than 50m high tower, the second tallest after the Sameba Cathedral.

The Alaverdi Monastery was once one of the most important places of worship in Georgia. The Bishop of Alaverdi was practically the head of the Church in Kakheti. Their special position was confirmed by various documents, even the kings of Georgia paid respect to the bishops. In the 17th and 18th centuries, the Alaverdi monastery was transformed into a nunnery, where even the members of the royal family lived who had taken the monastic oath.

The Alawerdi Monastery had to endure several earthquakes and enemy attacks. In the 17th century, it even functioned as a cowshed and prison under Turkmen troops.

On the road at Alawerdi Monastery

Despite the many restorations, it can be visited today in its original form and full splendour. The pointed church tower in the fertile Alazani Valley stands out picturesquely against the mountain range of the Caucasus. The stone, almost unadorned façade of the Alawerdi Monastery is pierced with arcades and round arches, and there are galleries above the second level on the side aisles on the west wing. This gives the monastery an extremely solid and sublime appearance.

The interior of the Alawerdi Monastery is not quite as plain as its exterior. Sunlight penetrates through the 16 windows in the large dome and illuminates the spatial harmony of the impressive nave. The Virgin Mary with Child above the altar dates back to the 11th century, and the 16th-century image of St. George fighting the dragon above the western entrance is also remarkable.

Numerous scribes had their place in the Alawerdi Monastery, storing their valuable manuscripts in the monastery's large library.

In a small area surrounded by its own wall are the monastery's dining and bathing rooms, as well as the wine cellars that are ubiquitous in Georgia.

Advertisement

As the main church in Katechian, the Alawerdi Monastery acts as the final resting place for the kings and queens and their families. The founder of the Alawerdi Monastery, Joseb of Alawerdi, is also buried here.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Alawerdi Kloster, Georgien

Das georgisch-orthodoxe Alaverdi Kloster liegt im gleichnamigen Dorf etwa 20 Kilometer von der Stadt Telavi entfernt und wurde im 4. Jahrhundert gegründet, Georgien - © gromwell / Fotolia
© gromwell / Fotolia

Das Alawerdi Kloster aus dem 11. Jahrhundert war einst die Hauptkirche von Kachetien, einer Region im Osten Georgiens. In der massiven steinernen Hauptkirche sind die kachetischen Könige und Königinnen der vergangenen Jahrhunderte bestattet.

Das Alawerdi Kloster befindet sich in der Region Kachetien im östlichen Georgien und ist nicht zu verwechseln mit der armenischen Stadt Alawerdi.

Das georgisch-orthodoxe Alawerdi Kloster liegt im gleichnamigen Dorf etwa 20 Kilometer von der Stadt Telavi entfernt. Es wurde im 4. Jahrhundert vom assyrischen Mönch Joseb von Alawerdi als kleine St. Georgs-Kirche gegründet und im 11. Jahrhundert vom kachetischen König Kwirike III. um seine heutige Hauptkirche, den so genannten “Alawerdi-Dom”, erweitert. Dieser ist heute nach der Sameba- und der Swetizchoweli-Kathedrale das drittgrößte Gotteshaus Georgiens und mit seinem über 50m hohen Turm nach der Sameba-Kathedrale das zweithöchste.

Das Alawerdi-Kloster zählte einst zu den wichtigsten Gotteshäusern Georgiens. Der Bischof von Alawerdi war praktisch das Oberhaupt der Kirche in Kachetien. Ihre spezielle Position wurde von diversen Dokumenten bestätigt, selbst die Könige Georgiens zollten den Bischöfen Respekt. Im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert wurde das Alawerdi-Kloster in ein Nonnenkloster umgewandelt, indem sogar die Mitglieder der Königsfamilie wohnten, die den klösterlichen Eid abgelegt hatten.

Das Alawerdi-Kloster musste einige Erdbeben und feindliche Angriffe über sich ergehen lassen. Im 17. Jahrhundert fungierte es unter turkmenischen Truppen sogar als Kuhstall und Gefängnis.

Unterwegs im Alawerdi-Kloster

Trotz der vielen Restaurationen ist es heute in seiner ursprünglichen Form und seiner vollen Pracht zu besichtigen. Der spitz zulaufende Kirchturm im fruchtbaren Alazani-Tal hebt sich malerisch gegen die Gebirgskette des Kaukasus ab. Die steinerne, nahezu schmucklose Fassade des Alawerdi Klosters ist mit Arkaden und Rundbögen durchbrochen, an den Seitenschiffen am Westflügel finden sich Galerien über der zweiten Ebene. Dadurch erhält das Kloster ein äußerst stabiles und erhabenes Erscheinungsbild.

Der Innenraum des Alawerdi-Klosters ist nicht ganz so schlicht wie sein Äußeres. Durch die 16 Fenster in der großen Kuppel dringt das Sonnenlicht und beleuchtet die räumliche Harmonie des beeindruckenden Kirchenschiffs. Die Jungfrau Maria mit dem Kind über dem Altar stammt noch aus dem 11. Jahrhundert und auch die Abbildung des Heiligen Georg im Kampf mit dem Drachen aus dem 16. Jahrhundert über dem westlichen Eingang ist bemerkenswert.

Zahlreiche Schreiber hatten ihren Platz im Alawerdi-Kloster, die ihre wertvollen Manuskripte in der großen Bibliothek des Klosters aufbewahrten.

In einem kleinen, von einer eigenen Mauer umgebenen Bereich finden sich die Speise- und Baderäume des Klosters sowie die in Georgien allgegenwärtigen Weinkeller.

Als Hauptkirche in Katechian fungiert das Alawerdi-Kloster für die Könige und Königinnen sowie ihre Familien als letzte Ruhestätte. Auch der Gründer des Alawerdi-Klosters, Joseb von Alawerdi, ist hier bestattet.