Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis, Tunisia

The mustard-yellow Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul is the largest intact building from the colonial era in Tunis, Tunisia's capital. Visible from afar, it is known for its fascinating mix of architectural styles.

The imposing Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul is the seat of the Archdiocese of Tunis, capital of Tunisia. It is located on the Place de l'Indépendence on a former Catholic cemetery dedicated to St. Anthony. This cemetery was mentioned in writing in the early 17th century and originally housed the burial places of slaves. St. Vincent de Paul himself was captured by the corsairs at that time as a young priest and sold as a slave.

Advertisement

Emergence within 4 years

The various architectural features of the cathedral did not emerge over the decades, as perhaps suspected. The Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul was built in only four years, from 1893 to 1897. And yet, Moorish, Gothic and neo-Byzantine characteristics can be found on the imposing place of worship - an indication that Catholics were not the only ones who influenced the construction of this cathedral. At its opening on Christmas Day in 1897, the church towers were still made of wood due to lack of funds.

Visit to the Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis

Above the massive entrance portal of the Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis, Abraham blesses Christians, Jews and Muslims alike, Tunisia - © Photoman29 / Shutterstock
© Photoman29 / Shutterstock

Meanwhile, however, the two mighty towers flanking the entrance portal are also made of solid stone and welcome visitors from afar. The mosaic on the colossal exterior above the portal depicts Jesus Christ flanked by two trumpeting angels. Above the effigy is enthroned a cross surrounded by stone ornaments. Above the arch, Abraham blesses Christians as well as Jews and Muslims with raised hands. The connection between the nave and transept is crowned by a Byzantine dome.

The windows of St. Vincent Cathedral are beautifully painted. All in red and gold, the Holy Spirit descends to earth for the Feast of Pentecost, and in green and blue, the Assumption of the Virgin has been illustrated. At the far end of the cathedral, in the apse, is depicted the Assumption of St. Vincent de Paul under the eyes of saints and martyrs of North Africa. The main altar is decorated with mosaics of alabaster and marble and is enthroned opposite an organ built in 1921, considered the most beautiful organ in North Africa.

Masses are held in French and Italian, and time and again the Cathedral of St. Vincent de Paul is also the venue for concerts and performances.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
error:

Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis, Tunesien

Die Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis stammt noch aus der Kolonialzeit und fasziniert durch ihren Mix verschiedenster architektonischer Stile, Tunesien - © Photoman29 / Shutterstock
© Photoman29 / Shutterstock

Die senfgelbe Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul ist das größte intakte Gebäude aus der kolonialen Ära der tunesischen Hauptstadt Tunis. Weithin sichtbar ist sie für ihren faszinierenden Mix architektonischer Stile bekannt.

Die Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul ist Sitz der Erzdiözese von Tunis, Hauptstadt Tunesiens, und befindet sich am Place de l’Indépendence auf einem ehemaligen katholischen Friedhof, der dem Heiligen Antonius geweiht war. Dieser Friedhof wurde bereits im frühen 17. Jahrhundert schriftlich erwähnt und beherbergte ursprünglich die Grabstätten von Sklaven. St. Vincent de Paul wurde damals selbst als junger Priester von den Korsaren gefangen und als Sklave verkauft.

Die verschiedenen architektonischen Merkmale der Kathedrale entstanden nicht, wie vielleicht vermutet, im Lauf der Jahrzehnte. Die Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul wurde in nur vier Jahren, von 1893 bis 1897 errichtet. Und dennoch sind an dem imposanten Gotteshaus maurische, gotische und neobyzantinische Charakteristika zu finden – ein Indiz, dass nicht nur die Katholiken den Bau dieser Kathedrale beeinflusst haben. An ihrer Eröffnung am Weihnachtstag im Jahr 1897 waren die Kirchtürme aufgrund von Geldmangel noch aus Holz.

Über dem gewaltigen Eingangsportal der Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul in Tunis segnet Abraham gleichermaßen Christen, Juden und Muslime, Tunesien - © Photoman29 / Shutterstock
© Photoman29 / Shutterstock

Mittlerweile sind jedoch auch die beiden mächtigen Türme, die das Eingangsportal flankieren, aus solidem Stein und heißen die Besucher von weitem willkommen. Das Mosaik an der kolossalen Außenfront über dem Portal zeigt Jesus Christus, der von zwei trompetenden Engeln flankiert wird. Über dem Bildnis thront ein von steinernen Ornamenten umgebendes Kreuz. Über dem Bogen segnet Abraham mit erhobenen Händen sowohl Christen, als auch Juden und Muslime. Die Verbindung zwischen Langhaus und Querschiff wird von einer byzantinischen Kuppel gekrönt.

Besuch der St. Vincent-Kathedrale von Tunis

Die Fenster der St. Vincent-Kathedrale sind wunderbar bemalt. Ganz in Rot und Gold gehalten senkt sich der Heilige Geist für das Pfingstfest auf die Erde und in Grün und Blau wurde die Himmelfahrt der Jungfrau illustriert. Am hinteren Ende der Kathedrale, in der Apsis, ist die Himmelfahrt des Heiligen Vincent de Paul unter den Augen von Heiligen und Märtyrern Nordafrikas dargestellt. Der Hauptaltar ist mit Mosaiken aus Alabaster und Marmor verziert und thront gegenüber einer Orgel aus dem Jahr 1921, die als schönste Orgel Nordafrikas gilt.

Messen werden in französischer und italienischer Sprache abgehalten und immer wieder ist die Kathedrale St. Vincent de Paul auch Veranstaltungsort für Konzerte und Vorführungen.